Aviation Investigation Report A96W0204

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Aircraft Broke Through Ice
Bell 206L-1 LongRanger (Helicopter) C-GZAA
Snare River, Northwest Territories
23 October 1996

Summary

The helicopter, serial number 45537, was chartered by Environment Canada, Water Survey Branch, to conduct hydrometric measurements at sites in the vicinity of the Snare River, 110 miles north of Yellowknife, Northwest Territories. The pilot and two technologists departed Yellowknife at 0925 mountain daylight saving time (MDT) and arrived at the first site one hour later.

High water levels had flooded the landing site, so an alternate drop-off site was found on a small ice-covered bay nearby. The pilot manoeuvred the helicopter close to shore and remained in a hover, with the skids resting lightly on the ice, while the technologists got out and checked the ice surface. They signalled to the pilot that the ice was okay. The pilot bumped the helicopter up and down twice to further test the ice strength. Both technologists walked to the left rear cabin door to unload equipment, when suddenly, without warning, the helicopter broke through the ice. Both technologists slid into the four-foot-deep water.

The pilot applied power and lifted the helicopter out of the water; however, the tail rotor had separated, and he had no tail rotor control. The helicopter rotated clockwise, rolled right and sank. The pilot was submerged, and evacuated the helicopter with assistance from one of the technologists. The second technologist was fatally injured when struck on the head by a portion of a main rotor blade after, or as, the blade fractured. The helicopter was substantially damaged.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He had approximately 21,000 hours total flying time, of which approximately 10,500 hours was on Bell 206 helicopters. The pilot and technologists had worked together previously conducting water surveys. The procedure they used to check the ice had been carried out before with success.

Records indicate that the helicopter was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The company had equipped the helicopter with two emergency locator transmitters (ELT). The ELT mounted on the lower left front side of the cockpit remained above the water level and activated at impact. The second ELT, mounted on the centre post behind the cockpit seats, was submerged and did not emit an audible signal. The gross weight of the helicopter at the time of the occurrence was approximately 3,200 pounds, which was within limits.

Visual flight conditions existed at the time, with an estimated overcast of 700 feet above ground level (agl), 10 miles visibility, wind from the southeast at 6 to 10 knots, and temperature minus 5 degrees Celsius.

The initial plan was for the pilot to remain in a hover, with the skids resting lightly on the ice, while the technologists exited, checked the ice, and unloaded an axe and chain-saw. The pilot would then lift off and remain airborne while they prepared an area for landing. After the technologists checked the ice and signalled that the ice was okay, the pilot decided to shut down to conserve fuel and eliminate the need to divert to a distant fuel cache for refuelling. The helicopter broke through as he reduced power to ground idle and set the full weight of the helicopter onto the ice.

The helicopter was equipped with high skid gear which provided approximately 11 feet of clearance between the main rotor blade and the ice surface. The bear paws mounted on the rear of the helicopter's skids broke through the ice first, and the tail rotor blades struck the ice surface. The tail rotor gear box separated and the helicopter began a clockwise rotation. The main rotor blades struck the ice as the helicopter rolled to the right and one blade separated 45 inches from the blade attachment bolt at the yoke. The technologist's body was found in the water at the nose of the helicopter. A smear on the detached blade, 10 feet 8 inches from the tip, indicates that the technologist was struck after, or as, the blade separated from the helicopter.

The load-bearing capability of ice is dependent on its quality, thickness, and temperature. It is not possible to determine ice thickness from the air; however, the colour of the ice will usually provide some indication of ice quality. Ice colour will vary from clear blue to grey to white, with clear blue being the strongest.

The Treasury Board of Canada's Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health provides a rule of thumb of "one inch of clear blue ice for every thousand pounds" to determine the required thickness of fresh water ice. A "Caution" follows the above quote - "Ice that is less than six inches (15 cm) thick should not be used for any crossing. Because of natural variations, thickness may be less than two inches ( 5 cm) in some areas." For loads that are stationary, as would be the case for a helicopter landing and shutting down, the weight bearing capacity of the ice should be decreased by a factor of 50 per cent.

Moving water under the ice can affect ice thickness and may not be apparent from the surface. A small stream, hidden from view under the ground cover foliage, fed into the bay below the ice layer. The ice was grey in colour and approximately three inches thick where the helicopter broke through.

The helicopter was equipped with a watertight emergency kit with a mirror, matches, and flares secured on the outside under plastic wrap, to facilitate access to these essential items in an emergency. The survivors made use of the emergency kit after the occurrence; however, duct tape used to secure the kit was very difficult to remove with cold hands in freezing temperatures.

The helicopter, on a flight notification, was not expected to return to Yellowknife until late in the day. However, the survivors used a portable satellite phone to call the Water Survey office in Yellowknife. A rescue team, including RCMP members and a nurse, arrived at the scene around 1300 MDT. Without the satellite phone to report the emergency and the prompt response by the rescue team, the survivors would likely have been stranded overnight and not been rescued until the following morning. Both individuals were suffering from hypothermia when rescued about three hours after the accident.

Analysis

The pilot and technologists were experienced in working together as a team. When they arrived at the hydrometric site and found the intended landing site covered with water and ice, they had to formulate an alternate plan to accomplish the project.

The pilot assessed the ice surface characteristics in the bay and judged that he could drop the men off safely from a hover, while maintaining lift on the main rotor. Although the indications on the surface appeared favourable, there was no reliable means to determine the ice thickness and strength from the air. After the technologists exited the helicopter and checked the ice, they signalled the pilot, which reinforced his assessment of the ice condition, and he decided to shut down.

The load-bearing capability of the ice was exceeded when the pilot set the full weight of the helicopter on the ice in preparation for shutdown, and the two technologists moved to the outside of the left rear door of the helicopter to unload their equipment. The small stream feeding into the bay likely had a detrimental effect on the ice thickness and quality.

Findings

  1. The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. Records indicate that the helicopter was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.
  3. The ice-covered bay was an alternate drop-off site because the original landing site was under water.
  4. The load-bearing strength of the ice was not sufficient to support the total weight of the helicopter, equipment, and personnel.
  5. The main rotor blades fractured when they hit the ice, and an outer portion of one of the blades struck one of the technologists.
  6. The stream feeding into the bay likely affected the thickness and quality of the ice.
  7. The survivors were rescued expeditiously because of the availability of the satellite phone.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The thickness and quality of the ice at the drop-off site was not sufficient to support the weight of the helicopter.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 29 July, 1997.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A96W0204

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Aéronef ayant défoncé la glace
Bell 206L-1 LongRanger (hélicoptère) C-GZAA
Snare River (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)
Le 23 octobre 1996

Résumé

L'hélicoptère, numéro de série 45537, avait été affrété par la Division des relevés hydrologiques d'Environnement Canada pour effectuer des relevés hydrologiques dans le voisinage de Snare River, à 100 milles au nord de Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest). Le pilotes et deux technologues avaient quitté Yellowknife à 9 h 25, heure avancée des rocheuses (HAR) et étaient arrivés à l'emplacement des premiers relevés une heure plus tard.

Comme l'eau avait monté au point d'inonder l'aire d'atterrissage, une autre aire de débarquement a été trouvée dans une petite baie recouverte de glace, non loin de là. Le pilote a manoeuvré l'hélicoptère près de la rive et est demeuré en stationnaire, les patins reposant légèrement sur la glace, pendant que les technologues débarquaient pour vérifier la surface de la glace. Ils ont fait signe au pilote que la glace était suffisamment solide. Le pilote a alors tapé la glace une ou deux fois avec son hélicoptère pour éprouver la résistance de la glace. Les deux technologues se sont dirigés vers la porte arrière gauche de la cabine pour décharger du matériel, lorsque, brusquement et sans avertissement, l'hélicoptère a défoncé la glace. Les deux technologues ont glissé dans quatre pieds d'eau.

Le pilote a remis les gaz et a soulevé l'hélicoptère hors de l'eau; cependant, le rotor de queue s'était séparé de l'hélicoptère, et le pilote ne disposait plus de commande anticouple. L'hélicoptère a pivoté dans le sens horaire, a basculé sur la droite et a coulé. Le pilote, submergé, a pu sortir de l'hélicoptère avec l'aide d'un des technologues. Le deuxième technologue a été mortellement blessé lorsqu'il a été heurté à la tête par une partie de pale du rotor principal au moment où celle-ci s'est rompue ou après. L'hélicoptère a été considérablement endommagé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote était certifié et qualifié pour le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Il avait totalisé environ 21 000 heures de vol, dont environ 10 500 sur des hélicoptère Bell 206. Le pilote et les technologues avaient déjà travaillé ensemble pour effectuer des relevés hydrologiques. La procédure qu'ils ont utilisée pour vérifier la glace avait été utilisée avec succès auparavant.

Les dossiers indiquent que l'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. L'entreprise avait équipé l'hélicoptère de deux radiobalises de repérage d'urgence. La radiobalise montée sur le côté inférieur avant gauche du poste de pilotage est demeurée au-dessus du niveau de l'eau et elle s'est déclenchée à l'impact. La deuxième radiobalise, montée sur le montant central, derrière les sièges du poste de pilotage, a été immergée et n'a pas émis de signal audible. La masse brute de l'hélicoptère au moment de l'accident était d'environ 3 200 livres, ce qui s'inscrivait dans les limites.

Des conditions de vol à vue prévalaient au moment de l'accident, le ciel couvert étant estimé à 700 pieds au-dessus du sol (AGL), la visibilité à 10 milles, le vent soufflant du sud-est à 6 à 10 noeuds et la température étant de moins 5 degrés Celsius.

Le plan initial consistait pour le pilote à demeurer en stationnaire, les skis reposant légèrement sur la glace, pendant que les technologues sortiraient pour examiner la glace et décharger une hache et une scie à chaîne. Le pilote décollerait ensuite et demeurerait dans les airs le temps que les technologues préparent une aire pour l'atterrissage. Après que les technologues eurent vérifié la glace et signalé qu'elle était suffisamment solide, le pilote a décidé de couper le moteur pour économiser le carburant et éviter de se dérouter vers une cache de carburant éloignée pour refaire le plein. L'hélicoptère a défoncé la glace alors qu'il ramenait la puissance au ralenti sol et que tout le poids de l'hélicoptère reposait sur la glace.

L'hélicoptère était équipé d'un train d'atterrissage surélevé qui offrait environ 11 pieds de dégagement entre les pales du rotor principal et la surface de la glace. Les semelles de patin montées à l'arrière des patins de l'hélicoptère ont défoncé la glace en premier, puis les pales du rotor de queue ont heurté la surface de la glace. Le boîtier d'engrenages du rotor de queue s'est séparé, et l'hélicoptère a commencé à tourner dans le sens horaire. Les pales du rotor principal ont heurté la glace comme l'hélicoptère basculait sur la droite, et une pale s'est séparée à 45 pouces du boulon de fixation de la pale au niveau de la chape. Le corps du technologue a été retrouvé dans l'eau, près du nez de l'hélicoptère. Une tache sur la pale détachée, à 10 pieds 8 pouces de l'extrémité, indique que le technologue a été heurté après ou pendant que la pale s'est séparée de l'hélicoptère.

La portance de la glace dépend de sa qualité, de son épaisseur et de la température. Il n'est pas possible de déterminer l'épaisseur de la glace à partir des airs; cependant, la couleur de la glace donne habituellement une certaine indication de sa qualité. La couleur de la glace varie du bleu transparent au blanc en passant par le gris, le bleu transparent dénotant la glace la plus résistante.

Le Manuel de la santé et de la sécurité au travail du Conseil du Trésor du Canada fait état d'une règle empirique d'«un pouce de glace bleu transparente par mille livres» pour déterminer l'épaisseur de la glace d'eau douce requise. Une « Mise en garde » suit la citation précédente : « La glace de moins de six pouces d'épaisseur (15 cm) ne doit pas servir de voie de communication. En raison des variations naturelles, l'épaisseur de la glace à certains endroits peut être de moins de 2 pouces (5 cm). » Pour des charges stationnaires, comme dans le cas d'un hélicoptère posé sur la glace avec son moteur coupé, la portance de la glace devrait être réduite de 50 pour cent.

L'eau qui se déplace sous la glace peut modifier l'épaisseur de cette dernière et pourrait ne pas être visible de la surface. Un petit cours d'eau caché de la vue sous le tapis de feuilles au sol se jetait dans la baie sous la couche de glace. La glace était de couleur grise et présentait une épaisseur d'environ trois pouces où l'hélicoptère avait défoncé.

L'hélicoptère était équipé d'une trousse de secours étanche contenant un miroir, des allumettes et des fusées éclairantes fixées à l'extérieur sous un emballage plastique pour que ces articles essentiels soient faciles d'accès en cas d'urgence. Les survivants se sont servi de la trousse de secours après l'accident. Néanmoins, le ruban adhésif en toile utilisé pour fixer la trousse était très difficile à enlever par des mains froides dans des températures inférieures au point de congélation.

L'hélicoptère, volant en vertu d'un avis de vol, ne devait pas revenir à Yellowknife avant la fin de la journée. Cependant, les survivants ont utilisé un téléphone portable par satellite pour appeler le bureau des relevés hydrologiques à Yellowknife. Une équipe de sauvetage, dont des membres de la GRC et une infirmière, est arrivée sur les lieux vers 13 h HAR. Sans téléphone par satellite pour signaler leur situation critique et l'intervention rapide de l'équipe de sauvetage, les survivants auraient probablement passé la nuit à la belle étoile et n'auraient pas été secourus avant le lendemain matin. Les deux personnes souffraient d'hypothermie lorsqu'elles ont été secourues environ trois heures après l'accident.

Analyse

Le pilote et les technologues avaient l'habitude de travailler ensemble en équipe. Lorsqu'ils sont arrivés sur les lieux pour prendre des relevés hydrologiques et qu'ils ont découvert que le lieu d'atterrissage prévu était recouvert d'eau et de glace, ils ont dû revoir leur plan pour effectuer leur travail.

Le pilote a évalué les caractéristiques de la surface de la glace dans la baie et a jugé qu'il pouvait déposer les technologues en toute sécurité en demeurant en stationnaire, tout en maintenant de la portance sur le rotor principal. Les indications à la surface semblaient favorables, mais il n'y avait aucun moyen sûr de déterminer l'épaisseur de la glace et sa résistance du haut des airs. Une fois que les technologues sont sortis de l'hélicoptère et qu'ils ont vérifié la glace, ils ont fait signe au pilote, ce qui confirmait son évaluation de l'état de la glace, et il a décidé de couper le moteur.

La portance de la glace a été dépassée lorsque le pilote a posé tout le poids de l'hélicoptère sur la glace avant de couper le moteur et que les deux technologues se sont dirigés à l'extérieur de la porte arrière gauche de l'hélicoptère pour décharger leur équipement. Le petit cours d'eau qui se déversait dans la baie a probablement eu un effet néfaste sur l'épaisseur et la qualité de la glace.

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote était certifié et qualifié pour le vol conformément à la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. Les dossiers indiquent que l'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.
  3. La baie recouverte de glace était un lieu de débarquement de fortune parce que l'aire d'atterrissage normale était sous l'eau.
  4. La portance de la glace n'était pas suffisante pour supporter la masse totale de l'hélicoptère, le matériel et les personnes.
  5. Les pales du rotor principal se sont rompues lorsqu'elles ont heurté la glace, et la partie extérieur d'une des pales a heurté un des technologues.
  6. Le cours d'eau se jetant dans la baie a probablement eu un effet sur l'épaisseur et la qualité de la glace.
  7. Les survivants ont été secourus rapidement parce qu'ils disposaient d'un téléphone par satellite.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'épaisseur et la qualité de la glace au lieu de débarquement n'étaient pas suffisantes pour supporter le poids de l'hélicoptère.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 29 juillet 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.