Aviation Investigation Report A96P0175

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

In-flight Engine Fire and Separation
Air North
Douglas DC-4(C54A-DC) C-FGNI
Bronson Creek, British Columbia
14 August 1996

Summary

The DC-4 aircraft (serial number 10389) was on a visual flight rules flight from Bronson Creek, British Columbia, to Wrangell, Alaska, with a crew of three and about 16,600 pounds of cargo on board. The departure from the remote mining strip was uneventful until the aircraft approached 1,500 feet above sea level, when the crew heard a whining noise in their headsets. Believing that the whining was caused by an inverter problem, they switched inverters, but the problem persisted. Electrical instrument indications in the cockpit then became erratic, and the number 2 engine, on the left wing, began to misfire; its fire warning light in the cockpit illuminated briefly, but without the accompanying bell. The captain confirmed visually that the number 2 engine was on fire and the crew carried out the engine fire drill; however, the fire did not extinguish. The captain commenced a right-hand turn to return to the Bronson Creek airstrip, and announced to the crew that the number 2 engine had separated from the wing. The captain applied maximum power to the three remaining engines; however, the aircraft began to lose altitude. Both pilots held the rudder and aileron controls at full right deflection in an attempt to prevent the aircraft from yawing or rolling to the left. The aircraft was shaking violently at that time, and the crew members were unable to read any of the engine or flight instruments. At about 50 feet above ground level, just short of the Iskut River, the pilots closed the throttles. The aircraft descended rapidly, and the burning left wing struck a tree just as the fuselage contacted the surface of the river. The three occupants escaped the burning aircraft, and the first officer and load master swam to safety. The captain is missing and is presumed to have drowned. The aircraft was destroyed.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The accident site is located in the Iskut River, at 56º41.57 North and 131º06.22 West, 1.2 nautical miles (nm) from the Bronson Creek airstrip. The crew escaped the partially submerged cockpit by jumping into the river out the right-hand side, the captain and first officer through the cockpit window, and the load master through the crew door.

Helicopters from Bronson Creek were at the site in less than 10 minutes, and rescuers located the first officer and load master on the south shore of the river. They began to search for the captain almost immediately; three helicopters and three vessels were involved. The RCMP and search and rescue personnel continued to search the river downstream of the accident for two additional days, but did not find the captain.

The number 2 engine and propeller were found about 2.3 nm from the crash site. The engine was recovered and transported to the TSB Regional wreckage examination facility. Sections of the fire wall and the engine mounts were subsequently sent to the TSB Engineering Branch for further examination.

Portions of the burned-out left wing and the number 1 engine have since been recovered by salvage crews; however, the strong river current and fluctuating water levels have prevented further recovery of the aircraft wreckage or engines. Therefore, the technical content of this report concentrates on the available airframe and engine records, and the physical examination of the recovered number 2 engine.

The flight crew was licensed and qualified in accordance with existing regulations, and both pilots had successfully completed their recurrent training on the DC-4 aircraft in September 1995. The captain had accumulated a total of about 12,500 hours of flying time, including 1,500 hours on type, while the first officer had accumulated a total of about 2,900 hours of flying time, including 420 hours on type. The crew had been on duty for about five hours, and this was their third flight of the day.

The aircraft operation at Bronson Creek involved flying ore concentrate from the mine to nearby Wrangell, where it was taken by surface transportation to a smelter. The flights were normally of short duration, usually conducted at near-maximum gross weight for the aircraft, and were flown in mountainous terrain. Flight operations were demanding for both pilots and aircraft because they involved repetitive, short, and arduous flights. As a result, the ageing DC-4 aircraft required, and received, intense maintenance attention.

Available aircraft records indicate that the 51-year-old airplane was maintained in accordance with existing regulations. It had accumulated 50,754.8 hours total airframe time, and the last 50-hour inspection had been completed on 05 August 1996. Four days before the accident, the carburettor and the fuel pump were changed on the number 2 engine.

At the time of take-off, both the aircraft weight of about 61,900 pounds and the centre of gravity were within the prescribed limits. A DC-4 performance graph (circa 1946) for one engine inoperative indicates that the aircraft should have been able to maintain a rate-of-climb of 550 feet per minute. This performance prediction was based on a new airframe and specification engines. No graph is available for the situation where an engine falls off the aircraft, thereby inducing unpredictable factors such as increased airframe drag, sudden weight and balance changes, and profoundly detrimental aerodynamic effects. As well, the theoretical performance figures do not account for the effect of airframe ageing and a service life of more than 50 years and 50,000 flight hours.

The natural tendency of an aircraft, under conditions of asymmetric thrust, is to roll and yaw towards the engine that is not producing thrust. Control inputs are required to offset this tendency, but if the airspeed of the aircraft falls below the speed for minimum control in the air (VMCA), flight control inputs alone will not be sufficient to prevent the yawing moment, and control of the aircraft will probably be lost if the pilot does not reduce asymmetric thrust. VMCA for this aircraft with an engine physically separated from the aircraft is unknown.

The number 2 engine was a Pratt & Whitney R2000-7M2 (serial number P-108882) reciprocating radial engine, and had a Hamilton Standard 23E50-473 propeller (serial number FC-3492). The engine had accumulated 1,241 hours since its last overhaul, and 19.8 hours since its last inspection; the propeller had accumulated 2,314.6 hours since its last overhaul, and 19.8 hours since last inspection. The propeller, which had separated from the engine, was examined at the site, and no evidence of pre-existing failure or malfunction was found.

Control cables for both left-wing engines were routed down the left wing, and the cables for the number 1 engine passed behind the number 2 engine. These two engines shared common cable pulley brackets in the vicinity of the number 2 engine; the physical separation of the number 2 engine from the wing, therefore, would have affected the number 1 engine controls since the pulley brackets would have been disrupted.

The examination revealed that the number 2 engine and firewall had separated from the wing when the aluminum support channels failed. These channels, located aft of the firewall, held the steel fittings that attached to the engine mounts, and these steel fittings were still attached to the detached engine. The two inboard aluminum channels exhibited "broom-strawing" patterns, melting, and other damage consistent with exposure to high heat, while the outboard channels showed evidence of mechanical stress.

Examination of all available engine and nacelle components revealed that the fire was in the engine compartment, between the firewall and the accessory section of the engine. The components that were located on the inboard, upper side of the accessory section evidenced the greatest heat concentration; this area is adjacent to the engine mounting structure which had melted in several minutes. There were no signs of intense heat in the lower outboard area of the firewall, indicating that the fire was localized. Potential fuel sources were identified in the upper, inboard area of the firewall, and included several pressurized fuel lines which carried fuel for engine priming and for cockpit indications, and a hydraulic line carrying pressurized hydraulic fluid from the pump to airframe hydraulic systems. Potential sources of ignition for the fire include electrical solenoids, the starter motor, the generator, and exhaust components. However, the actual ignition source could not be identified.

The engine fire extinguishing system is mechanically controlled by the pilots, and consists of selector valves, discharge handles, and four 15-pound carbon dioxide bottles which can be discharged in pairs. There are 17 fire-detecting thermocouples on each engine, as well as 6 thermocouples for the inboard nacelle, and a distribution ring through which the carbon dioxide is delivered to the separate engine sections.

Analysis

Because further recovery of the aircraft wreckage was not possible, this analysis concentrates on the technical aspects of all available airframe and engine records, and the examination of the number 2 engine.

The flight crew were required to deal with multiple emergencies in a short period of time. The flight control difficulties experienced by the pilots are consistent with a significant loss of engine power on the left wing. The physical separation of the number 2 engine from the aircraft likely affected the power output from the number 1 engine, because the departing engine probably interfered with the controls for that engine. The sudden loss of power, and the combination of the significant aircraft weight and balance changes, the impaired aircraft handling characteristics, and the deteriorating in-flight performance would have raised the VMCA to a value above that which the aircraft was able to maintain. Under these circumstances, the crew was forced to reduce power on the engines to maintain control of the aircraft, and had no alternative but to force-land the aircraft.

The sequence of events that led to the accident began with the engine fire, and the electrical malfunctions were the result of wiring burned by the fire. The intense fire damage to the engine and firewall obliterated any evidence which could identify the cause or the source of the fire. The source of a rapid and destructive fire involving the firewall and engine accessories is usually fed by fuel or hydraulic fluid. It is probable that a hydraulic or fuel line became loose or broke and sprayed fuel or hydraulic fluid under system pressure into an area, and that the fluid was ignited by one of the several sources of ignition in that area.

The following Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 137/96 - Electrical Fire Analysis.

Findings

  1. The crew was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. Aircraft records indicate that the aircraft was maintained in accordance with existing regulations.
  3. The aircraft weight and centre of gravity at take-off were within prescribed limits.
  4. An intense, localized fire behind the number 2 engine caused the engine to separate from the aircraft.
  5. The physical separation of the number 2 engine probably interfered with the controls to the number 1 engine.
  6. With maximum power applied to the remaining engines, the pilots could not maintain altitude or directional control because the aircraft speed was below VMCA for that configuration.
  7. The captain was missing following the crash landing and is presumed drowned.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The number 2 engine separated from the aircraft as a result of an intense fire in the wing. The loss of the engine rendered the aircraft uncontrollable, and the pilots were forced to land in the river.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 9 September 1997.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96P0175

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Incendie et détachement d'un moteur en vol
Air North
Douglas DC-4 (C54A-DC) C-FGNI
Bronson Creek (Colombie-Britannique)
Le 14 août 1996

Résumé

Le DC-4 (numéro de série 10389) à bord duquel se trouvaient trois membres d'équipage et un chargement de près de 16 600 livres effectuait un vol selon les règles de vol à vue entre Bronson Creek (Colombie-Britannique) et Wrangell (Alaska). Le départ d'une piste éloignée desservant une mine s'est déroulé sans incident. Lorsque l'avion en montée approchait 1 500 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer, les membres d'équipage ont entendu dans leurs casques d'écoute un bruit ressemblant à un gémissement. Pensant que ce bruit était dû à un problème d'onduleur, ils ont changé d'inverseur, mais le problème a persisté. Les instruments électriques du poste de pilotage ont commencé à fournir des indications irrégulières, et le moteur numéro 2, situé sur l'aile gauche, s'est mis à avoir des ratés; son voyant d'alarme incendie s'est allumé pendant un court instant dans le poste de pilotage, mais la sonnerie d'alarme n'a pas retenti. Le commandant de bord a confirmé visuellement que le moteur numéro 2 était en feu, et l'équipage a suivi la procédure d'urgence en cas d'incendie moteur, ce qui n'a toutefois pas permis d'éteindre l'incendie. Le commandant de bord s'est mis en virage à droite de façon à retourner à la piste de Bronson Creek et il a annoncé à l'équipage que le moteur numéro 2 s'était détaché de l'aile. Le commandant de bord a eu beau mettre les trois moteurs restants à la puissance maximale, l'avion s'est mis à perdre de l'altitude. Les deux pilotes ont mis du pied et du manche à fond à droite afin d'essayer d'empêcher l'avion de virer ou de s'incliner à gauche. À ce moment-là, l'appareil était soumis à de violentes secousses, empêchant les membres d'équipage de lire quelque instrument moteur ou de vol que ce soit. Vers 50 pieds au-dessus du sol, juste avant la rivière Iskut, les pilotes ont coupé les gaz. L'avion est descendu rapidement, et l'aile gauche en feu a percuté un arbre juste au moment où le fuselage entrait en contact avec la surface de la rivière. Les trois occupants ont évacué l'avion en feu, et le copilote ainsi que le responsable du chargement ont regagné la terre ferme à la nage. Le commandant de bord a été porté disparu et est réputé mort par noyade. L'avion a été détruit.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'accident s'est produit sur la rivière Iskut, par 56º41,57' de latitude nord et 131º06,22' de longitude ouest, à 1,2 mille marin (nm) de la piste de Bronson Creek. L'équipage a évacué le poste de pilotage partiellement immergé en sautant dans la rivière du côté droit, le commandant de bord et le copilote par la fenêtre du poste de pilotage et le responsable du chargement par la porte de l'équipage.

Des hélicoptères de Bronson Creek sont arrivés sur place moins de 10 minutes après l'accident, et les sauveteurs ont localisé le copilote et le responsable du chargement sur la rive sud de la rivière. Ils ont commencé à chercher le commandant de bord presque tout de suite; trois hélicoptères et trois embarcations participaient aux opérations. La GRC et le personnel des services de recherches et de sauvetage ont poursuivi leur travail sur la rivière en aval du lieu de l'accident pendant encore deux jours, mais ils n'ont pu retrouver le commandant de bord.

Le moteur numéro 2 et son hélice ont été retrouvés à environ 2,3 nm du lieu de l'accident. Le moteur a été récupéré et transporté aux installations régionales d'examen des épaves du BST. Par la suite, des morceaux de la cloison pare-feu et les supports du moteur ont été envoyés au Laboratoire technique du BST pour y être examinés plus en détail.

Des morceaux de l'aile gauche calcinés et du moteur numéro 1 ont été retrouvées depuis par équipes de récupération; toutefois, à cause du fort courant et des niveaux fluctuant de la rivière, il a été impossible de retrouver d'autres parties ou d'autres moteurs de l'épave de l'avion. Par conséquent, le contenu technique du présent rapport porte essentiellement sur les dossiers disponibles de la cellule et des moteurs ainsi que sur un examen physique du moteur numéro 2 qui a pu être récupéré.

L'équipage possédait les licences et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol conformément à la réglementation en vigueur, et les deux pilotes avaient suivi avec succès leur formation périodique sur DC-4 en septembre 1995. Le commandant de bord totalisait quelque 12 500 heures de vol, dont 1 500 sur type, tandis que le copilote totalisait environ 2 900 heures de vol, dont 420 sur type. L'équipage était en service depuis cinq heures environ, et il accomplissait son troisième vol de la journée.

Les opérations aériennes à Bronson Creek consistaient à transporter par les airs du concentré de minerai depuis la mine jusqu'à la localité toute proche de Wrangell, où il était acheminé par voie de surface jusqu'à une fonderie. Les vols étaient normalement de courte durée, l'avion était généralement proche de sa masse maximale autorisée, et le trajet emprunté passait au-dessus d'un relief montagneux. Les vols étaient exigeants, tant pour les deux pilotes que pour l'avion, car ils étaient répétitifs, courts et difficiles. C'est ce qui explique pourquoi le DC-4 vieillissant avait besoin et faisait l'objet d'une très grande attention quant à sa maintenance.

D'après les dossiers de l'avion disponibles, l'appareil de 51 ans était entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Sa cellule totalisait 50 754,8 heures de vol, et la dernière inspection aux 50 heures avait eu lieu le 5 août 1996. Quatre jours avant l'accident, le carburateur et la pompe carburant avaient été remplacés sur le moteur numéro 2.

Au moment du décollage, tant la masse de l'avion qui s'élevait à près de 61 900 livres que son centre de gravité se trouvaient dans les limites permises. Selon un graphique de performances du DC-4 (remontant approximativement à 1946), l'avion avec un moteur en panne devrait être capable de conserver un taux de montée de 550 pieds par minute. Ce chiffre est basé sur une cellule neuve et des moteurs satisfaisant à leurs spécifications. Il n'existe aucun graphique concernant le détachement d'un moteur, avec tout ce que cela implique en matière de phénomènes imprévisibles comme l'augmentation de la traînée, une modification soudaine de la masse et du centrage et les conséquences fortement négatives au niveau de l'aérodynamique. De plus, les chiffres des performances théoriques ne tiennent pas compte des effets du vieillissement de la cellule, soit plus de 50 ans de service et plus de 50 000 heures de vol.

Dans des conditions de poussée asymétrique, un avion a normalement tendance à virer et à s'incliner du côté du moteur qui ne produit plus de poussée. Il faut donc utiliser les commandes pour contrer cette tendance mais, si la vitesse de l'avion tombe au-dessus de la vitesse minimale de contrôle en vol (VMCA), le seul déplacement des commandes de vol ne suffit plus pour contrecarrer le moment de virage de l'avion, et le pilote risque de perdre la maîtrise de son appareil s'il ne réduit pas la poussée asymétrique. On ne connaît pas la VMCA de cet avion après qu'un moteur s'est détaché de l'aile.

Le moteur numéro 2 était un moteur à cylindres en étoile Pratt & Whitney R2000-7M2 (numéro de série P-108882), et il était équipé d'une hélice Hamilton Standard 23E50-473 (numéro de série FC-3492). Le moteur totalisait 1 241 heures depuis sa dernière révision, et 19,8 heures depuis sa dernière inspection; quant à l'hélice, elle totalisait 2 314,6 heures depuis sa dernière révision, et 19,8 heures depuis sa dernière inspection. L'hélice, qui s'est détachée du moteur, a été examinée sur place, et rien n'indiquait la présence d'une défaillance ou d'un mauvais fonctionnement antérieur à l'accident.

Les câbles de commande des deux moteurs de l'aile gauche parcouraient l'aile gauche, les câbles du moteur numéro 1 passant derrière ceux du moteur numéro 2. Ces deux moteurs partageaient des supports de poulie de câble aux abords du moteur numéro 2; il se pourrait donc que le détachement du moteur numéro 2 ait causé une perturbation des commandes du moteur numéro 1 à cause de la rupture des supports de poulie.

L'examen a montré que le moteur numéro 2 et sa cloison pare-feu s'étaient détachés de l'aile au moment de la rupture des profilés de soutien en aluminium. Ces profilés, situés en arrière de la cloison pare-feu, retiennent les fixations en acier qui sont attachées aux supports du moteur, et ces fixations en acier étaient encore attachées au moteur qui, lui, s'était détaché de l'aile. Les deux profilés intérieurs présentaient des traînées en forme de «pailles de balai», des signes de fonte et d'autres dommages associés à une exposition à une forte chaleur, tandis que les profilés extérieurs montraient des traces de contraintes mécaniques.

L'examen de tous les composants disponibles du moteur et de son fuseau a révélé que l'incendie avait sévi dans le compartiment moteur, entre la cloison pare-feu et la section des accessoires du moteur. Les composants situés sur le côté intérieur supérieur de la section des accessoires montraient les plus fortes concentrations de chaleur; cette partie est adjacente à la structure de fixation du moteur qui a fondu en quelques minutes. Il n'y avait aucune trace de chaleur intense dans la région extérieure inférieure de la cloison pare-feu, ce qui indique que l'incendie était localisé. Les sources potentielles de combustible ont été identifiées dans la partie intérieure supérieure de la cloison pare-feu : plusieurs conduites de carburant sous pression qui transportaient du carburant pour l'amorçage des moteurs et pour les indicateurs du poste de pilotage, ainsi qu'une conduite transportant du liquide hydraulique sous pression entre la pompe et le circuit hydraulique de la cellule. Les sources potentielles d'inflammation se composaient de plusieurs solénoïdes, du moteur du démarreur, de la génératrice et de composants de l'échappement. Toutefois, la véritable source d'inflammation n'a pu être identifiée.

Le système d'extinction incendie des moteurs est commandé mécaniquement par les pilotes; il se compose de robinets sélecteurs, de poignées de déclenchement et de quatre extincteurs de 15 livres de gaz carbonique qui peuvent être vidés par paires. Chaque moteur est pourvu de 17 thermocouples de détection d'incendie, auxquels s'ajoutent 6 autres thermocouples dans le fuseau intérieur, et est équipé d'un anneau de distribution qui permet de répandre le gaz carbonique dans les différentes sections du moteur.

Analyse

Comme il n'a pas été possible de récupérer davantage de morceaux d'épave, la présente analyse se concentre sur les aspects techniques de tous les dossiers cellule et moteurs disponibles ainsi que sur l'examen du moteur numéro 2.

L'équipage de conduite a dû faire face à plusieurs urgences en un cours laps de temps. Les difficultés avec les commandes de vol éprouvées par les pilotes correspondent à une importante perte de puissance du côté de l'aile gauche. Le détachement du moteur numéro 2 a vraisemblablement provoqué une perturbation des commandes du moteur numéro 1 et avoir une incidence sur la puissance de ce dernier. La perte soudaine de puissance ainsi que la combinaison des importantes modifications de masse et de centrage de l'avion, des qualités de vol diminuées et des moins bonnes performances de vol ont pu se traduire par une augmentation de la VMCA à une valeur supérieure à la vitesse que l'avion pouvait alors maintenir. Dans de telles circonstances, l'équipage a été contraint de réduire la puissance des moteurs pour conserver la maîtrise de l'avion et n'a eu d'autre choix que de faire un atterrissage forcé.

L'enchaînement des événements qui a abouti à l'accident a débuté par un incendie moteur, et les problèmes électriques étaient dûs au câblage qui brulait dans l'incendie. Les importants dommages causés par l'incendie au niveau du moteur et de la cloison pare-feu ont détruit tout indice qui aurait permis d'identifier la cause ou la source de l'incendie. Un incendie rapide et destructeur touchant la cloison pare-feu et les accessoires moteur est généralement alimentée par du carburant ou du liquide hydraulique. Une conduite carburant ou hydraulique s'est probablement desserrée ou rompue, ce qui a permis à du carburant ou à du liquide hydraulique d'être projeté dans une zone particulière. Ce combustible s'est ensuite enflammé sur une ou plusieurs sources d'allumage se trouvant dans cette zone.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 137/96 - Electrical Fire Analysis (Analyse d'un incendie d'origine électrique)

Faits établis

  1. L'équipage possédait les licences et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol conformément à la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. Les dossiers indiquent que l'avion était entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur.
  3. Au décollage, la masse et le centrage de l'avion se trouvaient dans les limites permises.
  4. Le moteur numéro 2 s'est détaché de l'avion à la suite d'un violent incendie qui s'est concentré derrière ce moteur.
  5. Le détachement du moteur numéro 2 a probablement perturbé les commandes du moteur numéro 1.
  6. Comme les moteurs encore en marche tournaient à la puissance maximale, les pilotes ne pouvaient pas conserver l'altitude ou la maîtrise en direction de l'avion, car la vitesse de ce dernier était inférieure à la VMCA dans une telle configuration.
  7. Après l'atterrissage forcé, le pilote a été porté disparu et est réputé mort par noyade.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le moteur numéro 2 s'est détaché de l'avion à la suite d'un violent incendie dans l'aile. La perte de ce moteur a rendu l'avion ingouvernable, et les pilotes ont été contraints de se poser sur la rivière.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 9 septembre 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.