Aviation Investigation Report A97Q0183

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Wire strike on take-off
Piper Aztec PA23-250 C-GFNT
Squaw Lake, Quebec
22 August 1997

Summary

The float-equipped Piper Aztec, serial number 274191, with three occupants on board, was on a private business flight from Squaw Lake, Quebec, to Dick Lake, Quebec, under visual flight rules. The pilot first tried to take off northward, but had to abort the take-off because a fuel tank cap was open. A few moments later, he began the take-off run southward; the aircraft travelled about 8,000 feet before becoming airborne. The aircraft did not attain a high rate of climb, but continued its flight at about 100 feet above the trees. The Flight Service Station (FSS) specialist, who was following the aircraft visually, noticed a brief power outage at his work station, then saw a cloud of smoke rising on the horizon. He tried unsuccessfully several times to contact the aircraft by radio. He then asked a helicopter flying over the area to go to the source of the smoke and check whether an accident had occurred. The helicopter pilot arrived a few minutes later, and confirmed that the aircraft had crashed after striking a high-voltage line.

An intense fire then erupted, and the aircraft sustained substantial damage. The pilot was able to evacuate the aircraft by the left forward door, passing through the flames and suffering serious injuries. The two passengers were unable to evacuate the aircraft, and they were fatally injured.

Ce rapport existe également en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He had approximately 13,000 flying hours, including approximately 3,000 hours on multi-engine aircraft and 800 hours on type.

According to the records, the aircraft was certified, equipped and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. There was no evidence of any airframe failure or engine or system malfunction on take-off. The aircraft had no known deficiencies before the flight.

The pilot had little rest in the 48 hours before the flight. He had been busy preparing his hunting camps for the season that was just opening. Logistics and monitoring his employees took a great deal of his time. He had slept for only about three hours on each of the two nights preceding the flight.

A person who does not get as much sleep as he needs will suffer from sleep deprivation and degraded performance. Cognitive tasks or those requiring alertness are especially affected. A person who is fatigued is also more willing to take risks: repeated lack of sleep and circadian disruption can lead to reduced alertness, degraded performance and mood impairment.(1)

Section 602.02 of the Canadian Air Regulations states the following:

  • No operator of an aircraft shall require any person to act as a flight crew member and no person shall act as a flight crew member, if either the person or the operator has any reason to believe, having regard to the circumstances of the particular flight to be undertaken, that the person (a) is suffering or is likely to suffer from fatigue; or (b) is otherwise unfit to perform properly the person's duties as a flight crew member.

On the morning of the occurrence, the pilot left his home in Saint-Nicéphore, Quebec around 6 o'clock for Dorval Airport, Montreal, to take a commercial flight to Schefferville, Quebec. From Schefferville he was to fly his private aircraft to take two of his employees, who were cooks, to two different camps, with their personal effects, food and equipment for the camps. The clients, who were also going to the same camps, had already taken off and were en route to their destinations.

The weather observations taken by the FSS specialist at Squaw Lake at 1218, eastern daylight time,(2) a few minutes after the occurrence, were as follows: winds from 120o true at three knots, and visibility 15 miles. The cloud layer consisted of a few clouds at 3,000 feet, and the ceiling was estimated at 20,000 feet with broken clouds. The temperature was 18 degrees Celsius (oC), the dew point 4oC and the altimeter setting 30.20. The clouds were cumulus with an opacity of five eighths, and cirrus with an opacity of three eighths. According to the pilot, there was a light tail wind on the take-off toward the south.

The aircraft was loaded at the Air Saguenay dock. Both internal tanks were filled to capacity, while the level in the two external tanks was about one inch from the bottom. While the pilot was busy preparing the aircraft for the flight, two of his employees loaded the baggage on the aircraft. No baggage or cargo was weighed on the scale available on the Air Saguenay dock. According to the information obtained, two weight and centre of gravity estimates were calculated; they are appended. The first estimate was calculated using the weight as evaluated by the pilot; this evaluation shows that the aircraft was not overloaded and that the centre of gravity was within the envelope. The maximum zero fuel weight, which is 4,400 pounds, was exceeded by 113 pounds (see Appendix A). A second evaluation was done according to the statements of the employees who loaded the aircraft. According to that evaluation, the aircraft was overloaded by 322.5 pounds, and the centre of gravity was 5.97 inches aft of the aft limit, and outside the envelope. In that configuration, the maximum zero fuel weight was exceeded by 630.5 pounds (see Appendix B).

In an aircraft, the position of the centre of gravity plays a very important role in longitudinal stability. If the aircraft is loaded so that the centre of gravity is too far aft, the aircraft will tend to adopt a nose-up attitude rather than nose-down. Inherent stability will be lacking, and even though it is possible to correct this situation by moving the elevator down, longitudinal control of the aircraft will still be difficult, or impossible in some cases. Weight affects the aircraft's stall speed. Additional weight forces the aircraft to maintain a greater angle of attack to produce the lift necessary to sustain flight. Thus the critical angle of attack will be attained at a higher speed. The greater the angle of attack, the greater the drag will be. At a specific angle of attack, the aircraft enters the slow flying range. In the slow flying range, if the angle of attack is increased, lift does not increase further; on the contrary, it decreases, and drag increases. A slight increase in angle of attack may result in a stall. During initial training, pilots are trained to recognize the symptoms of slow flying, especially to avoid this phase of flight, and thereby to avoid a stall. There are several conditions where an aircraft may encounter the slow flight speed range. Some of these conditions are: take-off, landing, recovering from a misjudged landing, an overshoot, and an approach to a stall.

Squaw Lake is oriented northwest/southeast and is about two and a half miles long (see Appendix C). To the southeast, at the end of the lake, there is a valley between two hills. The elevation of the lake is 1,616 feet above sea level (asl), whereas the elevation at the first point of impact of the aircraft was 1,800 feet asl. The aircraft apparently covered about 8,000 feet before lifting off, and apparently flew for about 8,000 feet before striking the ground. The pilot stated that he realized that the aircraft was not achieving its usual performance during the initial climb. During the take-off run, the aircraft travelled for a longer than normal distance before taking off. The pilot attributed that situation to the tail wind. Normally, once the aircraft was flying, the pilot lowered its nose to retract the flaps and allow the aircraft to accelerate at the best rate of climb. In this case, the pilot could not retract the flaps because of the shoreline and the obstacles that were quickly approaching. He pulled back on the controls and tried to gain altitude while maintaining a speed of approximately 80 mph, with the flaps still down 15 degrees. The pilot attempted to clear the obstacles on his flight path, but when the high-voltage wires appeared ahead, he could not take evasive action to clear the obstacle. The aircraft struck the high-voltage lines and a wooden pole, then went nose down and pivoted around the pole before crashing on the ground. An intense fire broke out after the aircraft came to rest.

According to the owner's manual for the Piper Aztec, the climbing speed recommended for maximum weight configuration is 120 mph. At that speed, the aircraft is capable of a rate of climb of 1,490 feet per minute. The speed at the best angle of climb, used to clear an obstacle at the end of the runway, is 107 mph.

According to an experienced pilot with many flying hours on the same float-equipped aircraft type, when loaded to the maximum weight of 5,200 pounds, with the flaps at 15 degrees, the aircraft requires a distance of about 3,000 feet for take-off. For example, on a lake a mile and a half long, if the aircraft does not lift off within the set limits, the loading must be revised to distribute the weight better, and the floats must be checked to make certain they do not contain any water. According to this pilot, the most critical factor is not to exceed the 150-pounds limit in the aft baggage hold, so as not to move the centre of gravity aft outside the envelope; that would cause the aircraft to be nose-up, both during the take-off run and when airborne.

Examination of the wreckage showed that the fuel on board the aircraft flowed toward the centre of the aircraft, helping the fire spread quickly and contributing to the almost total destruction of the aircraft. Due to the fire damage, no evidence could be found as to whether any of the aircraft systems malfunctioned in flight or there was a structural failure of the airframe or other aircraft components. It was impossible to confirm the flight controls integrity. However, the pilot confirmed that the aircraft had no known or suspected deficiencies before the flight.

The initial information suggested that there had been a loss or reduction in power in one of the engines during the initial climb; that would explain why the aircraft was unable to gain sufficient altitude to clear the obstacles. The damage observed to the engines and propellers is consistent with an impact at high power. The engines and propellers were sent to the TSB Engineering Laboratory for analysis. The results of the analysis showed that both engines were producing power; that was confirmed by the pilot.

Analysis

The pilot had not taken enough rest in preparation for the flight he was to undertake. He had not allowed enough time to prepare his camps for the hunting season, placing himself under pressure. He was highly stressed because of the very tight schedules he had set for himself. The pilot, pressed for time, did not check the cargo weight on the scale available on the Air Saguenay loading dock. He decided to take off with an aircraft that was overloaded and whose centre of gravity was too far aft. Knowing that his clients were already flying to the camps, and that the cooks had not yet arrived, led him to be determined to take off on his second attempt. The aircraft used a greater than normal distance before lifting off. At any time during this second attempt, the pilot could have aborted the take-off run and revised his load, but he decided to continue.

The aircraft took an abnormally long distance before rising out of the water because of its nose-up attitude, caused by the fact that the centre of gravity was outside the envelope and displaced aft, and because of the excess weight. This nose-up attitude of the floats in the water caused drag that prevented the aircraft from accelerating during the take-off run within the normal distance. After 8,000 feet of take-off run, which is over twice the distance normally required, the aircraft lifted off, partly due to the ground effects phenomenon. The observed behaviour of the aircraft on take-off suggests that the estimates of the aircraft's weight by the pilot and the employees were too low. Then the pilot, seeing the approaching obstacles on the shoreline, pulled back on the controls to try to clear them. The aircraft was travelling at 80 mph, which is well below the recommended climb speed of 120 mph, and even below the speed for the best climb angle of 107 mph. Due to its configuration, the aircraft stall speed was higher than normal. It can thus be concluded that the aircraft was in the slow flying range. The more the pilot pulled back the controls, the greater the drag. Thus the aircraft could not attain a climb rate sufficient to clear the obstacles on its flight path, and it struck the high-voltage lines and a pole.

The following laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 138/97 - Engine & Propellers Examination, Aztec PA-23-250, C-GFNT.

Findings

  1. The pilot did not allow enough time to prepare his camps for the hunting season, thereby putting pressure on himself.
  2. The pilot was fatigued, because he did not take enough rest in preparation for the flight.
  3. The aircraft was overloaded, and the centre of gravity was outside the envelope.
  4. The aircraft covered a longer than normal distance before lifting off.
  5. The pilot did not abort the second take-off and decided to continue the flight rather than revise the loading in accordance with the recommended weight and centre of gravity.
  6. Just before the occurrence, the aircraft was in the slow flying range, and it therefore could not attain a rate of climb sufficient to clear the obstacles on its flight path.

Causes and Contributing Factors

Due to its excessive weight and its centre of gravity outside the envelope, the aircraft lifted off only after a long run, and it could not maintain a rate of climb sufficient to clear the obstacles on its flight path. Contributing to the occurrence were the pilot's stress, disorganization and fatigue.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles H. Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 10 February 1999.

Appendix A - Weight and Centre of Gravity

(according to the pilot's data)
  Weight (lb.) Arm (in.) Moment
Aircraft empty weight 3,572 91.147 325,577.08
Rear seat (removed) -45 157 7,065
Fuel 432 113 48,816
Row 1 - Pilot and Passenger 340 89 30,260
Row 2 - Passenger, Maps and
HF radio
154 126 19,404
Row 3 - Cargo 422 157 66,254
2 outboard motor fuel
tanks, Float compartment
10 92.58 925.8
Aft cargo position 60 183 10,980
Total 4,945 100.132 495,151.9
Mass without fuel 4,513    
Maximum mass without fuel 4,400    
Overload 113    
Maximum take-off weight 5,200    
Overload 00    
Centre of gravity position -0.37 within the
envelope
LOAD
Rear Seat Position      
  3 ten-hp outboard motors 222    
  6 boxes of food 80    
  2 hockey bags 120    
  Total 422    
Cargo Position
  1 generator (Coleman) 35    
  1 tin stove 25    
  Total 60    
Total cargo 482    

Appendix B - Weight and Centre of Gravity

(according to the employees' data)
  Weight (lb.) Arm (in.) Moment
       
Aircraft empty weight 3,572 91.15 325,587.8
Rear seat (removed) -26 157 4,160.5
Fuel 492 113 55,596
Row 1 - Pilot and Passenger 362 89 32,218
Row 2 - Passenger 140 126 17,640
Row 3 - Cargo 688 157 108,016
Float compartments 10 92.58 925.8
Aft cargo position 285 183 52,155
Total 5,522 106.47 587,978.1
Mass without fuel 5,030    
Maximum mass without fuel 4,400    
Overload 630    
Maximum take-off weight 5,200    
Overload 322    
Centre of gravity position 5.97 aft of the
envelope
LOAD
Rear Seat Position      
  3 ten-hp outboard motors 216    
  6 bags (5 to 10 lb. each) 60    
  Radiator and radio 37    
  5 boxes of food (75 lb. each) 375    
Total 688    
Cargo Position
  1 generator (Coleman) 85    
  2 hockey bags 200    
  Total 285    
Total Cargo 973    

Appendix C - Topographical Map of Squaw Lake, Quebec

Flight Path and Point of Impact


1. Mark R. Rosekind, Philippa H. Gander, et al., Crew Factors in Flight Operations X: Alertness Management in Flight Operations, NASA technical memorandum, DOT/FAA/RD-93/18,(NASA Ames Research Center, 1994).

2. All times are EDT (coordinated universal time (UTC) minus four hours), unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A97Q0183

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec des fils au décollage
Piper Aztec PA23-250 C-GFNT
Lac de la Squaw (Québec)
22 août 1997

Résumé

Le Piper Aztec sur flotteurs, numéro de série 274191, avec trois personnes à bord, effectuait un vol d'affaires privé du lac de la Squaw (Québec) à destination du lac Dick (Québec), selon les règles de vol à vue. Le pilote a d'abord essayé de décoller en direction nord mais a dû interrompre sa course parce qu'un bouchon de réservoir à essence était ouvert. Quelques instants plus tard, il a entamé sa course au décollage en direction sud; l'aéronef a parcouru environ 8 000 pieds avant de prendre son envol. L'aéronef, n'atteignant pas un taux de montée élevé, a continué son vol à environ 100 pieds au-dessus des arbres. Le préposé à la station d'information de vol (FSS), qui suivait des yeux l'appareil, a observé une brève coupure de courant électrique à son poste de travail, puis a vu un nuage de fumée s'élever à l'horizon. Il a essayé de communiquer à plusieurs reprises avec l'aéronef par radio, mais sans succès. Il a alors demandé à un hélicoptère qui survolait la région de se rendre sur les lieux d'où se dégageait la fumée pour vérifier s'il y avait eu un accident. Le pilote de l'hélicoptère est arrivé quelques minutes plus tard et a confirmé que l'aéronef s'était écrasé après avoir percuté une ligne à haute tension. Un incendie de très forte intensité s'est ensuite déclaré et l'aéronef a subi des dommages importants. Le pilote a réussi à évacuer l'appareil par la porte avant gauche en passant au travers des flammes, subissant des blessures graves. Les deux passagères n'ont pu évacuer l'avion et ont subi des blessures mortelles.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il totalisait environ 13 000 heures de vol, dont environ 3 000 heures sur multimoteurs et 800 heures sur ce type d'appareil.

D'après les dossiers, l'aéronef était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu une défaillance de la cellule ou un mauvais fonctionnement des moteurs ou d'un système lors du décollage. L'aéronef ne présentait aucune anomalie connue avant le vol.

Le pilote s'était peu reposé dans les dernières 48 heures précédant le vol. Il s'était affairé à préparer ses camps de chasse pour la saison qui débutait. La logistique et le suivi de ses employés prenaient beaucoup de son temps. Il n'avait dormi qu'environ trois heures au cours de chacune des deux nuits précédant le vol.

  • Quelqu'un qui ne dort pas assez pour ses besoins manque de sommeil et risque de voir son rendement se détériorer. Les tâches cognitives ou faisant appel à la vigilance sont particulièrement touchées. Une personne fatiguée est en outre plus encline à prendre des risques : le manque de sommeil répété et le bouleversement du cycle circadien peuvent entraîner une diminution de la vigilance, une détérioration du rendement et la perturbation de l'humeur(1).

Le Règlement de l'aviation canadien stipule ce qui suit à l'article 602.02 :

  • Il est interdit à l'utilisateur d'un aéronef d'enjoindre à une personne d'agir en qualité de membre d'équipage de conduite et à toute personne d'agir en cette qualité, si l'utilisateur ou la personne a des raisons de croire, compte tenu des circonstances du vol à entreprendre, que la personne est :
    1. fatiguée ou sera probablement fatiguée;
    2. de quelque autre manière inapte à exercer correctement ses fonctions de membre d'équipage de conduite.

Le matin de l'accident, le pilote avait quitté son domicile de Saint-Nicéphore (Québec) vers six heures du matin pour se rendre à l'aéroport de Dorval (Montréal) pour prendre un vol commercial à destination de Schefferville (Québec). De Schefferville, il devait piloter son avion privé pour transporter deux de ses employés, des cuisinières, à deux camps différents, avec leurs effets personnels, de la nourriture et de l'équipement pour les camps. Les clients, qui se rendaient également aux mêmes camps, avaient déjà décollé et étaient en route vers leur destination.

Les observations météorologiques prises par le spécialiste de la FSS au lac de la Squaw à 12 h 18 heure avancée de l'Est (HAE)(2), quelques minutes après l'accident, étaient les suivantes : vents du 120 degrés vrai à trois noeuds et visibilité de 15 milles. La couche nuageuse était formée de quelques nuages à 3 000 pieds et le plafond était estimé à 20 000 pieds avec des nuages fragmentés. La température était de 18 degrés Celsius (°C), le point de rosée de 4 °C et le calage altimétrique de 30,20. Les nuages étaient des cumulus avec une opacité de cinq huitièmes, et des cirrus avec une opacité de trois huitièmes. Selon le pilote, le vent était léger et de dos lors du décollage vers le sud.

Le chargement de l'aéronef a été effectué au quai d'Air Saguenay. Les deux réservoirs intérieurs ont été remplis à ras bord tandis que le niveau des deux réservoirs extérieurs était à une hauteur d'environ un pouce du fond. Pendant que le pilote s'affairait à préparer l'aéronef pour le vol, deux de ses employés ont chargé les bagages à bord de l'appareil. Aucun bagage ni fret n'a été pesé sur la balance disponible sur le quai d'Air Saguenay. Selon les informations recueillies, deux estimations de poids et centrage ont été calculées et sont jointes en annexe. La première estimation a été calculée en utilisant les poids évalués par le pilote; cette évaluation révèle que l'aéronef n'était pas surchargé et que le centre de gravité se trouvait dans l'enveloppe. La masse maximale autorisée sans carburant, qui est de 4 400 lb, a été dépassée de 113 lb (voir Annexe A). Une seconde évaluation a été faite selon les déclarations des employés ayant chargé l'appareil. Selon cette évaluation, l'aéronef était surchargé de 322,5 lb et le centre de gravité se trouvait à 5,97 pouces en arrière de la limite arrière, et en dehors de l'enveloppe. Dans cette configuration, la masse maximale sans carburant a été dépassée de 630,5 lb (voir Annexe B).

Dans un aéronef, la position du centre de gravité joue un rôle très important dans la stabilité longitudinale. Si le chargement de l'avion est tel que le centre de gravité se trouve trop en arrière, l'avion sera porté à adopter une assiette de cabré plutôt qu'une assiette de piqué. La stabilité inhérente fera défaut et même s'il est possible de corriger cette situation en braquant le gouvernail de profondeur vers le bas, le contrôle longitudinal de l'avion restera difficile, voire impossible dans certains cas. Le poids affecte la vitesse de décrochage de l'avion. Un poids additionnel oblige l'avion à maintenir un angle d'attaque plus grand pour produire la portance nécessaire pour le maintenir en vol. Par conséquent, l'angle d'attaque critique sera atteint à une vitesse plus élevée. Plus l'angle d'attaque augmente, plus la traînée augmente. À un angle d'attaque précis, l'aéronef entre dans la plage de vol lent. Dans la plage de vol lent, si l'on augmente l'angle d'attaque, la portance n'augmente plus mais, au contraire, diminue et la traînée augmente. Une légère augmentation de l'angle d'attaque peut se traduire par un décrochage. Lors de leur entraînement initial, les pilotes sont entraînés à reconnaître les symptômes du vol lent, surtout pour éviter de se retrouver dans cette phase du vol et, par le fait même, éviter un décrochage. Un aéronef peut rencontrer la gamme des vitesses de vol lent dans plusieurs conditions : décollage, atterrissage, sortie d'un atterrissage mal jugé, approche manquée et approche au décrochage.

Le lac de la Squaw est orienté nord-ouest/sud-est et mesure environ deux milles et demie de longueur (voir Annexe C). En direction sud-est, au bout du lac, il y a une vallée entre deux collines. L'élévation du lac est de 1 616 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl), alors que l'élévation au premier point d'impact de l'appareil est de 1 800 pieds asl. L'aéronef aurait parcouru environ 8 000 pieds avant de décoller et aurait volé sur une distance de 8 000 pieds avant l'impact au sol. Le pilote a déclaré qu'il s'était rendu compte que l'aéronef n'atteignait pas ses performances habituelles durant la montée initiale. Durant la course au décollage, l'aéronef a utilisé une distance plus longue que la normale avant de prendre son envol. Le pilote a attribué cette situation à un vent de dos. Normalement, une fois l'aéronef en vol, le pilote abaissait le nez de l'appareil pour rentrer les volets et laisser l'aéronef accélérer au meilleur taux de montée. Dans ce cas-ci, le pilote n'a pu rentrer les volets à cause du rivage et des obstacles qui se rapprochaient rapidement. Il a tiré sur les commandes et a essayé de prendre de l'altitude en maintenant une vitesse d'environ 80 mi/h alors que les volets étaient toujours abaissés à 15 degrés. Le pilote a essayé de passer par-dessus les obstacles situés sur sa trajectoire de vol mais, lorsque les lignes à haute tension sont apparues devant, il n'a pu effectuer de manoeuvre d'évitement afin de franchir l'obstacle. L'aéronef a percuté les lignes à haute tension et un poteau de bois, puis a piqué du nez pour pivoter autour du poteau avant de s'écraser au sol. Un incendie d'une très forte intensité s'est déclaré après l'immobilisation de l'appareil au sol.

Selon le manuel du propriétaire du Piper Aztec, la vitesse ascensionnelle recommandée en configuration masse maximale est de 120 mi/h. L'aéronef est alors capable d'atteindre un taux de montée de 1 490 pieds par minute. La vitesse au meilleur angle de montée, utilisée pour pouvoir passer par-dessus un obstacle en bout de piste, est de 107 mi/h.

Selon un pilote d'expérience ayant effectué de nombreuses heures sur le même type d'aéronef sur flotteurs, lorsque l'aéronef est chargé au poids maximum de 5 200 lb, avec les volets à 15 degrés, l'aéronef décolle en utilisant une distance d'environ 3 000 pieds. Par exemple, sur un lac d'un mille et demi de longueur, si l'appareil ne prend pas son envol dans les limites fixées, le chargement doit être révisé de manière à ce que les charges soient mieux réparties, et les flotteurs doivent être vérifiés pour s'assurer qu'ils ne contiennent pas d'eau. Selon ce pilote, ce qui est le plus critique est de ne pas dépasser la limite de 150 lb dans la soute à bagages arrière pour ne pas déplacer le centre de gravité en dehors de l'enveloppe vers l'arrière, ce qui porterait l'aéronef à se cabrer à la fois durant la course au décollage et à l'envol.

L'examen de l'épave a révélé que le carburant contenu à bord de l'appareil s'est écoulé vers le centre de l'aéronef, ce qui a permis une propagation rapide de l'incendie, contribuant à la destruction quasi totale de l'aéronef. Compte tenu des dommages causés par le feu, il a été impossible de recueillir des indices permettant d'établir s'il y avait eu un mauvais fonctionnement d'un des systèmes de l'appareil en vol ou s'il y avait eu une défaillance structurale de la cellule ou d'autres composantes de l'aéronef. Il a été impossible d'établir la continuité des commandes de vol. Cependant, le pilote confirme qu'il n'y avait aucune défectuosité connue ou soupçonnée avant le vol.

L'information recueillie initialement suggérait que l'un des moteurs avait subi une perte ou une réduction de puissance lors de la monté initiale, ce qui aurait expliqué pourquoi l'aéronef n'a pu prendre l'altitude nécessaire pour éviter les obstacles. Les dommages observés sur les moteurs et les hélices sont typiques d'un impact avec puissance élevée. Les moteurs et les hélices ont été acheminés au Laboratoire technique du BST pour fins d'expertise. Les résultats de l'expertise ont révélé que les deux moteurs développaient de la puissance, ce qui a été confirmé par le pilote.

Analyse

Le pilote ne s'était pas reposé suffisamment en prévision du vol qu'il allait entreprendre. Il n'a pas alloué assez de temps à la préparation de ses camps en vue de la saison de chasse et, conséquemment, s'est imposé de la pression. Il était très stressé à cause des échéanciers très serrés qu'il s'était fixé. Le pilote, pressé par le temps, n'a pas vérifié le poids du fret alors qu'une balance était accessible sur le quai de chargement d'Air Saguenay. Il a décidé de décoller avec un aéronef surchargé et ayant le centre de gravité déplacé vers l'arrière. Le fait de savoir que ses clients étaient déjà en vol en direction des camps et que les cuisinières n'étaient pas encore rendues sur place, l'a amené à vouloir absolument décoller lors de sa deuxième tentative. L'aéronef a utilisé une distance plus longue que la normale avant de prendre son envol. À tout moment durant ce second essai, le pilote aurait pu interrompre sa course au décollage et revoir son chargement, mais il a plutôt décidé de continuer.

L'aéronef a parcouru une distance anormalement longue avant de sortir de l'eau à cause de son assiette cabrée due au centre de gravité en dehors de l'enveloppe et déplacé vers l'arrière, et aussi à cause du poids excessif. Cette assiette cabrée des flotteurs dans l'eau a généré une traînée qui ne permettait pas à l'aéronef d'accélérer durant la course au décollage dans les distances habituelles. Après 8 000 pieds de course au décollage, ce qui correspond à plus de deux fois la distance normalement requise, l'aéronef a donc pris son envol, et ce, en partie grâce au phénomène d'effet de sol. Le comportement de l'aéronef observé au décollage suggère que les poids de l'appareil estimés par le pilote et les employés sont sous-évalués. Le pilote, voyant les obstacles sur le rivage qui se rapprochaient, a tiré sur les commandes pour essayer de passer au-dessus. L'aéronef avait une vitesse de 80 mi/h, ce qui est bien inférieur à la vitesse ascensionnelle recommandée de 120 mi/h, et même inférieur à la vitesse de meilleur angle de montée, qui est de 107 mi/h. L'aéronef, dans sa configuration, se trouvait à avoir une vitesse de décrochage plus élevée que la normale. Il est donc permis de déduire que l'aéronef se trouvait alors dans la plage de vol lent. Plus le pilote tirait sur les commandes, plus il y avait de traînée. Ainsi, l'appareil n'a pu atteindre un taux de montée suffisant pour passer au-dessus des obstacles sur sa trajectoire de vol et a percuté les lignes à haute tension et un poteau.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 138/97 - Engine & Propellers Examination, Aztec PA-23-250, C-GFNT (Examen des moteurs et des hélices, Aztec PA-23-250, C-GFNT).

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote n'a pas alloué assez de temps à la préparation de ses camps pour la saison de chasse et, par le fait même, s'est imposé de la pression.
  2. Le pilote était fatigué, ne s'étant pas reposé suffisamment en prévision du vol.
  3. L'aéronef était surchargé et le centre de gravité était en dehors de l'enveloppe.
  4. L'aéronef a parcouru une distance plus longue que la normale avant de prendre son envol.
  5. Le pilote n'a pas interrompu le second décollage et a décidé de continuer le vol, au lieu de revoir le chargement en fonction du poids et du centrage préconisés.
  6. L'aéronef se trouvait, juste avant l'accident, dans la plage de vol lent et n'a donc pu atteindre un taux de montée suffisant pour passer par-dessus les obstacles se trouvant sur sa trajectoire de vol.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'aéronef, à cause d'un poids excessif et d'un centre de gravité en dehors de l'enveloppe, n'a pris son envol qu'après une longue course et n'a pu maintenir un taux de montée suffisant pour éviter des obstacles. Les facteurs ayant contribué à l'accident sont le stress, le manque d'organisation et la fatigue du pilote.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 10 février 1999 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.

Annexe A - Poids et centrage selon les données du pilote

  Poids (lb) Bras (po) Point de centrage
Poids à vide de l'aéronef 3 572 91,147 325 577,08
Siège arrière (enlevé) (45) 157 7 065
Carburant 432 113 48 816
Rangée 1 - Pilote et passagère 340 89 30 260
Rangée 2 - Passagère, cartes et
radio HF
154 126 19 404
Rangée 3 - Fret 422 157 66 254
2 réservoirs hors-bord,
compartiment flotteurs
10 92,58 925,8
Position du fret arrière 60 183 10 980
Total 4 945 100,132 495 151,9
Masse sans carburant 4 513    
Masse maximale sans carburant 4 400    
Surcharge 113    
Masse maximale au décollage 5 200    
Surcharge 00    
Position du centre de gravité -0,37 à l'intérieur de
l'enveloppe
CHARGEMENT Position du siège arrière
  3 moteurs hors-bord 10 hp 222    
  6 boîtes de nourriture 80    
  2 sacs de hockey 120    
 Total 422    
Position du fret
  1 génératrice (Coleman) 35    
  1 poêle en tôle 25    
 Total 60    
Poids total du fret 482    

Annexe B - Poids et centrage selon les données des employés

  Poids (lb) Bras (po) Point de centrage
Poids à vide de l'aéronef 3 572 91,15 325 587,8
Siège arrière (enlevé) (26) 157 4160,5
Carburant 492 113 55 596
Rangée 1 - Pilote et passagère 362 89 32 218
Rangée 2 - Passagère 140 126 17 640
Rangée 3 - Fret 688 157 108 016
Compartiment flotteurs 10 92,58 925,8
Position du fret arrière 285 183 52 155
Total 5 522 106,47 587 978,1
Masse sans carburant 5 030    
Masse maximale sans carburant 4 400    
Surcharge 630    
Masse maximale au décollage 5 200    
Surcharge 322    
Position du centre de gravité 5,97 derrière la
référence de
centrage
CHARGEMENT
Position du siège arrière      
  3 moteurs hors-bord 10 hp 216    
  6 sacs (5 à 10 lb) 60    
  Radiateur et radio 37    
  5 boîtes de nourriture (75 lb) 375    
  Total 688    
Position du fret
  1 génératrice (Coleman) 85    
  2 sacs de hockey 200    
  Total 285    
Poids total du fret 973    

Annexe C - Carte topographique du lac de la Squaw (Québec)

Carte topographique du lac de la Squaw


1. Mark R. Rosekind, Philippa H. Gander, et al., Crew Factors in Flight Operations X: Alertness Management in Flight Operations. Mémoire technique de la NASA, DOT/FAA/RD-93/18. (NASA Ames Research Center, 1994).

2. Les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins quatre heures), sauf indication contraire.