Aviation Investigation Report A96Q0034

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Fire on Take-off
Piper Apache PA-23 C-FYXT
Saint-Mathias Aerodrome, Quebec
10 March 1996

Summary

After a training flight, the pilot owner, accompanied by his instructor, landed the Piper PA-23 at the Saint-Mathias aerodrome, Quebec, to refuel. After refuelling, which took approximately 30 minutes, the pilot taxied the aircraft for a flight to the Beloeil airport, Quebec. Prior to take-off, the pilot did a run-up of about five minutes. During the initial climb, shortly after take-off, at a height of about three feet above ground level, the instructor, who was sitting in the right-hand seat, observed smoke emanating from the rear of the right engine. He told the pilot to land the aircraft immediately. The pilot landed the aircraft on the runway ahead, and the aircraft came to a stop in a ditch located at the end of the runway.

The two occupants evacuated the aircraft quickly and without any difficulty. Shortly thereafter, the local firefighters arrived and extinguished the fire that had broken out under the aircraft's right nacelle, where fuel was running onto the ground. No one was injured.

Ce rapport est égalemement disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The crew was certified and qualified for the flight according to existing regulations.

The gravel runway measured 2,000 feet long by 50 feet wide. The aircraft landed with the landing gear down and locked. The fuel selector was in the "Main" position during take-off and during the inspection of the aircraft.

Examination of the aircraft confirmed that the source of the fire was under the right nacelle in the area occupied by the fuel supply selector for the right engine, the fuel filter, and the auxiliary fuel pump. The damage caused by the fire ran from the right engine, near the firewall, towards the back of the firewall. The spar had been completely destroyed by the fire and no longer supported the wing.

Examination of the electrical system did not reveal any sign of a short circuit. No circuit breaker had disconnected from the electrical system.

A single line in the hydraulic system was ruptured. The line was not actuated during the take-off run and was not in an area where a fire could have started in the event of a leak of hydraulic fluid.

The fire consumed the fuel filter and its adjacent parts as well as the fuel lines for selecting the tanks.

The fuel system was at the centre of the source of the fire. The auxiliary pump, also located in this area, fell off onto the ground during the fire. This pump is normally supposed to be fastened to the structure by two bolts and nuts, but only one retaining bolt was in place. The other retaining point did not show any trace of a bolt having been present before the fire. Further, the fitting that connected the fuel supply to the pump was not fully tightened, and fuel could leak out. The fuel filter was supposed to be fastened to the pump fitting, but no trace of the filter was found. The retaining points of the auxiliary fuel pump did not show any sign of electrical arcing.

The aircraft was certified and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. It was not fitted with a fire indicator, nor is one required for this type of aircraft.

Analysis

As the aircraft was not fitted with a fire indicator, the presence of the instructor permitted fast detection of the fire and interruption of the take-off.

No trace of the fuel filter was found. The absence of the filter, which should have been connected to the auxiliary fuel pump which fell to the ground during the fire, coupled with the observed fuel leak, would seem to indicate that the filter was consumed by the fire, and that it was improperly installed. The fitting that connected the filter to the pump was not tight enough to prevent the possibility of a fuel leak.

The pump and the filter should have been held in place by two retaining bolts. As one bolt was missing and no part of it was found, it is impossible to determine whether the bolt broke off or came undone on a previous flight, or how long it had been missing.

Further, as the auxiliary fuel pump was fastened to the structure by only one bolt instead of two, the weakness of the installation of the pump and the filter, which connects to the pump at the fitting, might have contributed to causing a fuel leak.

The considerable damage in this area of the aircraft, however, made it impossible to determine exactly what factor initiated the fire in the fuel.

It was difficult for the pilot to stop the aircraft on the runway itself because the runway is only 2,000 feet long.

Findings

  1. The fire broke out at the rear of the right nacelle in the area occupied by the filter, the auxiliary fuel pump, and the fuel selector.
  2. The auxiliary fuel pump had only one retaining bolt holding it to the structure instead of two.
  3. The fitting attaching the fuel filter to the auxiliary fuel pump inlet was not fully tightened and it was possible for fuel to leak.
  4. The fuel filter was consumed by the fire, and no debris was found.

Causes and Contributing Factors

A fuel leak in the connection between the auxiliary fuel pump and the fuel filter allowed a fire to start in the right nacelle during take-off. The absence of one of the fastening bolts from the auxiliary fuel pump and an inadequately tightened fitting are factors that may have contributed to the fuel leak.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 12 September 1996.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96Q0034

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Incendie au décollage
Piper Apache PA-23 C-FYXT
Aérodrome de Saint-Mathias (Québec)
10 mars 1996

Résumé

Le pilote-propriétaire, en compagnie de son instructeur, pose le Piper PA-23 à l'aérodrome de Saint-Mathias (Québec) pour faire le plein d'essence au terme d'un vol d'entraînement. Après l'avitaillement qui dure une trentaine de minutes, le pilote fait circuler l'appareil au sol pour un vol à destination de l'aéroport de Beloeil (Québec). Avant de décoller, le pilote effectue un point fixe d'environ cinq minutes. Pendant la montée initiale, peu après le décollage, et à environ trois pieds du sol, l'instructeur en place droite observe de la fumée qui s'échappe de l'arrière du moteur droit. Il ordonne alors au pilote de poser l'appareil immédiatement. Le pilote se pose sur la piste droit devant, et l'appareil termine sa course dans un fossé en bout de piste.

Les deux occupants évacuent l'appareil rapidement et sans difficulté. Dans les minutes qui suivent, les pompiers interviennent et éteignent l'incendie qui s'était déclaré sous la nacelle droite de l'appareil, et où l'on pouvait voir du carburant couler au sol. Il n'y a pas de blessé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'équipage possédait les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.

La piste mesure 2 000 pieds de longueur sur 50 pieds de largeur, et sa surface est en gravier. L'aéronef s'est posé train sorti et verrouillé. Le sélecteur de réservoir carburant était sur «MAIN» au décollage et lors de l'inspection de l'appareil.

L'examen de l'appareil a confirmé que l'incendie s'est déclaré sous la nacelle droite, là où se trouvent le sélecteur d'alimentation carburant pour le moteur droit, le filtre carburant et la pompe auxiliaire à carburant. Les dommages causés par l'incendie s'étendent depuis le moteur droit, près de la cloison coupe-feu, jusque vers l'arrière de cette cloison. Le longeron a été consumé et ne supportait plus l'aile.

L'examen du circuit électrique n'a révélé aucun signe de court- circuit. Aucun disjoncteur n'avait déconnecté de circuit électrique.

Une seule conduite hydraulique s'est rompue. Cette conduite n'a pas été sollicitée durant la course au décollage et n'est pas dans une zone où pourrait se déclarer un incendie dans le cas d'une fuite hydraulique.

Le feu a consumé le filtre carburant et ses pièces adjacentes ainsi que les conduites carburant pour la sélection des réservoirs carburant.

Le circuit de carburant était au centre du foyer de l'incendie. La pompe auxiliaire, également située dans cette zone, s'est détachée et est tombée au sol pendant l'incendie. Cette pompe doit être fixée à la structure par deux boulons et écrous, mais la pompe ne possédait qu'un seul boulon de fixation. L'autre point de fixation ne montrait aucune trace de la présence d'un boulon avant l'incendie. De plus, le raccord pour l'alimentation en carburant à la pompe n'était pas complètement serré, et du carburant pouvait fuir. Le filtre carburant devait être retenu au raccord de la pompe, mais aucune trace du filtre n'a été trouvée. Les points de fixation de la pompe auxiliaire ne présentaient aucun signe d'arc électrique.

L'aéronef était certifié et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. L'appareil n'est pas équipé d'un dispositif d'indication d'incendie, mais ce n'est pas obligatoire pour ce type d'appareil.

Analyse

L'appareil n'est pas équipé d'un dispositif d'indication d'incendie, mais grâce à la présence de l'instructeur, l'incendie a été découvert rapidement, et le décollage a été interrompu.

Aucune trace du filtre carburant n'a été trouvée. Le fait qu'on n'a pas trouvé le filtre devant être relié à la pompe auxiliaire qui est tombée sur le sol durant l'incendie et qu'une fuite de carburant a été observée semblent indiquer que le filtre a été consumé par l'incendie et que son installation était défectueuse. Le raccord du filtre à la pompe n'était pas assez serré pour empêcher le carburant de fuir.

La pompe et le filtre devaient être retenus par deux boulons de fixation. Étant donné qu'il manquait un boulon et qu'aucune partie de ce boulon n'a été retrouvée, il n'a pas été possible de déterminer si le boulon s'était rompu ou détaché lors de vols antérieurs, ni depuis combien de temps il était manquant.

De plus, comme la pompe auxiliaire n'était retenue à la structure que par un seul boulon au lieu de deux, la faiblesse de l'installation de la pompe et du filtre carburant, qui s'y rattache par le raccord, a pu contribuer à la fuite de carburant.

Cependant, les dommages importants à cette partie de l'aéronef n'ont pas permis de déterminer avec exactitude l'élément qui a permis au carburant de s'enflammer.

Il était difficile pour le pilote d'immobiliser l'appareil sur cette piste parce qu'elle ne mesure que 2 000 pieds de longueur.

Faits établis

  1. L'incendie s'est déclaré à l'arrière de la nacelle droite, là où se trouvent le filtre carburant, la pompe auxiliaire et le sélecteur de réservoir carburant.
  2. La pompe auxiliaire était fixée à la structure par un seul boulon de fixation au lieu de deux.
  3. Le raccord qui rattache le filtre carburant à l'entrée de la pompe auxiliaire n'était pas complètement serré et pouvait permettre au carburant de fuir.
  4. Le filtre carburant a été consumé par l'incendie, et aucun débris n'a été retrouvé.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Un incendie s'est déclaré dans la nacelle droite pendant le décollage à cause d'une fuite de carburant au raccord de la pompe auxiliaire et du filtre carburant. Il manquait un boulon de fixation à la pompe auxiliaire et un raccord n'était pas assez serré, ce qui a pu contribuer à la fuite de carburant.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 12 septembre 1996 par le Bureau, qui est composé du Président, Benoît Bouchard, et des membres Maurice Harquail et W.A. Tadros.