Aviation Investigation Report A96C0018

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Risk of Collision
Between Wildcountry Airways Ltd
Piper PA-31-350 Chieftain C-FPIO
and Fast Air Ltd
Piper PA-31-325 Navajo C-GMDL
Dryden, Ontario 18 nm NW
15 February 1996

Summary

The Wildcountry Airways Ltd Chieftain was on an instrument flight rules (IFR) flight from Red Lake, Ontario, to Atikokan via airway Amber 4 at an assigned altitude of 7,000 feet above sea level (asl). The Chieftain was radar identified by the Kenora Sector controller and the altitude was verified. Approximately 20 nautical miles (nm) northwest of Dryden, the pilot observed, at his two o'clock position, another aircraft which appeared to be at the same altitude and flying on a collision course. The pilot of the Chieftain transmitted a position report on 126.7 MHz in order to alert the other aircraft of his presence. However, radio contact was not established, and he took evasive action to avoid a collision. The conflicting aircraft was a Fast Air Piper Navajo which was on a visual flight rules (VFR) flight from Winnipeg, Manitoba, to Sioux Lookout, Ontario, at a planned altitude OF 7,500 feet asl. The pilot of the Navajo did not see the conflicting traffic until the Chieftain had taken evasive action.

Analysis of the radar data revealed that the aircraft were about one quarter of a mile apart laterally and 200 feet vertically when the two tracks crossed. The pilot of the Chieftain reported that he flew through the wake of the Navajo during his avoidance manoeuvre.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The weather was clear in the area of the occurrence.

This occurrence took place in Class E airspace within the altimeter setting region. Class E airspace is controlled airspace where air traffic control (ATC) separation is provided only to aircraft operating under IFR. The Aeronautical Information Publication (AIP) defines the altimeter setting region as an airspace of defined dimensions below 18,000 feet asl within which the altimeter of an aircraft en route shall be set to the current altimeter setting of the nearest station along the route of flight, or where such stations are separated by more than 150 nm, the nearest station to the route of flight. For both occurrence aircraft, the nearest station was Dryden.

The altimeter setting is the pressure that when set on the altimeter will cause the altimeter to read aerodrome elevation when the aircraft is on the ground at the aerodrome. The altitude obtained using the altimeter setting is called the indicated altitude. If the altimeter setting is not set as required, an erroneous indicated altitude is displayed on the instrument. An altimeter setting which is too high results in an altimeter reading that is too high; that is, the aircraft would actually be at a lower altitude than the altimeter indicates.

Both aircraft were operating in the altimeter setting region and were required by their respective routings to have their altimeters set to the Dryden altimeter setting. The pilot of the Chieftain re-set his altimeter as required at the mid-point of his route between Red Lake and Dryden to the Dryden altimeter setting of 30.08 inches of mercury. The pilot of the Navajo had not reset the altimeter after departing Winnipeg and still had the Winnipeg setting of 30.38 set on the altimeter. Each .10 inches of mercury changes the altimeter by approximately 100 feet.

ATS Sector control positions may be operated by either one or two controllers, depending on workload. When two controllers are working, controlling tasks are divided between two positions: the radar controller performs radar control responsibilities, and the data controller performs administrative control activities such as coordinating flight plans between sectors and updating the flight progress strips. At the time of the occurrence, the Kenora Sector was being operated by one controller, who was performing the duties of both positions. His workload was assessed by his supervisor as moderate.

The Chieftain was under the control of the Kenora Sector and was transponding a discrete code that was providing altitude information. Thus, the digital target symbol of the Chieftain that was displayed on the controller's monitor was a "correlated target" symbol that had an associated full data block, which included the altitude of the aircraft. The Navajo was a VFR flight and was not controlled by ATS. The Navajo was transponding the VFR code 1200, a non-discrete code, that was providing altitude information. Thus, the digital target symbol of the Navajo that was displayed on the controller's monitor was an "uncorrelated target" symbol, and had an associated limited data block but included the altitude of the aircraft.

At the time of the occurrence, the controller was engaged in data controller tasks and had reduced his radar controller tasks correspondingly by not monitoring uncorrelated target symbols. The controller did not observe the uncorrelated target symbol of the Navajo merge with the target of the Chieftain until the pilot of the Chieftain reported his avoidance action.

The Air Traffic Control Manual of Operations (MANOPS), TP703E, specifies the rules, procedures, and separation minima in the control of air traffic. Section 165.3 of MANOPS states that the controller must provide traffic information to radar-identified IFR aircraft if the targets appear likely to merge with another radar-observed target. The controller does not have to apply this procedure if the aircraft are known to be separated by more than the appropriate vertical separation minimum or if precluded by higher priority duties. Sections 131.1 and 131.2 of MANOPS state that the controller must give priority to the provision of control service over other services, and make every effort to provide the other services to the fullest possible extent.

The AIP summarizes information concerning rules of the air and procedures for aircraft operation in Canadian airspace. In the "Rules of the Air and Air Traffic Services" (RAC) section, paragraph 5.7, the AIP states that when operating in areas where radar coverage exists, aircraft operating in accordance with VFR and equipped with a transponder may request traffic information if traffic and ATC workload permit. The Navajo was transponder equipped and transponding the VFR transponder code 1200, but the pilot had not requested en route radar surveillance. RAC, paragraph 6.2, states that an IFR clearance provides separation between IFR aircraft only and that pilots operating IFR must be aware of the need to provide their own separation visually from VFR aircraft when operating in VFR conditions.

Air Navigation Order (ANO) Series V, No. 2, specifies aircraft cruising altitudes appropriate to aircraft track. Cruising altitudes for the tracks of the occurrence aircraft are specified as odd thousands of feet for IFR aircraft and odd thousands of feet plus 500 feet for VFR aircraft. Both aircraft were flown at indicated altitudes appropriate to direction of track.

The AIP, in RAC, Section 4.5.6, NOTE, states the following: "Pilots operating VFR en route in uncontrolled airspace or VFR on an airway should continuously monitor 126.7 MHz when not communicating on the MF [mandatory frequency] or the ATF [aerodrome traffic frequency]." This guidance is contained in a section entitled "Airport Operations" and is not found in the "VFR Enroute Procedures" section. Enroute Low Altitude charts contain the note that, "Whenever practicable 126.7 should be continuously monitored when VFR in controlled airspace unless another frequency is more appropriate." Enroute Low Altitude charts are designed for IFR use and are not commonly used by VFR pilots. The pilot of the Navajo was monitoring 122.8 MHz, which many pilots operating VFR in northwestern Ontario use for en route communication.

Analysis

This analysis will discuss the altimeter settings of the two aircraft, and assess the air traffic control procedures and pilot actions.

When the Navajo arrived in the vicinity of Dryden, the pilot did not reset the altimeter from 30.38 to the appropriate setting of 30.08. Consequently, although the pilot of the Navajo flew at a VFR cruising altitude of 7,500 feet with reference to the altimeter, the aircraft was actually flying at about 7,200 feet asl. The vertical distance between the two aircraft was about 300 feet less than the required vertical distance of 500 feet.

Because the controller was performing the duties of both radar and data controller, he prioritized his tasks, giving higher priority to the data controller tasks and lower priority to the provision of traffic information. Thus, he spent little time monitoring the uncorrelated digital target symbols. This prioritization is permitted by the ATC procedures specified in MANOPS. As a consequence, he did not provide traffic information to the Chieftain. The pilot of the Chieftain, while on an IFR flight plan, correctly maintained a visual lookout, saw the conflicting traffic, and took evasive action. The pilot of the Navajo chose not to ask for en route ATS radar surveillance. This decision precluded the verification of the altitude of the Navajo by the Kenora Sector controller, which probably would have prevented the altitude conflict. The lack of guidance on the use of the recommended en route frequency of 126.7 MHz reduced the possibility of immediate communication between the pilots when the altitude conflict occurred.

Findings

  1. The pilot of the Navajo did not reset the aircraft's altimeter to the nearest station, as required, as the aircraft progressed along its route.
  2. Because of the incorrect altimeter setting, the Navajo was flying about 300 feet lower than the indicated altitude.
  3. When the aircraft passed, the vertical distance between them was about 300 feet less than the required vertical distance of 500 feet.
  4. The Kenora Sector controller was performing the combined duties of the radar controller and the data position.
  5. The Kenora Sector controller prioritized his control responsibilities and did not monitor uncorrelated digital target symbols.
  6. The Kenora Sector controller did not provide traffic information to the Chieftain nor did MANOPS obligate him to do so.
  7. The pilot of the Navajo did not request en route radar surveillance and, therefore, did not get confirmation of altitude or receive traffic information.
  8. The pilot of the Navajo did not see the other aircraft prior to the occurrence.
  9. The pilot of the Navajo did not monitor the recommended en route frequency of 126.7 MHz in controlled airspace.
  10. Guidance on the use of the en route frequency in controlled airspace is not readily available to VFR pilots.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The Navajo came within 200 vertical feet of another aircraft as a result of the pilot not resetting his altimeter to the pressure setting of the nearest station along his route of flight, as set out in the AIP. Contributing to this occurrence were ATS procedures that gave controllers the discretion to assign data services a higher priority than that assigned to the provision of traffic services. Also contributing to this occurrence were the fact that directions to VFR pilots on the use of radio frequencies are not well publicized and the Navajo pilot did not request en route radar surveillance.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 20 December 1996.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96C0018

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Risque de collision
entre le Piper PA-31-350 Chieftain C-FPIO
de Wildcountry AirwaysLtd.
et le Piper PA-31-325 Navajo C-GMDL
de Fast Air Ltd.
18 nm au nord-ouest de Dryden (Ontario)
15 Février 1996

Résumé

Le Chieftain de Wildcountry Airways Ltd. effectuait un vol selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) entre Red Lake (Ontario) et Atikokan en empruntant la voie aérienne Amber 4 à 7 000 pieds-mer, son altitude assignée. Le Chieftain avait été identifié au radar par le contrôleur du secteur de Kenora et l'altitude avait été vérifiée. À quelque 20 milles marins (nm) au nord-ouest de Dryden, le pilote a vu à deux heures un autre appareil qui lui a semblé être à la même altitude et suivre une trajectoire convergente. Le pilote du Chieftain a transmis un compte rendu de position sur 126,7 MHz pour signaler sa présence à l'autre avion. Il n'y a toutefois eu aucun contact radio, et le pilote a dû prendre des mesures pour ne pas entrer en collision avec cet appareil. Il s'agissait d'un Piper Navajo de Fast Air qui effectuait un vol entre Winnipeg (Manitoba) et Sioux Lookout (Ontario) selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR), à 7 500 pieds-mer, son altitude prévue. Le pilote du Navajo a vu le Chieftain seulement après que le pilote du Chieftain eut pris des mesures d'évitement.

L'analyse des données radar a montré que, au moment du croisement, les avions avaient un espacement latéral d'un quart de mille environ et un espacement vertical de 200 pieds. Le pilote du Chieftain a déclaré être passé dans la turbulence de sillage du Navajo au cours de la manoeuvre d'évitement.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Il faisait beau dans la région au moment des faits.

L'incident s'est produit dans l'espace aérien de classe E, à l'intérieur de la région de calage altimétrique. L'espace aérien de classe E est un espace contrôlé à l'intérieur duquel le contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) assure uniquement l'espacement entre les appareils volant en IFR. La Publication d'information aéronautique (AIP) définit la région de calage altimétrique comme un espace aérien de dimensions précises au-dessous de 18 000 pieds-mer à l'intérieur duquel l'altimètre d'un aéronef en route doit être réglé sur le calage altimétrique en vigueur à la station la plus proche sur la route empruntée ou, si de telles stations sont distantes de plus de 150 nm, à la station la plus proche de la route empruntée. Dans le cas présent, la station la plus proche pour les deux avions était celle de Dryden.

Le calage altimétrique est la pression que l'on affiche à l'altimètre pour obtenir l'altitude de l'aérodrome, une fois l'aéronef au sol à cet aérodrome. L'altitude obtenue est appelée altitude indiquée. Si l'altimètre est mal réglé, il ne donnera pas la bonne altitude indiquée. Si le calage altimétrique est trop élevé, l'altimètre donnera un chiffre trop haut; autrement dit, l'aéronef se trouvera en réalité à une altitude plus basse que celle qu'affiche l'altimètre.

Les deux avions évoluaient dans la région de calage altimétrique et, compte tenu des routes qu'ils empruntaient, leurs altimètres devaient être réglés sur le calage altimétrique de Dryden. Le pilote du Chieftain avait recalé son altimètre, comme il devait le faire, à mi-chemin entre Red Lake et Dryden pour afficher le calage altimétrique de Dryden (30,08 pouces de mercure). Le pilote du Navajo n'avait pas recalé son altimètre depuis son départ de Winnipeg, et l'instrument était donc toujours réglé sur le calage de Winnipeg (30,38). Chaque dixième de pouce de mercure modifie l'altitude affichée d'une centaine de pieds.

Les postes de contrôle d'un secteur ATS peuvent être occupés par un ou deux contrôleurs, selon l'importance de la charge de travail. Lorsqu'il y a deux contrôleurs, les fonctions de contrôle sont réparties entre les deux postes : le contrôleur radar assume les responsabilitéés du contrôle radar tandis que le contrôleur des données s'occupe des fonctions administratives du contrôle, par exemple coordonner les plans de vol avec les autres secteurs et tenir à jour les fiches de progression de vol. Au moment des faits, un seul contrôleur s'occupait des deux postes du secteur de Kenora. Selon son surveillant, la charge de travail était modérée.

Le Chieftain était sous le contrôle du secteur de Kenora et son transpondeur utilisait un code discret donnant des renseignements sur l'altitude. Ainsi, le symbole de cible numérique du Chieftain qui apparaissait à l'écran du contrôleur était un symbole de «cible corrélée» associé à un bloc de données complet qui comprenait notamment l'altitude de l'avion. Comme le Navajo volait en VFR, il n'était pas sous le contrôle de l'ATS. Le transpondeur du Navajo était réglé sur le code VFR 1200, un code non discret, qui donnait des renseignements sur l'altitude. Ainsi, le symbole de cible numérique du Navajo qui apparaissait à l'écran du contrôleur était un symbole de «cible non corrélée» associé à un bloc de données limité qui comprenait toutefois l'altitude de l'avion.

Au moment des faits, le contrôleur s'occupait du contrôle des données et il avait réduit ses fonctions de contrôle radar en conséquence, ne s'occupant plus des symboles des cibles non corrélées. Le contrôleur a vu le symbole de la cible non corrélée du Navajo se rapprocher de la cible du Chieftain seulement après que le pilote du Chieftain eut signalé qu'il avait dû prendre des mesures d'évitement.

Le Manuel d'exploitation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (MANOPS), TP703F, énonce les règles, les procédures et les minima d'espacement utilisés pour le contrôle de la circulation aérienne. L'article 165.3 du MANOPS précise que le contrôleur doit fournir des renseignements sur le trafic aux aéronefs IFR identifiés au radar si les cibles sont susceptibles de se fusionner avec une autre cible observée au radar. Le contrôleur n'est pas tenu de suivre cette procédure s'il sait que l'espacement vertical entre les aéronefs est supérieur au minimum approprié ou s'il doit s'acquitter d'autres tâches plus prioritaires. En vertu des articles 131.1 et 131.2 du MANOPS, le contrôleur doit donner la priorité au service de contrôle sur tous les autres services mais en ne négligeant aucun effort pour assurer les autres services dans toute la mesure du possible.

L'AIP résume les renseignements touchant les règles de l'Air et les procédures régissant l'utilisation d'un aéronef dans l'espace aérien canadien. Dans la partie de l'AIP intitulée «Règles de l'Air et services de la circulation aérienne» (RAC), la rubrique 5.7 indique que le pilote d'un appareil muni d'un transpondeur volant en VFR dans une zone placée sous couverture radar peut demander de l'information sur le trafic si le volume du trafic et la charge de travail de l'ATC le permettent. Le Navajo possédait un transpondeur qui était réglé sur le code VFR 1200, mais le pilote n'avait demandé aucune surveillance radar en route. Le paragraphe 6.2 du RAC stipule qu'une autorisation IFR permet seulement d'assurer un espacement entre aéronefs IFR et que les pilotes volant en IFR doivent savoir qu'il leur incombe d'assurer à vue leur propre espacement par rapport aux aéronefs VFR lorsqu'ils volent dans des conditions VFR.

L'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne (ONA), série V, no 2, donne les altitudes de croisière que doivent utiliser les aéronefs en fonction de leur route. Compte tenu des routes qu'ils suivaient, les deux aéronefs en cause devaient utiliser les altitudes suivantes : chiffre impair de milliers de pieds pour l'appareil en IFR, et chiffre impair de milliers de pieds plus 500 pieds pour l'appareil en VFR. Les deux avions volaient donc à des altitudes qui convenaient à l'orientation de leur route.

Dans l'AIP, le paragraphe 4.5.6. du RAC présente la note suivante : «Les pilotes qui volent en VFR dans l'espace aérien non contrôlé ou en VFR sur les voies aériennes devraient continuellement être à l'écoute de la fréquence 126,7 MHz lorsqu'ils ne transmettent pas sur une fréquence MF [fréquence obligatoire] ou ATF [fréquence de trafic d'aérodrome]». Ce conseil se trouve dans une partie intitulée «Exploitation d'aéroport»; il ne se trouve pas dans la partie «Procédures VFR en route». La carte en route de niveau inférieur présente la note suivante : «On doit, lorsque possible, garder l'écoute permanente de la fréquence 126,7 (...) durant un vol VFR dans l'espace aérien contrôlé à moins qu'une autre fréquence soit plus adéquate». Les cartes en route de niveau inférieur sont conçues pour une utilisation en IFR, et les pilotes VFR les utilisent rarement. Le pilote du Navajo était à l'écoute de la fréquence 122,8 MHz qui est celle qu'utilisent de nombreux pilotes VFR pour leurs communications en route dans le nord-ouest de l'Ontario.

Analyse

L'analyse porte sur le calage altimétrique des deux avions et sur l'évaluation des procédures du contrôle de la circulation aérienne et des mesures prises par les pilotes.

Lorsque le Navajo est arrivé à proximité de Dryden, le pilote n'a pas recalé l'altimètre de 30,38 à 30,08, le nouveau calage approprié. Par conséquent, même si le pilote du Navajo volait selon son altimètre à l'altitude de croisière VFR de 7 500 pieds, l'avion se trouvait en réalité à 7 200 pieds-mer environ. L'espacement vertical entre les deux avions était donc inférieur de 300 pieds environ à l'espacement vertical obligatoire de 500 pieds.

Comme le contrôleur s'occupait du contrôle radar et du contrôle des données, il a établi des priorités et s'est consacré d'abord au contrôle des données et a relégué au second rang la fourniture de renseignements sur le trafic. C'est pourquoi il ne consacrait que très peu de temps à surveiller les symboles des cibles numériques non corrélées. Les procédures ATC décrites dans le MANOPS permettent d'établir de telles priorités. C'est ce qui explique pourquoi il n'a pas fourni de renseignements sur le trafic au Chieftain. Même s'il volait en vertu d'un plan de vol IFR, le pilote du Chieftain exerçait une bonne surveillance extérieure, ce qui lui a permis de voir le Navajo et de prendre des mesures d'évitement. Le pilote du Navajo avait choisi de ne pas demander de surveillance radar en route à l'ATS. C'est pourquoi le contrôleur du secteur de Kenora n'a pas vérifié l'altitude du Navajo, vérification qui aurait probablement évité ce conflit d'altitude. Le manque de conseils sur l'utilisation de la fréquence en route recommandée de 126,7 MHz a réduit la possibilité de toute communication immédiate entre les pilotes lorsque le conflit d'altitude est survenu.

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote du Navajo n'a pas recalé l'altimètre de son avion sur la station la plus proche le long de sa route comme il aurait dû le faire.
  2. Le Navajo volait à 300 pieds au-dessous de l'altitude indiquée à cause du mauvais calage altimétrique.
  3. Au moment du croisement, l'espacement vertical entre les avions était inférieur de 300 pieds environ à l'espacement vertical obligatoire de 500 pieds.
  4. Le contrôleur du secteur de Kenora s'occupait seul du contrôle radar et du contrôle des données.
  5. Le contrôleur du secteur de Kenora avait établi des priorités pour faire le contrôle du trafic et il ne surveillait pas les symboles des cibles numériques non corrélées.
  6. Le contrôleur du secteur de Kenora n'a pas donné de renseignements sur le trafic au Chieftain, ce qui n'est pas contraire au MANOPS.
  7. N'ayant demandé aucune surveillance radar en route, le pilote du Navajo n'a reçu ni confirmation de son altitude ni renseignement sur le trafic.
  8. Le pilote du Navajo n'a pas vu l'autre avion avant l'incident.
  9. Le pilote du Navajo n'était pas à l'écoute de la fréquence de 126,7 MHz qui est celle recommandée en route dans l'espace aérien contrôlé.
  10. Les pilotes qui volent en VFR n'ont pas facilement accès aux lignes directrices sur l'utilisation de la fréquence en route dans l'espace aérien contrôlé.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le Navajo a croisé un autre avion avec un espacement vertical de 200 pieds parce que, contrairement à ce que prévoit l'AIP, le pilote n'avait pas recalé son altimètre en fonction du calage altimétrique de la station la plus proche le long de sa route. Facteur contributif : les procédures ATS permettent aux contrôleurs de décider eux-mêmes si le contrôle des données a priorité sur la fourniture de renseignements sur le trafic. Autres facteurs contributifs : on ne fait pas beaucoup d'efforts pour renseigner les pilotes qui volent en VFR sur l'utilisation des fréquences radio; le pilote du Navajo n'avait pas demandé de surveillance radar en route.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 20 décembre 1996 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.