Aviation Investigation Report A97A0170

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Power Loss - Forced Landing
Aviation Career Academy Limited
Zenair CH2000 C-GSOA
Bell Island, Newfoundland
05 September 1997

Summary

The aircraft departed the St. John's, Newfoundland airport at 1955 Newfoundland daylight time en route to the Bell Island flight training area, about 10 miles to the west. The right fuel tank was selected for the departure and after reaching the training area the left tank was selected. The electric fuel boost pump was selected on for the duration of the training exercise. The chief flight instructor (CFI), who sat in the left seat, was giving a type check out to the right-seat instructor. The first sideslip manoeuvre was initiated at 3 000 feet above sea level (asl) by applying a co-ordinated partial-travel left aileron and right rudder input. The abrupt nose-down pitch that resulted startled the right-seat instructor and he reacted by recovering the aircraft from the manoeuvre. A faint fuel smell was detected in the cockpit during the manoeuvre, a smell that had always been noticeable when in the sideslip. After the right-seat instructor was briefed that the pitch-down was normal, the CFI instructed him to initiate a second sideslip, this time applying full left aileron and full right rudder input. The aircraft pitched down and the negative gravitational forces that resulted caused the crew to be restrained hard against their shoulder harnesses; the fuel smell in the cockpit was much stronger this time. When the pilot recovered from the descent, he advanced the throttle, but the engine did not respond. A check of the fuel gauges confirmed there was an adequate fuel quantity indication in the selected tank and the engine fuel pressure indication was normal. He briefly advanced the throttle but returned it to idle after the engine did not restart. The propeller was windmilling as the aircraft descended and the pilot set up for a forced landing to the Bell Island airport, joining the circuit downwind after crossing overhead the field. The CFI then took control of the aircraft since her left-seat position provided a better view of the runway. However, because of darkness, she lost sight of the unlit runway after turning onto final approach and the aircraft struck a grassy knoll about 700 feet short of the threshold of runway 26. Both pilots received minor injuries, the aircraft was destroyed.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The emergency locator transmitter (ELT) was not armed, and consequently did not activate during the ground impact. The ELT was not a checklist item and its switch position went unnoticed by the flight crew during their preflight checks.

The structural integrity of the cockpit was compromised as a result of the impact forces. The fuselage side structure that secures each latch portion of the seat belts had separated causing the outboard lap belts to become unsecured. The main landing gear, a one-piece spring steel gear that is externally bolted to the fuselage, rotated aft at impact causing the lower fuselage structure above it to be forced upward . This action forced the seat back adjustment rods (attached to brackets on the fuselage lower skin) to move forward forcing the seat backs forward.

Several other safety related issues were identified during the course of the investigation. The latch bar (P.N. 20-F-32-3) of the door latching mechanism exhibited excessive wear considering the aircraft's low time in service (41.1 hours). The exhaust stack on the number-2 (front left) cylinder is slip jointed. Exhaust stains on the air heater indicate there was an exhaust leak. Examination of the aircraft cabin heat box supply hose indicated that exhaust gases had entered the air box. The aircraft owner's manual, as it pertains to the operation of the alternate static, could result in confusion and incorrect interpretation by the reader. Firstly, Section 3, (emergency procedures, icing ), states: "When the pitot is not frozen and the alternate static is used, the airspeed reading must be increased by 20 KT". Pilots report that the airspeed indication actually increases by 20 kt. Secondly, Section 4 (normal procedures, before take-off) states: "Check alternate static (if installed) switch (normal: switch down)". In the occurrence aircraft, the switch is not placarded "Normal", rather it is placarded "Alternate Static" and the placard location and wording would indicate that when the switch is in the down position the alternate static is selected "on", which is contrary to the owner's manual. Additionally, Section 4 (Normal Operations, Pre-Landing Check, Note:) states: "Large or full rudder deflection side-slip may cause some pitch oscillation at or below normal approach speeds. This does not affect control of the aeroplane. Remove pro side slip input as required". Pilot's report that the CH2000 side slips can result in a steep nose down pitch attitude, even when entered at speeds greater than normal approach speeds.

Aircraft records indicate there was about nine gallons of fuel in the left tank and seven gallons in the right tank at impact. The aircraft fuel selector was on left tank at impact. The fuel supply hose had separated at the engine firewall fitting during the ground impact and the fuel gascolator received impact damage, emptying the contents of the left fuel tank onto the ground. The investigation identified that, other than the impact damage, all the fuel lines were correctly secured, all fuel filters and screens were clean, and the fuel supply lines were unrestricted.

The aircraft was leased by the operator from the aircraft manufacturer; it had a total of 41.1 hours air-time since manufacture in May, 1997, and records indicate that it was maintained in accordance with existing regulations.

The engine, which exhibited only minor impact damage to the exhaust system, induction air box, and alternator mount bracket, was transported to an engine overhaul facility for running in a test cell. Prior to running the engine, it was identified that the carburettor (MA-3PA) needle valve was jammed in the closed position. An attempt was made to test the engine using the carburettor in that condition. An inlet air box was installed on the carburettor using two diagonally placed bolts (for time saving purposes). When the fuel supply was introduced to the carburettor a massive fuel leak was observed. Fuel poured from an air box attach bolt hole in the rear of the carburettor that was left void for the test. The two rear bolts thread into the bottom of the carburettor and appear as a raised boss on the bottom of each float chamber. The carburettor was dismantled and one of the bosses was found broken off of the carburettor bowl and was against the float chamber wall. The carburettor was re-assembled and the engine successfully test run to maximum power. When the carburettor was disassembled after the test run it was observed that the broken boss had moved. Surface finish discolouration on the broken boss and float bowl indicated that the carburettor had been damaged for some time.

Upon completion of the engine manufacturer's certification process, the carburettor is removed, drained and shipped with the engine to Zenair for installation. The inlet air box and the bolt hardware for the installation is supplied by Zenair. During the inlet air box installation, if the rear attach bolt is too long, further bolt tightening can damage the carburettor by breaking off the boss. This can result in fuel leaking out through the threaded bolt bore of the carburettor. It can also result in the broken boss interfering with normal operation of the engine by restricting proper float movement. The carburettor has no fuel in it when installed at Zenair and internal damage resulting from incorrect bolt length would be difficult to recognize.

The float type carburettor is required to ensure an adequate fuel supply and correct fuel/air ratio is available under all normal operating conditions and flight attitudes. Also, the fuel level in the float chamber must always remain at a level below the discharge nozzle outlet to prevent fuel entering the carburettor throat when the engine is not operating. This is accomplished by the float operated needle valve which regulates the flow of fuel into the float chamber. As the fuel level increases, the float repositions the needle valve towards the closed position. The valve is completely closed prior to the fuel level increasing to the height of the nozzle outlet.

The pilot operated throttle lever is manually connected to the throttle valve. As the throttle lever is advanced, the throttle valve opens allowing more air to flow through the throttle body. The airflow increase and pressure drop that results provides a fuel flow increase to the engine.

A disadvantage of the float type carburettor is that abrupt aircraft manoeuvres may interfere with the function of the float mechanism resulting in fuel flow interruptions and sometimes a complete loss of engine power.

Analysis

One of the raised bosses in the carburettor float chamber had been broken off for some time as evidenced by the surface finish wear on the broken boss and on the float chamber floor. Had the carburettor been damaged at the engine manufacturer's facility, it should have been identified during the numerous post-run inspections. Fuel would have drained from the carburettor as soon as the test cell inlet air box was removed.

It is probable that the carburettor was damaged at the Zenair facility when their inlet air box was installed. Since the carburettor was void of fuel during the air box installation, any internal damage resulting from incorrect bolt application would have been difficult to detect.

The aircraft fuel system/components were inspected and found to be serviceable. Aircraft records, flight crew reports, and information gathered at the accident site confirmed that there was sufficient fuel onboard and in each tank to complete the flight. The damaged carburettor was found to be the only part of the aircraft fuel system that could have caused the engine power loss. Had the engine power loss been due to fuel flow interruption during the sideslip, engine power should have returned shortly after recovery from the manoeuvre.

The momentary negative "g " that occurred during the sideslip would cause the broken boss to move about in the float chamber. Although the carburettor needle valve was jammed in the closed position following the ground impact, the strong fuel smell experienced during and following the engine power loss does not support the conclusion that the valve was jammed closed prior to impact.

Had the broken boss caused the needle valve to remain open, fuel under pressure (electric fuel pump on) would continuously discharge into the carburettor throat. Since the fuel delivery would far exceed the engine's fuel demands, the result would be a quickly flooded engine, a complete power loss, and a strong fuel odour in the cockpit.

Findings

  1. The internal damage to the carburettor was most likely the result of an incorrect bolt application during the inlet air box installation at the Zenair facility.
  2. It is probable that the broken boss jammed the carburettor float and needle valve in the open position, flooding the engine with fuel and resulting in a complete engine power loss.
  3. The ELT was not armed and, consequently, did not activate during the ground impact.
  4. The outboard portion of each lap belt became unsecured when the fuselage structure, to which it attached, separated at impact.
  5. The door latch bar (P.N. 20-F-32-3) exhibited excessive wear given its low time in service (41.1 hours TTSN).
  6. Examination of the occurrence aircraft cabin heat box supply hose indicated that exhaust gases had entered the air box.
  7. The alternate static switch placarding does not provide clear indication of the static source selected.
  8. The CH2000 owner's manual does not provide clear direction as to how the airspeed correction should be applied when the alternate static source is selected.
  9. The CH2000 side slips can result in a steep nose down pitch attitude, even when entered at speeds greater than normal approach speeds.

Causes and Contributing Factors

It is probable that the engine power loss was caused by pre-impact carburettor damage that interfered with the normal fuel scheduling to the engine during the sideslip manoeuvre. It is also probable that the carburettor was damaged as a result of an incorrect bolt application during the inlet air box installation.

Safety Action

Zenair has removed all of the air box attach bolts that were in their parts inventory at the time of the occurrence and has replaced them with shorter bolts. Zenair has also issued Service Bulletin (SB) 97-10, requiring aircraft owners and operators to inspect the carburettor for damage and inspect the air box attach bolts to ensure they are the correct length. All of the affected aircraft were inspected. As a direct result of operator compliance with the Service Bulletin instructions, twelve production aircraft have been identified with similar carburettor damage.

Transport Canada has reviewed the owner's manual for the Zenair CH2000 and revisions have been made. The service manual, the pilot reports on the flight characteristics during side slip manoeuvres, and the operation of the alternate static selection will also be verified. Corrective actions will be initiated as required.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 22 July 1998.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A97A0170

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de puissance - Atterrissage forcé
Aviation Career Academy Limited
Zenair CH2000 C-GSOA
Bell Island (Terre-Neuve)
Le 5 septembre 1997

Résumé

L'avion a quitté l'aéroport de St-John's (Terre-Neuve) à 19 h 55, heure avancée de Terre-Neuve, en route pour la zone d'entraînement en vol de Bell Island située à environ 10 milles à l'ouest. Le réservoir à carburant droit a été utilisé au départ et, une fois dans la zone d'entraînement, le levier sélecteur a été placé sur le réservoir gauche. La pompe d'appoint carburant à alimentation électrique a été utilisée pendant l'exercice d'entraînement. La chef instructrice de vol (CFI) assise à gauche, vérifiait la compétence de l'instructeur, assis à droite, sur ce type d'appareil. Elle a braqué partiellement le volant à gauche et mis du pied à droite de façon coordonnée pour effectuer la première manoeuvre de glissade à 3 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (ASL). L'appareil s'est alors mis à piquer brusquement, ce qui a fait sursauter l'instructeur assis en place droite. Il a immédiatement réagi à la manoeuvre en redressant l'avion. L'équipage a senti une légère odeur de carburant au cours de la manoeuvre, la même odeur que lors des glissades précédentes. Après avoir expliqué à l'instructeur assis en place droite que le piqué de l'appareil était tout à fait normal, la chef instructrice lui a demandé de faire une deuxième manoeuvre de glissade, cette fois en braquant à fond le volant à gauche et en appuyant à fond sur la pédale de droite. L'appareil a piqué et, à cause des forces gravitationnelles, la pression contre les harnais d'épaule a fortement augmenté. La manoeuvre s'est accompagnée cette fois d'une odeur de carburant nettement plus marquée. Après que le pilote eut redressé l'appareil, il a poussé les manettes des gaz mais le moteur n'a pas réagi. Un coup d'oeil aux indicateurs de quantité carburant a permis de confirmer que le réservoir en service contenait suffisamment de carburant et que sa pression était normale. Il a brièvement poussé la manette des gaz et l'a immédiatement remise à la position ralenti, constatant que le moteur refusait de se remettre en marche. L'avion s'est mis à descendre, l'hélice tournant en moulinet, et le pilote s'est préparé en vue d'un atterrissage forcé à l'aéroport de Bell Island; il a rejoint le circuit en vent arrière après être passé à la verticale du terrain. La CFI a alors pris les commandes parce que, assise à gauche, elle avait une meilleure vue de la piste. Toutefois, à cause de l'obsécuritéé, elle a perdu de vue la piste non éclairée au moment de l'approche finale et l'appareil a heurté un monticule herbeux à environ 700 pieds en-deçà du seuil de la piste. Les deux pilotes ont été légèrement blessés et l'appareil a été détruit.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

La radiobalise de détresse (ELT) n'a pas fonctionné à l'instant de l'impact au sol parce qu'elle n'était pas armée. L'ELT n'était pas un point de la liste de vérifications avant le vol, et l'équipage n'a pas prêté attention à la position de son contacteur.

La force de l'impact a fortement amoindri l'intégrité structurale du poste de pilotage. La structure latérale du fuselage maintenant les points de verrouillage des ceintures de sécurité s'est rompue, ce qui a provoqué le détachement des sangles sous-abdominales. Le train principal, un train d'acier à ressort d'une seule pièce boulonné à l'extérieur du fuselage, a pivoté vers l'arrière sous la force de l'impact, enfonçant la structure inférieure du fuselage. Les manchons de réglage de dossier de siège (maintenus par des supports fixés sur le revêtement inférieur du fuselage) ont été poussés vers l'avant sous le choc, entraînant les dossiers de siège.

L'enquête a permis de mettre en lumière d'autres éléments ayant eu une incidence négative sur la sécurité. Le loquet (réf. 20-F-32-3) du mécanisme de verrouillage de la porte laissait voir des traces d'usure excessive compte tenu du peu de temps de service de l'avion (41,1 heures). La pipe d'échappement du cylindre no 2 (avant gauche) était raccordée par un joint coulissant. Des taches d'échappement sur le réchauffeur d'air dénotait une fuite d'échappement. L'examen du tuyau d'alimentation du réchauffeur cabine a révélé que des gaz d'échappement étaient entrés dans le réchauffeur. Le manuel de l'avion manque de clarté en ce qui concerne le fonctionnement de la prise statique et peut induire le lecteur en erreur. Premièrement, on peut lire à la partie 3 (procédures d'urgence, givrage) que « si le Pitot n'est pas gelé et que la prise statique de secours est en fonction, la vitesse affichée à l'anémomètre doit être augmentée de 20 Kt. » [traduction] Les pilotes ont mentionné que dans cette situation, c'est la vitesse affichée qui augmente effectivement de 20 Kt. Deuxièmement, selon la partie 4 (procédures normales avant décollage), il faut « vérifier la position du contacteur de la prise statique de secours (Normal : vers le bas) si l'avion est équipé d'une telle prise. » [traduction] Dans l'appareil en cause, sur l'affichette du contacteur il n'était pas écrit «Normal» mais «Alternate Static»; de plus, l'emplacement de l'affichette et la formulation de son message laissaient comprendre que la prise statique de secours était en fonction lorsque le contacteur était en position vers le bas, c'est-à-dire le contraire de ce qu'indique le manuel. Enfin, on lit à la partie 4 (exploitation normale, vérification avant l'atterrissage, Nota): « Le braquage important ou à fond de la direction peut, en glissade, provoquer de l'oscillation en tangage à la vitesse normale d'approche ou au-dessous. Ce phénomène ne nuit pas au contrôle de l'aéronef. Cesser la manoeuvre de glissade si nécessaire. » [traduction] Les pilotes ont précisé que les glissades du CH2000 peuvent provoquer un piqué rapide, même à une vitesse supérieure à la vitesse normale d'approche.

Les dossiers de l'appareil indiquent que le réservoir gauche contenait environ 9 gallons de carburant, et le réservoir droit environ 7 gallons au moment de l'accident, et que le sélecteur était à la position réservoir gauche. L'impact au sol a provoqué l'arrachement du tuyau d'alimentation carburant de son point de fixation à la cloison pare-feu, et le filtre carburant a été endommagé, faisant se vider au sol le contenu du réservoir gauche. L'enquête a révélé que, à part les dommages causés par l'accident, les conduites carburant étaient correctement montées, tous les filtres et crépines étaient propres et la tuyauterie d'alimentation en carburant n'était pas obstruée.

L'appareil avait été loué de l'avionneur par l'exploitant. Il avait 41,1 heures de service depuis sa fabrication en mai 1997, et ses dossiers montrent qu'il avait été entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.

Le moteur, qui n'a subi que de légers dommages au dispositif d'échappement, au réchauffeur d'admission et aux supports de fixation de l'alternateur, a été envoyé à un atelier de révision de moteurs où on l'a fait tourner au banc d'essai. Avant de le mettre en marche, on s'est aperçu que le pointeau du carburateur (MA-3PA) était coincé en position fermée. On a essayé de procéder à l'essai sans toucher au carburateur. Un réchauffeur d'admission a été monté sur le carburateur à l'aide de deux boulons placés en diagonale (pour gagner du temps). Une importante fuite de carburant s'est produite dès que l'alimentation du carburateur a débuté. Le carburant s'est mis à couler du trou d'un boulon de fixation du réchauffeur d'admission, à l'arrière du carburateur. Ce trou de boulon avait été laissé vide pour les besoins du test. Les deux boulons arrière s'insèrent au bas du carburateur et les filetages qui les reçoivent prennent la forme de bossages qui dépassent de la surface au bas de chacune des cuves. On a démonté le carburateur et constaté qu'un des bossages s'était cassé pour aller se loger contre la cloison de la cuve. Le carburateur a été remonté et le moteur a pu tourner normalement au banc, au régime maximum. La décoloration du fini de surface du bossage et de la cuve indique que les dommages au carburateur étaient présents depuis un certain temps déjà.

Une fois que la procédure de certification du motoriste est terminée, le carburateur est enlevé, vidangé et expédié avec le moteur à Zenair qui effectue le montage. Le réchauffeur d'admission et la visserie servant au montage sont fournis par Zenair. Si le boulon de fixation arrière est trop long, d'autres serrages ultérieurs risquent de casser le bossage de la cuve et endommager le carburateur. La cassure du bossage peut provoquer une fuite de carburant par le trou fileté du boulon du carburateur. Il peut également arriver que le bossage cassé nuise aux mouvements du flotteur et donc au bon fonctionnement du moteur. Le carburateur ne contenant pas de carburant au moment du montage chez Zenair, il est difficile de déceler si des dommages internes ont été causés par un boulon trop long.

Le carburateur à flotteur doit assurer une bonne alimentation en carburant et un bon dosage carburant/air dans toutes les conditions normales de vol et toutes les assiettes normales. De plus, le niveau du carburant dans la cuve doit toujours être inférieur à celui de la sortie du gicleur de façon que le carburant n'entre pas dans la buse du carburateur quand le moteur est à l'arrêt. C'est le pointeau à flotteur qui, par son effet régulateur du débit de carburant dans la cuve, permet de maintenir ce niveau. À la moindre élévation du niveau de carburant, le flotteur ramène le pointeau vers la position fermée. Le pointeau se place en position complètement fermée avant que le niveau de carburant atteigne celui de la sortie du gicleur.

La manette des gaz actionnée par le pilote est raccordée manuellement au papillon. La poussée de la manette des gaz fait s'ouvrir le papillon, ce qui laisse passer davantage d'air dans le corps du carburateur. L'augmentation du débit d'air et la baisse de pression se traduisent par un accroissement du débit carburant au moteur.

L'inconvénient du carburateur à flotteur vient du fait que, lors de manoeuvres brusques de l'aéronef, le fonctionnement du flotteur peut être perturbé, ce qui risque de provoquer des interruptions du débit et parfois même une perte totale de puissance moteur.

Analyse

La décoloration du fini de surface d'un des bossages et du fond de la cuve indique que le bossage en question était cassé depuis un certain temps. Si le carburateur avait été endommagé à l'usine du motoriste, on l'aurait décelé par les nombreuses vérifications après essai au banc. Le carburant aurait coulé du carburateur au banc d'essai aussitôt que le réchauffeur d'admission aurait été enlevé.

Il est probable que le carburateur ait été endommagé aux ateliers de Zenair, au moment où le réchauffeur d'admission a été monté. Étant donné qu'au moment du montage du réchauffeur, le carburateur ne contenait pas de carburant, il était difficile de déceler les dommages internes causés par le serrage incorrect des boulons.

Le rapport d'inspection du circuit carburant et des composants de l'avion a indiqué qu'ils étaient en état de fonctionner. Les dossiers de l'appareil, le témoignage de l'équipage et les renseignements recueillis au lieu de l'accident confirment qu'il y avait suffisamment de carburant à bord et dans chaque réservoir pour effectuer le vol. D'après l'enquête, le carburateur endommagé est le seul composant du circuit carburant de l'avion ayant pu provoquer la perte de puissance du moteur. Si cette perte de puissance avait été causée par une interruption du débit du carburant au cours de la manoeuvre de glissade, le moteur aurait dû rapidement se remettre en marche après le redressement de l'appareil.

L'accélération négative qui s'est produite au cours de la manoeuvre de glissade a fait se déplacer le bossage cassé dans la cuve. Bien qu'à l'impact au sol le pointeau du carburateur se soit coincé en position fermée, la forte odeur de carburant sentie par l'équipage avant et après la perte de puissance moteur ne corrobore pas l'hypothèse selon laquelle le pointeau se serait coincé en position fermée avant l'impact.

L'autre hypothèse veut que le bossage cassé ait fait se maintenir le pointeau en position ouverte et que le carburant sous pression (la pompe carburant électrique étant en marche) se soit écoulé dans la buse du carburateur. Le débit du carburant aurait alors largement dépassé les besoins du moteur et rapidement noyé ce dernier, provoquant une complète perte de puissance et dégageant une forte odeur de carburant dans le poste de pilotage.

Faits établis

  1. Les dommages internes au carburateur ont très probablement résulté d'un serrage incorrect des boulons au cours du montage du réchauffeur d'admission aux ateliers de Zenair.
  2. Le bossage cassé a probablement coincé le flotteur et le pointeau en position ouverte, ce qui a noyé le moteur et provoqué une complète perte de puissance.
  3. N'étant pas armé, l'ELT n'a pas fonctionné lors de l'impact au sol.
  4. Les sangles sous-abdominales se sont détachées à cause de la rupture de la structure latérale du fuselage sous la force de l'impact.
  5. Le loquet (réf. 20-F-32-3) du mécanisme de verrouillage de la porte laissait voir des traces d'usure excessive compte tenu du peu de temps de service de l'avion (41,1 heures depuis sa mise en service initiale).
  6. L'examen du tuyau d'alimentation du réchauffeur cabine de l'avion a révélé que des gaz d'échappement étaient entrés dans le réchauffeur.
  7. L'affichage du sélecteur de la prise statique de secours manque de clarté en ce qui concerne la mise en fonction de cette dernière.
  8. Le manuel d'utilisation du CH2000 manque de clarté en ce qui concerne la correction de vitesse devant être apportée lorsque la prise statique de secours est en fonction.
  9. Les glissades du CH2000 peuvent provoquer un piqué rapide, même à une vitesse supérieure à la vitesse normale d'approche.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

La perte de puissance moteur a probablement résulté des dommages subis par le carburateur avant l'impact, ces derniers ayant nui à l'alimentation du moteur au cours de la manoeuvre de glissade. Quant aux dommages au carburateur, ils ont probablement été causés par le serrage incorrect des boulons lors du montage du réchauffeur d'admission.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Zenair a retiré tous les boulons de fixation de réchauffeur qui se trouvaient dans ses stocks de pièces à l'époque de l'accident et les a remplacés par des boulons plus courts. Zenair a également émis le bulletin de service (BS) 97-10 qui exige que les propriétaires et les exploitants d'aéronefs vérifient si le carburateur a été endommagé et si les boulons de fixation de réchauffeur sont de la bonne longueur. Tous les aéronefs concernés ont fait l'objet d'une inspection. Les mesures prises par les exploitants à la suite de la diffusion du bulletin de service ont permis de retracer douze aéronefs de série comportant des dommages de carburateur similaires.

Transports Canada a examiné le manuel d'utilisation du Zenair CH2000, et les révisions nécessaires ont été apportées. Le manuel de maintenance, les témoignages des pilotes sur les caractéristiques de vol de l'appareil au cours des manoeuvres de glissade et le sélecteur de la prise statique de secours feront également l'objet d'une vérification. Des mesures correctives seront prises si nécessaires.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 22 juillet 1998 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.