Aviation Investigation Report A96A0175

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision with Water
Castle Rock Exploration Corp.
De Havilland DHC-2 Beaver C-FFHF
Portage Lake, Labrador 3 km NE
30 September 1996

Summary

The pilot of C-FFHF, a float-equipped de Havilland DHC-2 Beaver, departed the company camp at Ugly Lake, Labrador, en route to Goose Bay. Prior to arriving at Goose Bay, the pilot contacted an overflying Air Labrador flight and advised them that he had landed on a pond and that he needed the SAR (search and rescue) time extended on his flight plan. The pilot also said that he would be departing the pond shortly, en route to Goose Bay. When C-FFHF did not arrive at the destination by the SAR time of 2030 Atlantic daylight saving time (ADT)(1), a search was commenced.

Seven days later, an oil slick and a paddle with the company name on it were identified on a pond about 66 nautical miles (nm) north of Goose Bay. Divers located the aircraft wreckage in 120 feet of water. The aircraft was destroyed and the bodies of the pilot and passenger were located inside the wreckage.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot held a commercial pilot licence with an instrument rating endorsement and had about 894 hours total flight time. He had been based in Goose Bay since June and had flown C-FFHF about 234 hours during the 90 days prior to the accident.

The aircraft had recently been registered privately to Castle Rock Exploration Corporation and was used mainly for flights between the company base camp at Ugly Lake and Goose Bay. On 30 September, the pilot departed Goose Bay to deliver helicopter parts to Ugly Lake and return with one passenger, a company junior geologist. The weather conditions at Goose Bay deteriorated after C-FFHF departed. The aircraft arrived at Ugly Lake after a refuelling stop and then departed for the return visual flight rules (VFR) flight to Goose Bay.

During the flight south to Goose Bay, the pilot of C-FFHF was in communication with several aircraft. A pilot who was flying a single-engine Otter south to Goose Bay asked the pilot of C-FFHF, who was further south, for the en route actual weather. The pilot of C-FFHF replied that an Air Labrador flight en route to Goose Bay had encountered snow showers.

The Otter pilot advised TSB investigators that the visibility had deteriorated during his flight south to Goose Bay. He remarked that he entered a band of snow showers north of Goose Bay (an area that included the accident site), extending west to east across his intended route. The pilot had maintained visual reference with the ground by flying as low as 100 feet above ground level (agl) and continued south by following shorelines where possible. Rough water conditions due to strong winds were observed on the lakes overflown en route. The pilot arrived at Goose Bay about 1735.

The pond where the accident took place was 1,000 feet above sea level (asl), about 3 kilometres (km) long and 1 km wide, with a small island near the centre. The terrain surrounding the shoreline rose gradually to 1,200 feet asl.

The aircraft wreckage, located by divers using a remotely operated video camera, was in 120 feet of water, and the bodies of the pilot and passenger were observed in the wreckage, in their seats with their seat-belts secured. The right wing was separated from the fuselage and the bow of each float was deflected up. There was substantial damage to the aircraft, although the empennage appeared intact and undamaged.

During the initial salvage operation, the aircraft's empennage separated from the fuselage. The pilot's body remained in the wreckage and was recovered. The passenger's body and passenger seat fell out of the wreckage during the salvage operation and were not found and recovered until 08 July 1997 during a search by the RCMP. It was determined that the seat attach points had failed during the impact. Autopsy results indicated that the pilot died from impact-force-related injuries; there was no evidence of drowning. The passenger also died as a result of impact injuries.

C-FFHF was not equipped with shoulder harnesses for the occupants. The lap belts installed on the aircraft met the minimum requirements of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. It has been proven that shoulder harnesses provide aircraft occupants with greater protection than lap belts alone.

Several weeks later, the aircraft wreckage was removed from the accident site and the aircraft journey log-book was recovered. It indicated that C-FFHF had departed Ugly Lake at 1427 and landed on a pond 70 miles north of Goose Bay at 1620. For the last flight leg, from the pond to Goose Bay, the aircraft take-off weight was recorded as 4,719 pounds, which included 300 pounds of fuel. There was no evidence that a cargo net was installed in the aircraft at the time of the accident, although cargo including empty propane tanks was carried onboard the aircraft.

The Goose Bay terminal forecast for the accident date was as follows:

  • 0100-1100: scattered cloud at 4,000 feet, ceiling 6,000 feet broken, visibility greater than 6 miles.
  • 1300-1500: overcast ceiling at 2,000 feet, visibility 4 miles in light rain showers.
  • 1500-1800: overcast ceiling at 600 feet, visibility one mile in light rain and mist.

Records indicate that the aircraft was maintained in accordance with Transport Canada requirements and had about 13,200 hours total time since new. A 100-hour maintenance inspection was completed on 09 September 1996. During this inspection, an engine cylinder assembly was replaced; the aircraft had flown 62.5 hours since the inspection. There were no aircraft deficiencies entered in the journey log-book.

The aircraft flight manual (AFM) indicates that the aircraft take-off speed is 55 to 65 miles per hour (mph). When landing, a final approach speed of 65 to 68 mph should be maintained to touchdown. The aircraft stall speed is 45 mph at a gross weight of 5,100 pounds with power off and landing flaps selected.

The airframe, aircraft instruments, engine, propeller, and exhaust stacks were analyzed by the TSB. Visual examination of the wings, engine, and float strut/cross-member attachment points assessed the failure mode as overload from impact forces. The wings separated forward in relation to the fuselage, and the right front float-strut attachment point sustained considerably more damage than the other three float-strut attachment points. The observed wreckage damage was consistent with heavy contact with the water in a nose-down, right-bank attitude. The wing flaps were at about 28 degrees extension (take-off flap is about 39 degrees).

The vertical speed indicator (VSI) was indicating 2,000 fpm down, which is its maximum down indication. Indicated airspeed (IAS) was between 100 and 110 mph at impact; the baroscale on the altimeter was set at 29.73 inches of mercury (in. Hg.) and the engine manifold pressure (MAP) gauge was indicating in the range of 28 to 31.5 in. Hg. The remaining instruments did not provide any reliable information.

The engine teardown analysis did not reveal any internal failure or mechanical malfunction. The propeller teardown analysis identified that the propeller was at the low pitch blade setting when the aircraft struck the water. Oil under pressure is supplied to the propeller by the propeller governor, and maintains the blades at low pitch when selected by the pilot. If the engine was not operating prior to impact, loss of oil pressure to the propeller would have resulted in the propeller counterweights rotating the blades to a higher pitch. When the aircraft is in cruise configuration, the propeller is normally set to a higher pitch.

A section of engine crushed exhaust stack was analyzed to identify a temperature range of the metal when it was crushed. The exhaust stack crush analysis was considered inconclusive because the aircraft had struck the water, effectively quenching the exhaust stack metal.

Analysis

The weather at Ugly Lake was suitable for VFR flight and the pilot made the decision to depart for Goose Bay. En route weather that included rain and snow showers with reduced visibility was reported by other pilots who were airborne about the same time as C-FFHF, and these conditions were also predicted in the terminal forecast for Goose Bay. If the pilot of C-FFHF had a mechanical problem with the aircraft, it is likely that he would have communicated this information to the overflying aircraft. Since there is no evidence that there was a mechanical problem with the aeroplane, it is likely that the pilot flew C-FFHF into deteriorating weather conditions as he approached Goose Bay from the north, and that he landed on the pond to wait for improving weather conditions.

The last radio transmission from the aircraft was at about 1725, when the pilot relayed his intention of departing the pond momentarily. Any extended delay in departure from the pond would have required the pilot and passenger to spend the night there due to inadequate daylight time remaining to complete the trip to Goose Bay. It is probable that the pilot, aware of the strong winds, rough water conditions, and impending darkness, departed the pond hoping that the visibility to the south was sufficient to complete the flight, rather than spend the night on the pond.

The 2,000 fpm (minimum) descent rate and the airspeed indication between 100 and 110 mph suggests that the aircraft was in a phase of flight other than take-off at the time of the accident. The MAP gauge indication was consistent with an engine operating within the cruise power setting range. The same indication would also be present if the engine was not operating, because the MAP gauge would then indicate field barometric pressure. However, the engine teardown analysis indicated that the engine was capable of producing power. Since the aircraft flaps were set to 28 degrees, with MAP between 28 and 31.5 in. Hg, and the propeller blade angle at low pitch, it is likely that the aircraft was configured for slow flight, because of the poor visibility.

Although it is difficult to determine if shoulder harnesses would have provided increased protection for the occupants in this occurrence, they still provide more protection than lap belts alone.

It is probable that the pilot was unable to maintain visual reference with the surface sometime after take-off from the pond. The aircraft struck the water either during the pilot's attempt to regain visual reference or because the pilot lost control of the aircraft in reduced visibility.

The following Engineering Branch reports were completed:

  • LP 153/96 - Instruments Examination;
  • LP 157/96 - Engine Disassembly Examination;
  • LP 158/96 - Propeller Examination; and
  • LP 170/96 - Exhaust Stack Temperature Analysis.

Findings

  1. The pilot held a commercial licence with 894 hours total flight time.
  2. There was no evidence to suggest that the pilot landed on a pond north of Goose Bay because of mechanical problems.
  3. The weather in the area at approximately the time of the occurrence was reported as reduced visibility in snow showers with high winds.
  4. Both the pilot and passenger were found in their seats with their seat-belts secured.
  5. The body of the passenger and the passenger seat fell out of the wreckage during the salvage operation and were finally recovered on 8 July 1997.
  6. Autopsy results determined that both the pilot and the passenger died from injuries sustained at impact.
  7. Records indicate that the aircraft was maintained in accordance with existing regulations.
  8. The aircraft struck the water in a nose-down, right-wing-low attitude with a rate of descent of at least 2,000 feet per minute, an airspeed of 100 to 110 knots, and a manifold pressure of 28 to 31.5 in. Hg.
  9. The engine was capable of producing power, and there was no evidence of a mechanical malfunction.
  10. The propeller was at the low-pitch blade setting when the aircraft struck the water.

Causes and Contributing Factors

It is probable that the pilot was unable to maintain visual reference with the surface sometime after take-off from the pond. The aircraft struck the water either during the pilot's attempt to regain visual reference or because the pilot lost control of the aircraft in reduced visibility.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 23 July, 1997.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96A0175

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec un plan d'eau
Castle Rock Exploration Corp.
De Havilland DHC-2 Beaver C-FFHF
3 km au nord-est de Portage Lake, Labrador
30 septembre 1996

Résumé

Le pilote de l'avion immatriculé C-FFHF, un de Havilland DHC-2 Beaver équipé de flotteurs, a quitté le camp de la compagnie à Ugly Lake (Labrador) en route vers Goose Bay. Avant d'arriver à Goose Bay, le pilote a communiqué avec un vol d'Air Labrador qui le survolait et a avisé l'équipage qu'il s'était posé sur un étang et qu'il voulait que l'heure SAR (Recherche et sauvetage) soit prolongée sur son plan de vol. Le pilote a aussi ajouté qu'il décollerait bientôt de l'étang, en route vers Goose Bay. Lorsque l'avion C-FFHF n'est pas arrivé à destination à l'heure SAR de 20 h 30, heure avancée de l'Atlantique (HAA)(1) une recherche a été lancée.

Sept jours plus tard une flaque d'huile et une pagaie portant le nom de la compagnie ont été identifiées sur un étang à environ 66 milles marins au nord de Goose Bay. Des plongeurs ont retrouvé l'épave de l'avion dans 120 pieds d'eau. L'avion avait été détruit, et les corps du pilote et du passager se trouvaient à l'intérieur de l'épave.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel avec une annotation de qualification aux instruments et il avait totalisé environ 894 heures de vol. Il était basé à Goose Bay depuis le mois de juin et il avait piloté l'avion C-FFHF pendant environ 234 heures au cours des 90 derniers jours précédant l'accident.

L'avion avait été récemment été inscrit au registre aéronautique comme avion privé au nom de Castle Rock Exploration Corporation et il était principalement utilisé pour effectuer des vols entre le camp de base de la compagnie à Ugly Lake et Goose Bay. Le 30 septembre, le pilote a quitté Goose Bay pour livrer des pièces d'hélicoptère à Ugly Lake et retourner avec un passager, un jeune géologue de la compagnie. Les conditions météorologiques à Goose Bay se sont détériorées après le départ de C-FFHF. L'avion est arrivé à Ugly Lake après avoir fait une escale de ravitaillement, puis il est parti à destination de Goose Bay pour le vol de retour selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR).

Pendant le vol au sud de Goose Bay, le pilote de C-FFHF était en communication avec plusieurs appareils. Le pilote d'un Otter monomoteur se trouvant au sud de Goose Bay a demandé au pilote de C-FFHF, qui se trouvait plus au sud, les conditions météorologiques réelles en route. Le pilote de C-FFHF a répondu qu'un vol d'Air Labrador en route vers Goose Bay avait rencontré des averses de neige.

Le pilote de Otter a indiqué aux enquêteurs du BST que la visibilité s'était détériorée pendant qu'il volait au sud en direction de Goose Bay. Il a indiqué qu'il était entré dans une bande d'averses de neige au nord de Goose Bay (une région qui comprenait le lieu de l'accident), qui se prolongeait d'ouest en est sur sa route prévue. Le pilote avait conservé le contact visuel avec le sol en volant aussi bas que 100 pieds au-dessus du sol et il avait poursuivi sa route vers le sud en suivant les rives là où c'était possible. Il a mentionné avoir observé que les eaux des lacs survolés en route étaient très agités par de forts vents. Le pilote était arrivé à Goose Bay à environ 17 h 35.

L'étang où s'est produit l'accident, mesurant trois kilomètres de long et un kilomètre de large, est à 1 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer; une petite île se trouve à peu près en son centre milieu. Le relief entourant la rive s'élève graduellement jusqu'à 1 200 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer.

L'épave de l'avion, retrouvée par des plongeurs utilisant une caméra vidéo télécommandée, se trouvait dans 120 pieds d'eau, et les corps du pilote et du passager, sanglés dans leur siège, ont été observés dans l'épave. L'aile droite s'était séparée du fuselage, et l'étrave de chaque flotteur était relevée vers le haut. L'avion avait été gravement endommagé, bien que l'empennage semblait en un seul morceau et intact.

Au cours de l'opération de récupération initiale, l'empennage de l'avion s'est séparé du fuselage. Le corps du pilote est demeuré dans l'épave et a été récupéré. Le corps du passager et son siège sont tombés de l'épave pendant la récupération et n'ont pu être récupérés avant le 8 juillet 1997 au cours d'une recherche effectuée par la GRC. On a déterminé que les points de fixation des sièges s'étaient rompus au cours de l'impact. Les résultats de l'autopsie ont indiqué que le pilote avait subi des blessures mortelles dues aux force d'impact; il n'y avait aucun signe de noyade. Le passager avait également été tué par des blessures dues aux forces d'impact.

L'avion C-FFHF n'était pas équipé de harnais pour les occupants. Les ceintures de sécurité installées dans l'avion répondaient aux exigences minimales du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Il a été démontré que des harnais fournissent une meilleure protection aux occupants d'un avion que les seules ceintures de sécurité.

Plusieurs semaines plus tard, l'épave de l'avion a été retirée du lieu de l'accident, et le carnet de bord a été retrouvé. Il indiquait que l'avion C-FFHF avait quitté Ugly Lake à 14 h 27 et qu'il s'était posé à 16 h 20 sur un étang situé à 70 milles au nord de Goose Bay. Pour la dernière étape du vol, de l'étang vers Goose Bay, la masse au décollage de l'avion qui était consignée était de 4 719 livres, ce qui comprenait 300 livres de carburant. Rien n'indique qu'un filet de retenue du fret était installé dans l'avion au moment de l'accident bien que, parmi les marchandises transportées, se trouvaient des bonbonnes de propane vides.

Les prévisions météorologiques terminales de Goose Bay le jour de l'accident étaient les suivantes :

  • 0100-1100 : nuages épars à 4 000 pieds, plafond à 6 000 pieds de nuages fragmentés, visibilité supérieure à 6 milles.
  • 1300-1500 : ciel couvert à 2 000 pieds, visibilité de 4 milles dans de légères averses de pluie.
  • 1500-1800 : plafond couvert à 600 pieds, visibilité d'un mille dans la pluie légère et la brume.

Les dossiers indiquent que l'avion avait été entretenu conformément aux exigences de Transports Canada et qu'il totalisait environ 13 200 heures depuis sa mise en service initiale. Une inspection d'entretien aux 100 heures avait été effectuée le 9 septembre 1996. Au cours de cette inspection, un cylindre moteur avait été remplacé; l'avion avait volé 62.5 heures depuis cette inspection. Aucune autre défectuosité n'était inscrite dans le carnet de bord.

Le manuel de vol de l'avion indique que la vitesse de décollage se situe entre 55 et 65 milles par heure (mi/h). À l'atterrissage, une approche finale de 65 à 68 mi/h devrait être maintenue jusqu'à l'amerrissage. La vitesse de décrochage de l'avion gaz fermés et volets sortis est de 45 mi/h pour une masse brute de 5 100 livres.

La cellule, les instruments de bord, le moteur, l'hélice et les pipes d'échappement ont été analysés par le BST. Un examen visuel des ailes, du moteur et des points de fixation des traverses et des montants de flotteurs ont indiqué que le mode de défaillance avait été une surcharge causée par des forces d'impact. Les ailes se sont arrachées vers l'avant et le point d'attache du montant du flotteur avant droit a subi beaucoup plus de dommages que les trois autres points de fixation des montants de flotteurs. Les dommages observés sur l'épave correspondent à ceux d'un avion qui percutent violemment un plan d'eau en piqué et incliné à droite. Les volets étaient sortis à environ 28 degrés (en configuration de décollage, les volets sont sortis d'environ 39 degrés).

Le variomètre indiquait un taux de descente de 2 000 pieds par minute, la limite des graduations de l'instrument. La vitesse indiquée se situait entre 100 et 110 milles par heure à l'impact; l'altimètre était calé à 29.73 pouces de mercure, et la pression d'admission du moteur indiquait une valeur comprise entre 28 et 31.5 pouces de mercure. Les autres instruments n'ont fourni aucune information fiable.

L'analyse après démontage du moteur n'a révélé aucune défaillance interne ni défectuosité mécanique. L'analyse après démontage de l'hélice a indiqué que celle-ci était au petit pas lorsque l'avion a heurté le plan d'eau. L'huile sous pression fournie à l'hélice par le régulateur d'hélice maintient les pales au petit pas lorsque le pilote affiche ce réglage avec la commande de pas. Si le moteur ne fonctionnait pas avant l'impact, la perte de pression d'huile à l'hélice aurait amené les masselottes de l'hélice à faire pivoter les pales à un pas plus important. Lorsque l'avion se trouve en vol de croisière, l'hélice est normalement réglée à un pas plus grand.

Une partie de la pipe d'échappement écrasée a été analysée afin qu'on puisse déterminer la plage de température du métal lorsqu'il a été écrasé. L'analyse de l'écrasement de la pipe d'échappement n'a pas été jugée concluante parce que l'eau dans lequel l'avion s'était englouti avait trempé le métal.

Analyse

Les conditions météorologiques à Ugly Lake se prêtaient au vol VFR, et le pilote avait décidé de décoller pour Goose Bay. Les conditions météorologiques en route, qui comprenaient des averses de pluie et de neige dans une visibilité réduite, avaient été signalées par d'autres pilotes qui étaient en vol à peu près au même moment que C-FFHF, et ces conditions avaient également été prévues dans les prévisions terminales pour Goose Bay. Si le pilote de C-FFHF avait un problème mécanique avec l'avion, il est probable qu'il aurait communiqué ce renseignement à l'avion qui l'avait survolé. Comme rien n'indique qu'il y avait un problème mécanique avec l'avion, il est probable que le pilote de C-FFHF rencontrait des conditions météorologiques qui se détérioraient alors qu'il approchait de Goose Bay par le nord et qu'il s'était posé sur un étang pour attendre que les conditions s'améliorent.

Le dernier message radio de l'avion a eu lieu à environ 17 h 25, lorsque le pilote a relayé son intention de quitter l'étang incessamment. S'ils avaient retardé leur départ de l'étang, le pilote et son passager auraient dû alors passer la nuit à cet endroit, étant donné qu'il n'y aurait eu plus suffisamment de clarté pour pouvoir terminer le vol vers Goose Bay. Il est probable que le pilote, conscient des vents forts, des flots agités, et de la noirceur qui approchait, a quitté l'étang en espérant que la visibilité au sud serait suffisante pour qu'il termine le vol plutôt que de passer la nuit sur l'étang.

Le taux de descente d'au moins 2 000 pieds par minute et l'indication de vitesse comprise entre 100 et 110 par heure laissent croire que l'avion se trouvait dans une phase du vol différente de celle du décollage au moment de l'accident. L'indication de pression d'admission correspondait au fonctionnement du moteur à l'intérieur de la plage de puissance de croisière. La même indication serait également présente si le moteur ne fonctionnait pas, parce que l'indicateur de pression d'admission indiquerait alors la pression barométrique de l'endroit. Toutefois, l'analyse au démontage du moteur a indiqué que ce dernier était en mesure de produire de la puissance. Étant donné que les volets de l'avion étaient sortis à 28 degrés, que la pression d'admission se situait entre 28 et 31.5 pouces de mercure et que l'angle des pales d'hélice étaient au petit pas, il est probable que l'avion était en configuration de vol lent en raison de la mauvaise visibilité.

Bien qu'il soit difficile de déterminer si des harnais auraient mieux protégé les occupants dans cet accident, ils assurent quand même plus de protection que les seules ceintures de sécurité.

Il est probable que le pilote n'a pas été en mesure de maintenir le contact visuel avec la surface à un moment donné après le décollage de l'étang. L'avion a heurté le plan d'eau soit pendant une tentative du pilote de retrouver un contact visuel, soit parce que le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de son appareil en visibilité réduite.

L'enquête a donné lieu aux rapports du Laboratoire technique du BST suivants :

  • LP 153/96 - Instruments Examination (examen des instruments);
  • LP 157/96 - Engine Disassembly Examination (examen après démontage du moteur);
  • LP 158/96 - Propeller Examination (examen de l'hélice); et
  • LP 170/96 - Exhaust Stack Temperature Analysis (analyse de la température de la pipe d'échappement).

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel et avait accumulé 894 heures de vol.
  2. Rien n'indique que le pilote s'était posé sur un étang au nord de Goose Bay en raison de problèmes mécaniques.
  3. Les conditions météorologiques dans la région à peu près au moment de l'accident indiquaient une visibilité réduite dans des averses de neige et des vents forts.
  4. Le pilote et le passager ont été retrouvés dans leur siège, et ils portaient leur ceinture de sécurité.
  5. Le corps du passager sanglé à son siège est tombé de l'épave au cours de l'opération de récupération et il a finalement été récupéré le 8 juillet 1997.
  6. Les résultats de l'autopsie ont déterminé que le pilote et le passager avaient péri à la suite de blessures causées par l'impact.
  7. Les dossiers indiquent que l'avion avait été entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur.
  8. L'avion a heurté le plan d'eau en piqué incliné sur l'aile droite, en descente à 2 000 pieds par minute au moins, à une vitesse comprise entre 100 et 110 noeuds, et avec une pression d'admission comprise entre 28 et 31.5 pouces de mercure.
  9. Le moteur était en mesure de produire de la puissance, il n'y avait aucun signe de défaillance mécanique.
  10. L'hélice se trouvait au petit pas lorsque l'avion a heurté le plan d'eau.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Il est probable que le pilote n'a pas été en mesure de maintenir le contact visuel avec la surface quelque temps après le décollage de l'étang. L'avion a heurté le plan d'eau soit au cours d'une tentative du pilote de rétablir le contact visuel avec la surface, soit parce que le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'avion en visibilité réduite.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 23 juillet 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.