Aviation Investigation Report A97P0211

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision With Terrain
Nelson Mountain Air Limited
Cessna 337D Super Skymaster C-FYOC
Salmo, British Columbia, 11 nm SE
3 August 1997

Summary

The Cessna 337 aircraft departed Nelson, British Columbia, at 1313 Pacific daylight saving time (PDT)(1) for a fire-patrol flight over the south-east region of British Columbia. The aircraft was crewed by a pilot and an observer, and they had been tasked by the British Columbia Forest Service to detect and report smoke or forest fires. The flight was uneventful for the first two hours, and at 1511 the pilot reported by radio to the Forest Service Fire Centre dispatcher that they were five nautical miles (nm) east of Salmo, heading north. Witnesses reported that at about 1518 they saw the aircraft fly at low level up a valley, commence a steep, left turn at the end of the valley, and crash into the mountain side. The aircraft was destroyed at impact, and the two occupants were fatally injured. There was no fire.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The accident occurred in a steeply-rising mountain bowl at the end of a rising valley. As the valley rises, it makes a 60-degree bend around a knoll. To a pilot flying up the valley toward the knoll, the valley ahead would appear to continue around the knoll for a long distance; however, around the knoll there is the mountain bowl, which cannot be seen until the turn is completed. The mountain bowl walls rise steeply, and the aircraft struck the side of the mountain at the 5,800-foot level, in a steep, nose-down attitude, and flipped onto its back. The wreckage trail was short, characteristic of an aircraft that had struck the ground at a steep impact angle. Witnesses reported that the aircraft did not hit any trees prior to impact, and no evidence of a tree-strike was found at the accident site.

The pilot began his flying training in Castlegar in 1989. He had been employed by the company since 1996 as flight instructor and charter pilot. One of his duties as a flight instructor was to teach courses on mountain flying. The pilot had a total flying time of approximately 1,200hours, with about 34 hours of multi-engine experience, including 21 hours on the Cessna 337 type. He received his ground and flight training on the Cessna 337 in April 1997, and successfully completed his Transport Canada pilot proficiency check (PPC) on 29 April 1997. The pilot was certificated and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.

The aircraft maintenance documents record that the aircraft, serial number 337-1107, was certificated, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. There was nothing found to suggest any airframe failure or system malfunction had occurred either before or during the flight.

According to the aircraft manufacturer's performance data, the stall speed of a Cessna 337 at its maximum gross weight of 4,400 pounds, with the landing gear and flaps retracted and the wings level, is 80 miles per hour (mph) indicated airspeed; in a 60-degree bank turn, it is 114mph. The maximum rate-of-climb that an aircraft could achieve, in the same environmental conditions that existed at the time of the accident, was calculated to have been about 600feet-per-minute at 105 mph indicated airspeed.

When the Protection Branch of the BC Ministry of Forests (the Forest Service) requires an aircraft to patrol an area of their interest, it is normal practice for them to submit the flight request to the aircraft company by facsimile. The proposed flight route is assigned by the ForestService, and is based upon the areas they feel are potentially endangered by fire. The pilots and observers dispatch themselves in accordance with the 'self-dispatch' procedures in the company operations manual. Once the aircraft are airborne, en route flight-following is provided by the South-east Fire Centre of the Forest Service. The crews communicate with the Centre at specific points or times on their route, or when they spot a fire.

The BC Forest Service provided a four-hour training course to the pilots and observers of the aircraft company at the beginning of the fire season to familiarize them with the procedures of detecting and reporting of forest fires. The Forestry Service's manual, Air Patrol Course, states that "...rock slides, pollen flights and low hanging wispy clouds can give the illusion of smoke." In such cases, the pilot must check it out.

On a previous flight, the pilot of the accident aircraft made several low passes at what initially appeared to be smoke, but was found to have been dissipating cloud. The Air Patrol Course manual instructs pilots to fly overhead and conduct a high-level reconnaissance of the smoke or fire prior to any low-level reconnaissance. Furthermore, it states that "...the aircraft must always be in a position to leave the area without climbing, and up-valley flight toward a dead-end must always allow room for a safe 180-degree turn to downhill."

There were four witness to the accident. Two of the witnesses were hiking on a ridge about 0.75nm from the crash site when the sound of the aircraft caught their attention. They saw the aircraft flying up the valley, come around the knoll, continue flying until it reached the bowl, then commence a steep left turn; they described the wings as being nearly vertical during the turn. They reported that the aircraft had almost completed the turn when it hit the side of the mountain bowl. Two other witnesses were in the valley driving motorcycles down a dirt road, when they stopped and turned off their engines. They then saw the aircraft flying up the valley at 300 to 400 feet above the valley floor, proceed overhead up the valley, and crash about 0.25nm from them. They reported that because the weather was hot and dry, the roads were dusty, and their motorcycles had been raising some dust. All of the witnesses reported that the aircraft was in a climbing attitude, with the wings level, while coming up the valley. They also reported that the engines sounded as if they were at high power, and that the aircraft appeared to be under control, with no indication of any difficulties. They also noted that the landing gear and flaps were retracted.

The witnesses describe the weather conditions at the time of the accident as sunny, clear, and hot. The temperature was possibly as high as 30°C. The wind at the crest of the mountain was estimated to have been about 15 knots and going across the tops of the mountains; however, the wind down in the bowl was calm.

Analysis

Witness information concerning the aircraft immediately before impact indicates that it was operating normally and under control while flying up the valley. As well, because the pilot had called the Fire Centre seven minutes before the occurrence and gave no indication that there was any problem with the flight or the aircraft, it is unlikely that mechanical defect contributed to this accident. After the radio call, however, it is possible that the crew observed the dust being raised by the motor-cycles in the valley and, suspecting that it was smoke from a forest fire, decided to carry out low-level reconnaissance before reporting the fire to the Fire Centre.

In any event, the pilot flew up a valley that would likely have given him the illusion of there being a suitable exit route. Furthermore, because of the high outside air temperature and the high operating altitude above sea level, the aircraft performance was reduced, such that the available rate-of-climb was only sufficient to keep the aircraft at a near-constant height above the rising valley floor.

It is likely that when the aircraft turned around the knoll, the pilot saw the mountain bowl, realized that the aircraft could not out-climb the steep walls of the bowl ahead, and decided to turn around. The combination of the flight path angle, reported by witnesses as being parallel to the rising valley floor, and the steep impact angle is characteristic of an aircraft that has stalled and struck the ground. When the aircraft entered the steep turn reported by the witnesses, the aircraft's stall speed would have increased; this airspeed would have now been higher than the suspected climb speed of about 105 mph, and, as a result, the aircraft would have stalled in the turn. The aircraft was reported to be 300 to 400 feet above the ground, and, in this situation, there would have been insufficient height for the pilot to recover from the stall before the aircraft struck the ground.

Findings

  1. The pilot was certificated and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. There was nothing found to suggest any airframe failure or system malfunction had occurred either before or during the flight.
  3. The valley and surrounding terrain created an illusion that a suitable exit route existed at the end of the valley.
  4. The combination of high air temperature and altitude reduced aircraft climb performance.
  5. When the pilot entered a steep left turn to avoid the rising terrain, the stall speed increased; as a result, the aircraft stalled.
  6. When the aircraft stalled, its height above the ground was insufficient for the pilot to recover from the stall.

Causes and Contributing Factors

While the pilot was manoeuvring to avoid rising terrain, the aircraft stalled at a height which was insufficient to allow him to effect a recovery. Contributing to the accident was the reduced aircraft climb performance and the illusion created by the features of the surrounding terrain.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 25 February 1998.


1. All times are PDT (Coordinated Universal Time minus 7 hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A97P0211

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec le relief
Nelson Mountain Air Limited
Cessna 337D Super Skymaster C-FYOC
11 nm au sud-est de Salmo (Colombie-Britannique)
Le 3 août 1997

Résumé

Le Cessna 337 est parti de Nelson (Colombie-Britannique) à 13 h 13, heure avancée du Pacifique (HAP)(1) pour effectuer une patrouille de surveillance incendie au-dessus de la région sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique. L'avion transportait le pilote et un observateur qui avaient été chargés par le service des forêts de la Colombie-Britannique de signaler toute trace de fumée ou de feu de forêt. Les deux premières heures du vol se sont déroulées normalement. À 15 h 11, le pilote a appelé le régulateur du centre anti-incendie du service des forêts pour signaler qu'ils se trouvaient à cinq milles marins (nm) à l'est de Salmo, cap au nord. Des témoins ont déclaré qu'ils avaient vu l'avion voler à basse altitude vers 15 h 18 en remontant une vallée puis se mettre en virage serré à gauche au bout de la vallée et s'écraser sur le flanc de la montagne. L'appareil a été détruit sous le choc; les deux occupants ont perdu la vie. Il n'y a pas eu d'incendie.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'accident s'est produit dans une cuvette très escarpée située à l'extrémité d'une vallée qui part en pente ascendante. Dans la montée, la vallée fait une courbe de 60 degrés autour d'un tertre. Le pilote qui remonte la vallée en direction du tertre a l'impression que la vallée va se poursuivre sur une grande distance de l'autre côté du tertre; toutefois, la cuvette demeure invisible jusqu'à la fin du virage et les parois de la cuvette montent abruptement. L'avion a percuté le flanc montagneux au niveau 5 800 pieds en piqué prononcé avant de passer sur le dos. Les débris de l'avion occupaient une faible superficie, ce qui est typique d'un angle d'impact élevé. Les témoins ont déclaré que l'avion n'avait pas heurté d'arbres avant de s'écraser, et aucun signe d'impact avec un arbre n'a été relevé sur les lieux de l'accident.

Le pilote avait commencé sa formation au pilotage à Castlegar en 1989. Il travaillait pour la compagnie depuis 1996 comme pilote instructeur et pilote de vols affrétés. De par ses fonctions d'instructeur, le pilote était amené à enseigner le vol en montagne. Le pilote totalisait quelque 1 200 heures de vol, dont 34 sur multimoteur (dont 21 heures sur Cessna 337). Il avait reçu sa formation théorique et pratique sur Cessna 337 en avril 1997 avant de subir avec succès un contrôle de compétence pilote (CCP) de Transports Canada le 29 avril 1997. Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.

D'après les documents de maintenance, l'avion, qui portait le numéro de série 337-1107, était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu une défaillance de la cellule ou un mauvais fonctionnement d'un système, que ce soit avant ou pendant le vol.

Les données sur les performances de l'avion fournies par l'avionneur indiquent que la vitesse de décrochage du Cessna 337 est de 80 mi/h à la masse maximale de 4 400 livres, train et volets rentrés et ailes à l'horizontale; la vitesse de décrochage passe à 114 mi/h dans le cas d'une inclinaison latérale de 60 degrés. Des calculs ont montré que, dans des conditions environnementales semblables à celles qui prévalaient au moment de l'accident, le taux de montée maximal de l'avion aurait dû être de quelque 600 pieds par minute à une vitesse indiquée de 105 mi/h.

Lorsque la direction de la protection du ministère des forêts de la Colombie-Britannique (le service des forêts) demande à un aéronef de patrouiller une zone qui présente un certain intérêt, le service envoie normalement la demande de vol à la compagnie au moyen d'une télécopie. La trajectoire de vol proposée est établie par le service des forêts qui tient compte des zones où il croit y avoir des risques d'incendie. Les pilotes et les observateurs décident eux-mêmes s'ils peuvent partir, et ce, en vertu des procédures d'autorégulation qui figurent dans le manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie. Une fois en vol, le suivi est assuré par le centre anti-incendie sud-est du service des forêts. Les équipages communiquent avec le centre à des endroits ou à des moments précis en cours de vol, ou lorsqu'ils repèrent un incendie.

Au début de la saison des feux de forêt, le service des forêts de la Colombie-Britannique offre un cours de formation de quatre heures aux pilotes et aux observateurs pour les habituer aux procédures établies pour détecter et signaler les feux de forêt. Le manuel du service des forêts, intitulé Air Patrol Course stipule que des éboulements de rochers, des nuées de pollen ou de minces nuages qui restent accrochés près du sol peuvent donner une illusion de fumée. Dans de telles circonstances, le pilote doit vérifier la situation.

Au cours d'un vol précédent, le pilote de l'avion accidenté avait fait plusieurs passages à basse altitude pour évaluer ce qui ressemblait à prime abord à de la fumée mais qui s'est finalement révélé être des nuages en train de se dissiper. Le manuel Air Patrol Course explique aux pilotes de commencer par faire un survol et une reconnaissance à une bonne hauteur au-dessus de la fumée ou de l'incendie avant de faire une reconnaissance à basse altitude. De plus, le manuel précise que l'aéronef doit toujours être dans une position qui lui permette de quitter la zone sans avoir à prendre de l'altitude et, dans le cas d'un vol qui oblige à remonter une vallée en cul-de-sac, il doit toujours y avoir suffisamment de place pour que l'appareil puisse faire demi-tour et repartir du côté descendant.

Quatre personnes ont été témoins de l'accident. Deux d'entre eux faisaient une randonnée sur une crête située à 0,75 nm environ du lieu de l'écrasement; c'est le bruit de l'avion qui a attiré leur attention. Ils ont déclaré qu'ils avaient vu l'appareil remonter la vallée, contourner le tertre et poursuivre son vol jusqu'à la cuvette, puis se mettre en virage serré à gauche; les ailes étaient presque à la verticale pendant le virage. L'avion avait presque terminé son virage lorsqu'il a percuté le flanc de la cuvette. Les deux autres témoins ont déclaré qu'ils descendaient une piste à moto quand ils se sont arrêtés et ont coupé le moteur de leurs machines. Ils ont ensuite vu l'avion remonter la vallée entre 300 et 400 pieds au-dessus du bout de la vallée, passer au-dessus d'eux en direction amont et s'écraser à 0,25 nm environ d'eux. Ils ont déclaré que, comme le temps était chaud et sec, les pistes étaient poussiéreuses et que leurs motos avaient soulevé un peu de poussière. Tous les témoins ont déclaré que l'avion était en montée, les ailes à l'horizontale en remontant la vallée. Ils ont également précisé que le bruit des moteurs semblaient correspondre à un régime élevé et que l'avion semblait être sous la maîtrise de son pilote sans aucun signe de problème apparent. Ils ont aussi remarqué que le train d'atterrissage et les volets étaient rentrés.

D'après les témoins, au moment de l'accident, le temps était ensoleillé, chaud et sec. La température atteignait peut-être les 30 °C. On a estimé que le vent au sommet de la montagne soufflait à une vitesse de quelque 15 noeuds de façon perpendiculaire aux sommets des montagnes; toutefois, le vent en contrebas dans la cuvette était calme.

Analyse

D'après les renseignements fournis par les témoins à propos du comportement de l'avion juste avant l'impact pendant qu'il remontait la vallée, l'appareil fonctionnait normalement et le pilote en avait la maîtrise. De plus, comme le pilote avait appelé le centre anti-incendie sept minutes avant les faits et n'avait signalé aucune anomalie relative au vol ou à l'avion, il est peu probable qu'un ennui mécanique ait contribué à l'accident. Il est toutefois possible qu'après le message radio, l'équipage ait aperçu de la poussière soulevée par les motos dans la vallée et que, pensant qu'il s'agissait de fumée provenant d'un feu de forêt, il ait décidé de faire une reconnaissance à basse altitude avant d'appeler le centre anti-incendie.

Quoi qu'il en soit, le pilote a remonté une vallée qui lui a probablement donné l'illusion qu'il pourrait en sortir sans problème. De plus, compte tenu de la température extérieure élevée et de la haute altitude à laquelle évoluait l'avion, les performances de l'appareil étaient réduites au point où le taux de montée possible suffisait seulement à maintenir l'appareil à une hauteur constante ou presque au-dessus du bout de la vallée ascendante.

Selon toute vraisemblance, au moment où l'avion a contourné le tertre, le pilote a vu la cuvette et a réalisé qu'il ne pourrait pas en franchir les parois escarpées et il a décidé de faire demi-tour. L'angle de la trajectoire de vol, décrit par les témoins comme parallèle au plancher de la vallée ascendante, ainsi que le fort angle d'impact sont typiques d'un avion qui décroche avant de s'écraser. Quand l'avion est parti dans le virage serré décrit par les témoins, la vitesse de décrochage a dû augmenter; la vitesse aurait alors dû être supérieure aux quelque 105 mi/h de la vitesse supposée en montée et, en conséquence, l'avion a dû décrocher dans le virage. Comme l'avion évoluait, semble-t-il, entre 300 et 400 pieds au-dessus du sol, l'altitude disponible était insuffisante pour effectuer une sortie de décrochage.

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu une défaillance de la cellule ou un mauvais fonctionnement d'un système de l'avion, que ce soit avant ou pendant le vol.
  3. La vallée et le relief environnant donnaient l'illusion qu'on pouvait sortir sans problème au bout de la vallée.
  4. La température élevée et la haute altitude ont réduit les performances de montée de l'avion.
  5. La vitesse de décrochage a augmenté quand le pilote s'est mis en virage serré à gauche pour éviter le relief ascendant, et l'avion a décroché.
  6. L'altitude disponible était insuffisante pour permettre d'effectuer une sortie de décrochage.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'avion a décroché pendant que le pilote manoeuvrait pour éviter le relief ascendant, et l'altitude disponible était insuffisante pour effectuer une sortie de décrochage. Facteurs contributifs : les performances de montée réduites de l'avion et l'illusion créée par le relief environnant.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 25 février 1998 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAP (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins sept heures), sauf indication contraire.