Aviation Investigation Report A96P0112

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control - Stall
Piper PA-28-151 Warrior C-GHWH
Nelson, British Columbia 30 nm East
07 July 1996

Summary

The Piper aircraft, C-GHWH, departed the Nelson airport, British Columbia, at about 1225 Pacific daylight saving time (PDT)(1) in support of a Canadian Forces search and rescue (SAR) mission. The aircraft was part of the Civil Air Search and Rescue Association (CASARA) assignment. The crew, consisting of a pilot, a navigator, and an observer, were tasked to search an area east of Nelson and west of Cranbrook for a recently missing Piper PA-28 aircraft. At 1300, the accident pilot broadcast on the radio that all search operations were normal. At about 1340, an observer on board a Canadian Forces SAR aircraft spotted smoke coming from a downed aircraft, later identified as C-GHWH; it had been destroyed by the crash and post-impact fire, and the three occupants were fatally injured. There were no witnesses to the accident. The object of the SAR mission, missing PA-28 aircraft C-GNXV, was found later the same day; it had crashed in mountainous terrain north of Nelson. (Refer to TSB file number A96P0111.)

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The weather in the vicinity of the accident site was reported to be clear, about 10 degrees Celsius, with the winds from the northwest at 20 knots. The only reported turbulence in the accident area was near mountain peaks. There are few surface features in the mountains to provide pilots with reliable clues as to local wind speed and direction. Several search pilots reported smooth flight conditions in the mountain valleys and cirques, although one stated that he encountered a smooth updraft of approximately 1,000 feet per minute.

The wreckage was located at the 5,800-foot level on a 35-degree slope of Snowcrest Mountain. The aircraft had struck the ground at low speed, in a flat attitude relative to the surface. The burned-out aircraft was surrounded by small trees, and the fire had spread about 150 feet up the hill. An examination of the wreckage did not reveal any conclusive evidence of the direction of flight before impact; however, the orientation of the fuselage at rest facing towards the end of the valley suggests that the aircraft had been flying in that direction. Ground scars revealed forward movement of less than 3 feet after impact, and there was no damage to any of the surrounding trees.

The aircraft fuselage was largely consumed by a fuel-fed, post-crash fire. Both wings were essentially intact and in position, as was the empennage. Severe fire damage precluded the recovery of any cockpit instruments or switches that could have yielded any useful information. The flaps were found set at the first notch (10 degrees). All primary flight control cables and control surfaces were found intact. There was no evidence found of any airframe failure or system malfunction prior to impact, and the pilot had given no indication of any problems when he radioed in at 1300 PDT.

The engine was taken to the TSB regional wreckage examination facility for examination; no evidence of pre-impact failure was found. The propeller damage was consistent with the characteristic damage patterns of a propeller being powered at impact.

A review of the available aircraft records indicated that the aircraft was certificated, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The aircraft weight at take-off was estimated to have been at or near the maximum gross weight, and the centre of gravity of the aircraft was estimated to have been within the prescribed limits at the time of departure.

The pilot was licensed and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations, and there was no evidence that physiological factors affected his performance. The pilot had previous experience on CASARA missions, and was trained and qualified in accordance with the CASARA standards.

The type of search pattern used during this particular aerial search is known as "contour searching." The recommended procedure is to maintain a constant altitude above the contours of the mountainous terrain, starting at the peak and working down the mountain. The CASARA training manual advises that contour searching in mountainous terrain is considered to be one of the most dangerous and difficult types of visual searches. The CASARA pilots in British Columbia receive both classroom and airborne training in the various search profiles, and the accident pilot had taken this type of training.

The pilot's assigned search area was to have been flown at a height of 1,000 feet above the contours; this height would have afforded the searchers an effective visual searching range of one mile. The pilot had been assigned a 500-foot altitude restriction in his morning search area. At the time that the accident aircraft was to have been transiting to the search area, another search pilot saw it heading in the opposite direction. When questioned, the accident pilot replied that he did not have enough altitude to enter the mountainous search area, and that he was trying to gain altitude before entering the search area.

The aircraft manufacturer's performance charts for the PA-28-151 indicated that the maximum climb performance at the density altitude of 6,400 feet computed for the occurence site was approximately 370 feet per minute, at the best rate-of-climb speed of 87 mph. The turning radius of the aircraft at this higher density altitude would have been greater than that at sea level for the same indicated airspeed.

Analysis

Mechanical malfunction was not considered a likely factor in this accident because no evidence was found of any airframe, engine, or system malfunction or failure prior to impact, and the pilot had given no indication of any problems when he radioed in at 1300.

The aircraft's flight path and altitude prior to the occurrence are not known. The evidence of the aircraft's rather flat attitude relative to the sloped surface of the mountain and the low speed at impact, the short wreckage trail, and the wreckage damage patterns are all consistent with the aircraft stalling and entering an uncontrolled descent to the ground during a turn at a low height from which recovery was not possible. Because there were no witnesses to the accident, it could not be determined why the aircraft stalled and crashed to the ground.

Findings

  1. The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. There was no evidence of any airframe, engine, or system malfunction or failure prior to impact.
  3. There were moderate to strong winds and reported updrafts in the area at the time of the accident.
  4. The aircraft was operating at a density altitude which adversely affected the aircraft's rate-of-climb and turn radius.
  5. The aircraft crashed in an uncontrolled, stalled flight condition, probably from a low altitude, for reasons undetermined.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The aircraft stalled and crashed to the ground for reasons undetermined.

Safety Action

The British Columbia chapter of CASARA held an executive meeting on 20 July 1996. It was resolved at that meeting that any aircraft involved in close contour searches of mountainous terrain must have engines with a minimum power rating of 200 horsepower.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 05 March 1997.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96P0112

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de maîtrise - Décrochage
Piper PA-28-151 Warrior C-GHWH
30 nm à l'est de Nelson
(Colombie-Britannique)
7 juillet 1996

Résumé

Le Piper, immatriculé C-GHWH, a quitté l'aéroport de Nelson (Colombie-Britannique), vers 12 h 25, heure avancée du Pacifique (HAP)(1) pour participer à une mission de recherche et de sauvetage (SAR) des Forces canadiennes. L'avion était délégué par l'Association civile de recherche et sauvetage aériens (ACRSA). L'équipage, comprenant un pilote, un navigateur et un observateur, avait été chargé de ratisser la zone située à l'est de Nelson et à l'ouest de Cranbrook à la recherche d'un Piper PA-28 porté manquant récemment. À 13 h, le pilote du C-GHWH a communiqué par radio que les opérations de recherche se déroulaient normalement. Vers 13 h 40, un observateur à bord d'un avion SAR des Forces canadiennes a repéré de la fumée s'échappant d'un appareil qui s'était écrasé, identifié plus tard comme étant le C-GHWH. L'appareil avait été détruit dans l'écrasement et l'incendie qui s'en était suivi, et les trois occupants avaient été mortellement blessés. Il n'y a eu aucun témoin de l'accident. L'avion qui faisait l'objet de la mission SAR, un PA-28 immatriculé C-GNXV, a été retrouvé un peu plus tard le même jour. Il s'était écrasé en terrain montagneux au nord de Nelson. (Voir le dossier A96P0111 du BST.)

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Les conditions météorologiques dans le voisinage du lieu de l'accident étaient les suivantes : ciel clair, environ 10 degrés Celsius, avec des vents soufflant du nord-ouest à 20 noeuds. La seule turbulence signalée dans la zone de l'accident se situait près des crêtes montagneuses. Les montagnes comptent peu de marques de relief en surface pouvant servir de repères fiables aux pilotes pour ce qui est de la vitesse et de la direction du vent à cet endroit. Plusieurs pilotes ayant participé aux recherches ont indiqué que le vol se déroulait en air calme dans les vallées et les cirques montagneux, mais l'un d'eux a indiqué qu'il avait fait face à un ascendant régulier de 1 000 pieds par minute.

L'épave a été retrouvée au niveau des 5 800 pieds sur une pente de 35 degrés du mont Snowcrest. L'avion s'était écrasé au sol à faible vitesse et à plat par rapport à la surface. L'avion calciné était entouré de petits arbres, et le feu s'était propagé à 150 pieds environ vers le haut de la pente. Un examen de l'épave n'a pas permis de conclure avec certitude dans quelle direction se dirigeait l'avion avant l'impact. Cependant, le fait que le fuselage faisait face au bout de la vallée laisse croire que l'avion volait dans cette direction. Les marques au sol indiquent un déplacement vers l'avant de moins de 3 pieds après l'impact, et aucun des arbres environnants n'était endommagé.

Le fuselage de l'avion avait été presque entièrement brûlé dans l'incendie alimenté par le carburant qui s'en était suivi. Les deux ailes étaient essentiellement intactes et en place, tout comme l'empennage. Les instruments et les interrupteurs du poste de pilotage n'ont pas pu être récupérés en raison des graves dommages causés par l'incendie; ces instruments et interrupteurs auraient pu fournir des indications utiles. Les volets ont été retrouvés braqués au premier cran (10 degrés). Tous les câbles des gouvernes principales et toutes les gouvernes ont été retrouvés intacts. On n'a relevé aucun signe de défaillance de la cellule ou de défectuosité d'un système avant l'impact, et le pilote n'avait signalé aucun problème lors de son message radio de 13 h HAP.

Le moteur a été expédié pour examen à l'installation régionale d'examen d'épaves du BST. On n'a découvert aucun signe de défaillance avant l'impact. Les dommages subis par l'hélice étaient typiques d'une hélice qui tourne au moment de l'impact.

Un examen de la documentation disponible de l'avion a indiqué que ce dernier était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. On estime que la masse de l'avion au décollage correspondait à la masse maximale au décollage ou à peu près à cette masse, et l'on estime que son centrage se trouvait dans les limites prescrites au moment du départ.

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Rien n'indique que des facteurs physiologiques aient nui au rendement du pilote. Il avait déjà participé à des missions de l'ACRSA et sa formation et ses qualifications satisfaisaient aux normes de l'ACRSA.

Le type de recherche effectué lors des recherches aériennes en question est connu sous le nom d'«exploration par enveloppement». La procédure recommandée consiste à maintenir une altitude constante au-dessus du relief montagneux en commençant par la crête, puis en descendant vers le bas de la montagne. Le manuel de formation de l'ACRSA indique que la recherche en fonction du profil en région montagneuse est considérée comme étant un des types de recherche visuelle les plus dangereux et difficiles. Les pilotes de l'ACRSA en Colombie-Britannique reçoivent une formation théorique et en vol sur les divers types de recherche, et le pilote du C-GHWH avait suivi cette formation.

Le jour de l'incident, le pilote devait ratisser une zone de recherche à 1 000 pieds au-dessus du relief; cette hauteur offrait ainsi au personnel de recherche une portée visuelle efficace d'un mille. Le matin, le pilote devait respecter une restriction d'altitude de 500 pieds. Au moment où l'avion de recherche devait passer dans la zone de recherche, un autre pilote qui participait aux recherches l'a vu se diriger en sens inverse. Lorsqu'on lui en a parlé, le pilote du C-GHWH a répondu qu'il n'avait pas suffisamment d'altitude pour pénétrer dans la zone de recherche montagneuse et qu'il tentait de gagner de l'altitude avant de pénétrer dans cette zone.

Les tableaux de performances de l'avion fournis par le constructeur pour le PA-28-151 indiquent que la performance maximale en montée à une altitude densité de 6 400 pieds, calculée pour le lieu de l'accident est d'environ 370 pieds par minute à la meilleure vitesse de montée de 87 mi/h. Le rayon de virage de l'avion à cette altitude densité supérieure aurait été plus grand qu'au niveau de la mer pour la même vitesse indiquée.

Analyse

On a jugé qu'il n'était pas probable qu'une défectuosité mécanique ait joué un rôle dans l'accident parce qu'on n'a décelé aucun signe de défaillance ni de défectuosité de la cellule, du moteur ou d'un système avant l'impact. De plus, le pilote n'a signalé aucun problème lors de son message radio de 13 h.

L'altitude et la trajectoire de vol de l'avion avant l'accident ne sont pas connues. L'assiette relativement plate de l'avion par rapport à la surface en pente de la montagne, la faible vitesse à l'impact, le court sillon laissé par l'épave ainsi que les dommages à l'épave permettent tous de penser que l'avion a décroché et s'est mis en piqué pendant un virage à faible hauteur et que le pilote n'a pu faire une sortie de décrochage. Faute de témoin, il n'a pas été possible de déterminer pourquoi l'avion avait décroché et s'était écrasé.

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. Aucun signe de défaillance ou de défectuosité de la cellule, du moteur ou d'un système avant l'impact n'a été relevé.
  3. Il y avait des vents moyens à forts, et des courants ascendants avaient été signalés dans la zone au moment de l'accident.
  4. Le pilote volait à une altitude densité qui a gêné le taux de montée et le rayon de virage de l'avion.
  5. L'avion s'est écrasé après avoir décroché à basse altitude, probablement, pour des raisons qui n'ont pas été déterminées.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'avion a décroché et s'est écrasé pour des raisons qui n'ont pas été déterminées.

Mesures de sécurité

La section de la Colombie-Britannique de l'ACRSA a tenu une réunion administrative le 20 juillet 1996. Il a été décidé à cette réunion que tout appareil participant à des recherches selon l'exploration par enveloppement devait être équipé de moteurs dont la puissance minimale nominale est de 200 HP.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 5 mars 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.