Aviation Investigation Report A96P0006

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Situational Awareness
Helijet Airways Inc.
Sikorsky S-76A (Helicopter) C-GHJL
Victoria Airport, British Columbia
13 January 1996

Summary

Helijet Airways flight 721 (JBA721) departed Vancouver on a scheduled flight to the Victoria Harbour helipad, British Columbia, with 2 pilots and 11 passengers on board. While en route, the pilots were advised that the Victoria Harbour weather was below landing limits. The pilots then chose to divert to the Victoria airport, where they conducted the "ILS/DME" (instrument landing system/distance measuring equipment) instrument approach to runway 09. At 1252 Pacific standard time (PST) they initiated the published missed approach procedure at the decision height, because of poor visibility in fog. The first officer, who was flying the helicopter at the time, had unintentionally allowed the airspeed to gradually reduce to about 40 knots during the latter stages of the approach; when he applied power to begin the missed approach climb straight ahead, the helicopter smoothly turned about 100 degrees to the right. This turn was not immediately detected by either pilot, and the helicopter continued on the climb out on the incorrect heading for about 30 seconds until the captain saw the heading deviation and instructed the first officer to correct course to the left, back to the published heading. The Victoria Terminal air traffic controller also noted the heading discrepancy and issued the pilot radar vectors to prevent a loss of separation with another aircraft on the same ILS approach to runway 09 at Victoria. The helicopter then continued to Vancouver and landed without further incident.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The published ILS/DME approach to runway 09 at Victoria, dated 14 September 1995, was a conventional precision instrument approach procedure which incorporated a 3-degree glide path, an inbound track of 085 degrees magnetic, and a decision height of 255 feet above sea level (asl), 200 feet above ground level (agl). The missed approach procedure required an aircraft to climb straight ahead on the localizer to 5 DME from the airport, before turning left and climbing to 3,000 feet asl. By design, this flight path traversed mostly open water and some low-elevation islands. The approach procedure document used by the pilots at the time of the incident was correct and appropriate for the approach to runway 09. The instrument approach procedures and profile were not contributing factors in this incident.

The pilots were certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations, and their work schedules and rest periods were in accordance with the approved company operations manual limitations. On this flight, the captain, although he was the pilot-in-command, was acting as the non-flying pilot in the left-hand seat. This division of flight deck duties is a common industry practice and, through appropriate crew resource management techniques, provides acceptable levels of competence during flight. The captain remains unequivocally in command at all times.

Before joining Helijet, the captain had accumulated about 4,500 hours of helicopter flight time engaged primarily in bush work and ab initio student instruction in smaller helicopters. Shortly after receiving his initial class 4 instrument rating qualification in 1992, he began flying as a first officer on the S-76 with Helijet, and he was upgraded to captain status in April 1995. Since joining the operator, the pilot had gained about 1,800 hours of flying experience on the S-76.

The first officer had a strong background in military helicopter operations, which included about 7 years in an instrument flying environment, and he had gained about 2,500 flight hours in both medium and large size helicopters. He had joined Helijet as a first officer in early 1995, and had accumulated about 500 hours on the S-76 since then.

The 1233 PST Victoria terminal weather observation was reported as 100 feet scattered, measured ceiling of 800 feet broken, 2,800 feet overcast, with 3 miles visibility in light rain and fog. At 1300 PST, 10 minutes after the incident, the only change to the weather was reported as 2,700 feet overcast.

At the time of the incident, Helijet had a Transport-Canada-approved, non-precision Loran approach procedure into the Victoria Harbour, which incorporated a step-descent profile leading to a missed approach point at 380 feet asl. The latter stages of this approach were usually flown at 60 to 70 knots indicated airspeed (KIAS), and the final segment of the approach to the missed approach point was conducted in straight and level flight. This approach profile had been used successfully in the past by the Helijet pilots flying into Victoria Harbour in conditions of limited visibility. The incident crew had recently flown the Loran approach to Victoria Harbour successfully, and both pilots had done so on other occasions.

The operator had established approved training and recurrency programmes which, in part, provided training, critique, and examination of several types of instrument approaches, including the Loran step descent to Victoria Harbour, and the ILS precision approaches to either Vancouver or Victoria airports.

Helijet regularly flew in the Vancouver area, and the pilot's traditional proficiency, operational, and examination flying included ILS approaches which terminated at the designated missed approach point for the specific procedure. Because the airspace where the ILS approaches were established was so active, air traffic control (ATC) operational circumstances required the crews to expedite their ILS approaches at airspeeds which caused minimal disruption to larger, commercial aeroplanes, sometimes flying in the order of 140 KIAS. As a consequence of the ILS approaches being flown at these higher airspeeds, the S-76 pilots were rarely exposed to ILS profiles at the lower, more conventional helicopter airspeed of 70 KIAS. The handling characteristics of the helicopter at 140 KIAS are significantly different from those at 70 KIAS; however, both these high and low in-flight speeds are well within the certificated flight envelope of the helicopter. Neither pilot had flown an ILS in the S-76 at 70 knots.

The traditional procedure of practising sequential instrument approaches incorporated, by necessity, the practice of executing the missed approach procedure at each decision point; not often, therefore, did the helicopter proceed past the decision point with the intention of landing, and continue with the approach to touchdown. This often repeated practice of truncated approaches did not expose pilots to the flight characteristics of the S-76 in the slow speed regime during instrument approaches.

During the in-flight approach briefing, the pilots discussed the circumstances of the approach profile and, because of the marginal weather conditions at the time, decided to conduct the ILS at a reduced airspeed of 60 to 70 KIAS, in similar fashion to their recent successful Loran approach to Victoria Harbour. This decision was based on the premise that the slower airspeed would allow them more opportunity to acquire the required visual references at the missed approach point, and then to proceed in visually for landing. Once established on the localizer, the pilot-flying began to reduce airspeed to the discussed 70 knots; the helicopter, however, began to climb on the glide path because of the higher nose attitude required to slow down. In an attempt to regain the glide path, the pilot reduced collective pitch to descend, and the rate of descent increased to about 800 feet per minute.

At this stage the pilot-flying began to fixate on the glide-slope indicator, to the exclusion of the other cockpit instruments. The captain observed the low airspeed and cautioned the pilot-flying to move the cyclic forward to regain airspeed. The helicopter then arrived at the missed approach point height, and the captain called for the missed approach procedure to be carried out. The pilot-flying acknowledged, applied climb power, and began the transition into the climb. It was at this stage that the aircraft turned right about 100 degrees without the pilots realizing it. The airspeed then began to increase, and, during the initial stages of the climb, the captain continued his pilot-not-flying duties. At 60 KIAS, he retracted the landing gear, and transmitted their intentions to ATC. During the initial part of the missed approach, however, the pilot-flying had not yet resumed his instrument scan and was disoriented. As a result, the captain chose to talk him through the procedure and provide constant feedback and direction. About 30 seconds after the helicopter had turned right, the captain became aware of the heading deviation and instructed the pilot-flying to turn left to regain the correct missed approach heading. About 50 seconds later, ATC issued radar vectors to JBA721 to ensure continued separation from another arriving aircraft.

Analysis

While both the incident pilots had seen and experienced the 70 KIAS Loran step-descent approach in the S-76, they had not experienced an ILS approach at that same airspeed. The most significant difference between the approach profiles is that the ILS is a descending flight path; the missed approach, therefore, is a constant-speed transition from descending flight to climbing flight. Aggravating the pilot's workload was the significant torque-related force turning the helicopter to the right as a result of the increase in collective pitch to begin the climb.

It is most likely that the pilot began to lose situational awareness as a result of his unfamiliarity with the low speed ILS approach profile. A combination of the high rate of descent, low airspeed, large power application, and significant nose attitude change led to aircraft handling characteristics that the pilots had not previously experienced. As a result, when the instrument scan of the pilot-flying broke down, he lost directional control and the helicopter turned right. The turn itself was not detected by either of the pilots, most likely because the effect was masked by other attitude changes and the lack of external visual references. The delay in the captain's detection of the heading error resulted from his preoccupation with the missed approach vital actions, and his having to talk the pilot-flying through the missed approach and recovery of his instrument scan.

Findings

  1. The pilot-flying lost situational awareness and unknowingly allowed the helicopter to turn 100 degrees away from the published missed approach procedure heading.
  2. The helicopter continued on the incorrect missed approach heading for about 30 seconds, until the captain realized the error and issued recovery instructions to the pilot-flying.
  3. The incident pilots had not previously flown ILS approaches at low airspeeds of about 70 knots.
  4. The operator had not included practice flying ILS approaches at low speed during in-flight training.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The helicopter flew off the published missed approach procedure because the pilot-flying lost situational awareness. Contributing to the incident was the crew's lack of low-speed ILS experience.

Safety Action Taken

Immediately after the incident, Helijet withdrew both pilots from flying duties, and had the pilots complete an instrument flying training, reassessment, and recertification programme. Following successful retesting by a Transport Canada air carrier inspector, both pilots returned to line flying.

Shortly after the incident, the Flight Safety unit at Helijet conducted a crew resource management (CRM) training seminar for all company pilots, during which the circumstances of this incident were used as a primary training module.

The Helijet training programme was modified to specifically include practising ILS approaches at both high and low airspeeds, and continuing approaches past the missed approach point more often. In addition, Helijet's standard operating procedures (SOPs) were modified to require a minimum airspeed of 75 knots on instrument approaches.

Helijet also introduced an additional annual instrument training flight for all company pilots to supplement the annual recurrent training already in place. This additional flight concentrates on basic and essential instrument flying skills, and aircraft handling and instrument scanning techniques.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 12 February 1997.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96P0006

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de conscience de la situation
Helijet Airways Inc.
Sikorsky S-76A (hélicoptère) C-GHJL
Aéroport de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
13 janvier 1996

Résumé

L'hélicoptère effectuant le vol 721 de Helijet Airways (JBA721) a décollé de Vancouver pour un vol régulier à destination de la plate-forme du port de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) avec 2 pilotes et 11 passagers à bord. En route, les pilotes ont été avisés que les conditions météorologiques au port de Victoria étaient inférieures aux limites d'atterrissage. Les pilotes ont alors décidé de se dérouter sur l'aéroport de Victoria, où ils ont fait une approche aux instruments ILS/DME (système d'atterrissage aux instruments/équipement de mesure de distance) sur la piste 09. À 12 h 52, heure normale du Pacifique (HNP), à la hauteur de décision, l'équipage a amorcé la procédure d'approche interrompue publiée, en raison du brouillard. Le copilote, qui était aux commandes à ce moment-là, avait laissé par inadvertance la vitesse diminuer graduellement à environ 40 noeuds pendant les dernières étapes de l'approche. Lorsqu'il a remis les gaz pour entamer la montée droit devant après l'approche interrompue, l'hélicoptère a doucement pivoté de 100 degrés sur la droite. Ce virage n'a pas été immédiatement décelé par les pilotes, et l'hélicoptère a poursuivi sa montée sur le mauvais cap pendant environ 30 secondes jusqu'à ce que le commandant de bord s'aperçoive de l'écart de cap et ordonne au copilote de corriger vers la gauche pour revenir sur le cap publié. Le contrôleur terminal de Victoria s'est aussi aperçu de l'écart de cap et a donné au pilote des vecteurs radar pour éviter une perte d'espacement avec un autre aéronef qui effectuait la même approche ILS sur la piste 09 de Victoria. L'hélicoptère a ensuite poursuivi son vol vers Vancouver où il s'est posé sans autre incident.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'approche ILS/DME publiée pour la piste 09 à Victoria, datée du 14 septembre 1995, est une procédure d'approche de précision classique avec une trajectoire de descente de 3 degrés, une trajectoire de rapprochement au cap de 085 degrés magnétique et une hauteur de décision de 255 pieds-mer (200 pieds-sol). La procédure d'approche interrompue exige que l'aéronef monte droit devant sur le radiophare d'alignement de piste à 5 DME à partir de l'aéroport, avant de tourner à gauche et de monter à 3 000 pieds-mer. Cette trajectoire est en grande partie à la verticale d'eaux libres et de certaines îles au relief peu élevé. Le document de procédure d'approche utilisé par les pilotes au moment de l'incident était le bon et il convenait à une approche sur la piste 09. Les procédures et le profil d'approche aux instruments n'ont joué aucun rôle dans l'incident.

Les pilotes possédaient les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Leur horaire de travail et leurs périodes de repos étaient conformes aux limites du manuel d'exploitation approuvé de l'entreprise. Pour ce vol, le commandant de bord, même s'il était le pilote aux commandes, agissait comme pilote non aux commandes en place gauche. Cette répartition des tâches dans le poste de pilotage est courante dans l'industrie et, grâce à des techniques appropriées de gestion des ressources de l'équipage, elle permet d'assurer des niveaux de compétence acceptables pendant le vol. Le commandant de bord reste tout de même le pilote responsable de la conduite du vol et de l'avion pendant tout le vol.

Avant de se joindre à Helijet, le commandant de bord avait effectué environ 4 500 heures de vol sur des hélicoptères de brousse et sur des hélicoptères plus petits pour donner de l'instruction à des élèves-pilotes. Peu après avoir obtenu sa première qualification aux instruments de classe 4 en 1992, il avait commencé à voler comme copilote sur le S-76 pour Helijet, et il était passé commandant de bord en avril 1995. Depuis qu'il s'était joint à cette compagnie, il avait effectué environ 1 800 heures de vol sur le S-76.

Le copilote possédait une vaste expérience sur hélicoptères militaires, dont environ 7 ans de vol aux instruments, et il avait effectué environ 2 500 heures de vol sur de gros hélicoptères et sur des hélicoptères moyens. Il avait commencé à travailler pour Helijet comme copilote au début de 1995 et avait effectué environ 500 heures de vol sur le S-76 depuis.

L'observation météorologique terminale de Victoria à 12 h 33 HNP faisait état des conditions suivantes : nuages épars à 100 pieds, plafond mesuré à 800 pieds avec des nuages fragmentés, ciel couvert à 2 800 pieds, visibilité de 3 milles dans la pluie légère et le brouillard. À 13 h HNP, soit 10 minutes après l'incident, un seul élément avait changé : le plafond était maintenant à 2 700 pieds.

Au moment de l'incident, Helijet pouvait utiliser une procédure d'approche de non-précision au Loran pour le port de Victoria, qui était approuvée par Transports Canada. Elle comprenait un profil de descente étagée menant au point d'approche interrompue à 380 pieds-mer. Les dernières étapes de cette approche étaient habituellement effectuées à une vitesse indiquée de 60 ou 70 noeuds (KIAS), et la dernière étape de l'approche menant au point d'approche interrompue était effectuée en vol rectiligne en palier. Ce profil d'approche avait été utilisé avec succès dans le passé par les pilotes de Helijet pour se rendre au port de Victoria par visibilité réduite. Dernièrement, l'équipage du C-GHJL avait fait sans problème une approche au Loran sur le port de Victoria, et les deux pilotes avaient effectué la même approche à d'autres occasions.

L'exploitant avait mis en place des programmes de formation et d'entraînement périodique approuvés qui comprenaient notamment de l'instruction, de la critique et l'examen de plusieurs types d'approche, dont la descente étagée au Loran sur le port de Victoria ainsi que des approches de précision ILS sur les aéroports de Victoria et de Vancouver.

Helijet effectuait régulièrement des vols dans la région de Vancouver. Les vols de compétence, opérationnels ainsi que les vols de contrôle courants comprenaient des approches ILS qui se terminaient au point d'approche interrompue désigné pour la procédure en question. Comme les approches ILS se déroulaient dans un espace aérien très occupé, le contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) exigeait que les équipages fassent les approches ILS à des vitesses plus élevées pour qu'il n'y ait qu'une incidence minime sur les gros avions commerciaux, parfois à la vitesse indiquée de 140 noeuds. En conséquence, les pilotes de S-76 avaient rarement l'occasion de faire des approches ILS à des vitesses inférieures, c'est-à-dire à la vitesse classique de 70 noeuds. Les caractéristiques de pilotage de l'hélicoptère à 140 noeuds sont très différentes de celles qui se manifestent à 70 noeuds. Cependant, les vitesses de vol supérieures et inférieures s'inscrivent bien en-deçà du domaine de vol certifié de l'hélicoptère. Aucun des deux pilotes n'avait eu l'occasion d'effectuer une approche ILS à 70 noeuds à bord d'un S-76.

L'entraînement classique qui consiste à s'exercer à des approches séquentielles aux instruments comprenait nécessairement des exercices d'approche interrompue à chaque point de décision. Par conséquent, il n'arrivait pas souvent que l'hélicoptère s'engage au-delà du point de décision avec l'intention de se poser et qu'il poursuive l'approche jusqu'au point de la prise de terrain. Résultat : les exercices d'approche étaient des approches partielles qui ne permettaient pas aux pilotes de se familiariser avec les caractéristiques de vol du S-76 à faible vitesse pendant les approches aux instruments.

Au cours de l'exposé en vol avant l'approche, les pilotes ont discuté du profil de vol et, à cause du mauvais temps, ils ont décidé d'effectuer l'approche ILS à vitesse réduite à 60 ou 70 noeuds, d'une manière semblable à leur récente approche au Loran réalisée sans problème au port de Victoria. Les pilotes ont pris cette décision parce qu'ils ont jugé qu'une vitesse plus faible leur donnerait plus de temps pour établir le contact visuel avec les références au sol au point d'approche interrompue et qu'ils pourraient ensuite passer au vol à vue pour l'atterrissage. Une fois établi sur le radiophare d'alignement de piste, le pilote aux commandes a commencé à réduire la vitesse vers la vitesse convenue de 70 noeuds. Cependant, l'hélicoptère a commencé à monter sur la trajectoire de descente à cause du cabré supérieur nécessaire pour diminuer la vitesse de l'appareil. Dans l'espoir de remettre l'hélicoptère sur la trajectoire de descente, le pilote a abaissé le levier de pas collectif pour descendre, et le taux de descente a alors augmenté à 800 pieds par minute.

À ce moment-là, le pilote aux commandes a commencé à se concentrer sur l'indicateur d'alignement de descente, sans consulter les autres instruments de bord. Le commandant de bord a remarqué la faible vitesse et a dit au pilote aux commandes de pousser sur le manche pour prendre de la vitesse. L'hélicoptère est alors arrivé à la hauteur du point d'approche interrompue, et le commandant de bord a demandé l'interruption de la procédure d'approche. Le pilote aux commandes a accusé réception, a mis la puissance de montée et a commencé la transition vers la montée. C'est à ce moment-là que l'hélicoptère a pivoté sur la droite de 100 degrés à l'insu des pilotes. La vitesse a alors commencé à augmenter et, dès que l'avion s'est mis à monter, le commandant de bord a continué à s'acquitter de ses tâches de pilote non aux commandes. À 60 noeuds, il a rentré le train d'atterrissage et a signalé les intentions de l'équipage à l'ATC. Au début de l'approche interrompue, toutefois, le pilote aux commandes n'avait toujours pas recommencé à surveiller les instruments et il était désorienté. Le commandant de bord a alors décidé de lui donner des instructions et de la rétroaction pour l'aider à exécuter la procédure. Une trentaine de secondes après que l'hélicoptère eut entamé son virage à droite, le commandant de bord a noté l'écart de cap et a ordonné au pilote aux commandes de virer à gauche pour revenir sur le bon cap d'approche interrompue. Une cinquantaine de secondes plus tard, l'ATC a donné des vecteurs radar à JBA721 pour assurer son espacement par rapport à un autre aéronef à l'arrivée.

Analyse

Les deux pilotes avaient déjà vu des approches en descente étagée au Loran à 70 noeuds à bord du S-76 et ils en avaient déjà exécuté, mais ils n'avaient jamais fait d'approche ILS à cette vitesse. La différence la plus importante entre les profils d'approche est que l'ILS est une trajectoire de vol en descente alors que l'approche interrompue est la transition à vitesse constante d'un vol en descente à un vol en montée. Le travail du pilote a été compliqué par l'importante force reliée au couple tendant à faire virer l'hélicoptère sur la droite à la suite d'une augmentation du pas collectif afin d'amorcer la montée.

Il est fort probable que le pilote a commencé à perdre conscience de la situation parce qu'il ne connaissait pas bien le profil d'approche ILS à faible vitesse. Le taux de descente élevé, la faible vitesse, l'application de la forte puissance et le changement notable de l'assiette ont donné lieu à des caractéristiques de pilotage que les pilotes n'avaient jamais rencontrées. Quand le pilote aux commandes a cessé de consulter ses instruments, il a perdu la maîtrise en direction de l'hélicoptère qui a alors viré à droite. Les deux pilotes ne se sont pas rendu compte du virage, fort probablement parce que cet effet a été masqué par d'autres changements d'assiette et par l'absence de références extérieures. Le commandant de bord a tardé à déceler l'erreur de cap parce qu'il exécutait les actions vitales de l'approche interrompue et parce qu'il devait parler au pilote aux commandes pendant l'approche interrompue et jusqu'à ce qu'il recommence à consulter les instruments.

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote aux commandes a perdu conscience de la situation et, sans le savoir, a laissé pivoter l'hélicoptère de 100 degrés par rapport au cap de la procédure d'approche interrompue publiée.
  2. L'hélicoptère a poursuivi le vol sur le mauvais cap d'approche interrompue pendant une trentaine de secondes, jusqu'à ce que le commandant de bord se rende compte de l'erreur et donne des instructions au pilote aux commandes pour corriger la situation.
  3. Les pilotes n'avaient jamais effectué d'approches ILS à des vitesses réduites avoisinant les 70 noeuds.
  4. Le programme d'entraînement de l'exploitant ne comprenait pas d'exercices d'approches ILS à basse vitesse.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'hélicoptère s'est écarté de la procédure d'approche interrompue publiée parce que le pilote aux commandes a perdu conscience de la situation. Le manque d'expérience de l'équipage aux approches ILS à faible vitesse a joué un rôle dans l'incident.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Immédiatement après l'incident, Helijet a retiré ses deux pilotes du service et leur a fait suivre un programme d'entraînement de vol aux instruments, de réévaluation et de recertification. Après avoir réussi un nouvel examen donné par un inspecteur des transporteurs aériens de Transports Canada, les deux pilotes ont été réintégrés dans leur poste respectif.

Peu après l'incident, le service de sécurité des vols de Helijet a tenu un atelier de formation en gestion des ressources de l'équipage pour tous les pilotes de l'entreprise, et l'incident a été utilisé comme module de formation principal.

Le programme d'entraînement de Helijet a été modifié et comprend dorénavant des exercices d'approche ILS à vitesse élevée et à vitesse réduite ainsi qu'un plus grand nombre d'approches à poursuivre au-delà du point d'approche interrompue. Les procédures d'exploitation courantes de Helijet ont également été modifiées, et la vitesse minimale exigée dorénavant pour les approches ILS est de 75 noeuds.

Helijet a aussi ajouté un vol annuel d'entraînement aux instruments pour tous les pilotes de l'entreprise pour compléter l'entraînement périodique annuel actuel. Ce vol complémentaire porte sur les techniques fondamentales et essentielles du vol aux instruments, les techniques de pilotage et les techniques de consultation des instruments.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 12 février 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.