Aviation Investigation Report A97Q0032

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

In-Flight Breakup
Cessna A185F C-GCTI
Sept-Îles, Quebec 21 nm N
17 February 1997

Summary

The ski-equipped Cessna A185F, serial No. 18502495, registration C-GCTI, took off at 1045 eastern daylight time (EDT) from Sept-Îles Airport, Quebec, on a visual flight to Wabush, Newfoundland. Shortly after reaching its cruise altitude of 4,500 feet above sea level (asl), at an indicated airspeed of approximately 145 mph, the aircraft pitched down sharply. The pilot immediately reduced power and pulled back on the elevator to stabilize the aircraft. The aircraft stabilized for about two seconds, then broke up.

The aircraft was flying over a wooded area with an average elevation of 1,000 feet asl and was found 14 nautical miles north of Sept-Îles Airport, broken up into several pieces. The pilot and the aircraft owner were seated in front and sustained fatal injuries at ground impact. Two passengers, seated in the rear, survived the fall of about 3,500 feet.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot had held a commercial pilot licence since 1991 and had over 2,900 flying hours. At the time of the occurrence, he was the chief pilot for an air carrier located in the region. There was no evidence that psychological or physiological factors affected the pilot's performance. Toxicology testing revealed nothing unusual.

Weather conditions at Sept-Îles were favourable for the flight as planned. The weather report issued at 1100(1) indicated a few clouds at 1,500 feet and visibility of 30 statute miles. The temperature was minus 22 degrees Celsius and the winds were from 270 degrees magnetic at seven knots. No pilots reported turbulence or high winds at altitude in the Sept-Îles area.

The aircraft was purchased from the manufacturer in April 1975 by the former operator. In December 1975, Airglas LW3600-180A skis were installed on the aircraft. In subsequent winters, the operator did not reinstall the Airglas skis because he had purchased another model of skis. When the current owner purchased the aircraft in November 1996, it had about 1,680 flying hours since new. The aircraft was purchased in float-equipped configuration, and the wheels and Airglas skis were included in the transaction.

In December 1996, an aircraft maintenance engineer (AME) removed the floats and installed the wheels. Approximately three hours were flown, and no vibrations or other irregularities that would have indicated a potential problem were observed on the aircraft. On 13 February 1997, the owner had the Airglas skis installed by the same AME. The AME observed nothing unusual during the installation. No research was done regarding the airworthiness directives (ADs) applicable to this type of aircraft; however, the entries in the technical log-books and the amendment to the weight and balance report were made in accordance with existing regulations.

Section 605.84 of the Canadian Air Regulations (CARs) provides the following extract:

  • No person shall conduct a take-off, or permit a take-off to be conducted in an aircraft that is in the legal custody and control of the person, unless the aircraft is maintained in accordance with
    • b) the requirements of any airworthiness directives issued by the Minister pursuant to section 593.02; and . . .

Subpart 71 of Part V of the CARs provides that responsibility for complying with ADs rests with the aircraft owner. If the owner wants the AME to do research as a separate maintenance task, he must so indicate in a document specifying the agreements. Responsibility is thereby delegated.

On the morning of 17 February, the pilot and one passenger made a familiarization and test flight in preparation for the flight to Wabush planned for later that morning. They flew two circuits at Sept-Îles Airport. On returning from that flight, both were satisfied with the aircraft's performance. Shortly after the arrival of the aircraft owner and another passenger, the aircraft took off for Wabush.

The rear passengers reported that, while in flight at cruise altitude, they suddenly noticed that their legs were hanging in the air and they were descending in a turn. The fuselage had separated between the front and rear seats, and the engine had broken away. They tried to unfasten their seat-belts, but centrifugal force prevented them from doing so. The forward fuselage struck the snow-covered surface upside-down, penetrated through five to six feet of unpacked snow, and struck the ground. The pilot and front passenger, who were still attached to their seats in the forward fuselage, perished at impact. The rear of the fuselage, with the other two passengers, struck the ground on the left side. The passenger seated on the right was not injured, and he made a fire to protect his companion from the cold and to keep them both alive. Although the left passenger could not move around, he was able to call for help on his cellular phone one hour after the occurrence. About three hours later, they were rescued and transported to hospital for the usual examinations.

With the exception of the right landing gear, which was found on 20 May 1997, all major components of the aircraft were found in the first few days of the investigation. The aircraft was shipped to the TSB Engineering Branch for detailed analysis. The distribution of the parts on the ground and the lack of any evidence of forward speed indicate that the aircraft broke up in flight. The wreckage distribution diagram is at Appendix A.

Examination of the aircraft showed the right wing had red and black transfer marks from the right ski. The marks on the wing extended from the leading edge to the main spar, and there were also marks on the wing strut. Aft of the wing spar, there were tears caused by instantaneous overload. The wing attachment was still fastened to the carry-through structure. The carry-through structure failed in overload. The left wing also failed in overload, and it carried with it the rest of the carry-through structure. The fuselage separated aft of the seats. Red marks were found on the vertical stabilizer and left elevator.

There were transfer marks of white paint on the right ski. The metal plate screwed to the ski tip and used to attach the bungee and steel cable was torn off. The bungee failed near the fitting at the ski tip. The steel cable presented a typical form of failure in overload.

The four engine mount brackets failed in instantaneous overload. One of the blades had two indentations near the tip. The first indentation, close to the blade tip, was deep and of a diameter consistent with that of the cable attached to the ski tip. The second indentation was consistent with the metal plate normally screwed to the ski tip. As a simulation, the engine was temporarily replaced in its normal position. This simulation established that the cable attached to the right ski tip was severed by the propeller.

On 21 September 1979, the manufacturer of Airglas skis issued a mandatory Service Bulletin (SB) LW3600-3. The purpose of the modifications outlined in the SB was to prevent the skis from rotating downward, which causes severe unbalancing of the aircraft and makes it hard to control. The bungees were to be replaced with a type that was more suitable for low temperatures. The bungee and forward steel cable attachment points were to be relocated near the windshield, and the aft steel cable attachments were to be relocated on the skis. As well, with the skis installed, the aircraft speed was to be limited to 160 KIAS, and a speed limit placard was to be installed on the instrument panel. On 12 May 1980, the Federal Aviation Authority (FAA) issued AD 80-10-01, directing owners to install a placard to limit speed to 160 KIAS with the skis installed, and to comply with Airglas Service Bulletin LW3600-3 within 50 hours time in service after the effective date of the AD, and thereafter any time that the skis are installed. On 21 July 1980, Transport Canada issued AD 80-18 which required that, before the next flight and, after that, whenever the skis are installed, Airglas SB LW3600-3 be complied with and that a placard be installed limiting speed to 145 KIAS when the skis are installed. That AD had not been completed on the accident aircraft.

Installation of Cables and Bungees

The aircraft technical log-book contained a sheet of notes mentioning Cessna AD 80-10-01 with the description "ski, rotating tip down", and the notation "n/a to equipment installed". This note was written by the former operator's AME and was a reminder for him.

Figure 2 is a schematic of the installation of a landing gear leg on the Cessna 185. When the leg is not on the ground, the bolt is under tension, and at other times it serves as a locator to hold the assembly in position. On the right side of the aircraft, the upper part of the landing gear leg support bracket was torn away and the outboard lower part showed evidence of compression. The cabin floor area above the ski attachment angle was punctured by the tip of the landing gear leg. There is a hole to insert bolt AN-7 in the attachment angle. The interior surface of this bolt hole shows clear thread imprints on the inboard side. The number of threads matches that observed when the nut is engaged up to the fibre locking portion. The lower part of the attachment angle showed hexagonal imprints consistent with the shape of the nut. These nut and thread imprints were not observed on the left landing gear attachment angle.

View of Right Landing Gear

Analysis

The pilot was qualified for the flight and the weather was favourable for the flight as planned.

At cruise altitude, as the aircraft speed increased, the angle of attack decreased and the right ski rotated downward. It is possible that this situation was aggravated because the nut (AN-7) was not tight enough, and the right ski was hanging lower than the left ski. The sudden increase in resistance when the ski rotated downward would have caused the aircraft to pitch down. The bungee stretched, probably resisted for a few seconds allowing the pilot to attempt to correct the attitude, then failed. (See Appendix B - In-Flight Breakup Sequence).

When the bungee failed, it allowed the ski to continue rotating. The bolts holding the metal plate on the ski tip failed in tension, allowing the steel cable to recoil and strike the propeller. The propeller plane of rotation was modified, and this produced excessive tension on the engine mount brackets, which failed, and the engine separated from the aircraft. At the same time, the ski continued to rotate rapidly toward its physical limit, exerting downward force on the landing gear leg. The nut on the AN-7 bolt failed and the floor was punctured.

When the engine separated, the aircraft pitched up as a result of aerodynamic forces and the shift in its centre of gravity. The ski then cut the right wing strut and the leading edge aft to the main spar. During this sequence, the forward carry-through structure was damaged, allowing the two wings to tear off. Finally, lacking a viable structure, the fuselage separated at the aft door pillar. Transfers of colour from the ski were also found on the vertical stabilizer and left elevator, suggesting that the fuselage rotated to the right after losing the right wing. After a descent of about 3,500 feet, the various pieces crashed on the ground.

When the skis were being installed, the AME did not research the ADs in effect, and did not notice that there was a note to that effect in the technical log-book. Consequently, AD CF-80-18 was not completed by the AME when the Airglas skis were installed. The CARs provide that the responsibility for complying with ADs rests with the person who has legal control of the aircraft unless that responsibility is specifically delegated in a document setting out the agreement.

The following laboratory reports were completed:

  • LP 034/97 - Structural Examination - In-Flight Breakup
  • LP 52/97 - Examination - Aircraft Engine & Propeller

Findings

  1. The pilot was qualified for the flight.
  2. Airworthiness Directive CF-80-18 relating to the installation of steel cables and bungees had not been complied with.
  3. The nut on bolt AN-7 that fastens the landing gear leg was incorrectly tightened when the skis were being installed, and the bolt failed in flight.
  4. The bungee on the right ski failed in flight and allowed the ski to rotate downward. The bracket tore off the ski and was thrown into the propeller causing the engine mounts to fail.
  5. The right ski and landing gear separated and struck the right wing of the aircraft.
  6. The aircraft broke up into several pieces in flight.

Causes and Contributing Factors

An incorrectly tightened bolt and non-compliance with an airworthiness directive allowed the right ski and landing gear to separate from the aircraft in flight and strike the right wing. The aircraft subsequently broke up and fell to the ground in pieces.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 04 February 1998.

Appendix A - Wreckage Distribution Diagram

Wreckage Distribution

Appendix B - In-Flight Breakup Sequence

In-Flight Break up Sequence

1. All times are eastern daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus four hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A97Q0032

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Désintégration en vol
Cessna A185F C-GCTI
21 nm au nord de Sept-Îles (Québec)
17 février 1997

Résumé

Le Cessna A185F (no de série 18502495) sur skis et immatriculé C-GCTI décolle à 10 h 45, heure avancée de l'Est (HAE) de l'aéroport de Sept-îles (Québec) pour un vol à vue en direction de Wabush (Terre-Neuve). Peu après avoir atteint l'altitude de croisière de 4 500 pieds-mer, et à une vitesse indiquée d'environ 145 mi/h, l'avion se met en piqué prononcé. Le pilote réduit la puissance et tire sur la gouverne de profondeur pour stabiliser l'avion. L'appareil se stabilise pendant environ deux secondes, puis se désintègre.

Au moment de la dislocation, l'appareil survolait une région boisée d'une altitude moyenne de 1 000 pieds-mer. L'avion a été retrouvé à 14 milles marins au nord de l'aéroport de Sept-Îles; il s'était rompu en plusieurs morceaux. Le pilote et le propriétaire de l'appareil en place avant ont perdu la vie dans l'accident. Les deux passagers en place arrière ont survécu à la chute de près de 3 500 pieds.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote était titulaire de la licence de pilote professionnelle depuis 1991 et totalisait plus de 2 900 heures de vol. Au moment de l'accident, il occupait le poste de chef-pilote pour un transporteur aérien de la région. Rien n'indique que des facteurs physiologiques ou psychologiques aient pu perturber les capacités du pilote. L'examen toxicologique n'a rien révélé d'anormal.

Les conditions météorologiques à Sept-Îles étaient favorables au vol. Le rapport météorologique émis à 11 h(1) faisait état de quelques nuages à 1 500 pieds et d'une visibilité de 30 milles. La température était de moins 22 degrés Celsius et les vents soufflaient du 270 degrés magnétique à sept noeuds. Aucun aéronef n'a signalé de turbulence ou de vents forts en altitude dans le secteur de Sept-Îles.

L'appareil avait été acheté du constructeur en avril 1975 par l'ancien exploitant. En décembre 1975, des skis Airglas LW3600-180A avaient été installés sur l'appareil. Lors des périodes hivernales subséquentes, l'exploitant n'avait pas installé les skis Airglas parce qu'il s'était procuré des skis d'un autre modèle. Lors de l'achat de l'appareil par le propriétaire actuel en novembre 1996, l'aéronef totalisait environ 1 680 heures de vol depuis sa construction. Au moment de l'achat, l'appareil était équipé de flotteurs, et les roues et les skis Airglas faisaient partie de la transaction.

En décembre 1996, un technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA) a enlevé les flotteurs et a installé les roues. Environ trois heures de vol ont été effectuées ainsi, et aucune vibration ni anomalie permettant de suspecter une difficulté potentielle n'ont été observées sur l'aéronef. Le 13 février 1997, le propriétaire a fait installer les skis Airglas par le même TEA. Le TEA n'a rien observé d'anormal au moment de l'installation. Aucune recherche n'a été effectuée sur les consignes de navigabilité applicables au type d'aéronef; toutefois, les entrées dans les livrets techniques et l'amendement au rapport de masse et centrage ont été effectués conformément aux exigences de la réglementation en vigueur.

L'article 605.84 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) stipule que :

  • Il est interdit à toute personne d'effectuer le décollage d'un aéronef dont elle a la garde et la responsabilité légales ou de permettre à toute personne d'effectuer un tel décollage à moins que la maintenance de l'aéronef ne soit effectuée conformément :
    • b)à toute consigne de navigabilité délivrée par le ministre en application de l'article 593.02 . . .

Une des exigences de la sous-partie 71 de la partie 5 du RAC stipule, entre autres, que la responsabilité du respect des consignes de navigabilité incombe au propriétaire de l'aéronef. Si le propriétaire désire que le TEA effectue des recherches à titre de maintenance distinct, il doit l'indiquer sur un document qui spécifie les ententes. La responsabilité est alors déléguée.

Le 17 février au matin, le pilote et un passager ont effectué un vol de familiarisation et de vérification en vue du vol pour Wabush prévu plus tard dans la matinée. Ils ont effectué deux circuits à l'aéroport de Sept-Îles. Au retour de ce vol, ils étaient tous deux satisfaits des performances de l'avion. Peu après l'arrivée du propriétaire de l'appareil et d'un autre passager, l'avion a décollé en direction de Wabush.

Les passagers en place arrière ont déclaré que, pendant le vol à l'altitude de croisière, ils ont soudainement remarqué qu'ils avaient les pieds dans le vide et qu'ils descendaient tout en tournant. Le fuselage s'était séparé entre les sièges avant et les sièges arrière, et le moteur s'était détaché de l'avion. Ils ont essayé de détacher leur ceinture de sécurité, mais la force centrifuge les en empêchait. La partie avant du fuselage a heurté la surface enneigée à l'envers et a traversé une couche de 5 ou 6 pieds de neige non compactée avant de percuter le sol. Le pilote et le passager avant qui étaient toujours attachés à leur siège dans le fuselage avant sont morts sur le coup. La partie arrière du fuselage où se trouvaient les deux autres passagers a percuté le sol sur le côté gauche. Le passager assis à droite n'a subi aucune blessure et a fait un feu pour protéger son compagnon du froid et assurer leur survie. Le passager qui était assis à gauche ne pouvait pas se déplacer, mais il a tout de même réussi, une heure après l'accident, à demander de l'aide avec son téléphone cellulaire. Près de trois heures plus tard, les secours arrivaient et ils étaient transportés à l'hôpital pour les examens d'usage.

À l'exception du train d'atterrissage droit retrouvé le 20 mai 1997, toutes les composantes majeures de l'appareil ont été retrouvées au cours des premiers jours de l'enquête. L'appareil a été acheminé au Laboratoire technique du BST pour une analyse approfondie. La répartition des pièces au sol ainsi que l'absence d'indication de vitesse longitudinale sont typiques d'une désintégration en vol. Voir le schéma de la répartition des débris à l'annexe A.

L'examen de l'appareil a montré que l'aile droite présentait des marques rouges et noires provenant du ski droit. Les marques se prolongeaient du bord d'attaque jusqu'au longeron principal ainsi que sur le hauban de l'aile. Après le longeron de l'aile, les déchirures étaient des déchirures en surcharge instantanée. L'attache de l'aile était toujours rattachée à la structure qui traverse le fuselage (structure traversante). Cette dernière s'est rompue en surcharge. L'aile gauche s'est également rompue en surcharge et a emporté avec elle le reste de la structure traversante. Le fuselage s'est séparé derrière les sièges. Il y avait des marques rouges sur la dérive ainsi que sur la gouverne de profondeur gauche.

Le ski droit présentait des marques de peinture blanche. La plaque de métal, vissée sur le devant du ski et servant de support pour l'extenseur et le câble d'acier avant avait été arrachée. L'extenseur s'est rompu près de l'attache avant du ski. Le câble d'acier présentait une rupture en surcharge typique.

Les quatre supports de moteur se sont rompus en surcharge instantanée. L'une des pales avait deux encoches près de son extrémité. La première, près de l'extrémité de la pale, était profonde et le diamètre rappelait celui du câble avant du ski. La deuxième encoche correspondait à la plaque de métal normalement vissée au devant du ski. Pour fins de simulation, le moteur a été remis momentanément en place. Cette simulation a permis d'établir que le câble avant du ski droit avait été coupé par l'hélice.

Installation des cables et des extenseurs

Le 21 septembre 1979, le fabricant des skis Airglas avait émis le bulletin de service obligatoire LW3600-3. Les modifications indiquées dans le bulletin avait pour objet d'éliminer le basculement des skis vers le bas, basculement qui cause un déséquilibre très prononcé et rend l'appareil difficile à contrôler. Les extenseurs devaient être remplacés par des extenseurs mieux adaptés aux basses températures. Les points de fixation de l'extenseur et du câble d'acier avant devaient également être relocalisés près du pare-brise, et les points de fixation du câble d'acier arrière devaient être relocalisés sur les skis. De plus, lorsque l'aéronef serait équipé des skis, la vitesse indiquée de l'avion serait limitée à 160 noeuds, et une affiche de limitation de vitesse devait être apposée sur le tableau de bord. Le 12 mai 1980, la Federal Aviation Authority (FAA) avait publié la consigne de navigabilité 80-10-01, demandant aux propriétaires d'apposer une affiche demandant au pilote de ne pas dépasser la vitesse de 160 noeuds quand l'avion est équipé des skis, et d'exécuter le bulletin de service LW3600-3 d'Airglas moins de 50 heures en service après la date d'entrée en vigueur de la consigne de navigabilité, et par la suite, chaque fois que l'avion est équipé des skis. Le 21 juillet 1980, Transports Canada a publié la consigne 80-18 qui exigeait qu'avant le prochain vol, et après cela, chaque fois que l'avion est équipé des skis, qu'on se conforme au bulletin LW3600-3 d'Airglas, et qu'une affiche soit apposée sur le tableau de bord de l'avion indiquant que la limite de vitesse est de 145 noeuds quand l'avion est équipé des skis. La consigne de navigabilité n'avait pas été exécutée sur l'avion accidenté.

Le livret technique de l'aéronef contenait une feuille de notes sur laquelle était indiquée la consigne de navigabilité de Cessna 80-10-01 avec la description "ski, rotating tip down" et la note «non applicable, faire si équipement installé». Cette note avait été écrite par le TEA de l'ancien exploitant et lui servait d'aide-mémoire.

La figure 2 représente l'installation d'une jambe de train d'atterrissage sur le Cessna 185. Lorsque la jambe de train ne repose pas au sol, le boulon force en tension, sinon il sert de guide pour maintenir l'assemblage en position. Après l'accident, du côté droit de l'appareil, la partie supérieure du support de la jambe du train d'atterrissage était arrachée tandis que la partie inférieure externe montrait des signes de compression. La partie du plancher située au-dessus de la structure de l'attache du ski avait été défoncée par l'extrémité de la jambe du train d'atterrissage. Il y a un trou dans la structure de l'attache pour recevoir le boulon de type AN-7. À l'intérieur du trou et vers le fuselage, les filets ont laissé une marque distincte. Le nombre de filets correspond à celui observée lorsque l'écrou est vissé jusqu'au verrou de fibre. La partie inférieure de la structure de l'attache présentait des marques de forme hexagonale rappelant la forme de l'écrou. Ces marques d'écrou ainsi que les marques de filets n'ont pas été observées sur la structure de l'attache du train d'atterrissage gauche.

Vue Du Train D'atterrissage Droit

Analyse

Le pilote possédait les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol, et les conditions météorologiques étaient favorables au vol.

À l'altitude de croisière, le pilote a modifié l'assiette de l'appareil, et la vitesse a augmenté. Cette diminution de l'angle d'attaque a forcé le ski droit à basculer vers le bas. Il est possible que cette situation ait été aggravée parce que l'écrou AN-7 n'était pas suffisamment serré; le ski droit pendait plus bas que celui de gauche. Cette augmentation soudaine de la résistance quand le ski a basculé vers le bas a provoqué une descente. L'extenseur s'est tendu, a probablement résisté pendant quelques secondes puis s'est rompu. Cette courte période a permis au pilote de tenter de corriger l'assiette (voir l'annexe B - Séquence de la rupture en vol).

En se rompant, l'extenseur a permis au ski de continuer à pivoter. Les boulons qui retenaient la plaque de métal sur le devant du ski se sont rompus en tension, ce qui a permis au câble d'acier de partir comme un fouet en sens inverse et de se prendre dans l'hélice. Le plan de rotation de l'hélice a été modifié, ce qui a exercé une trop forte tension sur les supports du moteur qui ont cédé, et le moteur s'est détaché de l'avion. Pendant ce temps, le ski a continué à pivoter rapidement vers sa limite physique, imposant une force vers le bas sur la jambe du train d'atterrissage. L'écrou du boulon AN-7 a cédé, et le plancher s'est rompu.

Lorsque le moteur s'est détaché, l'appareil s'est cabré sous l'effet des forces aérodynamiques et la modification du centrage. Le ski a alors coupé le hauban de l'aile droite ainsi que le bord d'attaque jusqu'au longeron principal. Pendant cette séquence, la structure traversante avant a été endommagée, facilitant ainsi la séparation des deux ailes. Finalement, en l'absence d'une structure forte, le fuselage s'est séparé au niveau de la structure arrière de la porte. Des marques de peinture provenant du ski ont aussi été relevées sur la dérive ainsi que sur la gouverne de profondeur gauche, ce qui suggère que le fuselage a fait des tours vers la droite après avoir perdu l'aile droite. Après une descente de près de 3 500 pieds, les divers morceaux de l'avion se sont écrasés au sol.

Lors de l'installation des skis, le TEA n'a pas effectué de recherche concernant les consignes de navigabilité en vigueur, ni ne s'est rendu compte qu'il y avait une note à cet effet dans le livret technique. La consigne de navigabilité CF-80-18 n'a donc pas été exécutée par le TEA lors de l'installation des skis Airglas. Le RAC stipule que le respect des consignes de navigabilité incombe au responsable légal de l'appareil à moins que cette responsabilité n'ait été spécifiquement délégué dans un document stipulant l'entente.

L'enquête a donné lieu aux rapports de laboratoire suivants :

  • LP 034/97 - Structural Examination - In-Flight Breakup (Examen structural - Désintégration en vol);
  • LP 52 /97 - Examination - Aircraft Engine & Propeller (Examen du moteur et de l'hélice de l'avion).

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote possédait les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol.
  2. La consigne de navigabilité CF-80-18 concernant l'installation des câbles d'acier et des extenseurs n'avait pas été exécutée.
  3. L'écrou du boulon AN-7 qui retient la jambe du train d'atterrissage avait été mal assujetti lors de l'installation des skis, et le boulon a cédé en vol.
  4. L'extenseur retenant le ski droit s'est rompu en vol et a permis au ski de pivoter. L'attache s'est détachée du ski et a été projetée dans l'hélice, et les supports du moteur ont cédé.
  5. Le ski et le train d'atterrissage droits se sont détachés et ont heurté l'aile droite de l'appareil.
  6. L'appareil s'est rompu en vol en plusieurs morceaux.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Un écrou mal assujetti ainsi qu'une consigne de navigabilité qui n'avait pas été exécutée ont permis au ski et au train d'atterrissage droits de se détacher en vol et de heurter l'aile droite. L'appareil s'est ensuite désintégré avant de retomber au sol en morceaux.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 4 février 1998 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles H. Simpson et W.A. Tadros.

Annexe A - Schéma de la répartition des débris

Schéma de la répartition des débris

Annexe B - Séquence de la rupture en vol

Séquence de la rupture en vol


1. Toutes les heures sont exprimées en heure avancée de l'Est (temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins quatre heures), sauf indication contraire.