Aviation Investigation Report A96P0105

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Main Rotor Strike
Pemberton Helicopters Inc.
Bell 206B II, C-GJPK
Squamish, British Columbia 10 nm East
26 June 1996

Summary

The British Columbia Ministry of Forests, Forest Service division, chartered the Bell 206B helicopter, serial number 1206, to fly two inspectors to various logged areas to conduct an aerial and surface inspection. The helicopter pilot was to land and let the inspectors out of the helicopter at a clearcut so they could inspect it from the ground. The terrain was sloped at angles ranging from 15 to 25 degrees and was transected by a decommissioned logging road.

The pilot attempted to off-load his passengers while touching down on one skid on the off-level road. The skid had just touched down when the pilot determined that the site was not suitable, and he had just decided to reject the landing when he detected a vibration in the cyclic control. The passengers heard a bang. The pilot immediately raised the collective control and brought the helicopter up 10 feet. He then turned about 270 degrees to the right in an attempt to find a more suitable landing site. The vibrations increased in intensity during the turn, and the pilot noticed that the main rotor speed was decaying. He attempted to land on the off-level road; however, on touchdown, the helicopter rolled over, coming to rest almost upside down. The front-seat passenger received a cut to the head from flying debris and the rear-seat passenger was bruised; the pilot was not injured. The helicopter was substantially damaged. All occupants were able to exit from the helicopter with some help from each other. One passenger climbed up the slope and radioed for help. A helicopter was dispatched to the site with a first-aid attendant.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Helicopters are frequently used during logging operations and pilots often use the access roads as landing sites. Ministry of Forests regulations require logging companies to dig up the access roads used by the logging trucks when the logging operation is terminated so that the area can return to its natural state more quickly. Both air and ground checks are conducted as part of the required final harvesting inspections. The area of mountainside where the accident took place had been logged and the access road on this cut block had been decommissioned. In combination with the steep slope of the terrain, this left no suitable place for a helicopter to make a normal landing.

The pilot decided to attempt to disembark the passengers by placing one skid on the ground to stabilize the helicopter while the passengers exited. The site at which the pilot was attempting this hovering landing was a mound of gravel on the former logging road. Upon closer examination, however, the pilot felt that the site was not sufficiently stable for disembarking the passengers, and he had just made the decision to reject the landing when the bang and vibration were noted. There was a suitable landing site within one mile of this area, and the pilot had been planning to land there if he found no means of dropping off his passengers at this location.

The hovering landing technique of placing one skid on the ground to stabilize the helicopter while holding the other skid level, without actually landing, is a recognized practice when embarking and disembarking properly briefed passengers on off-level terrain. The passengers had only been briefed for an exit following a normal landing, however, and exiting a helicopter when some or all of its weight is still supported by main rotor lift involves different techniques and considerations on the part of the passengers and the pilot. That the passengers had not been briefed was another factor in the pilot's decision to reject the off-level, hovering landing.

The approach to the site was made parallel to the road; to the left of the helicopter was higher terrain containing tree stumps. On examination, the tree stumps were found to exhibit numerous cuts and marks as a result of the logging operation, and it was not possible to determine if any of the stumps had been struck by the main rotor blades. One stump, however, was within the plane of the main rotor and was high enough to have been struck by the blades as the helicopter touched down on one skid.

The main rotor shaft sheared during the accident sequence, and the main rotor hub, with parts of the blades still attached, was found 45 feet from the wreckage. Wood fibres were found lodged in a blade tip, and chordwise scratches were etched into the bottom surface of the blade. The other blade tip was not found.

The pilot had begun working for the company two-and-a-half months before the accident. He had accumulated over 3,000 hours of flying experience since starting his flying career in 1991. He held the appropriate licences and ratings.

The pilot was wearing his seat-belt, shoulder harness, and a helmet. Shoulder harnesses were available to both passengers but neither was wearing one at the time of the accident. Air Navigation Order (ANO) Series II, Number 2 requires that a shoulder harness be available and be worn by every person on board during special purpose operations such as this aerial survey work.

The passengers were familiar with helicopter operations; both had been passengers on numerous similar flights. They reported that they were uncomfortable with the area the pilot had chosen to land as they had expected to exit the helicopter after a normal landing. They did not communicate their discomfort to the pilot.

The helicopter was not equipped with an emergency locator transmitter (ELT) on this particular flight because it had been removed for maintenance that morning. ANO Series II, No. 17, the Emergency Locator Transmitter Order, permits operation of aircraft without an ELT provided the aircraft remains within 25 nautical miles of the aerodrome of departure. The area in which the helicopter was operating was within 25 nautical miles of the point of departure. The lack of an ELT did not cause any delay in the rescue of the helicopter's occupants because the inspectors were carrying Forest Service two-way radios.

Analysis

A bang, vibrations, and a loss of rotor speed are typical symptoms of a main rotor strike. Although no clearly identifiable rotor strike marks were found on the stumps in the area of the attempted landing site, the marks and the trapped wood fibres on the main rotor blade tip are consistent with a rotor strike, likely against a stump that protruded into the area of the rotor disk.

It is likely that, when the pilot approached the decommissioned road, his attention was focused on evaluating the suitability of the landing surface and he did not recognize that a stump extended into the main rotor disk area. Although the helicopter was airborne, the vibrations and the decaying main rotor speed which resulted from the strike forced the pilot to land immediately. The helicopter touched down on the steep sloping terrain and rolled over.

Findings

  1. The pilot attempted an off-level, hovering landing at an unsuitable site.
  2. The main rotor blade likely struck a stump, causing vibrations and the main rotor speed to decay.
  3. The pilot was forced to land on steep sloping terrain, which caused the helicopter to roll over.
  4. The passengers were not wearing the available shoulder harnesses.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The pilot was attempting a hovering landing at an unsuitable site when the main rotor blades likely struck a stump. The pilot was subsequently forced to land on steep sloping terrain, which caused the helicopter to roll over.

Safety Action Taken

Following this accident, the BC Ministry of Forests took the following actions:

  1. Forestry inspectors were coached to be more vocal in situations where they felt uncomfortable;
  2. A memo was issued to employees reminding them of the policy requiring the wearing of shoulder harnesses during flights; and
  3. A new policy was established requiring that an ELT be carried on board any aircraft chartered by the Ministry regardless of the circumstances.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 05 March 1997.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96P0105

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Contact du rotor principal avec une souche
Pemberton Helicopters Inc.
Bell 206B II (hélicoptère) C-GJPK
10 nm à l'est de Squamish (Colombie-Britannique)
26 juin 1996

Résumé

La division des services forestiers du ministère des Forêts de la Colombie-Britannique avait affrété l'hélicoptère Bell 206B portant le numéro de série 1206 pour transporter deux inspecteurs à divers endroits de coupe pour qu'ils puissent faire une inspection aérienne et au sol. Le pilote de l'hélicoptère devait se poser et laisser descendre les inspecteurs à un endroit coupé à blanc afin que ceux-ci puissent inspecter les lieux. Le relief présentait une pente comprise entre 15 et 25 degrés et était coupé transversalement par un chemin forestier désaffecté.

Le pilote a essayé de poser un patin sur le chemin en dénivellation pour débarquer ses passagers. Le patin venait juste de toucher le sol quand le pilote s'est rendu compte que l'endroit ne convenait pas et, juste comme il décidait d'interrompre l'atterrissage, il a senti des vibrations dans le manche cyclique. Les passagers ont entendu un grand bruit. Le pilote a immédiatement tiré sur le levier de pas collectif et a fait monter l'appareil de 10 pieds. Il a ensuite viré de quelque 270 degrés à droite dans l'espoir de trouver un endroit plus propice à l'atterrissage. Les vibrations ont augmenté pendant le virage, et le pilote a constaté une diminution du régime du rotor principal. Il a essayé de se poser sur le chemin en dénivellation mais, au contact du sol, l'hélicoptère s'est renversé avant de passer presque sur le dos. Le passager en place avant a eu des coupures à la tête qui ont été attribuées à des projections de débris, et le passager en place arrière a eu des contusions; le pilote n'a pas été blessé. L'hélicoptère a été lourdement endommagé. Tous les occupants ont été capables de sortir de l'appareil en s'entraîdant. Un des passagers a gravi la pente pour aller demander de l'aide par radio. Un hélicoptère a été dépêché sur les lieux avec un secouriste.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Les hélicoptères servent souvent à des opérations de débardage, et les pilotes se posent fréquemment sur des chemins d'accès. En vertu de la réglementation du ministère des Forêts, les entreprises de débardage sont tenues de reboucher les chemins d'accès empruntés par les camions qui transportent le bois une fois que les opérations de débardage sont terminées, et ce, afin de remettre plus rapidement les lieux dans leur état naturel. Des vérifications aériennes et au sol sont effectuées dans le cadre des dernières inspections obligatoires après la coupe. La région du flanc montagneux où est survenu l'accident avait été exploitée, et le chemin d'accès à cette zone de coupe avait été désaffecté. En raison de la pente accentuée du relief, il ne restait aucun endroit permettant à un hélicoptère de se poser normalement.

Le pilote a décidé d'essayer de faire descendre ses passagers en plaçant un patin au sol pour stabiliser l'hélicoptère pendant que les passagers sortaient. Le pilote essayait de se poser en stationnaire sur un remblai de gravier recouvrant l'ancien chemin d'accès. Toutefois, après un examen plus attentif, le pilote s'est rendu compte que l'endroit n'était pas suffisamment stable pour faire descendre les passagers, et il venait juste de prendre la décision d'interrompre l'atterrissage quand le violent bruit et les vibrations se sont manifestés. Il y avait un lieu propice à l'atterrissage à moins d'un mille de là, et le pilote avait prévu de s'y rendre s'il ne trouvait aucune façon de faire descendre ses passagers directement sur place.

La technique de l'atterrissage en stationnaire qui consiste à placer un patin au sol pour stabiliser l'hélicoptère tout en maintenant l'autre patin de niveau, sans véritablement atterrir, est une pratique reconnue pour permettre à des passagers bien préparés de monter ou de descendre quand le relief présente une dénivellation. Les passagers n'avaient toutefois reçu qu'un exposé pour une sortie au terme d'un atterrissage normal; de plus, sortir d'un hélicoptère dont une partie du poids ou tout le poids est encore supporté par la portance générée par le rotor principal fait appel à des techniques différentes; par ailleurs, d'autres points doivent être pris en considération par le pilote et les passagers. Le fait que les passagers n'avaient pas été préparés en conséquence a également été pris en compte par le pilote quand il a décidé d'interrompre l'atterrissage en stationnaire au-dessus d'un terrain en dénivellation.

L'approche avait été effectuée parallèlement au chemin; à gauche de l'hélicoptère, des souches d'arbres jonchaient le relief élevé. À l'examen, il est apparu que les souches présentaient de multiples entailles et marques résultant des opérations de débardage, de sorte qu'il n'a pas été possible de déterminer si les pales du rotor principal avaient heurté l'une des souches. Toutefois, une souche se trouvait dans le plan de rotation du rotor principal et était suffisamment haute pour avoir été heurtée par les pales lorsque l'hélicoptère s'est posé sur un patin.

L'arbre du rotor principal s'est cisaillé pendant l'accident, et le moyeu du rotor principal, accompagné de morceaux de pale qui y étaient encore fixés, a été découvert à 45 pieds de l'épave. Des fibres de bois ont été retrouvées encastrées dans une extrémité de pale, et des égratignures dans le sens de la corde se trouvaient sur l'intrados de la pale. L'autre extrémité de pale n'a pas été retrouvée.

Au jour de l'accident, le pilote travaillait pour le compte de la compagnie depuis deux mois et demi. Il avait débuté sa carrière de pilote en 1991 et totalisait plus de 3 000 heures de vol. Il possédait les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.

Le pilote portait sa ceinture-baudrier et un casque. Des ceintures-baudriers étaient à la disposition des deux passagers, mais ni l'un ni l'autre ne la portait au moment de l'accident. En vertu de l'Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne (ONA), série II, numéro 2, il faut que toute personne à bord d'un appareil pendant des opérations spéciales comme ce genre d'inspection aérienne, ait à sa disposition et porte une ceinture-baudrier.

Les passagers avaient l'habitude de se déplacer en hélicoptère, et ils avaient accompli de nombreuses missions similaires à titre de passagers. Ils ont déclaré avoir eu des doutes concernant l'endroit d'atterrissage choisi par le pilote puisqu'ils s'attendaient à sortir de l'appareil au terme d'un atterrissage normal. Ils n'ont pas fait part de leurs inquiétudes au pilote.

Lors du vol de l'accident, l'hélicoptère ne possédait pas de radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) puisque celle-ci avait été enlevée le matin pour faire l'objet de travaux de maintenance. L'ONA, série II, numéro 17, intitulée l'Ordonnance sur les radiobalises de secours, autorise l'utilisation d'un aéronef sans ELT pourvu que l'aéronef reste à moins de 25 milles marins de l'aérodrome de départ. La région où évoluait l'hélicoptère se trouvait à moins de 25 milles marins de son point de départ. L'absence d'ELT n'a pas retardé les opérations de sauvetage puisque les inspecteurs avaient des émetteurs-récepteurs appartenant aux services forestiers.

Analyse

Un violent bruit, des vibrations et une perte de régime rotor sont des symptômes caractéristiques d'un heurt du rotor principal. Bien qu'aucune marque de rotor clairement identifiable n'ait été relevée sur les souches à l'endroit choisi pour la tentative d'atterrissage, les marques et les fibres de bois trouvées dans une extrémité de pale du rotor principal sont typiques d'un impact avec le rotor; le rotor a probablement heurté une souche qui se trouvait dans son champ de rotation.

Il est probable que, pendant l'approche sur le chemin désaffecté, le pilote s'est concentré pour évaluer si la surface convenait à l'atterrissage et qu'il ne s'est pas rendu compte qu'une souche se trouvait dans le champ de rotation du rotor principal. L'hélicoptère était en vol, mais les vibrations et la baisse de régime du rotor principal qui ont suivi l'impact du rotor ont forcé le pilote à se poser immédiatement. L'appareil s'est posé sur le relief en forte pente et s'est renversé.

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote a essayé de se poser en stationnaire à un endroit en dénivellation qui ne convenait pas à l'atterrissage.
  2. Le rotor principal a probablement heurté une souche, ce qui a provoqué des vibrations et fait chuter le régime du rotor principal.
  3. Le pilote a dû se poser sur un relief en forte pente, et l'hélicoptère s'est renversé au contact du sol.
  4. Les passagers ne portaient pas les ceintures-baudriers à leur disposition.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Alors que le pilote essayait de se poser en stationnaire à un endroit en dénivellation qui ne convenait pas à l'atterrissage, le rotor principal a probablement heurté une souche. Le pilote a dû se poser sur un relief en forte pente, et l'hélicoptère s'est renversé au contact du sol.

Mesures de sécurité prises

À la suite de cet accident, le ministère des Forêts de la Colombie-Britannique a pris les mesures suivantes :

  1. On a avisé les inspecteurs forestiers de ne pas hésiter à faire part de leurs préoccupations au pilote si une situation les inquiétait.
  2. Une note de service a été envoyée aux employés pour leur rappeler qu'ils doivent porter leurs ceintures-baudriers en vol.
  3. Une nouvelle politique a été adoptée, et la présence d'une ELT à bord de tout aéronef affrété par le ministère est maintenant obligatoire, quelles que soient les circonstances.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 5 mars 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.