Aviation Investigation Report A96O0196

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Losses of Separation
between
Air Ontario de Havilland DHC-8-301 C-GUON and
Canadian Airlines International
Douglas DC-10-30 C-GCPI
and between Air Canada
Airbus A320-211 C-FDSN and
Canadian Airlines International
Airbus A320-211 C-FLSI
Toronto/Lester B. Pearson
International Airport, Ontario
24 September 1996

Summary

At approximately 1309 eastern daylight saving time (EDT), an Air Ontario de Havilland DHC-8 (ONT331) was cleared to position on runway 24 right (24R). A loss of separation occurred approximately one minute later when a Canadian Airlines Douglas DC-10 (CDN02) was cleared to land on the same runway. At approximately 1334, a second loss of separation occurred when the same controller cleared an Air Canada Airbus A320 (ACA127) to position on runway 24R and subsequently cleared a Canadian Airlines Airbus A320 (CDN962) to land on runway 24R. In both instances the landing aircraft were instructed to overshoot, and both did so safely.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The tower controller was working the combined controller positions of north tower and south tower. At 1308:51(1), the controller cleared ONT331 to position on runway 24R, and, at 1309:37, he transmitted control instructions to the crew. He did not include take-off clearance in this transmission. The flight crew of ONT331 apparently attempted to contact the controller to ask if they had been cleared for take-off, but at the same time, the controller was communicating with the crew of an aircraft landing on runway 24 left (24L), and the transmission from ONT331 was not heard by the controller. The transmission was not recorded. When the controller cleared CDN02 to land, he noticed that ONT331 was not departing and told the flight crew that their "take-off clearance was for now." As CDN02 approached the threshold of 24R, the controller cancelled ONT331's take-off clearance and issued overshoot instructions to CDN02.

At 1332, the controller cleared ACA127 to position and hold on runway 24R. About a minute later, while ACA127 was still holding, the controller cleared CDN962 to land on 24R. During the approach, the crew of CDN962 transmitted to the tower that "there's an aircraft on the runway." The controller immediately issued instructions to CDN962 to pull up and go around.

During the first occurrence, the shift supervisor was on his lunch break; however, there was an acting supervisor, and he noticed that ONT331 was not departing and that CDN02 was instructed to overshoot. Both the controller and the acting supervisor thought that a take-off clearance had been issued to ONT331 before CDN02 was cleared to land and that ONT331 was slow to depart. At the time of the second occurrence, the tower controller was working only the north tower position, and the supervisor was working the clearance delivery position. Staffing at the time of both occurrences was in accordance with unit policies.

After clearing an aircraft to position on an active runway, the controller involved in these occurrences generally slid the flight data strip for that aircraft partially out of its flight data strip holder. Lately, however, the flight data strips had not been of a uniform width, and some slid easily in and out of the flight data strip holder, whereas others required considerable force to slide. Because of this, the controller used an alternative reminder method if the flight data strip was difficult to slide, lifting the flight data strip holder part way out of the flight data strip bay. It could not be determined what method was used for the first occurrence. At the time of the second occurrence, the controller was unable to slide the flight data strip for ACA127 because the strip was wide and would not slide easily. The controller did not use any visual cue reminder method during the second occurrence. Although the tower controller scanned the threshold of runway 24R prior to issuing the landing clearance to CDN962, he did not visually acquire ACA127. The weather during both occurrences was reported as wind 360 degrees at 5 knots, visibility 2 statute miles in rain showers and mist, and clouds based at 700 feet above ground level. The threshold of runway 24R is approximately 1.5 miles from the control tower. Factors which can affect the ability of controllers to see aircraft on the threshold include the number and type of aircraft waiting for take-off on taxiways "B", "H", and "A" and the prevailing visibility. An additional factor in this instance was the paint scheme of ACA127, which was predominantly dark. Witnesses who were in the tower during the second occurrence stated that ACA127 was quite difficult to see at the threshold of runway 24R.

Airport Diagram

Figure 1 - Airport Diagram

The control tower was equipped with monitors to display information from the airport surface detection equipment (ASDE). Controllers in the tower reported that the monitors sometimes displayed returns of non-existent aircraft, or did not display returns for aircraft which were in position on the end of runway 24R. Some of these anomalies were observed by investigators during the field phase of the investigation. Controllers stated that they checked the ASDE monitor after the second loss of separation, and there was no return for ACA127.

The controller involved in the occurrences reported that he had slept only two hours during the night before the occurrences, and that his sleep pattern had been similar during several previous nights. The controller stated that he knew he was tired before he started his shift, but he assessed himself as fit to perform his duties. Significant amounts of sleep loss can have deleterious effects on one's performance, including decrements in vigilance, impairments of working memory, and increased errors in communication. People, especially those who are sleepy, often do not realize their actual level of fatigue, alertness, or performance.

Analysis

In the first occurrence, the controller cleared ONT331 to hold on runway 24R and did not issue a take-off clearance until after CDN02 had been cleared to land. The controller thought that he had issued a take-off clearance to ONT331 and was waiting for the flight crew to begin a take-off roll; the flight crew was waiting for a take-off clearance. Both the airport controller and the acting supervisor thought that a take-off clearance had been issued to ONT331 prior to the first loss of separation and, therefore, did not realize that a significant, abnormal occurrence had taken place. For that reason, the controller was not removed from operational duty.

In the second occurrence, the controller cleared ACA127 to position on the active runway and forgot to issue the take-off clearance. He also forgot to use, or was unable to use, his visual cue, possibly because the flight data strip would not slide easily out of the flight data strip holder. With no visual cue to remind him that the aircraft was in position on the runway, a line of defence was lost. He did not visually acquire the aircraft in position on the runway during his scan of the area. It is possible that a combination of the lack of contrast between the aircraft and the background, traffic on an adjacent taxiway between the tower and the threshold, and meteorological conditions, in conjunction with the lack of a visual cue, resulted in the controller forgetting that he had placed the aircraft on the active runway. It is also likely that the ASDE did not display a return for ACA127.

The controllers on duty at the time of the occurrence stated that the combination of traffic on the adjacent taxiway, reduced visibility, and the predominant colour of the aircraft blending into the background made ACA127 difficult to see at the threshold of the runway. Although the airport is equipped with ASDE and the tower controllers are able to monitor the returns, the location and idiosyncrasies of the radar make it subject to displaying false or misleading information, or not displaying information at all. The controllers are aware of these characteristics and certainly, in the case of the second occurrence, the lack of information would be a critical lapse. The shift supervisor was working the clearance delivery position at the time of the second occurrence and was unable to perform supervisory duties.

It is very likely that the controller was fatigued as a result of an accumulated sleep debt stemming from several nights of disturbed and shortened sleep cycles. The fact that the controller thought he had cleared ONT331 for take-off when he had not, and forgot he had placed ACA127 on the threshold of runway 24R, appears to be consistent with these potential sleep-loss effects. Further, although the controller felt that he was fatigued prior to starting his shift, he believed that he would be able to perform his duties. This decision by the controller was consistent with the effects of fatigue, in that people often do not realize their actual level of fatigue, alertness, or performance.

Findings

  1. The control tower was staffed in accordance with unit policy.
  2. The controller had an accumulated sleep debt and was fatigued.
  3. In the first occurrence, the tower controller was working the north and south tower positions combined.
  4. The tower controller was aware that he had placed ONT331 in position on runway 24R.
  5. The tower controller thought that he had cleared ONT331 for take-off on runway 24R when he had not.
  6. CDN02 was cleared to land on runway 24R when separation from ONT331 was not assured.
  7. The controller forgot about ACA127 after he cleared it to position on runway 24R.
  8. There is no uniform method used by controllers as a visual reminder that they have placed an aircraft in position on an active runway.
  9. The tower controller did not use any visual cue to remind himself that he had placed ACA127 on the threshold of runway 24R.
  10. The shift supervisor was working the clearance delivery position at the time of the second occurrence.
  11. A combination of factors made ACA127 difficult to see at the threshold of runway 24R.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The two losses of separation occurred when, in each instance, the controller instructed the aircraft to position on the active runway and subsequently cleared an aircraft to land on the same runway when separation between the landing aircraft and the aircraft on the runway was not assured. Contributing to the two occurrences was the probable impairment of the controller's performance by sleep debt.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 23 September 1997.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96O0196

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Pertes d'espacement
entre le de Havilland DHC-8-301 C-GUON
d'Air Ontario et le DC-10-30 C-GCPI
des Lignes aériennes Canadien International
et entre l'Airbus A320-211 C-FDSN
d'Air Canada et l'Airbus A320-211 C-FLSI
des Lignes aériennes Canadien International
Aéroport international de Toronto/Lester B.
Pearson (Ontario)
24 septembre 1996

Résumé

Vers 13 h 9, heure avancée de l'Est (HAE), un de Havilland DHC-8 (ONT331) d'Air Ontario a été autorisé à se positionner sur la piste 24 droite (24R). Dans la minute qui a suivi, il y a eu perte d'espacement lorsqu'un Douglas DC-10 (CDN02) des Lignes aériennes Canadien a été autorisé à se poser sur la même piste. Vers 13 h 34, il y a eu une seconde perte d'espacement lorsque le même contrôleur a autorisé un Airbus A320 (ACA127) d'Air Canada à se positionner sur la piste 24R avant d'autoriser un peu plus tard un Airbus A320 (CDN962) des Lignes aériennes Canadien à se poser sur la piste 24R. Dans les deux cas, les avions à l'atterrissage ont reçu l'ordre d'effectuer une remise des gaz, ce qu'ils ont fait en toute sécurité.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le contrôleur de la tour occupait les postes de contrôle tour-nord et tour-sud qui avaient été regroupés. À 13 h 8 min 51(1), le contrôleur a autorisé ONT331 à se positionner sur la piste 24R. À 13 h 9 min 37, il a transmis les instructions de contrôle à l'équipage. Il n'a pas inclus l'autorisation de décollage dans son message. L'équipage de conduite de ONT331 a apparemment essayé de contacter le contrôleur pour savoir s'il avait bel et bien été autorisé à décoller mais, au même moment, le contrôleur parlait à l'équipage d'un autre avion à l'atterrissage sur la piste 24 gauche (24L), et le contrôleur n'a pas entendu le message en provenance de ONT331. Ce message n'a pas été enregistré. Quand le contrôleur a autorisé CDN02 à se poser, il a remarqué que ONT331 ne partait pas, et il a dit à l'équipage que son autorisation de décollage était valable tout de suite. Comme CDN02 approchait du seuil de la piste 24R, le contrôleur a annulé l'autorisation de décollage de ONT331 et a ordonné à CDN02 de remettre les gaz.

À 13 h 32, le contrôleur a autorisé ACA127 à se positionner et à attendre sur la piste 24R. Une minute plus tard environ, alors qu'ACA127 attendait toujours, le contrôleur a autorisé CDN962 à se poser sur la piste 24R. Pendant l'approche, l'équipage de CDN962 a signalé par radio à la tour qu'il y avait un avion sur la piste. Le contrôleur a immédiatement ordonné à CDN962 de remonter et faire une remise des gaz.

Lors du premier incident, le chef de quart faisait une pause-repas; il y avait toutefois une personne qui le remplaçait, et celle-ci a remarqué que ONT331 n'était pas parti et que CDN02 avait reçu l'ordre de remettre les gaz. Le contrôleur ainsi que le chef de quart intérimaire pensaient tous deux que ONT331 avait reçu l'autorisation de décoller avant que CDN02 n'ait été autorisé à se poser, et que ONT331 avait trop tardé à décoller. Lors du second incident, le contrôleur occupait uniquement le poste de contrôle tour-nord, et le chef de quart occupait le poste de délivrance des autorisations. Les effectifs au moment des deux incidents étaient conformes aux politiques de l'unité.

Plan de l'aéroport

Figure 1 - Plan de l'aéroport

Le jour des incidents, le contrôleur en cause, après avoir autorisé un avion à se positionner sur une piste en service, faisait glisser un peu sur le côté la fiche de progression de vol de l'avion de manière que la fiche dépasse du porte-fiche. Toutefois, par la suite, il a dû manipuler des fiches de progression de vol de diverses largeurs, et certaines pouvaient glisser facilement sur le côté du porte-fiche tandis que d'autres glissaient très difficilement. C'est pourquoi le contrôleur se servait d'un autre aide-mémoire pour les fiches difficiles à faire glisser. Ainsi, quand il avait du mal à faire glisser une fiche, il sortait le porte-fiche partiellement en dehors de la console où était fixé le porte-fiche. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer quelle méthode avait été employée au cours du premier incident. Dans le cas du second incident, le contrôleur n'avait pas réussi à faire glisser la fiche de progression de vol de ACA127 parce que la fiche était trop large et qu'elle était difficile à manipuler. Lors du second incident, le contrôleur ne s'est servi d'aucun aide-mémoire visuel. Bien que le contrôleur de la tour ait balayé du regard le seuil de la piste 24R avant d'autoriser CDN962 à se poser, il n'a pas établi le contact visuel avec ACA127. Les conditions météorologiques signalées au moment des deux incidents étaient les suivantes : vents du 360 degrés à 5 noeuds, visibilité de 2 milles dans des averses de pluie et de la bruine, et nuages dont la base se trouvait à 700 pieds au-dessus du sol. Le seuil de la piste 24R se trouve à un mille et demi environ de la tour de contrôle. Parmi les facteurs qui peuvent empêcher les contrôleurs de voir les avions au seuil de piste, mentionnons le nombre et les types d'avions en attente de décollage sur les voies de circulation B, H et A ainsi que la visibilité du moment. Dans les présentes circonstances, la couleur sombre de ACA127 est un facteur supplémentaire. Des témoins dans la tour au moment du second incident ont déclaré qu'ACA127 était relativement difficile à voir au seuil de la piste 24R.

La tour de contrôle est équipée d'écrans qui affichent les renseignements provenant du radar de surveillance des mouvements de surface (ASDE). Selon les contrôleurs de la tour, il arrive parfois que les écrans montrent des échos d'avions qui n'existent pas ou ne montrent pas les échos d'avions bel et bien en place à l'extrémité de la piste 24R. Les enquêteurs ont pu observer certaines de ces anomalies pendant qu'ils étaient sur les lieux des incidents pour faire l'enquête. Les contrôleurs ont déclaré avoir vérifié l'écran ASDE après la seconde perte d'espacement et s'être aperçus de l'absence d'écho de ACA127.

Le contrôleur en cause dans les incidents a déclaré qu'il n'avait dormi que deux heures la nuit précédant les incidents et que plusieurs des nuits précédentes avaient été semblables. Il a déclaré qu'il savait qu'il était fatigué avant de prendre son service, mais qu'il avait jugé qu'il était en mesure de s'acquitter de ses fonctions. Un manque de sommeil important peut avoir des conséquences néfastes sur le rendement d'une personne; notamment le niveau de vigilance peut diminuer, la qualité de la mémoire peut se dégrader pendant le travail, les erreurs de communication peuvent augmenter. Les personnes, et notamment celles qui sont somnolentes, ne se rendent souvent pas compte de leur véritable niveau de fatigue, de vigilance ou de rendement.

Analyse

Dans le cas du premier incident, le contrôleur a autorisé ONT331 à attendre sur la piste 24R et ne lui avait toujours pas donné une autorisation de décollage quand il a autorisé CDN02 à se poser. Le contrôleur pensait avoir donné à ONT331 une autorisation de décollage et il attendait que l'équipage commence sa course au décollage tandis que l'équipage attendait de recevoir son autorisation. Le contrôleur d'aéroport ainsi que le chef de quart intérimaire pensaient tous deux que ONT331 avait reçu son autorisation de décoller avant le premier incident; c'est pourquoi ils ne se sont pas rendu compte qu'un événement important et anormal s'était produit. C'est pourquoi le contrôleur n'a pas été prié de quitter son poste opérationnel.

Dans le cas du second incident, le contrôleur a autorisé ACA127 à se positionner sur la piste en service et a oublié de délivrer l'autorisation de décollage. Il a également oublié de se servir de son aide-mémoire visuel, ou il n'a pu le faire, peut-être parce que la fiche de progression de vol était difficile à sortir du porte-fiche. Sans aide-mémoire visuel pour lui rappeler que l'avion était en place sur la piste, il a ainsi perdu une façon de se protéger. Il n'a pas établi le contact visuel avec l'avion en position sur la piste quand il a balayé du regard la région concernée. Il se peut que le manque de contraste entre l'avion et l'arrière-plan, la présence d'avions sur une voie de circulation adjacente entre la tour et le seuil, ainsi que les conditions météorologiques, conjugués au manque d'indices pour rappeler au contrôleur l'autorisation qu'il avait accordée, aient fait oublier au contrôleur qu'il avait autorisé l'avion à se positionner sur la piste en service. Il est aussi probable que l'ASDE n'affichait pas d'écho pour ACA127.

Les contrôleurs en poste au moment des faits ont déclaré que la présence d'avions sur la voie de circulation adjacente, la visibilité réduite et la couleur prédominante de l'avion qui se fondait dans l'arrière-plan rendaient ACA127 difficile à voir au seuil de piste. Bien que l'aéroport possède un ASDE et que les contrôleurs disposent d'écrans pour en surveiller les échos, l'emplacement et les particularités du radar font que ce dernier a tendance à présenter des renseignements erronés ou trompeurs ou à ne pas présenter de renseignements du tout. Les contrôleurs sont conscients de ces caractéristiques et il est certain que, dans le cas du second incident, le manque de renseignements a probablement constitué une lacune importante. Au moment du second incident, le chef de quart travaillait au poste de délivrance des autorisations; c'est pourquoi il ne pouvait pas s'acquitter de ses tâches de surveillance.

Il est fort probable que le contrôleur était fatigué parce que depuis plusieurs nuits ses cycles de sommeil avaient été plus courts et de mauvaise qualité. Le fait que le contrôleur pensait à tort avoir autorisé ONT331 à décoller et le fait qu'il a oublié qu'il avait autorisé ACA127 à se positionner au seuil de la piste 24R, semblent être attribuables à ce sommeil de mauvaise qualité. De plus, même s'il se sentait fatigué avant de prendre son service, le contrôleur se croyait tout de même capable de s'acquitter de ses fonctions. La décision prise par le contrôleur est typique d'une personne qui ressent les effets de la fatigue. ll arrive souvent que les personnes fatiguées ne se rendent pas compte de leur véritable niveau de fatigue, de vigilance ou de rendement.

Faits établis

  1. Les effectifs de la tour étaient conformes aux politiques de l'unité.
  2. Le contrôleur manquait de sommeil et était fatigué.
  3. Dans le cas du premier incident, le contrôleur de la tour occupait les postes de la tour-nord et de la tour-sud qui avaient été regroupés.
  4. Le contrôleur de la tour savait qu'il avait autorisé ONT331 à se positionner sur la piste 24R.
  5. Le contrôleur de la tour a cru à tort qu'il avait autorisé ONT331 à décoller de la piste 24R.
  6. CDN02 a été autorisé à se poser sur la piste 24R sans que l'espacement avec ONT331 ne soit assuré.
  7. Le contrôleur a oublié qu'il avait autorisé ACA127 à se positionner sur la piste 24R.
  8. Les contrôleurs n'utilisent pas tous la même méthode pour se rappeler qu'ils ont autorisé un avion à se positionner sur une piste en service.
  9. Le contrôleur de la tour n'a eu recours à aucun aide-mémoire visuel pour se rappeler qu'il avait autorisé ACA127 à se positionner au seuil de la piste 24R.
  10. Au moment du second incident, le chef de quart occupait le poste de délivrance des autorisations.
  11. ACA127 était difficile à voir au seuil de la piste 24R à cause d'un ensemble de facteurs.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Dans chaque cas, le contrôleur a autorisé un avion à se positionner sur la piste en service avant d'autoriser un autre avion, un peu plus tard, à se poser sur la même piste sans que l'espacement entre l'avion à l'atterrissage et l'avion sur la piste ne soit assuré. Le fait que le contrôleur manquait de sommeil a probablement contribué aux deux incidents.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur ces incidents. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 23 septembre 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.