Aviation Investigation Report A97A0173

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Power Loss/Collision with Trees/Terrain
Manan Air Services Inc.
Piper PA-31-310 C-FZVC
Grand Manan Island, New Brunswick
12 September 1997

Summary

The aircraft departed Grand Manan, New Brunswick, at 1938 Atlantic daylight time (ADT)(1) on a charter flight to Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, with the pilot and five passengers on board. After dropping off the passengers at Yarmouth, the aircraft departed at 2106 ADT for a night visual flight to return to Grand Manan. The pilot was unable to land at Grand Manan off the first visual approach because of low weather conditions and conducted a second visual approach. During the second approach, he noticed that he required increasing right rudder to maintain direction, and that the left engine manifold pressure was low. The pilot feathered the left propeller and, despite the application of full power on the right engine, the aircraft would not accelerate or climb. The aircraft began a shallow descent into a fog layer, and the aircraft collided with some trees, pitched nose-down, and struck the ground. The aircraft was destroyed by the impact and a post-impact fire. The pilot suffered serious injuries, but managed to get out of the aircraft and make his way to a nearby cabin where he was found by a ground search team about three hours later.

Other Factual Information

The pilot had been flying in the Grand Manan area since 1978 and, over the course of the intervening 19 years, had become familiar with the local area. He was current and qualified on the Piper PA-31-310 aircraft. During his recent pilot proficiency check, engine-failure procedures were assessed as satisfactory. It was determined that at the time of the occurrence the aircraft was approximately 1,200 pounds below its maximum allowable take-off weight of 6,500 pounds, and the centre of gravity was within the permissible limits.

The aviation forecast for the area of Yarmouth and Grand Manan included the possibility of localized ceilings of 500 to 1,000 feet above sea level (asl) with visibilities of two to five statute miles in fog at the time of the occurrence. According to regulations, the weather conditions were marginally acceptable for visual flight rules (VFR) flight in uncontrolled airspace.

Approaching Grand Manan, the pilot discussed the local weather conditions with his wife, by radio. From her vantage point, approximately one mile northeast of the airport, she reported a low overcast ceiling in the vicinity of their home, and she reported being able to clearly see the airport. She stated that the visibility to the northeast was good but that the visibility toward the airport was not quite as good, about four or five miles. The weather as described by the pilot's wife is consistent with the observations of witnesses interviewed in the vicinity. The weather to the west of the airport, in the area of the accident site, was described by search and RCMP personnel as being ground-based, heavy mist or fog, which thoroughly soaked the clothing of search personnel.

When he was approximately 10 miles southeast of the airport, the pilot could distinguish the glow of the airport lighting through a thin layer of fog or cloud. He continued toward the airport and then turned right, to a left-hand downwind leg for runway 24, at approximately 800 feet above ground level (agl). On the downwind leg, the pilot momentarily clearly observed the airport and the rotating beacon, but by the time he had turned final for runway 24, he could no longer see any sign of the airport or its lighting through the cloud. He discontinued the approach and elected to attempt a second approach.

The pilot flew the second approach relying on known landmarks, which were reportedly clearly visible. Approximately one mile from the airport, the aircraft was approximately 1,000 feet asl and the airspeed was approximately 90 knots indicated airspeed (KIAS), with the landing gear down, flaps at 15 degrees, and the landing light off. The pilot then descended to just above the cloud or fog bank. From the outset of the second approach, the pilot never regained visual reference with the airport or with any of its associated lighting.

During the approach, the pilot found he had to add more and more power to maintain airspeed and altitude, to the point where eventually both throttle levers were at maximum travel. Coincidentally, he had to use progressively more right rudder to maintain directional control. The pilot then noted that the left engine manifold pressure was lower than the right. The pilot felt that the pressure was somewhere between 20 and 30 inches while the right engine reading was either 42 or 44 inches. In an attempt to decrease the drag that would be created by a windmilling propeller, the pilot feathered the left engine propeller; coincidentally, the aircraft descended into cloud. The pilot selected the gear up immediately after feathering the left engine and raised the flaps. He does not, however, specifically recall the flap selection made nor banking the aircraft five degrees into the good engine as recommended in the aircraft's Pilot Operating Handbook (POH). After feathering the left propeller, the pilot did not take further steps to secure the left engine.

The airspeed decreased to 80 KIAS, or slightly less, and never exceeded 80 KIAS thereafter, despite there being full power on the right engine. The pilot eased the nose of the aircraft down and then back up a few times in an effort to trade altitude for airspeed, all the while descending, but the airspeed did not increase. Realizing that an accident was imminent, the pilot advised his family by radio of his predicament. Shortly thereafter, the aircraft struck some large trees, pitched nose-down, and struck the ground. At impact, flames erupted near the right engine. The pilot released his seat belt and crawled out the crew door. The Rescue Coordination Centre in Halifax reported that an emergency locator transmitter (ELT) signal had been heard for approximately 20 minutes by overflying aircraft in the area of the crash before the signal ceased.

Fire destroyed all cockpit instrumentation and radios. The engine control quadrant and fuel selector panel were burned, and it was not possible to determine the pre-impact positions of the controls. The fuselage back to the tail section was destroyed by fire, and both wings were heavily fire-damaged. There was no indication that there was an in-flight fire. Because of the degree of impact and fire damage to the aircraft, the pre-impact condition and position of the flight controls could not be determined. However, continuity of the flight control cables was confirmed. At impact, the flaps and landing gear were retracted and the cowl flaps were closed.

Both fuel shut-off valves and the cross-feed valve were found and examined; however, the degree of damage precluded making a determination of the valves' pre-impact positions. The left and right fuel selector valves and the fuel selector panel were not recovered.

The engines were subjected to extreme heat from the fire, which virtually destroyed all of the accessory components. The left engine and both propellers were transported to the TSB wreckage examination facility in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, for a detailed examination. The examination of the left engine did not reveal any pre-impact mechanical discrepancies, and it was determined that the left propeller was in the feathered position at impact. It was not possible to determine the blade angle of the right propeller at impact. A number of trees, some as large as eight inches in diameter, were sliced off by the right propeller as the aircraft went through the trees, indicating that the right engine was producing substantial power.

The aircraft's inboard and outboard fuel tanks had been fuelled to capacity, at Halifax, earlier on the day of the occurrence. The pilot stated that he had flown from Halifax to Grand Manan, about one hour in duration, on the outboard tanks. Based on the pilot's estimate of the aircraft's fuel consumption of 200 pounds per hour, the total fuel remaining in the outboard tanks should have been approximately 266 pounds. He then flew from Grand Manan to Yarmouth and returned, about one hour flight time, using fuel from the inboard tanks. Based on the same fuel consumption rate, the total fuel remaining in the inboard tanks at the time of the occurrence should have been approximately 458 pounds.

According to the POH for the Piper PA-31-310, the best single-engine rate-of-climb speed is 94 KIAS, while the best single-engine angle-of-climb speed is 90 KIAS. Following this occurrence, the manufacturer was requested to provide the aircraft's single-engine climb performance given the following conditions; aircraft gross weight of 5,291 pounds, outside air temperature of 17 degrees Celsius, altitude of 800 feet asl, flaps and gear up, airspeed of 80 KIAS, and the POH procedures followed. The expected single-engine rate-of-climb was calculated to be 495 feet per minute.

The POH provides recommended procedures for dealing with engine failures. For example, if an engine fails at an airspeed above 76 KIAS, the POH suggests the pilot take the time to properly identify the inoperative engine and attempt to identify the nature of the problem. The emergency procedures state the following: 1) check to make sure the fuel flow to the engine is sufficient; 2) if the fuel flow is deficient, turn ON the emergency fuel pump; 3) check the fuel quantity on the inoperative engine side and switch the fuel selector to the other tank if a sufficient supply is indicated; and, 4) check the oil pressure and oil temperature and insure the magneto switches are ON. The POH also states that the pilot apply 5° of bank into the operating engine to assist in controlling the aircraft.

For this aircraft, the airspeed during an approach, as recommended in the POH, should be 100 KIAS or more. The POH states that a missed approach procedure for single-engine flight should be avoided if at all possible, and if a missed approach is unavoidable, that 94 KIAS or higher should be maintained. A warning in the POH states that a missed approach (go-around) should not be attempted if the airspeed is below 90 KIAS, the best single-engine angle-of-climb speed.

In the event of an engine failure in a light, twin-engine aircraft such as the Piper Navajo, accurate airspeed control is critically important to maintain level flight or to establish a climb. The airspeed must not be allowed to decrease below the optimum where drag may become so high that the thrust from the remaining engine is not sufficient to overcome the drag. In this situation, the only way to maintain the airspeed above the stall is to descend, thereby trading altitude for airspeed. This option may not be available when operating close to the ground.

Normally, the need for making a decision during flight is triggered by recognition that something has changed. Recognition of this change provides the pilot the opportunity to make a timely decision to control the circumstances of the flight. If no decision is made and as time and the flight progresses, the alternatives available to the pilot to make changes may decrease or disappear completely.

Analysis

The cause of the apparent engine failure could not be determined. After the left propeller was feathered and the landing gear and flaps retracted, the aircraft should have been able to climb at a rate of 495 feet per minute. The analysis will focus on human performance elements that contributed to the accident and on the single-engine performance demonstrated by the aircraft.

The pilot was aware that it would be dark and that the forecast included the possibility of ceilings of 500 to 1,000 feet asl with visibilities of two to five statute miles in fog at the time of his return to Grand Manan. The weather conditions were marginally acceptable for VFR flight in uncontrolled airspace, and the pilot's decision to undertake the flight, given the weather and light conditions, was considered reasonable.

When the pilot turned final for runway 24 during his first approach, he could not see any sign of the airport or its lighting, believing that he was flying above a cloud layer which was obscuring his view of the airport. During his second attempt, the pilot never had visual reference with the airport or with any of the associated lighting. Notwithstanding the poor weather conditions, the pilot continued with the approach relying on ground features to align himself with the runway, which he could not see. He was skimming the top of the cloud or fog layer at night, close to the ground, and at an airspeed below the recommended final approach speed. This allowed little or no safety margin in the event of an aircraft malfunction. Continued VFR flight into IMC conditions is a leading cause of Controlled Flight Into Terrain (CFIT) accidents.

By the time the pilot diagnosed that he had an engine problem, the aircraft was in a shallow descent into cloud, relatively close to the ground, and the airspeed had decreased to 80 KIAS or less. Given the low altitude and airspeed, the pilot had to take immediate action in order to reduce the drag caused by the windmilling propeller. However, once the propeller was feathered, the pilot lost the opportunity to troubleshoot the engine problem and was committed to handling an engine-out situation under less than ideal weather and light conditions. An approach airspeed of 100 KIAS or more is recommended in the POH to provide more time, in the case of an emergency, for analysing problems and taking corrective actions before the aircraft reaches a state where it can no longer be flown safely.

It could not be determined why the aircraft would not climb or accelerate after the left propeller was feathered. The manufacturer's calculations indicate that the aircraft should have been able to climb; the fact that it did not climb may have been due to the low airspeed at which the approach was attempted, the pilot's actions in raising and lowering the nose of the aircraft, and the pilot not applying five degrees of bank into the good engine.

The pilot distinctly recalls that he had only flown one hour on the outboard fuel tanks and, based solely on this recollection, the possibility of fuel exhaustion would appear unlikely. However, the engine failure described by the pilot is consistent with an engine stopping because of fuel exhaustion. After the aircraft had been fuelled to capacity, it had been flown for approximately two hours. The pilot considered the fuel consumption rate of each engine to be approximately 100 pounds per hour. Given that the fuel capacity of each outboard tank is 233 pounds, and assuming the pilot had flown with the outboard tanks selected for the two hours, approximately 33 pounds of fuel would remain in each of the outboard tanks. Based upon this approximation of fuel remaining, the possibility of fuel exhaustion in the outboard tanks cannot be ruled out.

Findings

  • The pilot was certified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  • The aircraft's weight and centre of gravity were within the prescribed limits.
  • For undetermined reasons, the left engine lost power during the approach.
  • Because of the low airspeed and height at which the pilot was flying the approach, he had no time to analyse the engine malfunction before feathering the engine.
  • After feathering the left engine, the pilot was committed to conducting a single-engine overshoot, at night and in cloud. The airspeed was then 80 KIAS, 20 knots below the recommended approach speed.
  • After the apparent engine failure, the pilot did not follow the recommended emergency procedure as outlined in the POH.
  • For undetermined reasons, the aircraft would not accelerate or climb despite full application of power on the operative engine.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The aircraft lost power on the left engine during the approach for undetermined reasons and descended into the ground. The cause of the engine power loss was not determined. The low airspeed, at the time of the engine power loss, decreased the time available to the pilot to secure the emergency in accordance with the POH, and contributed to the poor single-engine performance of the aircraft.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 16 September 1998.


1. All times are ADT (coordinated universal time minus three hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A97A0173

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de puissance
Collision avec des arbres / avec le relief
Manan Air Services Inc.
Piper PA-31-310 C-FZVC
Île Grand Manan (Nouveau-Brunswick)
12 septembre 1997

Résumé

Le pilote a décollé de Grand Manan (Nouveau-Brunswick) à 19 h 38, heure avancée de l'Atlantique (HAA)(1), pour effectuer un vol d'affrètement à destination de Yarmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse), avec cinq passagers. Après avoir déposé les passagers à Yarmouth, le pilote a décollé à 21 h 6 HAA pour retourner à Grand Manan en vol à vue de nuit. Le pilote n'a pu atterrir à Grand Manan au terme de sa première approche à vue parce que le plafond était bas. Lors de la deuxième approche, il a remarqué qu'il devait mettre de plus en plus du pied à droite pour maintenir le cap. Il a également remarqué que la pression d'admission au moteur gauche était basse. Il a mis l'hélice gauche en drapeau et, bien qu'il ait commandé la pleine puissance du moteur droit, l'appareil a refusé d'accélérer et de monter. L'avion a alors amorcé une descente en faible pente dans une couche de brouillard, il est entré en collision avec des arbres, s'est mis en piqué et s'est écrasé. L'avion a été détruit par l'impact et par l'incendie qui a suivi. Le pilote a été grièvement blessé, mais il a réussi à sortir de l'appareil et à se rendre à une cabane non loin de là où il a été retrouvé par une équipe de recherche au sol environ trois heures plus tard.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote effectuait des vols dans la région de Grand Manan depuis 1978 et, au cours de ces 19 années, il avait appris à bien la connaître. Il possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol sur un Piper PA-31-310 et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Lors de sa récente vérification de compétence pilote (PPC), sa connaissance des procédures en cas de panne moteur avait été jugée satisfaisante. L'enquête a permis d'établir que la masse de l'avion au moment de l'avion était inférieure de quelque 1 200 livres à la masse maximale autorisée au décollage de 6 500 livres et que le centre de gravité de l'avion était dans les limites permises.

La prévision aéronautique pour la région de Yarmouth et de Grand Manan annonçait les conditions suivantes en ce qui concerne la période où se sont déroulés les faits : plafonds de 500 à 1 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl) et visibilité de deux à cinq milles dans le brouillard. Selon la réglementation, les conditions météorologiques étaient dans les limites de l'acceptable pour un vol à vue (VFR) dans un espace aérien non contrôlé.

Pendant qu'il approchait de Grand Manan, le pilote a parlé à son épouse par radio concernant les conditions météorologiques locales. De son point d'observation, situé à environ un mille au nord-est de l'aéroport, elle lui a dit que le plafond était bas aux environs de leur maison, mais qu'elle pouvait voir clairement l'aéroport. Elle a ajouté que la visibilité au nord-est était bonne, mais qu'elle n'était pas aussi bonne en direction de l'aéroport; la visibilité était peut-être de quatre ou cinq milles. Les conditions météorologiques décrites par l'épouse du pilote concordent avec les dires des témoins interrogés dans les environs. L'équipe de recherche au sol et les agents de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) ont indiqué qu'à l'ouest de l'aéroport, dans la zone de l'accident, les conditions se situaient entre de la brume épaisse et du brouillard proche du sol, ce qui avait fortement trempé leurs vêtements.

Le pilote a indiqué qu'à une dizaine de milles au sud-est de l'aéroport, il avait aperçu le reflet du balisage lumineux à travers une fine couche de brouillard ou de nuages. Il a poursuivi le vol en direction de l'aéroport, puis il a tourné à droite vers la branche vent arrière gauche de la piste 24, à environ 800 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl). Une fois en vent arrière, il a pu clairement voir l'aéroport et son phare rotatif pendant un moment, mais, après avoir viré pour se mettre en finale de la piste 24, il a perdu de vue l'aéroport et son balisage lumineux qui se trouvaient derrière les nuages. Il a alors interrompu l'approche et a décidé d'en faire une autre.

Le pilote a effectué la seconde approche en se basant sur des points de repère connus qui, selon les informations recueillies, étaient bien visibles. Le pilote a indiqué qu'à environ un mille de l'aéroport, l'avion se trouvait à une altitude de quelque 1 000 pieds asl, la vitesse indiquée était d'environ 90 noeuds, le train était sorti, les volets étaient braqués à 15 degrés et le phare d'atterrissage était éteint. Le pilote a alors fait descendre l'appareil juste au-dessus de la couche nuageuse ou du brouillard. Après avoir entrepris la seconde approche, le pilote n'a pas réussi à rétablir le contact visuel avec l'aéroport ou son balisage lumineux.

Pendant l'approche, le pilote a remarqué qu'il devait augmenter la puissance de plus en plus pour conserver la vitesse et l'altitude, et il a finalement dû ouvrir à fond les deux manettes des gaz. Il devait en même temps mettre de plus en plus du pied à droite pour garder la maîtrise en direction. Il a alors constaté que la pression d'admission au moteur gauche était inférieure à celle du moteur droit. D'après son souvenir, la pression devait se situer entre 20 et 30 pouces, tandis que l'indicateur de pression du moteur droit affichait 42 ou 44 pouces. Alors qu'il mettait l'hélice du moteur gauche en drapeau pour essayer de faire diminuer la traînée créée par l'hélice tournant en moulinet, l'avion s'est mis à descendre dans la couche nuageuse. Il a commandé la rentrée du train immédiatement après avoir mis l'hélice du moteur gauche en drapeau, puis il a rentré les volets. Il ne se souvient toutefois pas du braquage des volets ni d'avoir incliné l'avion de cinq degrés du côté du moteur qui fonctionnait, comme le recommande le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion (Pilot Operating Handbook). Il n'a pris aucune autre mesure pour couper le moteur après avoir mis l'hélice gauche en drapeau.

La vitesse est tombée à 80 noeuds, ou à un peu moins, et n'a jamais dépasser les 80 noeuds par la suite, même quand le moteur droit a atteint son régime maximum. Le pilote a laissé piquer l'avion puis il a essayé à plusieurs reprises de le redresser pour compenser la perte d'altitude par un regain de vitesse, mais en vain, l'appareil ne faisait que descendre. Se rendant compte qu'il était sur le point d'avoir un accident, il a signalé la gravité de la situation à sa famille par radio. Peu après, l'avion a heurté de gros arbres avant de se mettre en piqué et de s'écraser. Un incendie s'est déclaré après l'impact, près du moteur droit. Le pilote a détaché sa ceinture de sécurité et a réussi à sortir de l'avion par la porte pilote, en rampant. Le Centre de coordination des opérations de sauvetage de Halifax a indiqué que des appareils survolant la région de l'accident avaient capté un signal de radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) pendant une vingtaine de minutes avant que le signal cesse.

Tous les instruments de bord et les radios ont été détruits dans l'incendie. Il a été impossible de déterminer la position des commandes avant l'impact parce que le bloc des commandes moteur et le panneau sélecteur des réservoirs ont brûlé. L'incendie a détruit le fuselage jusqu'à la queue, et les ailes ont été lourdement endommagées. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu un incendie en vol. Il a été impossible de déterminer l'état des commandes de vol et leur position avant l'impact en raison de la violence de l'impact et des dommages causés par le feu. Il a toutefois été possible de confirmer la continuité des câbles des commandes de vol. Les volets et le train étaient rentrés au moment de l'impact, et les volets de capot étaient fermés.

Les deux robinets d'arrêt carburant ainsi que le robinet d'intercommunication ont été retrouvés et ont fait l'objet d'un examen, mais l'étendue des dommages n'a pas permis d'établir la position des robinets avant l'impact. Les vannes de sélection réservoir gauche et droite n'ont pas été retrouvées ni le panneau sélecteur des réservoirs.

Les moteurs ont été soumis à une chaleur intense lors de l'incendie qui a pratiquement détruit tous les composants accessoires. Le moteur gauche et les deux hélices ont été envoyés à l'atelier régional d'examen des épaves du BST à Darmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse) pour y subir un examen poussé. L'examen du moteur gauche n'a révélé aucune anomalie mécanique antérieure à l'impact et a permis d'établir que l'hélice gauche était en drapeau lors de l'impact. Il a été impossible de déterminer l'angle des pales de l'hélice droite au moment de l'impact. Plusieurs arbres, dont certains avaient un diamètre de huit pouces, ont été fauchés par l'hélice droite quand l'avion s'est enfoncé dans les arbres, ce qui indique que le moteur droit tournait à régime élevé.

Les réservoirs carburant intérieurs et extérieurs avaient été remplis à ras bord à Halifax, tôt la journée de l'accident. Le pilote a déclaré avoir fait le vol entre Halifax et Grand Manan sur les réservoirs extérieurs, vol qui a duré environ une heure. D'après la consommation de carburant estimée par le pilote, à savoir 200 livres de carburant à l'heure, il est permis de supposer que le carburant qui restait dans les réservoirs extérieurs devait avoisiner les 266 livres. Le pilote a ensuite fait un vol aller retour sur les réservoirs intérieurs entre Grand Manan et Yarmouth en à peu près une heure. Si on reprend le même taux de consommation que précédemment, on peut supposer qu'il restait environ 458 livres de carburant dans les réservoirs intérieurs au moment de l'accident.

D'après le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion du Piper PA-31-310, la meilleure vitesse ascensionnelle sur un moteur est de 94 noeuds, tandis que la vitesse du meilleur angle de montée sur un moteur est de 90 noeuds. À la suite de l'accident, on a demandé à l'avionneur de préciser les performances en montée de cet appareil sur un moteur en tenant compte des paramètres suivants : masse totale de 5 291 livres, température extérieure de 17 degrés Celsius, altitude de 800 pieds asl, volets et train rentrés, vitesse indiquée de 80 noeuds, et conformément aux procédures du manuel d'utilisation de l'avion. L'avionneur a répondu que la vitesse ascensionnelle sur un moteur serait de 495 pieds par minute.

Le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion présente des procédures à suivre en cas de panne moteur. Par exemple, si un moteur tombe en panne à une vitesse supérieure à 76 noeuds, le manuel recommande au pilote de prendre le temps de trouver de quel moteur il s'agit et d'essayer de trouver la cause du problème. Les procédures d'urgence à l'intention du pilote sont les suivantes : 1) vérifier si le débit de carburant au moteur est suffisant; 2) si le débit est insuffisant, mettre l'interrupteur de la pompe carburant auxiliaire sur ON; 3) vérifier la quantité de carburant du côté du moteur en panne et sélectionner l'autre réservoir pour assurer un débit suffisant; 4) vérifier la pression et la température de l'huile et s'assurer que les interrupteurs magnéto sont sur ON. Le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion recommande également au pilote d'incliner l'avion de cinq degrés du côté du moteur qui fonctionne, ce qui devrait l'aider à conserver la maîtrise de l'avion.

La vitesse d'approche recommandée dans le manuel d'utilisation du Piper PA-31-310 est d'au moins 100 noeuds. Le manuel insiste sur le fait qu'il faut éviter à tout prix la procédure d'approche interrompue en vol sur un moteur et précise que dans le cas où une telle procédure ne peut être évitée le pilote doit maintenir une vitesse minimale de 94 noeuds. Le manuel contient une mise en garde qui rappelle au pilote de ne pas essayer d'effectuer une approche interrompue (remise des gaz) à moins de 90 noeuds, qui est la vitesse du meilleur angle de montée sur un moteur.

Si un avion bimoteur comme le Piper Navajo a une panne moteur, la vitesse doit être contrôlée avec la plus grande attention et précision pour maintenir le vol en palier ou effectuer une montée. Le pilote ne doit pas laisser la vitesse baisser au-dessous du niveau optimum, car la traînée risque d'augmenter au point où la poussée exercée par le moteur qui fonctionne ne serait plus suffisante pour en contrer l'effet. Dans pareil cas, il faut laisser l'avion descendre car c'est la seule façon de maintenir la vitesse au-dessus de la vitesse de décrochage, ce qui revient à compenser la perte d'altitude par un regain de vitesse. Cette méthode peut s'avérer impossible si l'avion vole proche du sol.

La prise de décision en vol est habituellement déclenchée par la prise de conscience du fait que quelque chose a changé. Le fait de percevoir ce changement permet au pilote de prendre une décision à temps qui lui permettra de conserver la maîtrise de l'appareil. S'il ne prend pas de décision, ses chances de trouver d'autres solutions diminuent avec le temps et à mesure que le vol se poursuit, et il risque de voir ses chances s'amenuiser au point de devenir nulles.

Analyse

La cause de la panne moteur signalée par le pilote n'a pu être déterminée. Une fois l'hélice gauche en drapeau et le train et les volets rentrés, l'avion aurait dû pouvoir monter à un taux de 495 pieds par minute. La présente analyse a pour objet de faire ressortir les facteurs humains qui ont contribué à l'accident et qui ont donné lieu aux performances en vol de l'aéronef sur un moteur.

Le pilote savait qu'il ferait noir et que la prévision aéronautique annonçait des plafonds de 500 à 1 000 pieds asl avec une visibilité de deux à cinq milles dans le brouillard lors de son voyage de retour à Grand Manan. Les conditions météorologiques étaient à la limite de l'acceptable pour le vol à vue dans un espace aérien non contrôlé, et la décision du pilote d'entreprendre le vol, en tenant compte de ces conditions et de la clarté ambiante à ce moment-là, a été jugée raisonnable.

Lors de la première approche vers la piste 24, quand le pilote a amorcé le dernier virage en vue de l'atterrissage, il n'a pas réussi à établir le contact visuel avec l'aéroport ou le balisage lumineux de l'aéroport, ce qui lui a fait supposer qu'il survolait une couche nuageuse qui l'empêchait de voir l'aéroport. Lors de sa deuxième approche, il n'a pas réussi non plus à établir le contact visuel avec l'aéroport ou le balisage lumineux. Malgré les mauvaises conditions météorologiques, il a poursuivi l'approche en se fiant aux traits caractéristiques du terrain pour s'aligner sur une piste qu'il ne pouvait voir. Il volait de nuit au ras du sommet d'une couche de nuages ou de brouillard, près du sol, et à une vitesse inférieure à la vitesse d'approche finale recommandée. Dans cette situation, le pilote ne disposait que d'une marge de sécurité bien mince, voire nulle, advenant un mauvais fonctionnement de l'appareil. Le vol à vue poursuivi dans des conditions météorologiques de vol aux instruments (IMC) est l'une des causes principales des accidents CFIT (impact sans perte de contrôle, de l'anglais Controlled Flight Into Terrain).

Le temps que le pilote se rende compte qu'il avait un problème de moteur, l'avion avait déjà amorcé une descente en faible pente dans les nuages, non loin du sol, et la vitesse avait chuté à 80 noeuds ou moins. Étant donné la basse altitude et la faible vitesse, le pilote devait immédiatement prendre les mesures nécessaires pour réduire la traînée causée par l'hélice tournant en moulinet. Cependant, après avoir mis l'hélice en drapeau, il n'a pas essayé de trouver la cause du problème et il a dû composer avec un appareil ayant un moteur en panne et dans des conditions météorologiques et de clarté loin d'être bonnes. Le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion recommande que l'approche soit faite à au moins 100 noeuds pour qu'en cas d'urgence le pilote ait plus de temps pour analyser le problème et prendre les mesures correctives qui s'imposent avant que l'appareil se retrouve dans une situation dangereuse.

L'enquête n'a pas révélé pourquoi l'avion a refusé de prendre de l'altitude ou d'accélérer après la mise en drapeau de l'hélice gauche. D'après les calculs de l'avionneur, l'appareil aurait dû être capable de prendre de l'altitude; toutefois, il est possible que les facteurs suivants aient empêché l'avion de prendre de l'altitude : la faible vitesse d'approche, le fait que le pilote a laissé l'avion descendre et a essayé de le redresser, et le fait que le pilote n'a pas incliné l'avion de cinq degrés du côté du moteur qui fonctionnait.

Le pilote se rappelle clairement n'avoir volé qu'une heure sur les réservoirs carburant extérieurs. Si l'on se fie uniquement à ce fait, l'hypothèse de la panne sèche s'avère très peu probable. Toutefois, la défaillance du moteur telle que décrite par le pilote est typique d'un moteur qui arrête de fonctionner par suite d'une panne sèche. Après le plein, l'avion a volé pendant environ deux heures. D'après le pilote, le taux de consommation de carburant de chaque moteur est de 100 livres à l'heure environ. Étant donné que la capacité en carburant de chaque réservoir extérieur est de 233 livres, et en supposant que le pilote ait volé pendant deux heures sur les réservoirs extérieurs, il serait alors resté quelque 33 livres de carburant dans chaque réservoir extérieur. Compte tenu de cette estimation en carburant résiduel, l'hypothèse de la panne sèche des réservoirs extérieurs ne peut être écartée.

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. La masse et le centrage de l'avion se trouvaient dans les limites prescrites.
  3. Le moteur gauche a subi une perte de puissance pendant l'approche pour une raison indéterminée.
  4. Étant donné la faible vitesse et la basse altitude de l'avion au moment de l'approche, le pilote n'a pas eu le temps de chercher la cause du mauvais fonctionnement du moteur avant de mettre l'hélice en drapeau.
  5. Après avoir mis l'hélice du moteur gauche en drapeau, le pilote a dû faire une remise des gaz sur un moteur, de nuit et dans les nuages. La vitesse de l'avion à ce moment-là était de 80 noeuds, soit 20 noeuds de moins que la vitesse d'approche recommandée.
  6. Après la panne moteur, le pilote n'a pas suivi les procédures d'urgence recommandées dans le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion.
  7. Pour une raison indéterminée, l'avion a refusé de prendre de la vitesse et de l'altitude, bien que le pilote ait mis le moteur qui fonctionne à plein régime.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Pour une raison indéterminée, le moteur gauche a subi une perte de puissance pendant l'approche et l'avion s'est écrasé. La cause de la perte de puissance n'a pu être déterminée. Étant donné que l'avion volait à faible vitesse au moment de la perte de puissance, le pilote a eu moins de temps pour prendre les mesures correctives en cas d'urgence recommandées dans le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion. La faible vitesse de l'avion a également contribué aux mauvaises performances de l'avion sur un seul moteur.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 16 septembre 1998 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAA (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins trois heures), sauf indication contraire.