Aviation Investigation Report A97P0133

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Separation - No Risk of Collision
Between Canadian Regional Airlines Ltd.
de Havilland DHC-8-300A C-FTAK
and Vancouver Professional Flight Centre
Cessna 172M C-GHNV
Vancouver, British Columbia 15 nm S
16 May 1997

Summary

The Cessna 172 departed Boundary Bay airport, British Columbia, on an instrument flight rules (IFR) flight to Nanaimo and climbed to 2,000 feet above sea level (asl) in accordance with a clearance issued from the Vancouver departure controller. About the same time, a Canadian Regional de Havilland DHC-8, flight number 1360 (CDR1360), was inbound to Vancouver from Victoria at 3,000 feet asl and was nearing Boundary Bay. CDR1360 was operating IFR under the control of the Vancouver arrival controller, and the Cessna was operating IFR under the control of the Vancouver departure controller; the Cessna 172 departure clearance had not been coordinated with the Vancouver arrival controller. The arrival controller saw the Cessna 172 in level flight at 2,000 feet asl and assumed that it was operating under visual flight rules (VFR). The arrival controller issued a clearance to CDR1360 for a visual approach to runway 26 right, with a restriction to maintain 2,500 feet until established on final approach. CDR1360 descended out of 3,000 feet and passed ½ to ¾ nautical miles (nm) behind, and about 500 feet above the Cessna 172, and both aircraft were in level flight as they passed. The separation standard required is 3 nm or 1,000 feet vertically. There was no risk of collision.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

At the time of the incident, the Vancouver area control centre (ACC) terminal specialty was operating with the following five control positions open: arrival; departure; data; VFR Terminal Area; and, coordinator. The terminal specialty was short two staff members at the time of the occurrence, and the supervisor was attempting to schedule relief breaks for the various control positions. The arrival position was being used to conduct training with a qualified on-job-instructor (OJI) remaining responsible for the position, while overseeing the actions of the trainee. During on-job-instruction, the attention of an OJI must be divided between monitoring information on the radar scope and monitoring the student's actions. Throughout a training session, it remains the responsibility of the OJI to ensure that all control actions are taken in accordance with approved standards and procedures. In addition to his control responsibilities, the OJI must determine when would be the best time to make a teaching point with the student, or to debrief some situation that they may have recently encountered. This range of activities requires high levels of attention and vigilance as well as an ability to effectively manage available time. However, human attention is a limited resource, and an OJI will not be able to adequately process as many information sources, in a divided attention situation, as he could otherwise process in a routine control situation. The air traffic services (ATS) network attempts to mitigate this risk by directing that all control activities are to take precedence over training functions.

There are several small airports in the vicinity of the Vancouver International Airport (VIA) and movements to and from these airports must be integrated into the VIA traffic flow. Boundary Bay is one of these small airports and is located about 10 nm southeast of VIA. The Boundary Bay airport has a control zone that extends out to 3 nm and up to 1,500 feet.

The runway in use at VIA, at the time of the incident, was runway 26. When runway 26 is in use, the Boundary Bay control zone underlies the Vancouver arrival controller's airspace. Under these conditions, the Vancouver terminal specialty procedures, Article 350.3, require that any IFR departures out of Boundary Bay be controlled by the arrival controller. Changes can be made to a published procedure, but these changes must be coordinated between the involved controllers. In this incident, article 350.3 of the terminal procedures was not followed; it was the departure controller who received the flight data strip for the Cessna 172 and planned to control the aircraft from the departure position. Under these circumstances, because the departing aircraft would be required to enter the arrival controller's airspace, it was necessary to coordinate the flight with the arrival controller. Information obtained during interviews following this occurrence showed that this work practice was not uncommon, and that the procedural defence provided by article 350.3 was routinely being circumvented by an internal coordination between the departure and arrival controller.

Article 300.2 of the Vancouver terminal specialty procedures states, in part, that "coordination is the sole responsibility of the coordinator...and shall not be initiated by other control positions." In this incident, the departure controller informed the coordinator about the departing Boundary Bay aircraft, and the coordinator provided a release authority for the flight. The coordinator was then required to inform the arrival controller about the Boundary Bay departure; however, the coordinator had noticed that the arrival controller was busy debriefing his trainee about another issue, and, because he was aware that there is often a delay of up to 10 minutes between the time of release and the actual takeoff time, the coordinator decided that it would be more effective to pass information regarding the Boundary Bay departure after the aircraft was airborne.

At this point, the supervisor returned to the terminal specialty from a break and initiated several position changes to allow some relief for the controllers. As one of these changes, the coordinator was moved to the departure control position. During the hand-off, the outgoing coordinator omitted to brief his replacement about the un-coordinated departure from Boundary Bay.

A position hand-off guideline is posted at each control position and is available for use as a memory aid when transferring the responsibility of a control sector to another controller. The first item on the hand-off guideline requires the departing controller to brief on "potential conflicting, and arrival/departure traffic information...". The published hand-off guideline was not used by the departing coordinator when he was relieved. Instead, he used a mental checklist as the basis for covering the essential items of information; the resultant briefing did not include information related to the un-coordinated Boundary Bay departure and the potential conflict that it could cause. It is generally accepted by the terminal controllers and supervisors interviewed, that use of this type of formal job-aid is not essential, and that the use of a mental checklist is adequate.

There were no visual cues or job aids at the coordinator's work station that would have highlighted that the coordination of the Boundary Bay departure had not been completed. As a result, the incoming coordinator was forced to rely on the memory and thoroughness of the departing coordinator to update him on the expected activity from Boundary Bay.

Air traffic control (ATC) use various visual displays to communicate information that will enable a controller to make decisions or take action. In the design of an ATC display, it is important that the symbols used be easily recognized and understood. Additionally, it is important that these symbols are interpreted in a consistent way by all controllers, otherwise there may be an elevated risk of error if the same symbol has one meaning for one controller but a different meaning for another.

In the Vancouver ACC, there is no consistent, single method of identifying a VFR flight using the information provided in the aircraft's data tag. In some circumstances VFR flights may be assigned an abbreviated identifier; or they may be assigned a full identifier with a "V" included in a separate field in the tag; or, occasionally, they may be assigned a full identifier, without the "V", in which case they may be distinguishable as VFR aircraft by noting the controller's jurisdiction symbol (CJS). On the other hand, IFR flights are consistently assigned full 5-letter identifiers to make them distinguishable as operating IFR. The Cessna 172 departing from Boundary Bay had displayed an aircraft identifier of C-GHNV.

When the Cessna 172 departed from Boundary Bay, the departure controller believed that the data tag clearly indicated it was an IFR flight because of its full 5-letter data tag, coupled with the departure controller's CJS. When the aircraft reached 2,000 feet agl, the departure controller overheard the arrival controller discussing with the trainee both the presence of the Cessna 172 and the wake turbulence separation requirements that would have been relevant between it and CDR1360. As a result, the departure controller concluded that it would be unnecessary to point the aircraft out, or to inform the arrival controller that the Cessna 172 was operating under IFR.

The Vancouver terminal specialty is physically located near the main entrance to the operations room. Space is limited, and all control positions are situated near, or adjacent to, each another. It is common in this environment for one controller to observe and overhear the activities taking place at another control position. In general, the close proximity of the control positions appears to have influenced the development of a number of informal work practices; communication between work stations is often accomplished without the use of the ACC interphone system, and some controllers are apparently adjusting their work practices based on activities that are being conducted at other control positions. The departure controller did not hear the arrival controller issue the approach clearance for a visual approach to runway 26 right with a restriction to maintain 2,500 feet until established on final approach to CDR1360, but did note that CDR1360 had begun a descent. He quickly interceded to inform the arrival controller of the problem.

Analysis

The coordinator did not immediately inform the arrival controller about the impending departure out of Boundary Bay. The coordinator's duties do not state specifically when that coordination must occur. In this incident, the coordinator was aware that the OJI had been debriefing the trainee and decided that he would delay the coordination until the Cessna 172 was airborne. This decision to delay the coordination appears to be based on an intent to reduce interruptions to the OJI, thus aiding in the training of the student. In effect, the coordinator's actions were adversely influenced by his intent to facilitate training.

The terminal specialty was two staff members short, and the supervisor was attempting to schedule relief breaks for the controllers. These changes are routine and necessary to provide rest to the controllers throughout their shifts. Hand-off briefings are required during all position changes, and a checklist is available at each position to aid in the transfer of essential information between controllers during these changes. Because the use of the published hand-off guidelines, in general, is not considered essential, controllers consider the mental checklist to be adequate. In this instance, the outgoing coordinator omitted to brief his replacement about essential information related to the un-coordinated departure out of Boundary Bay.

Because there were no other visual cues or job aids at the coordinator's work station that could highlight the fact that the coordination had not been completed, the incoming coordinator was forced to rely on the memory and thoroughness of the departing controller to update him on the expected activity out of Boundary Bay airport. This type of situation results in a passive rather than active transfer of information, reduces defences that rely on redundancy, and increases the risk of error.

After being relieved as coordinator and assigned to the departure control position, the controller again became aware that he had not completed the coordination action regarding the Boundary Bay departure. However, because he was now controlling that aircraft, he decided to monitor the situation and deal with any conflicts as they may develop. In effect, however, the departure controller was routing one of his aircraft through the arrival controller's airspace without having first coordinated this action.

As the Cessna 172 climbed to 2,000 feet, the departure controller overheard the arrival controller discussing, with the trainee, both the presence of the aircraft and the wake turbulence requirements that were necessary between it and CDR1360. This information fortified the departure controller's mental model that the arrival controller was aware of the aircraft and was handling the situation, with reference to the arriving CDR1360.

The departure controller based his actions on a belief that the data tags associated with specific aircraft are displayed in a way that clearly distinguishes whether the aircraft is operating under visual or instrument flight rules. However, the arrival controller was aware of numerous exceptions to the way the data is displayed and, as a result, did not use the display format as an indicator of a flights operating rules; rather, he relied more heavily on being informed in advance that IFR aircraft would be entering his airspace.

In this incident, the arrival controller was aware of the presence of the Cessna 172. However, because he had not been informed that an IFR aircraft would be entering his airspace, he concluded that the aircraft was a VFR flight, operating above the Boundary Bay control zone. Although the display indicated a full data block with the departure controller's CJS, this information was apparently not compelling enough for him to recognize the developing conflict. It is also possible that the controller's ability to actively monitor all aspects of the arrival control position was degraded by an increased workload brought on by his responsibilities and activities as an on-job-instructor.

Based on a compelling mental model that the Cessna 172 was operating under VFR, the arrival controller provided an approach clearance to CDR1360 that allowed the aircraft to descend to 2,500 feet; that altitude would provide a minimum spacing of 500 feet between the inbound IFR flight and what he perceived to be a VFR aircraft. The arrival controller's concerns related to wake turbulence separation requirements were discussed with the trainee and resolved by ensuring that CDR1360 passed behind the Cessna 172.

A loss of separation did occur, but there was no risk of collision because a minimum of 500 feet of vertical spacing had been assured by the clearance and because CDR1360 passed behind and clear of the departing Cessna 172.

Findings

  1. The arrival position was being staffed by one qualified controller and a trainee; in addition to his control responsibilities, the arrival controller was acting as an on-job instructor (OJI).
  2. The coordinator did not inform the arrival controller about the Cessna 172 departing Boundary Bay airport.
  3. Because the outgoing coordinator relied on a mental checklist during the hand-off briefing to the incoming coordinator, essential information regarding the Cessna 172 was omitted.
  4. There were no visual cues or job aids at the coordinator's work station that would have highlighted that the coordination had not been completed.
  5. There is no consistent, single method of identifying a VFR flight using the information provided in the aircraft's data tag.
  6. The arrival controller believed that the Cessna 172 was operating VFR and issued a clearance to CDR1360 that allowed the spacing between the aircraft to be ½ to ¾ nm and about 500 feet.
  7. The procedural safeguard provided by terminal procedures, article 350.3, was routinely being circumvented by an internal coordination procedure between the departure and arrival controllers.

Causes and Contributing Factors

A loss of separation occurred because the arrival controller issued a clearance to CDR1360 that allowed the separation to reduce below 1,000 feet and 3 nm between CDR1360 and the Cessna 172. Contributing to this loss of separation were an incomplete departure coordination, an incomplete hand-off briefing, inconsistent interpretation and use of data tags between controllers, the use of local work practices that are not consistent with published procedures, and the arrival controller's belief that the Cessna 172 was flying under VFR.

Safety Action Taken

The following action was taken by Nav Canada after the occurrence:

  1. An Operations Bulletin was issued restating and emphasizing the coordination required for Boundary Bay departures when runways 26 R and L are active;
  2. The position hand-off guidelines, previously found on an Operational Information Display System (OIDS) page, have been added to the Video Information Display System (VIDS) as a screen saver for easier access; and,
  3. In response to the lack of visual displays to the controllers informing them of Boundary Bay traffic, flight data strips are now generated for both the Arrival and Departure positions. Controllers are directed to post these strips until the aircraft is clear of their airspace.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 26 August 1998.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A97P0133

Le Bureau de la Sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte d'espacement - sans risque de collision
entre le de Havilland DHC-8-300A C-FTAK
de Canadian Regional Airlines Ltd.
et le Cessna 172M C-GHNV
du Vancouver Professional Flight Centre
15 nm au sud de Vancouver
(Colombie-Britannique)
Le 16 mai 1997

Résumé

Le Cessna 172 a quitté l'aéroport de Boundary Bay (Colombie-Britannique) pour un vol selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) à destination de Nanaimo et est monté à 2 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (ASL) conformément à une autorisation accordée par le contrôleur des départs de Vancouver. Au même moment, le de Havilland DHC-8, du vol 1360 de Canadian Regional (CDR1360), à destination de Vancouver et en provenance de Victoria à 3 000 pieds ASL, approchait de Boundary Bay. CDR1360 volait en IFR sous la supervision du contrôleur des arrivées de Vancouver tandis que le Cessna volait en IFR sous la supervision du contrôleur des départs de Vancouver. L'autorisation de départ du Cessna 172 n'avait pas été coordonnée avec le contrôleur des arrivées de Vancouver. Le contrôleur des arrivées a vu le Cessna 172 voler en palier à 2 000 pieds ASL et a cru qu'il volait selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR). Le contrôleur des arrivées a autorisé CDR1360 à effectuer une approche à vue de la piste 26 droite avec l'obligation de demeurer à 2 500 pieds jusqu'à l'arrivée en approche finale. CDR1360 a commencé à descendre de 3 000 pieds et est passé entre ½ et ¾ de mille marin (nm) derrière et à environ 500 pieds au-dessus du Cessna 172, les deux appareils volant en palier au moment où ils se sont croisés. L'espace normalement requis est de 3 nm ou de 1 000 pieds à la verticale. Il n'y a pas eu risque de collision.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Au moment de l'incident, les cinq postes de contrôle suivants étaient en service à la cellule terminale du centre de contrôle régional (ACC) de Vancouver : arrivées, départs, données, région terminale VFR et coordination. À la cellule terminale, il manquait deux membres du personnel et le superviseur essayait de planifier des pauses de récupération pour les différents postes de contrôle. Le poste des arrivées était utilisé pour une formation en cours d'emploi donnée par un instructeur qualifié (OJI) qui était responsable du poste tout en surveillant les opérations du stagiaire. Durant une formation en cours d'emploi, l'attention de l'OJI doit se diviser entre, d'une part, la surveillance des informations sur l'écran radar et, d'autre part, celle des faits et gestes de l'élève. Tout au long de la session de formation, il incombe à l'OJI de s'assurer que toutes les opérations de contrôle demeurent conformes aux normes et aux procédures approuvées. À ces responsabilités de contrôleur s'ajoute celle de déterminer le moment le plus approprié pour faire une remarque pédagogique au stagiaire ou le débreffer sur une situation qui s'est récemment produite. L'étendue de ces activités requiert un niveau d'attention et de vigilance élevé de même que la capacité de gérer efficacement le temps disponible. Cependant, l'attention d'une personne a des limites et un OJI est dans l'incapacité, son attention étant partagée, de traiter autant de sources d'information aussi bien qu'il le ferait dans une situation de contrôle ordinaire. Le réseau des services de la circulation aérienne (ATS) essaye de remédier à ce risque en stipulant que toutes les activités de contrôle doivent avoir priorité sur les fonctions d'instruction.

Les petits aéroports sont nombreux dans les environs de l'aéroport international de Vancouver (VIA) et les mouvements à partir ou à destination de ces aéroports doivent être intégrés dans l'écoulement du trafic du VIA. Boundary Bay est l'un de ces petits aéroports et il se trouve à environ 10 nm au sud-est du VIA. L'aéroport de Boundary Bay possède une zone de contrôle qui s'étend dans un rayon de 3 nm jusqu'à une altitude de 1 500 pieds.

La piste en service au VIA au moment de l'incident était la piste 26. Lorsque la piste 26 est en service, la zone de contrôle de Boundary Bay est sous-jacente à l'espace aérien du contrôleur des arrivées de Vancouver. Dans de telles conditions, le code de procédure du terminal de Vancouver, article 350.3, stipule que tout départ en IFR de Boundary Bay soit suivi par le contrôleur des arrivées. Des modifications peuvent être apportées à une procédure publiée, mais elles doivent être coordonnées entre les contrôleurs impliqués. Lors de cet incident, l'article 350.3 des procédures terminales n'a pas été respecté : c'est le contrôleur des départs qui avait reçu la fiche de données de vol du Cessna 172 et a décidé de suivre l'appareil depuis le poste des départs. Dans de telles circonstances, et parce que l'avion au départ devait pénétrer l'espace aérien du contrôleur des arrivées, il était nécessaire de coordonner ce vol avec le contrôleur des arrivées. Les renseignements recueillis durant les entrevues ayant suivi l'événement ont révélé qu'une telle pratique de travail n'était pas rare et que la protection accordée par le biais de la procédure formulée dans l'article 350.3 était régulièrement contournée par une coordination interne entre le contrôleur des départs et celui des arrivées.

L'article 300.2 du code de procédures de la cellule terminale de Vancouver indique, entre autres, que « la coordination relève de l'unique responsabilité du coordinateur... et qu'aucun autre poste de contrôle ne saurait en prendre l'initiative ». Lors de cet incident, le contrôleur des départs a signalé au coordinateur l'appareil au départ de Boundary Bay et le coordinateur a autorisé le vol à décoller. Le coordinateur aurait alors dû informer le contrôleur des arrivées de ce départ de Boundary Bay. Cependant celui-ci a remarqué que le contrôleur des arrivées était occupé à débreffer son stagiaire au sujet d'une autre situation et, parce qu'il savait qu'il s'écoule souvent un délai de 10 minutes entre l'autorisation de décoller et le décollage proprement dit, le coordinateur a décidé qu'il serait préférable d'attendre que l'appareil soit en vol avant de transmettre les renseignements sur le départ de Boundary Bay.

À ce moment, le superviseur est revenu de pause et il a procédé à plusieurs changements de poste afin de permettre aux contrôleurs de prendre un peu de repos. Dans le cadre de ces changements, le coordinateur s'est retrouvé au poste de contrôleur des départs. Durant le transfert, le coordinateur sortant a oublié de breffer son remplaçant sur le départ non coordonné de Boundary Bay.

Des directives de transfert de poste sont affichées à chaque poste de contrôle en tant qu'aide-mémoire lors du transfert des responsabilités d'un secteur de contrôle à un autre contrôleur. La première de ces directives stipule que le contrôleur quittant son poste avise son remplaçant de « toute information sur les trafics de départ ou d'arrivée pouvant poser problème ». Ces directives de transfert écrites n'ont pas été respectées par le coordinateur lorsqu'il a été relevé de son poste. Il a plutôt fait appel à une liste de vérifications mentale pour faire le tour des renseignements essentiels, omettant dans son breffage de mentionner le départ non coordonné de Boundary Bay et les risques potentiels qui pouvaient en découler. Les contrôleurs et superviseurs de la cellule terminale interrogés reconnaissent généralement que le recours aux directives formelles n'est pas essentiel et que l'utilisation d'une liste de vérifications mentale suffit.

Aucun mémo visuel ni aucun aide-mémoire n'était affiché au poste de travail du coordinateur pour attirer son attention sur le fait que la coordination du vol au départ de Boundary Bay n'avait pas été complétée. Dès lors, le coordinateur prenant son poste n'avait d'autre choix que de se fier à la mémoire et à la rigueur du coordinateur qu'il remplaçait pour être mis au fait de l'activité prévue au départ de Boundary Bay.

Le contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) utilise différents dispositifs d'affichage qui permettent au contrôleur de prendre des décisions ou d'agir. Dans la conception d'un dispositif d'affichage ATC, il est important que les symboles utilisés soient aisément reconnaissables et compréhensibles. De plus, il est important que ces symboles soient interprétés de la même façon par tous les contrôleurs, faute de quoi il existerait un risque important d'erreur si un même symbole avait une certaine signification pour un contrôleur et une autre signification pour un autre contrôleur.

À l'ACC de Vancouver, il n'existe pas de méthode cohérente et unifiée d'identifier un vol VFR en utilisant l'information fournie par la fiche de données de l'appareil. Dans certains cas, les vols VFR peuvent se voir assigner un code d'identification abrégé ou un code d'identification complet avec un V inclus dans un champ distinct ou, parfois même, un code d'identification complet sans V. Dans ce cas, on peut les identifier comme étant des vols IFR en se référant à l'indicatif de secteur du contrôleur (CJS). Par ailleurs, les vols IFR se voient toujours assigner un code d'identification complet de cinq lettres, lequel indique qu'ils volent en IFR. Le Cessna 172 au départ de Boundary Bay avait pour code d'identification d'appareil C-GHNV.

Lorsque le Cessna 172 a quitté Boundary Bay, le contrôleur des départs a cru que la fiche de données indiquait clairement qu'il s'agissait d'un vol IFR en raison de son code identificateur complet de cinq lettres accompagné du CJS du contrôleur des départs. Lorsque l'appareil a atteint 2 000 pieds AGL, le contrôleur des départs a entendu le contrôleur des arrivées discuter avec son stagiaire de la présence du Cessna 172 ainsi que des exigences en matière d'espacement de turbulence de sillage qui auraient été pertinentes entre ce dernier et CDR1360. Pour cette raison, le contrôleur des départs a cru qu'il n'était pas nécessaire de signaler l'appareil ni d'indiquer au contrôleur des arrivées que le Cessna 172 volait en IFR.

La cellule terminale de Vancouver est située près de l'entrée principale de la salle des opérations. L'espace y est restreint, et tous les postes de contrôle sont à proximité les uns des autres ou même adjacents l'un à l'autre. Il est courant, dans de telles conditions, qu'un contrôleur puisse observer et entendre les opérations se déroulant à un autre poste de contrôle. De façon générale, la grande proximité des postes de contrôle semble avoir favorisé le développement de pratiques de travail informelles : la communication entre les postes de travail se fait souvent sans l'intermédiaire du système d'interphone de l'ACC et certains contrôleurs semblent ajuster leurs pratiques de travail en fonction des opérations qui se déroulent à d'autres postes de contrôle. Le contrôleur des départs n'a pas entendu le contrôleur des arrivées donner à CDR1360 une autorisation d'approche à vue de la piste 26 droite avec obligation de demeurer à 2 500 pieds jusqu'à ce qu'il soit en approche finale, mais il a remarqué que CDR1360 avait commencé sa descente. Il est rapidement intervenu pour signaler le problème au contrôleur des arrivées.

Analyse

Le coordinateur n'a pas immédiatement averti le contrôleur des arrivées du départ imminent de Boundary Bay. La description des tâches du coordinateur n'indiquent pas spécifiquement quand une telle coordination doit avoir lieu. Lors de cet incident, le coordinateur, s'apercevant que l'OJI était en train de breffer son stagiaire, a décidé d'attendre pour cette coordination que le Cessna 172 ait décollé. Cette décision de retarder la coordination semble avoir été fondée sur le désir d'éviter d'interrompre l'OJI afin de faciliter la formation du stagiaire. De fait, les actions du coordinateur furent influencées par son désir de faciliter la formation.

Deux membres du personnel manquaient dans la cellule terminale et le superviseur essayait de planifier des pauses de récupération pour les contrôleurs. De tels changements sont courants et nécessaires afin de permettre aux contrôleurs de prendre du repos durant leur quart. Le breffage de transfert est obligatoire à chaque changement de poste, et une liste de vérifications est disponible à chaque poste de travail afin faciliter l'échange des renseignements essentiels entre contrôleurs durant ces transferts. Parce que l'utilisation des directives de transfert publiées n'est généralement pas considérée comme essentielle, les contrôleurs considèrent qu'une liste de vérifications mentale est suffisante. Dans ce cas, le contrôleur quittant son poste a omis de breffer son remplaçant sur les renseignements essentiels relatifs au départ non coordonné de Boundary Bay.

Parce qu'aucun mémo visuel ni aucun aide-mémoire n'était affiché au poste de travail du coordinateur pour attirer son attention sur le fait que la coordination n'avait pas été effectuée, le coordinateur qui arrivait à son poste n'avait d'autre choix que de se fier à la mémoire et à la rigueur du coordinateur qu'il remplaçait pour lui signaler l'activité prévue au départ de l'aéroport de Boundary Bay. Ce genre de situation résulte d'une approche passive plutôt qu'active du transfert d'information qui, éliminant les procédures de sécurité offrant une redondance, augmente le risque d'erreur.

Ayant été relevé de son poste de coordinateur et assigné à celui de contrôleur des départs, le contrôleur s'est alors aperçu qu'il n'avait pas effectué la coordination du départ de Boundary Bay. Cependant, et parce qu'il avait alors le contrôle de cet appareil, il a décidé de surveiller la situation et de s'occuper de tout conflit qui pourrait en résulter. Néanmoins, le contrôleur des départs suivait l'un de ses avions dans l'espace aérien du contrôleur des arrivées sans avoir préalablement coordonné cette action avec ce dernier.

Alors que le Cessna 172 montait à 2 000 pieds, le contrôleur des départs a entendu le contrôleur des arrivées discuter avec son stagiaire de la présence de l'appareil ainsi que des exigences en matière d'espacement de turbulence de sillage qui devait être respectées entre celui-ci et CDR1360. Ces données ont renforcé sa conviction que le contrôleur des arrivées était au courant de l'appareil et qu'il contrôlait la situation concernant l'arrivée de CDR1360.

Le contrôleur des départs a fondé ses actions sur la conviction que les fiches de données associées aux appareils indiquaient clairement si ceux-ci volent à vue ou aux instruments. Cependant, le contrôleur des arrivées était conscient de nombreuses exceptions s'appliquant à l'affichage des données et, en conséquence, il n'a pas considéré le format de l'affichage comme indicatif des règles du vol, mais s'est plutôt fié au fait qu'on l'aurait averti à l'avance si un appareil en IFR allait pénétrer dans son espace aérien.

Lors de cet incident, le contrôleur des arrivées était conscient de la présence du Cessna 172. Cependant, parce qu'il n'avait pas été averti qu'un appareil en IFR allait pénétrer dans son espace aérien, il a conclu que cet appareil était en vol VFR et qu'il volait au-dessus de la zone de contrôle de Boundary Bay. Bien que l'écran eût indiqué un code d'identification complet accompagné du CJS du contrôleur des départs, une telle information ne semble pas avoir été suffisamment évidente pour qu'il prenne conscience du conflit qui se développait. Il est aussi possible que la capacité du contrôleur à surveiller activement toutes les données du poste de contrôle des arrivées ait été diminuée en raison d'une charge de travail accrue par ses responsabilités et ses activités d'OJI.

Étant persuadé que le Cessna 172 volait en VFR, le contrôleur des arrivées a accordé à CDR1360 une autorisation d'approche qui permettait à l'appareil de descendre à 2 500 pieds, altitude qui garantissait un espacement minimal de 500 pieds entre ce vol à l'arrivée en IFR et ce qu'il croyait être un appareil en VFR. Le contrôleur des arrivées a discuté avec le stagiaire des exigences en matière d'espacement de turbulence de sillage et il a résolu le cas en s'assurant que CDR1360 passe derrière le Cessna 172.

Une perte d'espacement s'est produite mais sans risque de collision car l'espacement vertical minimum de 500 pieds avait été garanti par l'autorisation et parce que CDR1360 est passé derrière et à distance du Cessna 172.

Faits établis

  1. Le poste des arrivées était occupé par un contrôleur qualifié et un stagiaire : en plus de ses responsabilités de contrôle, le contrôleur des arrivées assumait celle d'un instructeur de formation en cours d'emploi (OJI).
  2. Le coordinateur n'a pas signalé au contrôleur des arrivées le Cessna 172 au départ de l'aéroport de Boundary Bay.
  3. Parce que le coordinateur, quittant son poste, s'est fié à une liste de vérification mentale durant le breffage de transfert du coordinateur qui le remplaçait, des renseignements essentiels sur le Cessna 172 ont été omis.
  4. Aucun mémo visuel ni aucun aide-mémoire n'était affiché au poste de travail du coordinateur pour attirer son attention sur le fait que la coordination n'avait pas été effectuée.
  5. Il n'existe pas de méthode cohérente et unifiée d'identifier un vol VFR au moyen des renseignements fournis par la fiche de données de l'appareil.
  6. Le contrôleur des arrivées a cru que le Cessna 172 volait en VFR et a accordé à CDR1360 une autorisation qui permettait un espacement entre les appareils de ½ à ¾ nm et d'environ 500 pieds.
  7. Les procédures de sécurité formulées dans les directives de la cellule terminale sont couramment contournées par une procédure de coordination interne entre le contrôleur des arrivées et celui des départs.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Une perte d'espacement s'est produite parce que le contrôleur des arrivées a accordé à CDR1360 une autorisation qui permettait à l'espacement d'être inférieur à 1 000 pieds et 3 nm entre CDR1360 et le Cessna 172. Ont contribué à cette perte d'espacement une coordination incomplète du départ, un breffage de transfert incomplet et une utilisation non concertée des fiches de données entre les contrôleurs, le recours à des pratiques de travail locales qui ne sont pas en accord avec les procédures réglementaires ainsi que le fait que le contrôleur des arrivées a cru que le Cessna 172 volait en VFR.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Les mesures de sécurités suivantes ont été prises par Nav Canada :

  1. Un Bulletin de service a été publié qui réitère et souligne la nécessaire coordination des départs de Boundary Bay lorsque les piste 26 R et L sont en service.
  2. Les directives de transfert de poste, que l'on trouvait précédemment sur une page du Système d'affichage de l'information opérationnelle (OIDS), ont été ajoutées, sous la forme d'un économiseur d'écran, pour un accès plus facile, au Système d'affichage vidéo de l'information (VIDS).
  3. En réponse à l'absence d'affichage visuel signalant aux contrôleurs le trafic de Boundary Bay, des fiches de données des vols sont maintenant créées tant pour le poste de contrôle des arrivées que pour le poste de contrôle des départs. Les contrôleurs ont reçu la consigne d'afficher ces fiches jusqu'à ce que l'appareil quitte leur espace aérien.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 26 août 1998 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.