Aviation Investigation Report A97P0057

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Separation between
Cypress Jetprop Charter Ltd.
Convair CV580 C-GTTG
and Canadian Regional Airlines
de Havilland DHC-8 C-GTAI
Vancouver, British Columbia 8 nm S
11 March 1997

Summary

The Convair 580, call sign REGS 33, was inbound to Vancouver International Airport from the Abbotsford, British Columbia, airport on an instrument flight rules (IFR) flight at 4,000 feet above sea level (asl) and on an assigned heading of 260 degrees magnetic. At 1641 Pacific standard time (PST)(1), a Canadian Regional Airlines de Havilland DHC-8, flight number 1255 (CDR 1255), took off from runway 08 at Vancouver International Airport, on an IFR flight to Victoria, and turned to an assigned heading of 140 degrees magnetic; Vancouver departure control then cleared CDR 1255 to 4,000 feet asl. At 1643, the Vancouver departure controller realized that the two aircraft were in conflict and he immediately instructed REGS 33 to turn left to 170 degrees magnetic and CDR 1255 to descend to 3,000 feet asl. The spacing between the aircraft was reduced to 0.75 nautical miles (nm) horizontally and 400 feet vertically when the required minimum is either 3 nm horizontally or 1,000 feet vertically. There was no risk of collision since both aircraft were in visual meteorological conditions, and each flight crew had the other aircraft in sight.

Other Factual Information

The Convair 580 had a crew of two pilots and a Transport Canada (TC) inspector in the jump seat conducting a pilot proficiency check on the pilot-in-command. The flight was on the return leg of an IFR round-robin flight between the Vancouver and Abbotsford airports. Before departing Vancouver, at about 1535, the Convair 580 crew had filed an IFR flight plan indicating the planned itinerary, the aircraft's true airspeed of 295 knots, and the call sign of REGS 33. After the planned approaches at Abbotsford were completed, the aircraft was cleared by air traffic control (ATC) to the Vancouver VORTAC (very high frequency omnidirectional range tactical air navigation aid) at 4,000 feet asl, via the Abbotsford non-directional beacon (NDB).

The Canadian Regional DHC-8 was on a scheduled IFR flight from Vancouver to Victoria, via the Vancouver VORTAC and the "DUNCN THREE" arrival procedure, with a flight-planned true airspeed of 236 knots. Shortly after take-off, and while heading 140 degrees magnetic, the aircraft was cleared to maintain 4,000 feet asl. At that time, the two aircraft were on converging tracks and had been cleared to the same altitude. When the aircraft first appeared on the controller's indicator module, they were about 16 nm apart. At 1643, when the aircraft were 3 nm and 400 feet apart, a loss of separation occurred. The Vancouver departure controller realized that the two aircraft were in conflict moments before the loss of separation occurred, and he immediately instructed REGS 33 to turn left to 170 degrees, and CDR 1255 to descend to 3,000 feet asl. Although these instructions began to correct the conflict, the spacing between the aircraft was reduced to 0.75 nm and 400 feet.

As a Canadian air carrier, Cypress Jetprop Charter Ltd. normally uses the approved radio telephony call sign of "SKYBIRD," followed by the flight number. For this occurrence, because a TC inspector was conducting a pilot proficiency check, the flight was operating under the call sign of "REGS," followed by the inspector's personal number "33". TC inspectors commonly employ the REGS call sign as a way to alert ATC that they are conducing a flight test. Some controllers associate the REGS call sign with smaller, slower commuter aircraft rather than with larger, faster aircraft such as the Convair.

The Vancouver departure controller had 17 years of ATC experience and 7 years within the unit, and was licensed and qualified for the job. He had been working the swing shift (1000 -1800) for the previous two days, which had been preceded by four days off. He had been in the south departure controller position for about 45 minutes when the loss of separation occurred.

The ATC equipment was working normally, and there was an unrelated navaid problem with the instrument landing system (ILS) on runway 08L. The flight progress strips were up-to-date and in place although their placement on the left side of the controller's indicator module (IM) may not have been conducive to an easy scan of the display. Staffing at the time was normal, the work load was at a moderate pace, and its complexity was assessed as heavy. The departure sector is normally staffed by both a data controller and a radar controller; however, the radar controller is the only person who can fully monitor the pace and intensity of traffic in the departure sector. Because of requirements to engage in non-control activities, the data controller is generally unable to maintain a mental "picture" of the traffic in the departure sector. The departure controller was working between eight and ten aircraft at the time and, of those, two aircraft required extra attention. The first was a departure from the Boundary Bay airport that involved an easterly climb to 7,000 feet asl in the departure sector; the second was another Canadian Regional flight, which the departure controller was routing around an area of bad weather.

The loss of separation occurred in class "C" airspace, about two nautical miles southeast of the Vancouver VORTAC. At the time of the occurrence, runway 08R was in use at the Vancouver airport and the standard procedures in effect were that arrivals were cleared to descend to 8,000 feet asl, while departures were cleared to climb to 7,000 feet asl until clear of traffic. These procedures ensure that opposing traffic will have a minimum of 1,000 feet of vertical separation. In an exception to these procedures, an IFR aircraft inbound from Abbotsford, below 8,000 feet asl, would be routed through the Vancouver departure area at the altitude requested by the pilot. This arriving traffic, which might be on a flight track opposing departing traffic in the same sector, would be placed under the authority of the departure controller rather than that of the arrival controller.

Since aircraft speed is not normally used by departure controllers as a means of establishing initial separation on departure, the departure controller did not attend to the speed display in the aircraft data block; therefore, he did not assimilate that REGS 33 was indicated on the ATC flight data strip as a relatively fast Convair 580. He assumed that the REGS 33 call sign referred to a small, slow type of aircraft, with a speed in the order of 140 to 160 knots, and he predicated the separation between the two aircraft on that false assumption. According to the recorded radar information, REGS 33 was cruising at 220 knots and CDR 1255 was climbing at 160 knots. The loss of separation occurred before the controller recognized that his original plan of separation was inadequate.

Analysis

Air traffic controllers sometimes form mental images of recurring call signs; they associate a certain type and speed of aircraft with the particular call sign they hear. When this happens, they may not assimilate all the information from the data strips. Frequent exposure to TC inspection flights leads some controllers to associate the generic REGS call sign with smaller, slower aircraft.

The departure controller, responsible for an arriving aircraft that was traversing the departure sector at an altitude much lower than the standard of 8,000 feet asl, thought that he was dealing with a type of aircraft that had an airspeed comparable to that of the departing flight CDR 1255 (about 160 knots), and he established his separation strategy accordingly. It is likely that he was distracted by the aircraft departing from Boundary Bay, and in particular by the second Canadian Regional flight, which was encountering bad weather and which needed to be re-routed. As a consequence, it is likely that his attention became channelized and he did not recognize the developing conflict between CDR 1255 and REGS 33. The significant difference between REGS 33's anticipated and actual airspeed had critically affected the rate of closing. Because the two aircraft had been cleared to the same altitude with the expectation that their tracks would not intercept with less than the minimum radar separation, the controller did not recognize the impending conflict in time to prevent the loss of separation.

Findings

  1. A loss of separation occurred; however, there was no risk of collision as both pilots had each other in sight.
  2. The departure controller's airspace separation plan was based on his expectation that both aircraft would operate at about the same airspeed, as he associated REGS 33 with slower, smaller aircraft.
  3. The departure controller did not observe the speed of the Convair displayed in the radar data block and in the ATC flight data strip.
  4. An aircraft that had departed from Boundary Bay and the routing of another aircraft around an area of bad weather are likely to have distracted the departure controller, causing him to channelize his attention, and to miss the developing conflict between the two occurrence aircraft.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The loss of separation occurred because the departure controller based his separation strategy on the Convair being slower than it actually was, even though the proper airspeed information was available from the radar-displayed data block and the ATC flight data strip. Contributing to the occurrence were two aircraft that required special attention and may have distracted the controller.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 06 March 1998.

Appendix A

Appendix A


1. All times are PST (Coordinated Universal Time minus 8 hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A97P0057

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte d'espacement
entre le Convair CV580 C-GTTG de
Cypress Jetprop Charter Ltd. et
le de Havilland DHC-8 C-GTAI des
Lignes aériennes Canadien régional
8 nm au sud de Vancouver
(Colombie-Britannique)
11 mars 1997

Résumé

Le Convair 580 portant l'indicatif d'appel REGS 33 était en rapprochement de l'aéroport international de Vancouver en provenance de l'aéroport d'Abbotsford (Colombie-Britannique). Il effectuait un vol selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) à 4 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl) et sur un cap assigné de 260 degrés magnétique (°M). À 16 h 41, heure normale du Pacifique, le de Havilland DHC-8 des Lignes aériennes Canadien régional portant le numéro de vol 1255 (CDR 1255) a décollé de la piste 08 de l'aéroport international de Vancouver pour un vol IFR à destination de Victoria, puis a viré au cap assigné de 140 °M. Le contrôle des départs de Vancouver a alors autorisé CDR 1255 à 4 000 pieds asl. À 16 h 43, le contrôleur des départs de Vancouver s'est rendu compte que les deux appareils étaient en conflit et il a immédiatement ordonné à REGS 33 de virer à gauche au 170 °M et à CDR 1255 de descendre à 3 000 pieds asl. L'espacement entre les deux appareils a été réduit à 0,75 mille marin (nm) horizontalement et à 400 pieds verticalement. L'espacement minimal obligatoire est de 3 nm horizontalement ou de 1 000 pieds verticalement. Il n'y avait aucun risque de collision entre les appareils puisqu'ils se trouvaient tous deux en conditions météorologiques de vol à vue et que chaque équipage avait l'autre avion en vue.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le Convair 580 transportait un équipage de deux pilotes ainsi qu'un inspecteur de Transports Canada qui était assis sur le strapontin parce qu'il effectuait une vérification de compétence pilote (PPC) du pilote aux commandes. Le vol effectuait l'étape de retour d'un vol aller-retour IFR entre les aéroports de Vancouver et d'Abbotsford. Avant de quitter Vancouver, vers 15 h 35, heure normale du Pacifique (HNP)(1), le Convair 580 avait déposé un plan de vol IFR indiquant l'itinéraire prévu, la vitesse vraie de l'avion (295 noeuds) et l'indicatif d'appel REGS 33. Une fois terminées les approches prévues à Abbotsford, le contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) a autorisé l'avion au VORTAC Vancouver (radiophare omnidirectionnel VHF/navigation aérienne tactique) à 4 000 pieds asl, via le radiophare non directionnel (NDB) d'Abbotsford.

Le DHC-8 des Lignes aériennes Canadien régional effectuait un vol IFR à horaire fixe de Vancouver à Victoria, via le VORTAC Vancouver et la procédure d'arrivée DUNCN THREE à une vitesse vraie de 236 noeuds prévue au plan de vol. Peu après le décollage, alors qu'il mettait le cap sur 140 °M, l'avion a été autorisé à maintenir 4 000 pieds asl. À ce moment, les deux appareils se trouvaient sur des routes convergentes et ils avaient été autorisés à la même altitude. Lorsque les appareils sont apparus pour la première fois sur le module indicateur du contrôleur, ils étaient distants de 16 nm. À 16 h 43, lorsque les appareils se trouvaient à 3 nm et à 400 pieds de distance, il y a eu perte d'espacement. Le contrôleur des départs de Vancouver s'est rendu compte que les deux appareils étaient en conflit et il a immédiatement ordonné à REGS 33 de virer à gauche à 170 degrés et à CDR 1255 de descendre à 3 000 pieds asl. Bien que ces instructions aient permis de corriger le conflit en partie, l'espacement entre les appareils a néanmoins été réduit à 0,75 nm et à 400 pieds.

Comme transporteur aérien canadien, Cypress Jetprop Charter Ltd. utilise normalement l'indicatif d'appel radiotéléphonique SKYBIRD, suivi du numéro de vol. Lors de l'incident, le vol portait l'indicatif d'appel REGS, suivi du numéro personnel de l'inspecteur ( 33) de Transports Canada parce qu'il s'agissait d'un vol de contrôle de compétences. Les inspecteurs de Transports Canada utilisent couramment l'indicatif d'appel REGS pour prévenir l'ATC qu'il s'agit d'une vérification en vol. Certains contrôleurs associent l'indicatif d'appel REGS à un aéronef de transport régional plus petit et plus lent qu'un avion plus gros et plus rapide comme le Convair.

Le contrôleur des départs de Vancouver comptait 17 années d'expérience comme contrôleur et 7 ans au sein de l'unité. Il possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires à son travail. Il avait travaillé de 10 h à 18 h (quart de relève) les deux jours précédents, avant de prendre quatre jours de congé. Il occupait le poste de contrôleur des départs sud depuis environ 45 minutes lorsque la perte d'espacement s'est produite.

L'équipement ATC fonctionnait normalement. Le système d'atterrissage aux instruments (ILS) de la piste 08L présentait un problème qui n'a toutefois joué aucun rôle dans l'incident. Les fiches de progression de vol étaient à jour et en place, mais elles n'étaient peut-être pas assez visibles parce qu'elles se trouvaient à gauche du module indicateur du contrôleur. Les effectifs au moment de l'incident étaient normaux, la charge de travail était moyenne, mais sa complexité était importante. Le secteur des départs est normalement contrôlé par un contrôleur des données et un contrôleur radar; toutefois, le contrôleur radar est le seul qui peut surveiller entièrement l'écoulement et l'intensité du trafic dans le secteur des départs. Le contrôleur des données n'est habituellement pas en mesure de conserver une image mentale du trafic dans le secteur des départs parce qu'en plus de surveiller le trafic il doit effectuer d'autres tâches. Le contrôleur des départs s'occupait de huit à dix appareils au moment de l'incident. Deux de ces appareils avaient besoin d'une attention particulière. Le premier était un appareil au départ de l'aéroport de Boundary Bay qui devait monter vers l'est à 7 000 pieds asl dans le secteur des départs. Le deuxième était un autre vol des Lignes aériennes Canadien régional et le contrôleur des départs devait lui faire contourner une zone de mauvais temps.

La perte d'espacement s'est produite dans un espace aérien de classe C, à environ 2 nm au sud-est du VORTAC Vancouver. Au moment de l'incident, la piste 08R de l'aéroport de Vancouver était en service et les procédures normalisées en vigueur voulaient que les aéronefs à l'arrivée descendent à 8 000 pieds asl et que les aéronefs au départ montent à 7 000 pieds asl jusqu'à ce qu'ils se trouvent à l'écart du trafic. Ces procédures permettent au trafic venant en sens inverse de disposer d'un espacement vertical minimal de 1 000 pieds. Toutefois, un avion IFR en rapprochement, en provenance d'Abbotsford, au-dessous de 8 000 pieds asl, serait acheminé par la zone des départs de Vancouver à l'altitude demandée par le pilote. Ce trafic à l'arrivée, qui pourrait se trouver sur une trajectoire de vol à l'opposé du trafic au départ dans le même secteur, serait placé sous la responsabilité du contrôleur des départs plutôt que du contrôleur des arrivées.

La pratique courante veut que le contrôleur des départs n'utilise pas la vitesse d'un appareil pour établir l'espacement initial au départ. C'est pourquoi le contrôleur des départs ne s'est pas occupé de la vitesse affichée dans le bloc des données de l'avion et qu'il n'a pas vu que l'indicatif REGS 33 indiqué sur la fiche de progression de vol était un Convair 580 relativement rapide. Il a supposé que l'indicatif REGS 33 renvoyait à un petit appareil lent, dont la vitesse se situait entre 140 et 160 noeuds, et il a établi l'espacement entre les deux appareils en se fiant à cette fausse hypothèse. Selon l'information radar enregistrée, REGS 33 volait en croisière à 220 noeuds, et CDR 1255 montait à 160 noeuds. La perte d'espacement s'est produite avant que le contrôleur se rende compte que son plan d'espacement d'origine ne convenait pas.

Analyse

Les contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne se forment parfois des images mentales des indicatifs d'appel récurrents; ils associent un aéronef d'un certain type et d'une certaine vitesse à un indicatif d'appel donné. Lorsque cela se produit, ils peuvent ne pas assimiler toute l'information figurant sur les fiches de progression de vol. Les contrôleurs qui s'occupent souvent des vols d'inspection de Transports Canada en viennent parfois à associer l'indicatif d'appel REGS à des aéronefs plus petits et moins rapides.

Le contrôleur des départs, chargé des aéronefs à l'arrivée qui traversaient le secteur des départs à une altitude bien inférieure à l'altitude normalisée de 8 000 pieds asl, a cru qu'il avait affaire à un type d'aéronef dont la vitesse était comparable à celle de CDR 1255 qui était un appareil au départ (environ 160 noeuds), et il a établi sa stratégie d'espacement en conséquence. Il est probable que le contrôleur a été distrait par l'avion quittant Boundary Bay et, notamment, par le deuxième vol des Lignes aériennes Canadien régional, qui faisait face à du mauvais temps et qui avait besoin d'être réacheminé. Il est donc probable que le contrôleur a concentré son attention et qu'il ne s'est pas aperçu du conflit qui se développait entre CDR 1255 et REGS 33. La différence significative entre la vitesse prévue et la vitesse réelle de REGS 33 a eu une influence critique sur la vitesse de rapprochement. Étant donné que les deux appareils avaient été autorisés à la même altitude parce qu'on croyait que leurs trajectoires ne se croiseraient pas à une distance inférieure à l'espacement radar minimal, le contrôleur ne s'est pas rendu compte du conflit assez tôt pour éviter l'incident.

Faits établis

  1. Une perte d'espacement s'est produite, mais il n'y a eu aucun risque de collision parce que chaque pilote avait l'autre appareil en vue.
  2. Le contrôleur des départs avait fondé son plan d'espacement sur le fait qu'il croyait que les deux appareils évolueraient à peu près à la même vitesse puisqu'il associait REGS 33 à un aéronef plus petit et plus lent.
  3. Le contrôleur des départs n'a pas remarqué la vitesse du Convair qui était affichée sur le bloc des données radar et sur la fiche de progression de vol.
  4. Selon toute vraisemblance, le contrôleur des départs ne s'est pas aperçu du conflit qui se développait entre les deux appareils parce qu'il a concentré son attention sur un avion qui avait quitté Boundary Bay et sur un autre avion qu'il fallait acheminer autour d'une zone de mauvais temps, et ces deux situations ont pu le distraire.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'incident s'est produit parce que le contrôleur des départs croyait que le Convair volait plus lentement, même si la vitesse de l'avion était affichée sur le bloc des données radar et sur les fiches de progression de vol. Facteur contributif : le contrôleur a pu être distrait par le fait que deux avions avaient besoin d'une attention spéciale.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 6 mars 1998 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.

Annexe A

Annexe A


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HNP (temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins huit heures), sauf indication contraire.