Aviation Investigation Report A97P0044

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Roll-Over On Landing
Alpine Helicopters Limited
Bell 212 (Helicopter) C-GALI
Mica Creek, British Columbia 3 nm SW
01 March 1997

Summary

At about 0830 Pacific standard time, the Bell 212 helicopter (serial number 30525) with the pilot, 11 passengers, and the ski-guide on board, was on approach to a prepared landing site in the Monashee Mountains near Mica Creek. About 200 feet from touchdown, the occupants heard a loud explosion and saw several cockpit warning lights illuminate; simultaneously, the number 1 engine stopped. The pilot continued the approach, but the low rotor rpm warning horn came on and the helicopter turned gradually to the right, forcing the pilot to land in an adjacent, unprepared area. The passengers reported that the initial touchdown was not hard, but the helicopter then tipped over onto its left side in the waist-deep snow, and the main rotor blades struck the surface. The main transmission was ripped out, and one rotor blade struck the cockpit roof, severely damaging the overhead electrical circuit breaker panels. The 11 passengers in the cabin quickly evacuated the helicopter without difficulty, using the right-hand sliding door. The ski-guide, who was seated in the left pilot seat, broke open and escaped through the roof window above him. He returned with two other passengers to extract the pilot through the same window opening. Despite the rollover, the number 2 engine continued to run for 15 minutes, when another loud explosion was heard, and this engine stopped. Two small engine bay fires began but quickly self-extinguished. There were no other injuries. The helicopter was substantially damaged. The emergency locator transmitter (ELT) activated during the accident and its signal was received by the SARSAT (search and rescue satellite-aided tracking) network.

Other Factual Information

The pilot was certified, trained and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He was on the last day of a two-week tour of duty at the Mica Creek Lodge. The guide and other witnesses reported the weather at the accident site as more than 4 miles visibility in very light snow with an overcast or broken layer of clouds at about 7,500 feet and a light wind from the south. The accident occurred at the 5,500-foot level, about 50 feet from the intended landing site.

The weight and centre of gravity of the helicopter were within the prescribed limits. The manufacturer's performance charts indicate that the helicopter was capable of a single-engine rate-of-climb of 250 feet per minute, given the flight conditions of that day. However, in this instance, the pilot was committed to touchdown because the helicopter was in a slow and shallow descent for a landing when the number 1 engine stopped, and was too slow and too close to the ground to arrest the rate-of-descent with only one engine. In the attempt to continue the approach to the intended site, the main rotor rpm decayed, and the pilot was forced to land at an unprepared site.

On examination, both engines were found to have suffered uncontained power turbine failures. A power turbine wheel, when operating under load, will rapidly accelerate to high speed if it is suddenly uncoupled from that load. The normal maximum rotational speed of the power turbine wheel in the PT6T-3 engine is 33,000 rpm. Pratt and Whitney Canada (P&WC), the engine manufacturer, report that the designed fracture speed for the blades is between 45,700 and 51,600 rpm, and that the blades are designed to fracture in an overspeed situation before the disc speed is high enough to cause it to fail. The number 1 engine power turbine wheel had shed about three-quarters of its blades with the remaining quarter grouped together on one section of the wheel.

Combining Gearbox

The number 2 engine power turbine had shed all of its blades. The blades from both wheels broke through their respective steel containment rings, through the combustion cans, and finally through the outer casings of both engines. Although the engine structure did not restrain the blades when they separated from the turbine disk, the blades did not cause further significant damage to the helicopter structure.

The engines were examined, and the shafts connecting each engine's power turbine to the combining gearbox (C-box) were found to have failed. The input shaft for the number 1 engine had failed at the number 5 bearing, located at the front of the C-box. The bearing had disintegrated and the shaft had melted. The shaft for the number 2 engine failed just aft of the power turbine. It was determined that this shaft had failed due to insufficient lubrication at the number 4 bearing. All bearings in the number 2 engine showed signs of heat distress, the result of insufficient lubrication as the engine continued to run while the helicopter was on its side. The gas-producing sections of both engines turned freely, and no anomalies were found that would have caused either engine to overspeed.

The C-box was dismantled. The clutch assembly for the number 1 engine exhibited extreme wear. The clearance between the outer and inner clutch surfaces was 0.0137 inches beyond tolerance. The engagement surfaces were rough, and there were indications that the clutch had been slipping. According to the clutch manufacturer, a clutch worn to this extent can slip at normal torque loads. The inner shaft's end movement, or float, was measured to be 0.029 inches, well beyond the overhaul standard of between 0.002 and 0.004 inches. Spacing shims within the clutch assembly were also found to be worn and the inner races of the clutch bearings had grooves worn into them.

The coupling shaft between the number 1 engine clutch and the final output helical gears was found to have sheared. The fracture surfaces of this shaft had smeared when the two halves had rubbed against each other after breaking; however, the general characteristics of the failure were consistent with a torsional overload in the direction of normal driving loads.

Analysis by the TSB Engineering Branch determined that the clutch met the manufacturer's specifications for material and hardness. It was found that the grooves in the inner races were caused by wear. When the clutch is engaged, as it is during all normal operations, the outer and inner shafts turn together as one unit, and there is no relative movement of the clutch bearings. Drive system vibrations could cause the stationary ball bearings to wear grooves into the bearing races. The wear on the shims and the grooves in the inner races permitted the inner shaft end float to increase.

Eight days before the accident, the C-box chip detector warning light had illuminated and, on inspection, fuzz and two fine metal slivers were found on the chip plug. The material was removed and retained. The C-box oil and filter were changed, and an engine run was carried out. After the accident, the material removed from the chip plug was analysed by the TSB Engineering Branch and found to be the same material as found in the clutch. The clutches are lubricated by the C-box lubrication system.

Two weeks before the accident, the tail rotor drive shaft experienced an unexplained torque overload that damaged the 90-degree gearbox. As a result, the 90-degree gearbox, the drive shaft, the 42-degree gearbox, and the hanger bearings were replaced. The replacement 90-degree gearbox, which was in the helicopter at the time of the accident, was compared with the gearbox that was involved in the earlier incident; both gearboxes exhibited almost identical damage patterns.

Technical records indicate that the helicopter was maintained in accordance with existing regulations and standards of airworthiness. Since their overhauls, the number 1 engine had accumulated 2,822 hours, the number 2 engine had accumulated 930 hours, and the C-box had accumulated 2,920 hours. The normal time between overhauls for the C-box is 4,500 hours. The C-box was last overhauled at the P&WC service centre in St. Hubert, Quebec, and the maintenance release was dated 27 January 1993.

Several safety measures taken by the company enhanced the survivability of this accident. The company strongly recommended and encouraged its pilots to wear helmets. The pilot's head injuries would have been more severe, and likely fatal, had he not been wearing a helmet. The company ensured that the passengers received a thorough pre-flight briefing and, as a result, egress from the cabin was quick and orderly. The passengers kept their seat belts on until they had firm hand holds and were prepared to climb out of the cabin, and they used the specially painted seat legs as a ladder to climb out of the helicopter, which was on its side.

Analysis

Both engines suffered uncontained failures of the power turbine blades because of failures in the drive train from the engine to the final output shaft. The failures of the input shafts for both engines are considered secondary. The primary failure was the failure of the number 1 engine clutch coupling shaft. This shaft sheared due to the excessive loads placed on it when the worn clutch began to slip and then suddenly re-engaged. The power turbine wheel then oversped sufficiently for the turbine blades to fracture. After it failed, the wheel contained only one-quarter of its blades, and the resulting imbalance placed extreme loads on the number 5 bearing. The number 2 engine continued to run while the helicopter was on its side, and the engine eventually failed because of a loss of lubrication.

No single factor was found that would have caused the clutch to wear. The bearing races probably began to wear while the clutch was engaged, and the ball bearings wore grooves into the races due to drive system vibrations. The grooves would have caused greater stress on the outer race during clutch freewheeling (when there would have been relative motion between the inner and outer races of the bearings), and this would have accelerated the wear in the bearings. The wear on the clutch engagement surfaces may have been caused by contamination from the wear metals of the bearings.

Both the tail rotor system torque overload experienced two weeks before the accident, and the C-box chip light warning experienced eight days before the accident, were likely caused by the wear in the clutch. Although both incidents were investigated by maintenance staff, the maintenance staff did not make a connection between the two events, nor did the symptoms lead them to suspect a clutch malfunction. The operational environment in which the helicopter worked was not unusual, and no operational practice was identified that would have contributed to abnormal clutch wear. Further, there is no significant history of worn or slipping clutches on the Bell 212 helicopter.

The following Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 38/97 - Combining Gearbox

Findings

  1. The pilot was certified, trained, and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. The maintenance records indicate that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.
  3. The weight and centre of gravity were within the prescribed limits.
  4. The number 1 engine clutch coupling shaft sheared because of the excessive loads placed on it when the worn clutch slipped and then suddenly re-engaged. The power turbine wheel then over sped sufficiently for the turbine blades to fracture, with blades from both power turbine wheels breaking through their respective steel containment rings.
  5. The number 2 engine continued to run while the helicopter was on its side, and the engine eventually failed because of a lack of lubrication.
  6. No single definitive cause for the significant clutch wear was determined.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The number 1 engine clutch coupling shaft sheared because of excessive loads placed on it by the worn and slipping clutch. The power turbine then oversped, causing the engine to lose power, and forcing the pilot to land at an unprepared landing site.

Safety Action Taken

Since the accident, the operator has introduced a cost-sharing programme with its pilots to assist them with the purchase of their flight helmets.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 25 February 1998.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A97P0044

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Basculement à l'atterrissage
Alpine Helicopters Limited
Bell 212 (hélicoptère) C-GALI
3 nm au sud-ouest de Mica Creek
(Colombie-Britannique)
1er mars 1997

Résumé

Vers 8 h 30, heure normale du Pacifique, l'hélicoptère Bell 212 (numéro de série 30525), qui transportait le pilote, 11 passagers et un guide de ski, effectuait une approche vers une aire d'atterrissage aménagée dans les monts Monashee près de Mica Creek. À quelque 200 pieds du point d'atterrissage prévu, les occupants de l'appareil ont entendu une forte explosion et ont vu plusieurs voyants d'alarme s'allumer dans le poste de pilotage pendant que le moteur numéro 1 s'arrêtait de tourner. Le pilote a poursuivi l'approche, mais l'avertisseur sonore de bas régime rotor s'est fait entendre, et l'hélicoptère a viré graduellement vers la droite, ce qui a obligé le pilote à se poser sur une aire non aménagée située non loin de l'aire d'atterrissage aménagée. Les passagers ont déclaré que la prise de contact initiale avec le sol n'avait pas été brutale, mais que l'hélicoptère avait ensuite basculé du côté gauche dans de la neige épaisse de quelques pieds (jusqu'à la taille) et que les pales du rotor principal avaient heurté la surface. La boîte de transmission principale s'est arrachée, et l'une des pales du rotor a heurté le plafond du poste de pilotage, ce qui a lourdement endommagé les tableaux de disjoncteurs supérieurs. Les 11 passagers ont emprunté la porte coulissante droite pour sortir de la cabine. L'évacuation s'est déroulée rapidement et sans difficulté. Le guide de ski, qui était en place gauche, est sorti par la fenêtre de toit située au-dessus après en avoir forcé l'ouverture. Il est ensuite revenu avec deux autres passagers pour aider le pilote à sortir du poste de pilotage par la même ouverture. Le moteur numéro 2 a continué de tourner pendant 15 minutes, après quoi une autre forte explosion s'est fait entendre, et le moteur s'est arrêté. Deux petits incendies se sont déclarés dans les compartiments moteur, mais ils se sont rapidement éteints d'eux-mêmes. Seul le pilote a été blessé. L'hélicoptère a été lourdement endommagé. La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) s'est mise en marche pendant l'accident, et son signal a été capté par le réseau SARSAT (système de poursuite par satellites de recherche et de sauvetage).

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote possédait la formation, les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Au moment de l'accident, il effectuait son dernier jour de travail d'un engagement de deux semaines avec le Mica Creek Lodge. Le guide et les autres témoins ont déclaré que sur les lieux de l'accident la visibilité était de 4 milles dans de la neige très légère avec un ciel couvert ou des couches de nuages fragmentés à quelque 7 500 pieds et qu'un vent très léger soufflait du sud. L'accident est survenu à une altitude de 5 500 pieds, à quelque 50 pieds du lieu d'atterrissage prévu.

La masse et le centrage de l'hélicoptère étaient dans les limites prescrites. Les graphiques de performances du constructeur indiquent que l'hélicoptère pouvait maintenir une vitesse ascensionnelle de 250 pi/min sur un seul moteur, dans les conditions de vol qui régnaient ce jour-là. Cependant, dans le cas présent, le pilote était obligé de se poser, car l'appareil effectuait une lente descente à pente faible en vue de l'atterrissage lorsque le moteur numéro 1 s'est arrêté, et il se déplaçait trop lentement et était trop près du sol pour que le pilote puisse interrompre la descente à l'aide d'un seul moteur. Pendant que le pilote tentait de poursuivre l'approche jusqu'au lieu d'atterrissage prévu, le régime du rotor principal a chuté, et le pilote a été forcé de se poser sur une aire non aménagée.

L'examen des deux moteurs a révélé qu'ils avaient tous deux subi des défaillances non confinées de la turbine de travail. Lorsqu'elle est en charge, une roue de turbine de travail accélère rapidement si elle perd brusquement toute charge. La vitesse de rotation maximale normale de la roue de turbine de travail du moteur PT6T-3 est de 33 000 tr/min. Le motoriste, Pratt and Whitney Canada (P&WC), a déclaré que la vitesse de rupture nominale des aubes était comprise entre 45 700 et 51 600 tr/min, et que les aubes étaient conçues pour se rompre dans une situation de survitesse avant que la vitesse de rotation du disque soit suffisante pour que le disque se désintègre. La roue de la turbine de travail du moteur numéro 1 a perdu environ les trois-quarts de ses aubes et les aubes restantes étaient regroupées dans une même section de la roue. La turbine de travail du moteur numéro 2 a perdu toutes ses aubes. Les aubes des deux roues sont passées au travers de leur carter respectif de protection en acier, au travers des chambres de combustion et, finalement, au travers des carters extérieurs des deux moteurs. La structure des moteurs n'a pas retenu les aubes lorsqu'elles se sont séparées du disque turbine, mais celles-ci n'ont pas causé de dommages supplémentaires importants à la cellule de l'hélicoptère.

Boîte D'engrenages de Transfert

L'examen des moteurs a révélé que les arbres qui reliaient chaque turbine de travail à la boîte d'engrenages de transfert (boîte de transfert) étaient rompus. L'arbre d'entrée du moteur numéro 1 s'est rompu au niveau du palier numéro 5, qui est situé à l'avant de la boîte de transfert. Le palier s'est désintégré et l'arbre a fondu. L'arbre du moteur numéro 2 s'est rompu juste à l'arrière de la turbine de travail. On a déterminé que cet arbre s'est rompu à cause d'un manque de lubrification au niveau du palier numéro 4. Tous les paliers du moteur numéro 2 montraient des signes de surchauffe. La surchauffe a été attribuée à une lubrification insuffisante survenue parce que le moteur a continué de fonctionner pendant que l'hélicoptère était renversé sur le côté. Les générateurs de gaz des deux moteurs tournaient librement, et ils ne présentaient aucune anomalie susceptible d'avoir causé une survitesse dans l'un des moteurs.

La boîte de transfert a fait l'objet d'une inspection en cours de démontage. L'embrayage du moteur numéro 1 montrait une usure extrême. Le jeu entre les faces extérieure et intérieure de l'embrayage était de 0,0137 pouce hors tolérances. Les surfaces de mise en prise étaient rugueuses et tout porte à croire que l'embrayage glissait. Selon le fabricant de l'embrayage, un composant dans un état d'usure aussi avancé peut glisser sous des couples normaux. On a mesuré des jeux axiaux (ou flottement) de l'arbre intérieur de 0,029 pouce, ce qui est bien au-delà de la norme de révision générale qui va de 0,002 à 0,004 pouce. Les entretoises à l'intérieur de l'embrayage étaient également usées et les chemins de palier intérieurs de l'embrayage portaient des rainures d'usure.

L'arbre d'accouplement entre l'embrayage du moteur numéro 1 et les engrenages hélicoïdaux de sortie finale était cisaillé. Les surfaces de fracture de cet arbre se sont modifiées au moment où les deux moitiés ont frotté l'une contre l'autre après la rupture; toutefois, les caractéristiques générales de la rupture correspondaient à celles d'une rupture par surcharge en torsion dans le sens de la charge normale d'entraînement.

L'analyse effectuée par le Laboratoire technique du BST a révélé que le matériau et la dureté de l'embrayage étaient conformes aux spécifications du fabricant. Le Laboratoire a déterminé que les rainures dans les chemins de palier intérieurs avaient été causées par de l'usure. Lorsque l'embrayage est en prise, comme c'est le cas pendant toutes les opérations normales, les arbres intérieurs et extérieurs tournent ensemble comme un seul composant et il n'y a pas de mouvement relatif au niveau des paliers de l'embrayage. Des vibrations du système d'entraînement pourraient faire que les paliers à billes fixes creusent des rainures d'usure à l'intérieur des chemins de palier. L'usure des entretoises et les rainures à l'intérieur des chemins de palier internes ont causé une augmentation du flottement de l'extrémité de l'arbre intérieur.

Huit jours avant l'accident, le voyant d'alarme du détecteur de limaille de la boîte de transfert s'était allumé. L'inspection avait révélé la présence de petites particules et de deux fines lanières métalliques sur le bouchon du détecteur de limaille. On avait enlevé et rangé le matériau en question. On avait remplacé le filtre et l'huile de la boîte de transfert et on avait fait un point fixe moteur. Après l'accident, le Laboratoire technique du BST avait analysé le matériau qui avait été prélevé sur le détecteur de limaille, ce qui avait permis de constater qu'il s'agissait du même matériau que celui découvert dans l'embrayage. Les embrayages sont lubrifiés par le circuit de lubrification de la boîte de transfert.

Deux semaines avant l'accident, l'arbre d'entraînement du rotor de queue avait subi un surcouple non expliqué qui avait endommagé la boîte d'engrenages à 90 degrés. À la suite de cet incident, on avait remplacé la boîte d'engrenages à 90 degrés, l'arbre d'entraînement, la boîte d'engrenages à 42 degrés et le palier de suspension. On avait comparé la boîte (de remplacement) d'engrenages à 90 degrés qui était montée dans l'hélicoptère au moment de l'accident avec la boîte d'engrenages en cause lors de l'incident antérieur, et les deux boîtes d'engrenages présentaient des types de dommage presque identiques.

Selon les dossiers techniques, l'hélicoptère était entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux normes de navigabilité courantes. Depuis leurs dernières révisions générales, les moteurs numéro 1 et numéro 2 totalisaient 2 822 heures et 930 heures de service, tandis que la boîte de transfert totalisait 2 920 heures. L'intervalle entre révisions normal de la boîte de transfert est de 4 500 heures. La boîte de transfert avait subi sa dernière révision générale au centre de service de P&WC à St-Hubert (Québec). La certification technique était datée du 27 janvier 1993.

La compagnie en cause avait pris plusieurs mesures de sécurité qui ont permis d'améliorer les possibilités de survie des occupants lors de l'accident qui fait l'objet du présent rapport. La compagnie recommandait fortement à ses pilotes de porter un casque protecteur. Les blessures que le pilote a subies à la tête auraient sans doute été plus graves, et peut-être même fatales, s'il n'avait pas porté de casque. La compagnie avait veillé à ce que les passagers reçoivent un exposé de sécurité complet avant le vol de l'accident. C'est pourquoi, après l'accident, l'évacuation de la cabine s'est déroulée rapidement et dans l'ordre. Les passagers ont attendu d'avoir une bonne prise de main et d'être prêts à se hisser hors de la cabine avant de détacher leur ceinture de sécurité. Les passagers ont utilisé les pieds des sièges pour sortir de l'hélicoptère qui était renversé sur le côté. Les pieds des sièges avaient été peints spécialement pour que les occupants puissent les utiliser comme échelle pour sortir de l'hélicoptère en cas d'urgence.

Analyse

Les deux moteurs ont subi des ruptures non confinées des aubes de la turbine de travail provoquées par des défaillances des chaînes dynamiques entre les moteurs et l'arbre de sortie final. Tout porte à croire que les défaillances des arbres d'entrée des deux moteurs sont consécutives à la défaillance primaire de l'arbre d'accouplement de l'embrayage du moteur numéro 1. Cet arbre s'est cisaillé à cause des charges excessives qu'il a subies lorsque l'embrayage usé a commencé à glisser et qu'il s'est brusquement remis en prise. Les aubes de la roue de la turbine de travail se sont détachées en raison de la survitesse engendrée par la défaillance de l'arbre d'accouplement. La roue de la turbine n'a conservé qu'environ le quart de ses aubes, et le déséquilibre subséquent a exercé des charges extrêmes sur la palier numéro 5. Le moteur numéro 2 a continué de tourner pendant que l'hélicoptère était sur le côté avant de tomber finalement en panne par manque de lubrification.

On n'a découvert aucun facteur unique pouvant expliquer l'usure de l'embrayage. Les chemins de palier ont sans doute commencé à s'user pendant que l'embrayage était en prise, et les paliers à billes ont creusé des rainures d'usure dans les chemins de palier à cause des vibrations de la chaîne dynamique. Les rainures auraient amplifié les contraintes sur le chemin de palier extérieur lorsque l'embrayage tournait en roue libre (il y avait alors un mouvement relatif entre les chemins de palier intérieur et extérieur), et ce phénomène aurait accéléré l'usure du palier. L'usure des surfaces de mise en prise de l'embrayage peut avoir été causée par la contamination de l'huile par des particules métalliques d'usure en provenance des paliers.

Tout porte à croire que le surcouple du système du rotor de queue subi deux semaines avant l'accident et l'activation du voyant d'alarme du détecteur de limaille de la boîte de transfert survenue huit jours avant l'accident avaient pour origine l'usure de l'embrayage. Même si le personnel de maintenance avait fait enquête sur les deux incidents, il n'avait pas établi de lien entre les deux événements et les indices disponibles ne l'avait pas amené à soupçonner une défaillance de l'embrayage. Le milieu opérationnel dans lequel l'hélicoptère était exploité n'était pas inhabituel, et l'on n'a constaté aucune pratique d'exploitation ayant pu contribuer à une usure anormale de l'embrayage. De plus, l'hélicoptère Bell 212 ne présente aucun antécédent significatif d'embrayages usés ou sujets à glisser.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 38/97 - Combining Gearbox (Boîte d'engrenages de transfert).

Conclusions

  1. Le pilote possédait les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. Selon les dossiers de maintenance, l'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.
  3. La masse et le centrage de l'appareil étaient dans les limites prescrites.
  4. L'arbre d'accouplement de l'embrayage du moteur numéro 1 s'est cisaillé à cause des charges excessives qu'il a subies au moment où l'embrayage usé a glissé et s'est brusquement remis en prise. La roue de la turbine de travail s'est ensuite mise en survitesse au point où ses aubes se sont rompues, et les aubes des deux roues de turbine de travail ont traversé leurs carters respectifs de protection en acier.
  5. Le moteur numéro 2 a continué de tourner pendant que l'hélicoptère était sur le côté et il est finalement tombé en panne par manque de lubrification.
  6. Aucune cause unique n'a pu être établie avec certitude pour expliquer l'usure considérable de l'embrayage.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'arbre d'accouplement de l'embrayage du moteur numéro 1 s'est cisaillé à cause des charges excessives qu'il a subies en raison de l'embrayage usé qui glissait. La turbine de travail est alors entrée en survitesse, ce qui a causé une panne moteur, et le pilote a été forcé d'atterrir sur une aire non aménagée.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Depuis l'accident, l'exploitant a mis sur pied un programme de partage des coûts avec ses pilotes pour les aider à faire l'achat de casques protecteurs.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 25 février 1998 par le Bureau qui est composé du président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.