Aviation Investigation Report A96Q0126

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Rejected Landing/Loss of Control
First Air DHC-6 Series 300 C-GNDN
Iqaluit, Northwest Territories 85 nm NW
12 August 1996

Summary

First Air 064, a DHC-6 Twin Otter (Serial No. 427), took off from Iqaluit, Northwest Territories (NWT), at 1258 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)(1) on a charter flight to Markham Bay, Lake Harbour, and back to Iqaluit. The aircraft was carrying six barrels of Jet B fuel to be delivered to Markham Bay, an off-strip landing site. At 1300, just after he took off, the captain told the Iqaluit Flight Service Station (FSS) specialist that the estimated time of arrival (ETA) for Markham Bay would be 1335. At approximately 1345, the crew informed First Air dispatch that they were landing at Markham Bay. After touching down, the pilot attempted an overshoot. During the attempt, the aircraft struck the ground about 200 metres past the end of the landing area, got airborne again, cleared a ridge, then crashed onto a rocky beach. A helicopter located the airplane 629 metres from the beginning of the landing area, partially submerged in water. The two pilots, the only occupants, received fatal injuries in the crash.

The accident occurred during daylight hours at 1347, as per the clock of the airplane, at latitude 63°40'N and longitude 071°39'W. There were no witnesses to this accident.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The captain and the first officer were certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. The captain had accumulated a total of 3,813 hours, of which 2,028 were on Twin Otter aircraft. He was hired by First Air in February 1991, promoted to captain on the Twin Otter in June 1995, and had flown 395 hours as captain on the Twin Otter at the time of the occurrence. Company policy stipulates that the captain, rather than the first officer, is to land the aircraft on a short strip like Markham Bay. The first officer was hired in February 1995 and had accumulated a total of 2,724 hours, of which 1,000 were with First Air on Twin Otter and Beechcraft aircraft.

Records indicate that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and procedures. The airplane was loaded, under the supervision of the captain, with six barrels of Jet B fuel. The take-off weight at Iqaluit was calculated to be 12,862 pounds, and the landing weight at Markham Bay to be 12,412 pounds. The maximum authorized take-off weight is 12,500 pounds and the maximum authorized landing weight is 12,300 pounds. As both the take-off weight and landing weight were outside of the aircraft's flight envelope, the take-off centre of gravity and landing centre of gravity could not be determined.

The cargo was secured in the fuselage by the use of straps, tie-down rings, and Brownline tie-down tracks. Examination of the tracks revealed that the fasteners used to attach the straps to the tracks had torn free on impact. Four drums were found inside and two were found outside the fuselage. None of them had moved into the cockpit.

Autopsies on the pilots were performed by the Forensic Pathology Unit, Office of the Coroner for Ontario. The cause of death for the captain was determined to be head and neck injuries. The cause of death for the first officer was determined to be head and neck injuries, complicated by drowning. The autopsy report revealed injuries to the first officer's left leg, ankle, and foot. These types of injuries are commonly found on pilots who were flying the aircraft and were at the controls at the time of impact. The toxicology analysis was performed by the Center of Forensic Sciences. The testing for the presence of common drugs and alcohol was negative for each crew member. There was no evidence that incapacitation or physiological factors affected the crew's performance.

Markham Bay is located 85 nm northwest of Iqaluit and 69 nm north of Lake Harbour. There is no weather information available for Markham Bay, and pilots use weather information from Iqaluit and Lake Harbour. At 1300 and 1400, the reported weather at Iqaluit was as follows: visibility 30 statute miles, a few clouds at 26,000 feet, wind calm, temperature 9 degrees Celsius, and dew point 3 degrees. At 1400, the reported Lake Harbour weather was as follows: visibility 15 statute miles, scattered cloud at 1,500 feet with a second layer at 25,000 feet, wind calm, temperature 12 degrees Celsius, and dew point 2 degrees. The helicopter pilot who found the wreckage confirmed that there was no wind and no cloud around Markham Bay.

The Markham Bay off-site landing surface is composed of loose, small-to-medium gravel with three shallow, obliquely transverse wash-outs located along its length. The area was well known by the captain, as he had landed there on several occasions. The length of the landing site is 209 metres on a heading of 032 degrees magnetic. The actual landing area is marked by four, red 45-gallon drums placed at each corner of the landing strip. Past the end of the landing strip, there is a depression with water in it, rising rocky terrain, a ridge, and then descending terrain to the waters of Hudson Strait.

During the landing attempt, the airplane made four separate sets of marks along the landing area. The first three sets of marks showed no evidence of braking, but the last set of marks showed evidence of heavy braking and skidding towards the right by approximately five degrees. The last marks also showed evidence of nosewheel digging and steering input. The brakes were released 12 metres after the end of the runway, and a new heading of 044 degrees magnetic was established. The airplane became airborne 34 metres further on, past the end of the landing area, where there was a downslope of 11 degrees. There were no more marks for over 185 metres, then the right main gear was torn off when it hit a rock. Small flakes of metal and paint were found in a large area around the gear, but no other significant pieces were found. The airplane managed to continue over a ridge and came to rest on the other side, 629 metres from the beginning of the landing area.

The airplane struck the sea bed right wing first with a nose-down attitude of at least 60 degrees. On impact, the right wing moved backward and buckled the fuselage. The imprint of the flaps on the fuselage indicated a flap setting of 20 degrees, which is the normal flap setting for a short field take-off. The flap setting was later confirmed by the actuator length and flaps selector position. The right engine and propeller were torn from the firewall and were found approximately 10 metres to the left, behind the main wreckage. The firewall fuel shut-off valve was in the open position. The left wing failed forward and inward toward the fuselage. Cuts in the fuselage aft of the captain's seat were made by the left propeller. The left engine and propeller remained attached to the wing.

A continuity check of the rudder, rudder trim, elevator and elevator trim control cables, and associated bellcranks and pushrods was completed. The aileron and aileron trim cables failed in overload as the wings tore free from the fuselage, but continuity was established from the failures through the fuselage to the control column and through the wings to the associated bellcranks, pushrods, and flight controls.

Both engines were disassembled, under TSB supervision, at the Pratt & Whitney Canada facility. The engines displayed light impact damage and minimal compression damage, as well as slight torsional damage to the exhaust duct. Circumferential rubbing and scoring were displayed by the internal rotating components due to impact loads and external distortion, and were considered an indication that the engines were producing power at impact. There was no indication of any anomalies observed during the examination that would have precluded normal engine operation.

Both propellers were disassembled at the TSB Engineering Branch. No pre-impact anomalies which would preclude normal propeller operation were noted with either propeller. The analysis of the information gathered during the examination indicated that the propellers were rotating and absorbing power from the engines at the time of impact. The blade angle markings indicated a high power setting, at, or close to, full power. When a decision is made to abort the landing, the power levers are advanced to obtain take-off power, and the flaps are retracted to 20 degrees.

During examination of the right engine, it was found that the inboard isolation mount, one of three attachment points for the engine, was broken. All of the mounts from both engines were removed and forwarded to the TSB Engineering Branch for more detailed examination. The analysis determined that fatigue cracking had preceded the separation of the broken mount, and that four of the remaining five mounts also had fatigue cracks. It was not conclusively determined whether the broken mount failed before or during the accident sequence.

The TSB had recently conducted a failure analysis of a right-engine inboard isolation mount from the same model of aircraft. The pilot of that aircraft was questioned to help assess the probable effect of such a failure on the operation and performance of the powerplant. He indicated that there was no noticeable effect on movement of the engine or propeller controls or on aircraft performance or handling.

On short runways, pilots use a short-field landing technique. The Twin Otter Manual states that in standard conditions using a short-field technique, a ground roll of 515 feet (157 metres) would be necessary to stop the airplane at maximum landing weight when using 37.5 degrees of flaps (full flaps), an approach speed of 70 knots, full brakes on a hard surface, and full reverse thrust. Moving the throttles into reverse can only be achieved after the propeller levers have been moved into full forward position.

The flaps actuator needs between 16 and 23 seconds to move from 37.5 degrees to 20 degrees of flap, if there is no air load on the flaps. Assuming an average airspeed of between 52 knots (stalling speed at maximum gross weight and 37.5 degrees of flaps) and 56 knots (stalling speed at maximum gross weight and 20 degrees of flaps), the flaps had 17 to 19 seconds to retract from the time the airplane landed and the crew applied brakes until the aircraft reached the location where it crashed. At Markham Bay, only the last set of marks showed signs of braking for a measured distance of 88 metres.

Analysis

There were no witnesses to the occurrence. The crew was qualified and certified for the flight. The weather conditions were not considered to be a factor in this occurrence. The aircraft's weight was determined to have been above the maximum take-off weight and the maximum landing weight.

Company policy requires the captain to do all landings at any off-site landing strips. When the airplane departed Iqaluit, the captain was speaking on the radio, a function normally performed by the pilot not flying. The injuries to the first officer's left leg, ankle, and foot suggest that he may have been at the controls at the time of impact. However, given that the first officer was in the right seat and the initial impact forces were more severe on the right side of the aircraft, it is possible that the first officer's additional injuries were a result of the impact forces and not of his being at the controls of the aircraft. Examination of the off-site landing area revealed that there were signs of nosewheel steering input at the fourth set of tire marks. Because the steering lever is located on the hub of the captain's control wheel, either the captain was flying the aircraft at the time of the occurrence, or he was attempting to take control of the aircraft. Notwithstanding the above, it could not be determined with certainty who was at the controls of the aircraft.

The four sets of imprints on the landing strip at Markham Bay indicate that the aircraft bounced into the air three times during the landing attempt, and that the pilot flying the aircraft had difficulty controlling the aircraft on landing. In order to bounce on three different occasions, the airplane needed a speed in excess of the normal landing speed. Excessive speed can come from a higher than normal speed on final approach for the landing or from power application during the landing sequence. The use of full flaps during the approach, in addition to the use of brakes and reverse thrust on landing, will decrease the aircraft's landing speed and shorten the landing roll. It was not possible to determine what flap setting was used for the approach or if the pilot used reverse thrust on landing. The fact that the flaps were at 20 degrees and the engines were developing maximum power indicates that the pilots were likely attempting an overshoot using a short field take-off flap setting.

The airplane became airborne 34 metres after the crew released the brakes; the point at which they released the brakes is likely when they decided to overshoot. The fact that the aircraft became airborne in such a short distance is likely the result of the aircraft having a high residual airspeed, a take-off speed close to stall speed, and the downslope terrain. Controlling the aircraft is more difficult at such a low airspeed. The weight condition and the low airspeed did not allow the aircraft to gain sufficient height to clear the obstacle located 185 metres after lift-off. When the landing gear hit the rock and the airplane went over the ridge, the small margin between flying and stall speed was removed. The airspeed decreased below the stall speed and the aircraft fell nose down into the waters of Hudson Strait.

The following Engineering Branch reports were completed:

  • LP 142/96 - Occurrence Investigation - Regional Support;
  • LP 143/96 - Engines and Propellers Examination; and
  • LP 094/96 - Engine Mount Failure.

These reports are available upon request from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada.

Findings

  1. The crew was qualified for the flight.
  2. It could not be determined with certainty who was at the controls of the aircraft.
  3. The aircraft was loaded under the supervision of the captain.
  4. The aircraft's weight was determined to be above the maximum take-off weight and the maximum landing weight.
  5. The flaps were found set to 20 degrees at the accident site.
  6. The inboard isolation mount of the right engine was broken; the time of failure could not be determined.
  7. The aircraft stalled when going over the ridge.

Causes and Contributing Factors

For unknown reasons, a decision was made to overshoot even though insufficient runway remained for acceleration, take-off, and climb. Likely contributing directly to the decision to overshoot was the difficulty in controlling the aircraft on touchdown.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 30 April 1998.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96Q0126

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Atterrissage interrompu et perte de maîtrise
First Air DHC-6 série 300 C-GNDN
85 nm au nord-ouest d'Iqaluit
(Territoires du Nord-Ouest)
12 août 1996

Résumé

Le DHC-6 Twin Otter (no de série 427) du vol 064 de First Air a décollé d'Iqaluit (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) à 12 h 58, temps universel coordonné (UTC)(1), pour effectuer un vol d'affrètement à Markham Bay et Lake Harbour avec retour à Iqaluit. L'appareil transportait six fûts de carburant Jet B qu'il devait livrer à Markham Bay, un lieu d'atterrissage hors piste. À 13 h, juste après le décollage, le commandant de bord a dit au spécialiste de la station d'information de vol (FSS) d'Iqaluit qu'il prévoyait arriver à Markham Bay vers 13 h 35. Vers 13 h 45, l'équipage a signalé au centre de régulation des vols de First Air qu'il se posait à Markham Bay. Après avoir touché des roues, le pilote a tenté de faire une remise des gaz. Pendant la manoeuvre, l'avion a percuté le sol à 200 pieds environ au-delà de l'aire d'atterrissage, puis il a repris l'air. Il a évité une crête et s'est écrasé sur une plage rocheuse. Un hélicoptère a localisé l'avion à 629 mètres du début de l'aire d'atterrissage où il était partiellement immergé dans l'eau. Les deux pilotes, qui étaient seuls à bord, ont perdu la vie dans l'accident.

L'accident s'est produit de jour, à 13 h 47 selon le chronomètre de l'avion, par 63 40' de latitude Nord et 71 39' de longitude Ouest. Personne n'a été témoin de l'accident.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le commandant de bord et le copilote possédaient les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Le commandant totalisait 3 813 heures de vol, dont 2 028 sur Twin Otter. Il avait été engagé par First Air en février 1991 avant d'être promu commandant de bord sur Twin Otter en juin 1995. Au moment de l'accident, il totalisait 395 heures de vol à titre de commandant de bord sur Twin Otter. Selon les politiques de la compagnie, c'est le commandant de bord, et non le copilote, qui doit faire les atterrissages sur une piste courte comme celle de Markham Bay. Le copilote avait été engagé en février 1995. Il totalisait 2 724 heures de vol, dont 1 000 sur les appareils Twin Otter et Beechcraft de First Air.

L'examen des dossiers a révélé que l'avion était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. L'avion avait reçu, sous la supervision du commandant de bord, un chargement de six fûts de carburant Jet B. D'après les calculs, la masse au décollage d'Iqaluit s'élevait à 12 862 livres, et la masse à l'atterrissage à Markham Bay était de 12 412 livres. Les masses maximales autorisées au décollage et à l'atterrissage sont de 12 500 et 12 300 livres respectivement. Le centre de gravité au décollage et le centre de gravité à l'atterrissage n'ont pas pu être déterminés parce que la masse au décollage et la masse à l'atterrissage de l'avion étaient hors du domaine de vol de l'avion.

Le fret avait été arrimé dans le fuselage à l'aide de sangles, d'anneaux et de rails Brownline. L'examen des rails a permis de constater que les fixations servant à retenir les sangles aux rails avaient cédé à l'impact. Quatre fûts ont été retrouvés dans le fuselage de l'avion; les deux autres se trouvaient à l'extérieur de l'avion. Aucun fût ne s'est déplacé jusqu'au poste de pilotage.

Les résultats des autopsies effectuées par l'unité de médecine légale du Bureau du coroner de l'Ontario ont révélé que le commandant de bord a succombé aux blessures qu'il a reçues à la tête et au cou et que le copilote a reçu des blessures à la tête et au cou et qu'il est mort par noyade. Le rapport d'autopsie du copilote indique également qu'il a reçu des blessures à la jambe, à la cheville et au pied gauches. De telles blessures sont typiques de celles que l'on retrouve couramment chez ceux qui sont aux commandes d'un aéronef au moment de l'impact. Des analyses toxicologiques ont été effectuées par le Centre des sciences judiciaires. Les résultats des examens visant à déceler la présence de drogues courantes et d'alcool ont été négatifs pour les deux pilotes. Rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques aient pu perturber les capacités de l'équipage.

Markham Bay se trouve à 85 nm au nord-ouest d'Iqaluit et à 69 nm au nord de Lake Harbour. Comme il n'y a aucun renseignement météorologique disponible à Markham Bay, les pilotes se servent des renseignements d'Iqaluit et de Lake Harbour. À 13h et 14 h, les conditions météorologiques signalées à Iqaluit étaient les suivantes : visibilité de 30 milles, quelques nuages à 26 000 pieds, vents calmes, température de 9 degrés Celsius et point de rosée à 3 degrés Celsius. À 14 h, les conditions météorologiques signalées à Lake Harbour étaient les suivantes : visibilité de 15 milles, nuages épars à 1 500 pieds et une seconde couche à 25 000 pieds, vents calmes, température de 12 degrés Celsius et point de rosée à 2 degrés Celsius. Le pilote de l'hélicoptère qui a retrouvé l'épave a confirmé qu'il n'y avait pas de vent ni de nuages dans les environs de Markham Bay.

L'aire d'atterrissage hors piste de Markham Bay a une surface en petit et moyen gravier. L'aire est bordée sur sa longueur par trois fossés de ruissellement peu profonds obliques transversalement. Le commandant de bord connaissait bien l'endroit car il s'y était posé à plusieurs reprises. Le lieu d'atterrissage mesure 209 mètres de longueur et est orienté au cap de 032 degrés magnétique. L'aire d'atterrissage comme telle est balisée par quatre fûts de 45 gallons peints en rouge placés aux quatre coins de la bande d'atterrissage. Au bout de la bande d'atterrissage, il y a une dépression remplie d'eau, un terrain rocailleux qui monte jusqu'à une crête, puis un terrain en pente descendante qui aboutit dans les eaux du détroit d'Hudson.

Lors de la tentative d'atterrissage, l'avion a laissé quatre séries de marques le long de l'aire d'atterrissage. Les trois premières séries ne présentaient aucune trace de freinage, contrairement à la quatrième où l'on a retrouvé des traces de freinage important avec dérapage vers la droite selon un angle de cinq degrés environ. Les dernières marques ont également permis de constater un certain enfoncement du train avant et une utilisation de la commande d'orientation du train avant. Les freins ont été desserrés 12 mètres après l'extrémité de piste où l'avion a pris un nouveau cap de 044 degrés magnétique. L'appareil a repris l'air 34 mètres plus loin, au-delà de l'aire d'atterrissage, là où il y a une pente descendante de 11 degrés. L'avion n'a laissé aucune marque sur les 185 mètres suivants, puis, selon les marques, le train principal droit s'est arraché au contact d'un rocher. De petits éclats de métal et de peinture ont été décelés sur une grande surface autour du train, mais il n'y avait aucun autre morceau important de l'avion. L'avion a réussi à franchir une crête avant de finir sa course de l'autre côté, à 629 mètres du début de l'aire d'atterrissage.

L'avion a tout d'abord percuté le fond marin de l'aile droite, dans un piqué d'au moins 60 degrés. Sous le choc, l'aile droite s'est déplacée vers l'arrière et a déformé le fuselage. Les marques laissées par les volets sur le fuselage révèlent que les volets étaient braqués à 20 degrés, ce qui est le braquage normal dans le cas d'un décollage court. Ce braquage a été confirmé par la longueur du vérin et la position du levier de commande des volets. Le moteur droit et son hélice se sont détachés de la cloison pare-feu et ont été retrouvés à une dizaine de mètres à gauche et à l'arrière de l'épave principale. Le robinet d'arrêt carburant de la cloison pare-feu était ouvert. L'aile gauche s'est rompue vers l'avant et vers l'intérieur par rapport au fuselage. L'hélice gauche a fait des entailles dans le fuselage derrière le siège du commandant de bord. Le moteur gauche et son hélice sont restés fixés à l'aile.

Les câbles de commande de la direction, du compensateur de la direction, de la profondeur et du volet de profondeur, ainsi que les guignols et les biellettes connexes ont fait l'objet d'un essai de continuité. Il a été établi que les câbles des ailerons et de leurs compensateurs se sont rompus en surcharge quand les ailes se sont détachées du fuselage, mais il a été déterminé qu'il y avait continuité depuis les endroits des ruptures jusqu'aux manches en passant par le fuselage et jusqu'aux guignols, biellettes et gouvernes connexes en passant par les ailes.

Les deux moteurs ont été démontés dans les installations de Pratt & Whitney Canada sous la supervision du BST. Ils présentaient des dommages légers dus à l'impact et des dommages minimes dus à la compression, ainsi que des dommages légers en torsion à la tubulure d'échappement. Les composants internes de la partie tournante présentaient des dommages par frottement et des rayures en circonférence dus aux charges d'impact et à la déformation externe, signe que les moteurs fournissaient de la puissance au moment de l'impact. L'examen n'a révélé aucune anomalie qui aurait pu nuire au fonctionnement normal des moteurs.

Les deux hélices ont été démontées au Laboratoire technique du BST. Aucune d'entre elles ne présentait des dommages antérieurs à l'impact qui auraient pu l'empêcher de fonctionner normalement. L'analyse des données recueillies pendant l'examen a montré que les hélices tournaient à l'impact et absorbaient la puissance fournie par les moteurs. D'après les marques, les hélices étaient calées pour un régime moteur élevé correspondant à la pleine puissance ou presque. Quand on décide d'interrompre l'atterrissage, on pousse les manettes de gaz à la puissance de décollage et l'on rentre les volets à 20 degrés.

L'examen du moteur droit a révélé que le support élastique, qui constitue l'une des trois fixations du moteur, était cassé. Les supports des deux moteurs ont été déposés et envoyés au Laboratoire technique du BST pour y subir un examen plus poussé. L'analyse a révélé la présence de criques de fatigue antérieures à la rupture du support cassé ainsi que la présence de criques de fatigue sur quatre des cinq autres supports. Il n'a pas été possible d'établir avec certitude si le support cassé s'était rompu avant ou pendant l'accident.

Le BST venait de faire une analyse de la défaillance d'un support élastique du moteur droit d'un avion du même modèle. On a posé des questions au pilote de l'appareil en question dans l'espoir de mieux évaluer les effets probables d'une telle rupture sur le fonctionnement et les performances du groupe moteur. Le pilote a déclaré n'avoir perçu aucun changement notable en ce qui concerne les déplacements des commandes moteur ou hélice et les performances ou la pilotabilité de l'avion.

Le pilote qui se pose sur une piste courte utilise une technique d'atterrissage court. Le manuel de vol du Twin Otter indique que si l'on utilise la technique d'atterrissage court, dans des conditions normales, il faut une course à l'atterrissage de 515 pieds (157 mètres) pour immobiliser l'avion à sa masse maximale en utilisant 37,5 degrés de volets (pleins volets) , une vitesse d'approche de 70 noeuds, un freinage à fond sur une surface dure et l'inversion de poussée maximale. Pour pouvoir amener les manettes de gaz en position d'inversion, il faut d'abord pousser à fond sur les leviers de commande des hélices.

En l'absence de toute charge aérodynamique sur les volets, il faut de 16 à 23 secondes au vérin de commande pour faire rentrer les volets de 37,5 à 20 degrés. En prenant comme hypothèse une vitesse moyenne comprise entre 52 noeuds (vitesse de décrochage à la masse maximale brute et 37,5 degrés de volets) et 56 noeuds (vitesse de décrochage à la masse maximale brute et 20 degrés de volets), les volets ont eu de 17 à 19 secondes pour rentrer à partir du moment où l'avion s'est posé et où l'équipage a freiné jusqu'au moment où l'appareil a atteint l'endroit où il s'est écrasé. À Markham Bay, seule la dernière série de marques présentait des traces de freinage sur une distance de 88 mètres.

Analyse

Personne n'a été témoin de l'accident. Les deux pilotes possédaient les licences et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol. On a jugé que les conditions météorologiques n'avaient joué aucun rôle dans l'accident. Il a été établi que la masse de l'avion était supérieure à la masse maximale autorisée au décollage et à la masse maximale autorisée à l'atterrissage.

Une politique de la compagnie exige que le commandant de bord effectue les atterrissages sur les aires d'atterrissage hors piste. Au départ d'Iqaluit, c'est le commandant de bord qui s'occupaient des messages radio, une fonction normalement dévolue au pilote qui n'est pas aux commandes. Les blessures à la jambe, à la cheville et au pied gauches du copilote laissent penser que c'est lui qui était aux commandes au moment de l'impact. Toutefois, comme le copilote était en place droite et que les forces de l'impact initial ont été plus importantes à droite, il se peut que les blessures additionnelles du copilote aient été le résultat des forces d'impact et non pas du fait qu'il se trouvait aux commandes. L'examen de l'aire d'atterrissage hors piste a montré que la quatrième série de marques laissées par les pneus présentait des signes d'utilisation de la commande d'orientation du train avant. Comme cette commande se trouve au centre du volant du commandant de bord, soit que le commandant était aux commandes au moment de l'accident, soit qu'il essayait de reprendre les commandes. Quoi qu'il en soit, il a été impossible d'établir avec certitude qui était aux commandes.

Les quatre séries de marques laissées à l'atterrissage à Markham Bay montrent que l'avion a rebondi à trois reprises pendant la manoeuvre et que le pilote aux commandes avait de la difficulté à maîtriser l'appareil à l'atterrissage. Pour pouvoir rebondir trois fois, il fallait que la vitesse de l'avion soit supérieure à la vitesse normale d'atterrissage. Cette vitesse excessive peut être le résultat d'une vitesse supérieure à la normale en approche finale ou d'une augmentation de puissance pendant la séquence d'atterrissage. La sortie complète des volets en approche, en plus de l'utilisation des freins et de l'inversion de poussée à l'atterrissage, fait diminuer la vitesse d'atterrissage et raccourcit la course à l'atterrissage. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer quel était le braquage des volets en approche ni de savoir si le pilote avait utilisé l'inversion de poussée à l'atterrissage. Le fait que les volets étaient braqués à 20 degrés et que les moteurs fournissaient toute leur puissance indique que les pilotes tentaient vraisemblablement de faire une remise des gaz avec un braquage de volets pour un décollage court.

L'appareil a repris l'air 34 mètres après que l'équipage eut desserré les freins. L'endroit où le freinage a cessé correspond probablement à l'endroit où la décision de remettre les gaz a été prise. Si l'avion a pu redécoller sur une si petite distance, cela est probablement dû au fait que sa vitesse résiduelle était élevée, que la vitesse de décollage avoisinait la vitesse de décrochage et que le relief partait en pente descendante. Il est très difficile de garder la maîtrise d'un avion à de si basses vitesses. L'avion n'a pas pu franchir l'obstacle qui se trouvait à 185 mètres après le point où l'avion a quitté le sol à cause de sa masse et de sa faible vitesse. Lorsque le train d'atterrissage de l'avion a percuté le rocher et que l'avion a franchi la crête, la petite marge entre la vitesse de vol et celle de décrochage est tombée à zéro. La vitesse a diminué au-dessous de la vitesse de décrochage, et l'avion a piqué dans les eaux du détroit d'Hudson.

L'enquête a donné lieu aux rapports de laboratoire suivants :

  • LP 142/96 - Occurrence Investigation - Regional Support
    (Soutien régional dans le cadre d'une enquête sur un accident);
  • LP 143/96 - Engines and Propellers Examination (Examen des moteurs et des hélices);
  • LP 094/96 - Engine Mount Failure
    (Rupture d'un support moteur).

Faits établis

  1. Les membres de l'équipage possédaient les qualifications pour effectuer le vol.
  2. Il a été impossible d'établir avec certitude qui était aux commandes.
  3. L'avion avait été chargé sous la supervision du commandant de bord.
  4. Il a été établi que la masse de l'avion était supérieure à la masse maximale autorisée au décollage et à l'atterrissage.
  5. Les volets étaient sortis à 20 degrés sur les lieux de l'accident.
  6. Le support élastique intérieur du moteur droit était cassé; il n'a pas été possible de déterminer le moment de la rupture.
  7. L'avion a décroché en survolant la crête.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Pour des raisons inconnues, il a été décidé de faire une remise des gaz même s'il n'y avait plus suffisamment de piste pour l'accélération, le décollage et la montée. Les difficultés à maîtriser l'avion pendant l'atterrissage ont probablement contribué directement à cette décision de remettre les gaz après le toucher des roues.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 30 avril 1998 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles H. Simpson et W.A. Tadros.