Aviation Investigation Report A96C0092

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Flight into Terrain
Piper Comanche PA24-250 N6541P (USA)
Pelican Narrows, Saskatchewan
15 June 1996

Summary

After spending a week's vacation in the vicinity, the private pilot and three passengers were departing from a private airstrip located at the U-Fly-In Camp three miles east of Pelican Narrows, Saskatchewan. The pilot intended to fly to Flin Flon, Manitoba, to top up the aircraft fuel tanks before heading home to Colorado, USA. Shortly after the take-off, the PA24-250 aircraft, serial No. 24-1663, failed to clear a stand of trees, crashed, and came to rest approximately 800 feet off the end of the airstrip. The aircraft was destroyed by the impact and post-crash fire. Two passengers were fatally injured; the pilot was seriously injured, and the third passenger received minor injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The grass-surfaced airstrip was approximately 3,000 feet long and 100 feet wide, and was surrounded by poplar and spruce trees 50 to 60 feet high. The runway was oriented 010/190 degrees and had an elevation of approximately 1,000 feet. The surface was slightly bumpy and had a pronounced hump at the 1,000-foot point on runway 01, the take-off runway. The grass was approximately 2.5 inches long near the centre line, and the airstrip was in a slightly soft condition because of recent rainfall. The aircraft tires left 1/8 to 1/4-inch-deep tire indentation marks at the location where the aircraft turned around prior to the take-off.

The local weather was reported by an observer as follows: temperature 13 degrees Celsius (°C), and wind from 325 degrees at 10 to 15 miles per hour (mph). The weather at Flin Flon, approximately 50 miles southeast of the departure airstrip, was as follows: scattered cloud at 1,100 feet above ground level with an overcast layer at 1,800 feet, temperature 13°C, dew point 10°C, and winds 300° True at 10 knots.

The licensed private pilot was rated for single-engine land visual flight rules (VFR) flight, and had approximately 1,800 hours total flying time, with 583 hours of complex/retractible flying time and 540 hours on type. In the last 30 days, the pilot had flown approximately 15 hours including the recent trip from Colorado. The pilot was relatively inexperienced with soft-field, grass-runway take-offs.

The pilot estimated the gross weight of the aircraft to be 2,975 pounds, with the centre of gravity (C of G) within limits. The maximum gross weight for the aircraft was 3,000 pounds, as equipped with tip tanks which were installed under a Supplementary Type Certificate (STC).

Take-off performance calculations for the conditions indicate that a ground run of about 1,400 feet would have been required before the airplane became airborne, and that a total distance of about 2,000 feet would have been required to reach an altitude of 50 feet. The stopping distance required would have been significantly more than the 650 feet indicated in the approved flight manual for landing with flaps down on a hard-surfaced runway; this, in turn, indicates that the safe abort point would have been at about 1,000 feet from the end of the runway.

The pilot reported that the pre-take-off run-up was uneventful. He utilized a soft-field take-off technique and attempted to hold the nose off the runway immediately at the start of the take-off roll. The aircraft was observed to lift off with an abrupt and pronounced rotation after a ground run of about 1,100 feet. The aircraft was then seen to fly 5 to 10 feet above the ground in a nose-high attitude. The aircraft was observed to touch down about 900 feet further down the airstrip. The aircraft lifted off again and flew with a nose-high attitude and shallow climb angle at approximately 60 miles per hour (mph). The pilot decided to continue the take-off, but found that the aircraft would not climb without sacrificing airspeed. The pilot then levelled the aircraft and retracted the gear in order to reduce drag and build up airspeed. An observer reported that the aircraft's engine sound was not as loud or sharp as that of other aircraft of the same make and model. The observer reported that the aircraft cleared lower trees at the end of the airstrip, but that its trajectory was such that it did not appear able to clear higher trees on the rising ground beyond the runway. At the end of the airstrip, the pilot pulled back on the control column in an attempt to clear the approaching trees and turned to the right towards the lake. The aircraft lost airspeed, stalled, and dropped into the forest.

The aircraft was found in a stand of trees 50 to 60 feet high, about 800 feet beyond and slightly to the right of the runway. The damage signatures on the aircraft and the ground scars showed that the aircraft entered the trees in a right-wing-low attitude. The aircraft's right wing struck the ground first, severing the outboard section. The aircraft then rotated to the right and came to rest on a heading of 220° magnetic. The damage to the surrounding trees indicated that the propeller was producing power until the engine struck the ground. The aircraft was severely damaged by the impact and the subsequent intense fuel-fed fire which consumed the entire cabin area, most of the remainder of the right wing, the inboard section of the left wing, and portions of the tail.

The flaps were found in the up position. The ailerons, rudder, and elevators sustained damage from the impact forces and from the fire; however, all failures and damage in the structure and attachments were assessed to be overload or fire related. The elevator trim was in a neutral to slightly nose-down position. Flight control continuity was established to the extent possible, given the fire damage.

The engine compartment was severely damaged by fire; the carburettor and induction system, accessory section, and both magnetos were entirely consumed. No useful information was obtained from the cockpit instruments because of the fire damage.

Aircraft records indicate that the aircraft's tachometer had been changed to an electronic type in January of 1996. At the time of the installation of the new tachometer, the engine was found to be over-speeding by approximately 300 revolutions per minute (rpm). The maintenance engineer involved in the installation believed that the old tachometer had been indicating approximately 300 rpm low and adjusted the propeller governor maximum speed setting downward accordingly. Subsequent testing of the old tachometer confirmed that at 2,500 rpm it was indicating 300 rpm too low. This indicates that the pilot had been operating the engine in an over-speeding condition for an unknown period of time, during which time the engine had been producing more power than was being indicated by the tachometer.

The propeller governor was tested at two independent propeller overhaul shops and was found to be operating within normal expected parameters. The propeller was dismantled and examination revealed that, at the time of ground impact, the blade pitch mechanism was slightly off the low pitch stop. This is the expected position for a propeller which is operating in flight in the "fine pitch" or take-off position.

Although the temperature and dew point were conducive to carburettor icing, the pilot reported that there were no indications of icing and that engine performance prior to take-off was normal.

The low-wing PA24-250 is equipped with a laminar flow wing. Laminar flow wings have sharper leading edges and are thickest at about 50 per cent of the chord position, whereas conventional airfoils are thickest at about the 30 per cent chord position. The laminar flow airfoil tends to be more efficient in terms of reduced drag, but only over a narrow range of angles of attack, commonly called the "drag bucket." As long as this airfoil operates within this narrow range of angles of attack, the air flow remains laminar for a much farther distance back from the leading edge than on a conventional airfoil, resulting in reduced and constant drag loads. As the angle of attack is increased, however, a point is reached where the drag increases rapidly and the advantage of the laminar flow air foil disappears. Once the airfoil is operating outside of the "drag bucket," small increases in angle of attack result in significant increases in drag.

Analysis

On the basis of the propeller governor and tachometer test results, the propeller examination and damage signatures, and the lack of any conflicting evidence, it is likely that the engine was producing substantial power at impact. Although a reduction in available take-off power as a result of carburettor icing or other system malfunction cannot be ruled out, the investigation of the evidence available did not reveal any such pre-impact condition.

The cause of this accident likely involves a combination of several factors. The pilot was relatively inexperienced with soft-field grass-runway take-offs. The aircraft was near its maximum gross weight. The pilot may have had an expectation of greater aircraft performance based on the aircraft's past performance when the engine propeller governor was set 300 rpm higher and, therefore, producing more take-off power.

The pilot used a soft-field take-off technique which, in combination with the terrain rise at about the 1,000-foot mark of the airstrip, caused the aircraft to become airborne prematurely at a low airspeed with a nose-high attitude. During a soft-field take-off using such a technique, the aircraft would be operating at a relatively high angle of attack and in a region of the flight envelope where small increases in angle of attack result in significant increases in drag. Because of the characteristics of the laminar flow air foil, the aircraft nose must be lowered substantially before drag is reduced to allow the aircraft to accelerate.

The aircraft touched down again about 900 feet further down the airstrip, at about the safe abort point. Once the pilot continued the take-off beyond the safe abort point, the high drag loads did not allow the aircraft to accelerate sufficiently to climb and clear the obstructions beyond the end of the airstrip. The aircraft stalled when the pilot manoeuvred to avoid impact.

The following Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 133/96 - Take-Off Performance Analysis.

Findings

  1. Records indicate that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and procedures.
  2. The pilot estimated that the aircraft's weight was slightly below the maximum limit and that the C of G was within the prescribed limits.
  3. The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  4. Because of the almost complete destruction of the aircraft by the crash and fire, it could not be determined whether any pre-impact failure or system malfunction contributed to the accident; however, none was identified.
  5. There was no evidence of carburettor icing.
  6. The tachometer which was removed in January of 1996 was found to be indicating approximately 300 rpm low. The propeller governor maximum speed setting was decreased by approximately 300 rpm when the new electronic tachometer was installed.
  7. Having previously operated the aircraft at an engine speed that was 300 rpm higher, the pilot may have had an expectation of greater aircraft performance that could not be achieved on the day of the accident.
  8. On take-off, the aircraft became airborne prematurely and maintained a nose-high attitude which prevented the aircraft from accelerating and climbing sufficiently to clear the obstacles.
  9. The pilot continued the take-off beyond the safe abort point.
  10. The aircraft stalled at an altitude from which recovery was not possible.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The technique used during the take-off from the soft field caused the aircraft to become airborne prematurely and prevented sufficient acceleration to climb and clear the obstacles in the take-off flight path. The aircraft stalled at an altitude from which recovery was not possible when the pilot manoeuvred to avoid impact with trees.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 23 April 1997.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96C0092

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec le relief
Piper Comanche PA24-250 N6541P (É.-U.)
Pelican Narrows (Saskatchewan)
Le 15 juin 1996

Résumé

Après avoir passé une semaine de vacances dans la région, le pilote privé et trois passagers devaient décoller d'une piste privée située au camp U-Fly-In, trois milles à l'est de Pelican Narrows (Saskatchewan). Le pilote projetait de voler jusqu'à Flin Flon (Manitoba) pour remplir les réservoirs de carburant de l'appareil avant le vol de retour au Colorado (États-Unis). Peu après le décollage, l'avion PA24-250, numéro de série 24-1663, n'a pu franchir un peuplement d'arbres, s'est écrasé et s'est immobilisé à environ 800 pieds de l'extrémité de la piste. L'avion a été détruit à l'impact et lors de l'incendie qui a suivi. Deux passagers ont été mortellement blessés, le pilote a été grièvement blessé, et le troisième passager n'a subi que des blessures légères.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

La piste gazonnée, mesurant environ 3 000 pieds de long et 100 pieds de large, est entourée de peupliers et d'épinettes de 50 à 60 pieds de haut. La piste orientée 010o-190o est à une altitude de 1 000 pieds environ. La surface est légèrement raboteuse et elle présente une bosse prononcée à 1 000 pieds du seuil de la piste 01, celle qui a servi au décollage. L'herbe avait une hauteur d'environ 2,5 pouces près de l'axe de la piste, et le sol de cette dernière était légèrement mou à la suite de pluies récentes. Les pneus de l'avion ont laissé des traces d'une profondeur de 1/8 à 1/4 de pouce à l'endroit où l'avion a viré avant le décollage.

Un observateur a rapporté que les conditions météorologiques locales étaient les suivantes : température de 13 degrés Celsius (oC) et vent soufflant du 325 degrés à une vitesse de 10 à 15 milles par heure (mph). Les conditions météorologiques à Flin Flon, situé à environ 50 milles au sud-est de la piste de départ, étaient les suivantes : nuages épars à 1 100 pieds au-dessus du sol avec ciel couvert à 1 800 pieds, température de 13 oC, point de rosée de 10 oC et vents du 300o vrai à 10 noeuds.

Le pilote privé titulaire d'une licence était qualifié pour le vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) sur avion monomoteur terrestre et il avait totalisé environ 1 800 heures de vol, dont 583 heures sur appareil complexe à train rentrant et 540 heures sur type. Au cours des 30 derniers jours, le pilote avait volé pendant environ 15 heures, le voyage en provenance du Colorado compris. Le pilote était relativement inexpérimenté dans les décollages sur piste gazonnée et terrain mou.

Le pilote a estimé la masse brute de l'avion à 2 975 livres, le centre de gravité se situant dans les limites. La masse brute maximale de l'avion équipé de réservoirs d'extrémité était de 3 000 livres. Ces réservoirs avaient été montés en vertu d'un certificat de type supplémentaire.

Les calculs de performance au décollage en fonction des conditions indiquent qu'une course au décollage d'environ 1 400 pieds était nécessaire pour que l'avion puisse prendre l'air, et qu'une distance totale d'environ 2 000 pieds serait nécessaire pour atteindre une altitude de 50 pieds. Dans les conditions régnantes, la distance d'arrêt nécessaire aurait été considérablement plus élevée que les 650 pieds indiqués dans le manuel de vol approuvé pour un atterrissage volets sortis sur une piste en dur. Cette constatation indique alors que le point où le décollage pouvait être interrompu en toute sécurité se situait à environ 1 000 pieds de l'extrémité de la piste.

Le pilote a signalé que le point fixe précédant le décollage s'était déroulé sans problème. Il a utilisé une technique de décollage sur terrain mou et a tenté de tenir le nez de l'avion soulevé de la piste dès le début de la course au décollage. On a observé l'avion prendre l'air en prenant brusquement un angle de cabrage prononcé après une course au décollage d'environ 1 000 pieds. On a alors vu l'avion voler à 5 ou 10 pieds au-dessus du sol en cabré. Puis, on a vu l'avion toucher le sol à environ 900 pieds plus loin sur la piste. L'avion a ensuite repris l'air et a volé en cabré et selon un faible angle de montée à environ 60 milles par heure. Le pilote a décidé de poursuivre le décollage, mais il s'est aperçu que l'avion n’arrivait pas à monter sans perdre de la vitesse. Le pilote a alors mis l'avion en palier et a rentré le train pour pouvoir réduire la traînée et augmenter la vitesse. Un observateur a déclaré que le bruit du moteur de l'avion n'était pas aussi fort ni aussi net que celui d'autres avions de la même marque et du même modèle. L'observateur a signalé que l'avion a franchi les arbres les moins hauts situés à l'extrémité de la piste, mais que la trajectoire de l'avion était telle qu'il ne semblait pas qu'il pourrait franchir les plus grands arbres situés sur le sol qui montait au-delà de la piste. À l'extrémité de la piste, le pilote a tiré sur le manche afin de tenter de passer par-dessus les arbres qui approchaient et il a viré à droite en direction du lac. L'avion a perdu de la vitesse, a décroché et est tombé dans la forêt.

On a retrouvé l'avion dans un peuplement d'arbres d'une hauteur de 50 à 60 pieds, à environ 800 pieds au-delà de la piste et légèrement à droite de cette dernière. Les dommages de l'avion et les marques sur le sol ont montré que l'avion était entré dans les arbres en inclinaison à droite. L'aile droite de l'avion a heurté le sol en premier, ce qui a sectionné sa partie extérieure. L'avion a lors pivoté à droite et s'est immobilisé sur un cap de 220o magnétique. Les dommages aux arbres avoisinants ont indiqué que l'hélice produisait de la puissance jusqu'à ce que le moteur percute le sol. L'avion avait été gravement endommagé par l'impact par l'incendie intense alimenté par le carburant qui a consumé toute la cabine et le reste de l'aile droite, la partie intérieure de l'aile gauche et des parties de la queue.

Les volets ont été retrouvés en position rentrée. Les ailerons, le gouvernail de direction et les gouvernes de profondeur ont été endommagés par l'impact et le feu; cependant, toutes les défaillances et tous les dommages de la structure et des fixations ont été attribués à une surcharge ou à l'incendie. Le compensateur de la gouverne de profondeur se trouvait dans une position comprise entre le point neutre et un léger piqué. On a pu établir, en autant que le permettait les dommages par le feu, la continuité des commandes de vol.

Le compartiment moteur avait été grandement endommagé par le feu; le carburateur, le circuit d'admission d'air, le relais d'accessoires et les deux magnétos ont été entièrement consumés. Aucune donnée utile n'a pu être obtenue des instruments du poste de pilotage à cause des dommages causés par le feu.

Les dossiers de l'avion indiquent que le compte-tours de ce dernier avait été remplacé par un compte-tours électronique en janvier 1996. Au moment du montage du nouveau compte-tours, il a été découvert que la vitesse du moteur dépassait les paramètres de réglage d'environ 300 tours par minute (tr/min). Selon le technicien d'entretien chargé du montage, l'ancien compte-tours sous-indiquait le régime par environ 300 tr/min; il a donc diminué le réglage de la vitesse de rotation maximale du régulateur d'hélice en conséquence. Par la suite, des essais menés sur l'ancien compte-tours ont confirmé qu'à 2 500 tr/min, il indiquait 300 tr/min de moins. Cette constatation montre que le pilote avait utilisé son moteur en survitesse pendant une durée indéterminée, au cours de laquelle le moteur produisait plus de puissance que ne l'indiquait le compte-tours.

Deux ateliers de révision indépendants ont testé le régulateur d'hélice et ont conclu qu'il fonctionnait selon les paramètres normaux prévus. L'examen de l'hélice après l'accident a révélé qu'au moment de l'impact avec le sol le mécanisme de calage de pas se trouvait légèrement décalé par rapport à la butée de pas faible. C'est la position prévue pour une hélice qui tourne en vol au «pas fin», soit la position de décollage.

Même si la température et le point de rosée favorisaient le givrage du carburateur, le pilote a indiqué qu'il n'y avait aucun signe de givrage et que le comportement du moteur avant le décollage était normal.

Le PA24-250 à voilure basse est équipé d'une aile à écoulement laminaire. Les ailes à écoulement laminaire possèdent des bords d'attaque à faible rayon de courbure et l'épaisseur maximale se situe à 50% de la corde, tandis que les profils aérodynamiques classiques sont plus épais à peu près à 30 pour cent de la corde. La traînée d'une aile à écoulement laminaire est plutôt faible, mais seulement sur une plage étroite d'angles d'attaque, communément appelée «drag bucket» en anglais. Tant que ce profil aérodynamique évolue dans cette plage étroite d'angles d'attaque, l'écoulement aérodynamique demeure laminaire sur une bien plus grande distance à partir du bord d'attaque que sur un profil aérodynamique classique, ce qui donne une traînée réduite et constante. Quand l'angle d'attaque augmente, toutefois, on atteint un point où la traînée augmente rapidement, et l'avantage que présente l'écoulement laminaire disparaît. Dès que le profil aérodynamique évolue à l'extérieur de cette plage réduite d'angles d'attaque, de petites augmentations de l'angle d'attaque se traduisent par d'importantes augmentations de traînée.

Analyse

Sur la foi des résultats des essais du régulateur d'hélice et du compte-tours, de l'examen de l'hélice et des marques de dommages ainsi qu'en l'absence de toute preuve contraire, il est probable que le moteur produisait une forte puissance à l'impact. Bien qu'on ne puisse écarter la possibilité d'une diminution de la puissance de décollage disponible en raison d'un givrage du carburateur ou de toute autre défectuosité de système, l'examen des renseignements disponibles n'a pas confirmé que ces situations s'étaient produites avant l'impact.

La cause de cet accident relève probablement d'une combinaison de plusieurs facteurs. Le pilote était relativement inexpérimenté dans les décollages sur piste gazonnée et terrain mou. L'avion se trouvait près de sa masse brute maximale. Le pilote pourrait s'être attendu à de meilleures performances de l'avion sur la foi du comportement antérieur de l'avion, alors que le régulateur d'hélice était réglé 300 tr/min plus haut et que, par conséquent, le moteur produisait plus de puissance au décollage.

Le pilote a utilisé une technique de décollage sur terrain mou qui, combinée à l'élévation du terrain à la marque des 1 000 pieds de la piste, a fait prendre l'air prématurément à l'avion, à une faible vitesse et en cabré. Au cours d'un décollage sur terrain mou utilisant une telle technique, l'avion évoluerait à un angle d'attaque relativement élevé et à un endroit du domaine de vol où de petites augmentations de l'angle d'attaque se traduisent par d'importantes augmentations de traînée. En raison des caractéristiques du profil aérodynamique à écoulement laminaire, il faut abaisser substantiellement le nez de l'avion avant que diminue la traînée pour que l'avion puisse accélérer.

L'avion a touché le sol une autre fois 900 pieds plus loin sur la piste, environ au point de décollage interrompu sécuritaire. À partir du moment où le pilote décidait de poursuivre le décollage au-delà de ce point, la forte traînée n'a pas permis à l'avion d'accélérer suffisamment pour monter et franchir les obstacles qui se trouvaient au-delà de l'extrémité de la piste. L'avion a décroché lorsque le pilote a manoeuvré pour éviter l'impact.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport technique suivant :

  • LP133/96 - Take-Off Performance Analysis (analyse des performances au décollage)

Faits établis

  1. Les dossiers indiquent que l'avion était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément aux procédures et à la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. Le pilote a estimé que la masse de l'avion était légèrement inférieure à la limite maximale et que le centrage se trouvait dans les limites prescrites.
  3. Le pilote était certifié et qualifié pour le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur.
  4. À cause de la destruction presque totale de l'avion dans l'écrasement et par l'incendie, il n'a pas été possible de déterminer si une défaillance ou une défectuosité de système avant l'impact avait contribué à l'accident; néanmoins, aucune n'a été décelée.
  5. Il n'y avait aucun signe de givrage du carburateur.
  6. Le compte-tours qui avait été enlevé en janvier 1996 indiquait environ 300 tr/min de moins qu'en réalité. Le réglage de la vitesse de rotation maximale du régulateur d'hélice avait été réduite d'environ 300 tr/min lors de l'installation du nouveau compte-tours électronique.
  7. Ayant piloté l'avion auparavant à un régime moteur qui était 300 tr/min plus élevé, le pilote pourrait avoir cru disposer d'une puissance supérieure qui n'a pu être atteinte le jour de l'accident.
  8. Au décollage, l'avion a pris l'air prématurément et a été maintenu en cabré, ce qui l'a empêché d'accélérer et de monter suffisamment pour franchir les obstacles.
  9. Le pilote a poursuivi le décollage au-delà du point de décollage interrompu sécuritaire.
  10. L'avion a décroché à une altitude à laquelle aucun rétablissement n'était possible.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

La technique utilisée pendant le décollage à partir d'un terrain mou a amené l'avion à prendre l'air prématurément et l'a empêché d'accélérer afin de monter et de franchir les obstacles se trouvant sur la trajectoire de décollage. L'avion a décroché lorsque le pilote a manoeuvré pour éviter l'impact avec les arbres à une altitude à laquelle aucun rétablissement n'était possible.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 9 mai 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.