Aviation Investigation Report A96Q0076

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Controlled Flight into Terrain
Les Transports Aéro 2000 Inc.
Piper PA-31 Navajo C-GRPM
Nouveau-Québec Crater, Quebec
30 May 1996

Summary

The Piper Navajo PA-31 (serial number 318012021), belonging to Les transports Aéro 2000 Inc., with three passengers and one pilot on board, was on a charter visual flight rules (VFR) flight from Kangiqsujuaq, Quebec, to Kuujjuaq, Quebec. At 1056 eastern daylight saving time (EDT), the pilot contacted the Kuujjuaq flight service station (FSS) by radio and reported that he had taken off eight minutes earlier and planned to overfly the Nouveau-Québec crater. That was the last message received from the pilot. When the aircraft failed to arrive at destination at the expected time, a search was initiated. The next day, a ground search team found the aircraft. The Navajo struck the eastern slope of the Nouveau-Québec crater while in straight and level flight. The four occupants of the aircraft were fatally injured in the accident.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He received his airline transport pilot licence (aeroplane) on 31 January 1989. He passed a pilot proficiency check (PPC) on 15 June 1995. His licence validation certificate was current; he was required to wear prescription lenses while flying. The pilot was very familiar with the area he was overflying.

The twin-engine aircraft was certified, equipped and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The last flight entered in the aircraft journey log-book was made the day before the accident. No deficiencies were reported or logged in the aircraft log-book. The aircraft had been declared airworthy 15 days earlier following a 150-hour inspection. The pilot was strict regarding the maintenance of his aircraft and did not hesitate to report deficiencies to the head of maintenance during his journeys. He had not reported any particular problems since departing Quebec City. The aircraft had the instrumentation required for instrument flight. C-GRPM was not equipped with a radio altimeter or ground proximity warning system (GPWS), nor was the aircraft required to be equipped with these instruments. The aircraft was equipped with a global positioning system (GPS).

The aircraft departed Quebec City on 27 May 1996 for a charter flight lasting several days. On 29 May 1996, the aircraft landed at Kangiqsujuaq as planned for a one-night layover. On the morning of 30 May, prior to the flight, the pilot telephoned the Kuujjuaq FSS for current weather conditions and the destination forecast. He obtained the regular weather observation for 1000 hours and the terminal forecast. The observations indicated favourable conditions for VFR flight. The pilot then filed a VFR flight notification with the FSS specialist. The pilot neither requested nor received the area forecast (FA) for the planned route. However, the area forecast summarized conditions in the crater area as favourable for visual flight.

The flight was to be made in two legs. The aircraft was first to follow a heading of 250 degrees true at a cruising speed of 170 knots for 52 nautical miles (nm) and overfly the Nouveau-Québec crater to allow the passengers to photograph the area, then proceed southeast for 250 nm to Kuujjuaq. The planned route led the aircraft over a vast expanse of snow-covered, treeless tundra that was scattered with rocks and largely uninhabited. The terrain at this location slopes upward and consists of hills with elevations of 1,600 to 2,000 feet above sea level.

There is no FSS at the Nouveau-Québec crater. The closest FSS is at Kuujjuaq, located about 250 nm southeast. A weather analysis was done by the Weather and Environmental Services Office of Environment Canada in Quebec City. According to the study, the extreme northern region of Quebec was under the influence of a trough, located over Hudson Bay, which caused mixed precipitation during the afternoon and evening of 30 May. At the time of take-off, the ceiling at Kangiqsujuaq was approximately 1,100 feet above ground level and visibility was at least 10 miles. Inland, the clouds were broken to overcast from 1,500 to 2,000 feet above sea level. Surface winds were from the south to southwest at 15 to 25 knots, and from the west at 20 to 25 knots 2,000 feet above sea level. Moderate mechanical turbulence was associated with winds at this velocity. In addition, satellite photographs revealed mountain wave turbulence. Again according to the study, visibility at the different observation stations was over six miles. However, in the area of the crater, visibility was severely reduced or near zero in drizzle and fog on high terrain and slopes exposed to the south and southwest winds. Light to moderate rime or clear ice and freezing drizzle could be encountered in flight if the temperature was near freezing.

At the accident site, the altimeter setting was estimated at 29.72 in. Hg. The aircraft was equipped with two aneroid altimeters that indicated the same altitude. The pilot's altimeter, on the left, was set at 29.76 in. Hg, and the right-hand altimeter showed 29.72 in. Hg.

The crater is located in an area of uncontrolled airspace. It is perfectly circular in shape, 3.4 km in diameter, and is surrounded by a mountainous ridge rising 2,156 feet above sea level. The immediate perimeter of the crater consists of rolling terrain with an average elevation of 1,700 feet above sea level. The eastern slope of the crater has a gradient of 15 degrees. Regulations require that, for flights in uncontrolled airspace, visibility in flight must be at least one mile, and aircraft must be outside the clouds when flying less than 700 vertical feet above land or water.

It was determined that the aircraft was in a slight nose-up attitude (about 5 degrees) on a heading of 277 degrees true when it struck the eastern slope of the crater about 1,920 feet above sea level, on a snow-covered uphill slope, with an impact trajectory of 251 degrees true. The aircraft bounced and continued its course in the air for 247 feet, rolling left on its longitudinal axis until the left wing struck the ground. The aircraft continued its course and continued rolling until it came to rest on its back 650 feet west of the initial point of impact. C-GRPM was found 2,100 feet above sea level and 200 feet south of the summit.

The aircraft started to break up on the initial ground impact; pieces of the aircraft were distributed on both sides of the main wreckage trail. The forward upper section of the fuselage and the cockpit sustained substantial damage when the aircraft fell back to the ground on its back. The flaps and landing gear were retracted at the time of ground impact. Examination of the wreckage revealed no evidence of any airframe failure, flight control problems, electrical problems, power loss, or fire during the flight or on the ground. There was fuel in the tanks, and some fuel spilled out on the ground. Weight and balance were within limits. The marks made by the propellers on initial impact indicate that the engines were running at the same rpm, and the ground speed of the aircraft was about 154 knots.

Examination of the faces of the airspeed indicators and the turn and bank indicator provided no reliable information. Examination of the instrument panel revealed the following: the master switch was at ON after the impact; all circuit breakers were at ON; the horizontal situation indicator (HSI) indicated 285 degrees; the weather radar was on "Standby"; and the emergency avionics switch was at OFF.

A fixed automatic emergency locator transmitter (ELT) was installed at the base of the aircraft vertical stabilizer. It was installed five months before the accident. The ELT was serviceable but did not activate on impact. On installation, the selector switch was selected OFF and subsequently was not set back on ARM.

The GPS was recovered and sent to the manufacturer for examination to determine the readings it provided during the flight. The GPS electronic memory contained the names and geographic coordinates of several waypoints, including some on the final approach courses of runways for which no instrument approach is published. The crater was identified as WPT CRTER at latitude 6116'406"N, longitude 07342'823"W. The exact position of the Nouveau-Québec crater is in fact 2.5 nm east of the coordinates entered in the GPS. It was determined that, after take-off, the pilot pressed twice on the push-button "D" (direct route) to go to WPT CRTER.

One passenger was sitting in the co-pilot's seat and was wearing a seat-belt; one passenger was sitting, without a seat-belt, in the right-hand seat of the first row facing the rear of the cabin. The third passenger was sitting in the left-hand seat of the second row and was wearing a seat-belt. As a result of the impact forces, the second-row seat separated from the floor, projecting its occupant toward the front of the cabin.

The deaths of the three passengers were attributed to severe multiple trauma sustained in the impact. An autopsy was performed on the body of the pilot. Toxicological test results were negative. The autopsy revealed that the pilot suffered from coronary arteriosclerosis with 60% to 70% stenosis of each coronary artery. The pilot's death was nonetheless attributed to severe multiple trauma sustained in the accident, although the relatively serious coronary arteriosclerosis may have contributed to his death. The pilot's last medical examination, in February 1996, and his last electrocardiogram, in June 1995, did not detect the pilot's cardiovascular condition. The pilot told the civil aviation medical examiner he had never had a cardiovascular disorder and had never been treated for this type of problem or any other health problems. There was no evidence that incapacitation or physiological factors affected the pilot's performance.

A CFIT (controlled flight into terrain) accident is an accident in which an aircraft inadvertently strikes the terrain, water or an obstruction without the crew being aware of the impending mishap. According to TSB statistics, two-thirds of the aircraft involved in accidents in sparsely populated regions of Canada were piloted by one pilot. In many CFIT accidents, pilots tried to see the ground to fly visual, even where the flight was conducted in cloud, at night, in whiteout conditions, or in other conditions that precluded visual flight. Over half of these CFIT accidents occurred during VFR flight. In February 1996, the pilot had attended a Transport Canada presentation on CFIT accidents. The presentation included an analysis of the conditions conducive to this type of accident and suggested strategies to avoid them.

Whiteout (also called milky weather) occurs over an unbroken snow cover and beneath a uniformly overcast sky. Sunlight is dispersed and diffused through cloud and reflected back in all directions by the snow cover. The space between the ground and the clouds appears to be engulfed in a uniformly diffused white glow. Depth perception is impossible, as the milky white of the sky blends with the snowy white of the ground, completely obliterating the horizon as a spatial reference line.

Analysis

On departing Kangiqsujuaq, the pilot knew that the current weather conditions and the conditions forecast for Kuujjuaq were favourable for VFR flight. But the crater is in a largely uninhabited region, and the pilot was unaware that the weather quickly deteriorated west of Kangiqsujuaq and that the weather at the crater was poor. In fact, visibility in that area was reduced, and the mountainous ridge surrounding the crater was probably hidden by cloud. Also, the atmospheric conditions at the time and the local topography were conducive to whiteout. The pilot continued flight in adverse weather in which he risked losing the visual references necessary for avoiding obstructions.

The hypothesis of an engine failure or aircraft system malfunction, or both, was eliminated, because the examination of the aircraft revealed no deficiencies and no distress calls were received. Also, if an emergency situation had occurred in flight, all passengers would likely have been found in their seats with their seat-belts fastened. There was no evidence found of any emergency or aircraft malfunction prior to impact.

The aircraft struck the ground on the planned route, 2.5 nm east and one minute's time of flight from the waypoint entered in the GPS. All indications are that the pilot did not know his actual position in relation to the crater. The pilot was evidently using the information provided by the GPS to go directly to the crater; since the coordinates entered in the GPS for the crater were incorrect, the pilot was unaware of the actual position of the aircraft, and evidently arrived at the crater one minute sooner than he expected.

The pilot encountered adverse weather conditions and probably used the GPS to lighten his workload. Two possibilities were examined: either the pilot descended to break out of the clouds and see the crater, or he flew under the clouds so he could see the ground and fly visual. The theory that he tried to descend below the cloud base was considered unlikely, however, as it would have been unusual for the pilot to descend to an altitude below the crater summit and below the safe altitude for the area. Also, if the pilot had attempted such a manoeuvre, it is highly probable that the aircraft would have struck the ground in a nose-down attitude.

Instead, it appears that the pilot, who knew the area well, was trying to fly visual, by using the GPS, to arrive over the crater in visual meteorological conditions (VMC). However, the pilot encountered reduced visibility and whiteout conditions, where there was a considerable risk that he would lose visual contact with the ground due to the prevailing weather conditions.

The slight nose-up attitude and the heading of the aircraft, about 25 degrees greater than that of the route planned and that of the breakup trajectory, suggest that the pilot initiated a climb and an uncoordinated right turn just before colliding with the ground. Therefore, it is reasonable to believe that the pilot evidently did not have the required visual references and did not see the ground in time to avoid it.

The aircraft was not equipped with a radio altimeter or GPWS. These devices could have warned the pilot that the aircraft was dangerously close to the terrain; however, these devices were not mandatory.

Although the autopsy report determined that serious coronary arteriosclerosis may have contributed to the pilot's death, there was no evidence that his performance was affected by physiological factors. In fact, the aircraft attitude and heading on impact indicate that the pilot was not affected by any incapacitation that could have prevented him from controlling the aircraft.

The Nouveau-Québec crater is a unique terrain feature located in an inaccessible region. It could not be determined why the pilot decided to continue the flight in adverse weather. However, it is probable that his knowledge of the area, the proximity of the crater, and the information provided by the GPS influenced the pilot's decision.

Findings

  1. The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. There was no evidence found of any airframe failure or system malfunction prior to or during the flight.
  3. The pilot was unaware of the current weather conditions in the crater area.
  4. While the pilot was en route toward the crater, weather conditions deteriorated; the pilot continued flight and evidently used the GPS.
  5. Visibility was reduced, and the atmospheric conditions and local topography were conducive to whiteout at the accident site at the time of impact.
  6. In the moments preceding the impact, the pilot evidently did not have the visual references required to avoid obstructions.
  7. Because incorrect coordinates were entered in the GPS, the crater's actual position was 2.5 nm east of the position indicated by the GPS, and the pilot evidently arrived at the crater about one minute sooner than he expected.
  8. The ELT selector switch was at OFF.
  9. The aircraft was not equipped with a GPWS, nor was one required under existing regulations.
  10. The pilot suffered from relatively serious coronary arteriosclerosis which was not detected by routine medical examinations.
  11. There was no evidence that incapacitation or physiological factors affected the pilot's performance.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The pilot continued flight in adverse weather and may have lost situational awareness due to incorrect information provided by the GPS. The pilot evidently did not have the visual references required to avoid striking the eastern slope of the Nouveau-Québec crater.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 23 April 1997.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96Q0076

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Impact sans perte de contrôle
Les Transports Aéro 2000 Inc.
Piper PA-31 Navajo C-GRPM
Cratère du Nouveau-Québec (Québec)
30 mai 1996

Résumé

Le Piper Navajo PA-31 (no de série 318012021) de la compagnie Les transports Aéro 2000 Inc., avec trois passagers et un pilote à son bord, effectue un vol d'affrètement selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) entre Kangiqsujuaq (Québec) et Kuujjuaq (Québec). À 10 h 56, heure avancée de l'Est (HAE)(1), le pilote contacte par radio la station d'information de vol (FSS) de Kuujjuaq et mentionne qu'il a décollé il y a huit minutes et a l'intention de survoler le Cratère du Nouveau-Québec. Cette communication est la dernière qu'on a reçue du pilote. L'appareil n'arrivant pas à destination à l'heure prévue, des recherches sont entreprises. Le lendemain, une équipe de recherches au sol retrouve l'avion. Le Navajo a percuté le versant est du Cratère du Nouveau-Québec alors qu'il était en vol rectiligne en palier. Les quatre occupants de l'avion ont perdu la vie dans l'accident.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il avait obtenu la licence de pilote de ligne (avion) le 31 janvier 1989. Il avait subi avec succès une vérification de compétence pilote (PPC) le 15 juin 1995. Son certificat de validation de licence était valide; des verres prescrits devaient être portés en vol. Le pilote connaissait très bien la région survolée.

Le bimoteur était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. Le dernier vol consigné dans le carnet de route de l'aéronef avait été effectué la veille de l'accident. Aucune anomalie n'avait été signalée ou consignée dans le carnet de l'appareil. L'avion avait été déclaré en état de navigabilité quinze jours auparavant à la suite d'une inspection des 150 heures. Le pilote était exigeant quant à la maintenance de son appareil et n'hésitait pas à signaler toute défectuosité au responsable de l'entretien pendant ses voyages. Il n'avait fait état d'aucun problème particulier depuis son départ de Québec. L'appareil possédait l'instrumentation nécessaire pour le vol aux instruments. Le C-GRPM n'était pas équipé d'un radioaltimètre ni d'un dispositif avertisseur de proximité du sol (GPWS); il n'était pas obligatoire d'équiper l'aéronef de ces instruments. L'avion était équipé d'un système de positionnement mondial (GPS).

Le 27 mai 1996, l'appareil quitte Québec pour effectuer un vol d'affrètement de plusieurs jours. Le 29 mai 1996, l'appareil se pose à Kangiqsujuaq comme prévu pour y passer la nuit. Le 30 mai au matin, avant le vol, le pilote téléphone à la FSS de Kuujjuaq pour obtenir les conditions météorologiques actuelles et prévues à sa destination. Il obtient l'observation météorologique régulière de 10 h et la prévision d'aérodrome. Les observations indiquent que les conditions sont propices au vol à vue. Le pilote transmet alors un avis de vol à vue au spécialiste de la FSS. Le pilote n'a pas demandé ni reçu la prévision régionale (FA) pertinente à la route prévue. Cependant, la prévision régionale résumait les conditions dans la région du cratère comme étant favorables au vol VFR.

Le vol devait être effectué en deux segments. L'avion devait d'abord suivre un cap de 250 degrés vrai à une vitesse de croisière de 170 noeuds sur une distance de 52 milles marins (nm) et survoler le Cratère du Nouveau-Québec, pour que les passagers puissent photographier le site, avant de prendre un cap sud-est sur 250 nm pour se diriger vers Kuujjuaq. La route prévue amenait l'avion à survoler une grande étendue de toundra dénudée d'arbres, recouverte de neige, parsemée de rochers et largement inhabitée. Le relief topographique à cet endroit est ascendant et formé de collines qui culminent à des altitudes variant entre 1 600 et 2 000 pieds-mer.

Il n'y a pas de FSS au Cratère du Nouveau-Québec. La FSS la plus proche se trouve à Kuujjuaq, située à environ 250 nm au sud-est. Une analyse météorologique a été effectuée par le Bureau des services météorologiques et environnementaux de Québec d'Environnement Canada. Selon cette étude, l'extrême nord du Québec se trouvait sous l'influence d'un creux frontal, situé sur la baie d'Hudson, qui ramenait un mélange de précipitations en après-midi et en soirée le 30 mai. Au moment du décollage, le plafond à Kangiqsujuaq se situait à environ 1 100 pieds-sol et la visibilité était d'au moins 10 milles. À l'intérieur des terres, les nuages étaient fragmentés à couverts de 1 500 à 2 000 pieds-mer. Les vents en surface soufflaient du sud au sud-ouest de 15 à 25 noeuds et de l'ouest de 20 à 25 noeuds à 2 000 pieds-mer. De la turbulence mécanique modérée était associée aux vents de cette force. De plus, les photos satellite révèlent la présence de turbulence orographique. Toujours selon l'étude, la visibilité, aux différentes stations d'observation, était supérieure à six milles. Toutefois, dans la région du cratère, la visibilité était très réduite ou quasi-nulle dans la bruine et le brouillard en terrains élevés et dans les pentes face aux vents du sud au sud-ouest. Du givrage léger à modéré de type blanc ou transparent et de la bruine verglaçante pouvaient être présents en vol si la température se rapprochait du point de congélation.

Au site de l'accident, le calage altimétrique a été estimé à 29,72 pouces de mercure. L'avion était équipé de deux altimètres barométriques qui affichaient la même altitude. L'altimètre du pilote, en place gauche, était calé à 29,76 pouces de mercure tandis que l'altimètre de droite affichait 29,72 pouces de mercure.

Le cratère est situé dans l'espace aérien non contrôlé. Parfaitement circulaire, d'un diamètre de 3,4 km, le cratère est circonscrit par une crête montagneuse culminant à 2 156 pieds-mer. Les abords immédiats du cratère sont onduleux et se trouvent à une altitude moyenne de 1 700 pieds-mer. Le versant est du cratère accuse une pente de 15 degrés. Selon la réglementation, lors d'un vol dans l'espace aérien non contrôlé, la visibilité en vol doit être d'au moins un mille, et l'appareil doit être hors des nuages quand il est piloté à moins de 700 pieds verticalement au-dessus du sol ou de l'eau.

Il a été déterminé que l'appareil était légèrement cabré (environ 5 degrés) sur un cap de 277 degrés vrai lorsqu'il a percuté le versant est du cratère à environ 1 920 pieds-mer, sur une pente ascendante et enneigée et selon une trajectoire d'impact de 251 degrés vrai. L'avion a rebondi et a poursuivi sa course dans les airs sur 247 pieds, en roulant à gauche autour de son axe longitudinal avant que l'aile gauche heurte le sol. L'aéronef a poursuivi sa course et son roulis jusqu'à ce qu'il s'immobilise sur le dos à 650 pieds à l'ouest du point d'impact initial. Le C-GRPM reposait à 2 100 pieds-mer, à 200 pieds au sud du sommet.

L'appareil a commencé à se désintégrer dès le premier contact avec le sol; des morceaux de l'avion étaient répartis de part et d'autre de la ligne de débris. La partie supérieure avant du fuselage et la cabine de pilotage ont subi des dommages importants lorsque l'avion est retombé au sol sur le dos. Les volets et le train d'atterrissage étaient rentrés au moment de l'impact avec le sol. L'examen de l'épave n'a révélé aucun indice permettant de penser que l'avion aurait subi une défaillance structurale, des problèmes de commandes de vol, des problèmes électriques, une perte de puissance ou qu'un incendie se serait déclaré en vol ou au sol. Il y avait du carburant dans les réservoirs dont une partie s'est déversée sur le sol. La masse et le centrage se trouvaient dans les limites permises. Les marques laissées par les hélices lors de l'impact initial indiquent que le régime de chacun des moteurs était le même et que l'avion avait une vitesse-sol d'environ 154 noeuds.

L'examen de la face du cadran des anémomètres et de l'indicateur de virage et de dérapage n'a fourni aucun renseignement fiable. L'examen du tableau de bord a révélé ce qui suit : l'interrupteur général était sur ON après l'impact; tous les disjoncteurs étaient sur ON; l'indicateur de situation horizontale (HSI) indiquait 285 degrés; le radar météo était sur Standby; et l'interrupteur avionique de secours était sur OFF.

Une radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) du type fixe automatique était installée à la base de la dérive de l'avion. Elle avait été installée cinq mois avant l'accident. L'ELT était en état de fonctionnement, mais elle ne s'est pas déclenchée à l'impact. Lors de l'installation, son commutateur de fonction avait été placé sur OFF et n'avait pas été replacé sur ARM par la suite.

Le GPS a été récupéré et acheminé au constructeur pour examen afin de déterminer les indications qu'il affichait pendant le vol. La mémoire électronique de l'instrument contenait, entre autres, les noms et coordonnées géographiques de plusieurs points de cheminement (waypoint), dont certains sont situés sur la trajectoire d'approche finale de pistes pour lesquelles aucune approche aux instruments n'est publiée. Le cratère était identifié par WPT CRTER au 61o16,406' de latitude Nord et 73o42,823' de longitude Ouest. La position exacte du Cratère du Nouveau-Québec se trouve, en fait, à 2,5 nm plus à l'est que les coordonnées entrées dans le GPS. Il a été déterminé qu'après le décollage, le pilote a appuyé à deux reprises sur le bouton-poussoir «D» (Route directe) pour se diriger vers WPT CRTER.

Un passager était assis dans le siège du copilote et portait un dispositif de retenue; un passager était assis, sans dispositif de retenue, dans le siège droit de la première rangée faisant face à l'arrière de la cabine. Le troisième passager était assis dans le siège gauche de la deuxième rangée et portait un dispositif de retenue. Sous la force de l'impact, seul le siège de la deuxième rangée s'est arraché du plancher, projetant son occupant vers l'avant de la cabine.

Le décès des trois passagers a été attribué aux polytraumatismes importants qu'ils ont subis à l'impact. Une autopsie a été pratiquée sur le corps du pilote. Les résultats des examens toxicologiques se sont avérés négatifs. L'autopsie a révélé que le pilote souffrait d'une artériosclérose coronaérienne avec sténose de l'ordre de 60 % à 70 % de chacune des coronaires. Le décès du pilote a toutefois été attribué à un polytraumatisme important subi lors de l'accident, bien que l'artériosclérose coronaérienne relativement importante ait pu contribuer au décès. Le dernier examen médical du pilote, qui remontait à février 1996, et son dernier électrocardiogramme, qui datait de juin 1995, n'ont pas permis de déceler les problèmes cardio-vasculaires du pilote. Le pilote avait déclaré au médecin-examinateur de l'aviation civile qu'il n'avait jamais eu de troubles cardio-vasculaires, ni n'avait jamais été traité pour ce type de problème ou tout autre problème de santé. Rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques aient pu perturber les capacités du pilote.

Un accident CFIT (impact sans perte de contrôle, de l'anglais controlled flight into terrain) est un accident au cours duquel un aéronef percute par inadvertance le relief, l'eau ou un obstacle, sans que l'équipage ne se soit douté de la tragédie sur le point de se produire. Selon les données statistiques recueillies par le BST, les deux tiers des aéronefs accidentés dans les régions à population clairsemée du Canada étaient pilotés par un seul pilote. Lors des accidents CFIT, souvent le pilote avait tenté de voir le sol pour voler à vue, même si le vol s'était déroulé dans les nuages, de nuit, dans le voile blanc ou en toutes autres conditions qui ne permettaient pas le vol à vue. Plus de la moitié de ces accidents CFIT sont survenus en régime VFR. En février 1996, le pilote avait assisté à une présentation de Transports Canada sur les accidents CFIT. On y avait analysé les conditions favorisant ce type d'accident et présenté des stratégies pour les éviter.

Des conditions de temps laiteux (voile blanc) se produisent s'il y a une couche uniforme de nuages au-dessus d'une surface couverte de neige. Les rayons du soleil sont dispersés et diffusés à travers les nuages et sont ensuite réfléchis par la surface enneigée dans toutes les directions. L'espace entre le sol et les nuages semble donc illuminé d'une lumière blanche uniformément diffusée. La perception de profondeur disparaît complètement lorsque le blanc laiteux du ciel se marie au blanc enneigé du sol, au point d'oblitérer complètement l'horizon comme ligne de référence spatiale.

Analyse

Au départ de Kangiqsujuaq, le pilote savait que les conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient et celles qui étaient prévues à Kuujjuaq étaient favorables au vol à vue. Cependant, le cratère se trouve dans une région largement inhabitée, et le pilote ne savait pas que la météo se détériorait rapidement à l'ouest de Kangiqsujuaq et que les conditions météo qui prévalaient au cratère étaient mauvaises. En fait, la visibilité dans cette région était réduite, et la crête montagneuse entourant le cratère était probablement cachée par les nuages. De plus, les conditions atmosphériques qui prévalaient et la topographie des lieux favorisaient le phénomène de temps laiteux. Le pilote a donc continué sa route dans des conditions défavorables où il risquait de ne plus disposer des références visuelles nécessaires pour éviter les obstacles.

L'hypothèse d'une défaillance du moteur ou des systèmes de l'appareil, ou les deux, a été écartée puisque l'examen de l'avion n'a révélé aucune anomalie et aucun appel de détresse n'a été reçu. De plus, si une situation d'urgence était survenue en vol, il aurait été normal de retrouver tous les passagers retenus à leur siège par leur dispositif de sécurité. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu une situation d'urgence ou que l'avion ait présenté des problèmes avant l'impact.

L'appareil a heurté le sol le long de la route prévue, à 2,5 nm à l'est et à une minute de vol du point de cheminement identifié dans le GPS. Selon toute évidence, le pilote ne semblait pas conscient de sa position réelle par rapport à celle du cratère. Le pilote utilisait vraisemblablement les informations fournies par le GPS pour se rendre directement au cratère; en raison des coordonnées erronées du cratère entrées dans le GPS, le pilote a perdu conscience de la position réelle de l'aéronef et est arrivé au cratère vraisemblement une minute plus tôt qu'il ne s'y attendait.

Le pilote a rencontré des conditions météorologiques défavorables et il est probable qu'il a utilisé le GPS afin d'alléger sa charge de travail. Deux possibilités ont été examinées : le pilote serait descendu pour sortir des nuages de façon à voir le cratère, ou il aurait volé au-dessous des nuages dans l'espoir de voir le sol pour voler à vue. La possibilité d'une tentative de descente au-dessous de la base des nuages a cependant été jugée peu probable, étant donné qu'il aurait été inhabituel que le pilote descende à une altitude inférieure au sommet du cratère et inférieure à l'altitude de sécurité pour la région. De plus, si le pilote avait tenté une telle manoeuvre, il est fort probable que l'appareil aurait heurté le sol dans un angle de piqué.

Il semble plutôt que le pilote, qui connaissait bien l'endroit, tentait de voler à vue, en utilisant le GPS, afin d'arriver au-dessus du cratère en conditions météorologiques de vol à vue (VMC). Cependant, le pilote se serait retrouvé dans des conditions de visibilité réduite et de temps laiteux, où il risquait fortement de perdre le sol de vue à cause des conditions environnementales qui prévalaient.

L'assiette légèrement cabrée de même que le cap de l'appareil, d'environ 25 degrés supérieurs à celui de la route prévue et celui de la trajectoire de désintégration, suggèrent que le pilote a amorcé une remontée et un virage à droite non coordonné juste avant la collision avec le sol. Il est donc permis de croire que le pilote ne disposait vraisemblablement pas des références visuelles nécessaires et n'a pas vu le sol à temps pour l'éviter.

L'avion n'était équipé ni d'un radioaltimètre ni d'un GPWS. Ces dispositifs auraient pu alerter le pilote que l'avion se rapprochait dangereusement du relief; cependant, ces dispositifs n'étaient pas obligatoires.

Bien que le rapport d'autopsie conclu qu'une artériosclérose coronaérienne importante ait pu contribuer au décès du pilote, rien n'indique que des facteurs physiologiques aient pu perturber les capacités du pilote. En fait, l'assiette et le cap de l'avion au moment de l'impact révèlent que le pilote n'a pas été perturbé par une incapacité qui aurait pu l'empêcher de maîtriser l'appareil.

Le Cratère du Nouveau-Québec est un site panoramique unique, situé dans une région difficile d'accès. La raison pour laquelle le pilote a décidé de poursuivre le vol dans des conditions défavorables n'a pu être déterminée. Cependant, il est probable que sa connaissance de la région, la proximité du cratère, et l'information fournie par le GPS ont eu une influence sur la décision du pilote.

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu une défaillance de la cellule ou un mauvais fonctionnement d'un système de l'avion, que ce soit avant ou pendant le vol.
  3. Le pilote n'était pas au courant des conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient dans la région du cratère.
  4. En route vers le cratère, les conditions météorologiques se sont détériorées et le pilote a continué sa route et a vraisemblablement utilisé le GPS.
  5. La visibilité était réduite et les conditions atmosphériques présentes et la topographie des lieux favorisaient le phénomène de temps laiteux au site de l'accident au moment de l'impact.
  6. Dans les moments précédant l'impact, le pilote ne disposait vraisemblablement pas des références visuelles nécessaires pour éviter les obstacles.
  7. En raison des coordonnées erronées entrées dans le GPS, le cratère se trouvait à 2,5 nm plus à l'est qu'il aurait été indiqué par le GPS, et le pilote est vraisemblablement arrivé au cratère environ une minute plus tôt qu'il ne s'y attendait.
  8. Le commutateur de fonction de l'ELT était sur OFF.
  9. La réglementation en vigueur n'imposait pas l'emport d'un GPWS, et l'appareil n'en était pas équipé.
  10. Le pilote souffrait d'une artériosclérose coronaérienne relativement importante qui n'a pas été décelée lors des examens médicaux de routine.
  11. Rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques aient pu perturber les capacités du pilote.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le pilote a poursuivi son vol dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables et a pu perdre conscience de la situation en raison d'informations erronées fournies par le GPS. Le pilote ne disposait vraisemblablement pas des références visuelles nécessaires pour éviter de heurter le versant est du Cratère du Nouveau-Québec.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident.

La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 23 avril 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.