Aviation Investigation Report A97Q0222

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Crash on Take-off
Piper Malibu PA-46-350P C-FLER
St-Mathieu-de-Beloeil Airport, Quebec
22 October 1997

Summary

A Piper Malibu Mirage, registration C-FLER, serial number 46-36090, was preparing for an instrument flight rules (IFR) private business flight from St-Mathieu-de-Beloeil Airport, Quebec, to Burlington, Vermont, USA, with two persons on board. The pilot/owner and passenger moved the aircraft out of the hangar and did the usual preparations and checks. After doing the run-up, the pilot listened to the automatic terminal information system (ATIS) message from Saint-Hubert, Quebec, and requested IFR clearance. When the tower advised him that there would be a delay of about 10 minutes, the pilot taxied back to position the aircraft on the threshold of runway 15. At that time, heavy snow had been falling for over two hours. After waiting 11 minutes, the pilot received IFR clearance and initiated take-off. The aircraft lifted a few feet off the ground, then bounced and came to rest in a cornfield several hundred feet from the runway end. The pilot shut off electrical power, fuel and the magnetos, and the two occupants evacuated the aircraft. There was no post-impact fire. The occupants sustained minor injuries, and the aircraft sustained substantial damage.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He was the owner of the aircraft and had about 1,600 flying hours at the time of the occurrence, including about 850 hours on type. He had held a private pilot's licence since 1994, with multi-engine rating, night flying rating, and group 3 (single-engine) instrument flight rating since November 1996. The pilot had 300 IFR flying hours at the time of the occurrence.

Examination of the aircraft log books indicated that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The aircraft had about 200 hours of flight since it was built in March 1997, and was in compliance with all airworthiness directives. The aircraft had flown about five hours since its last 100-hour inspection, and it had no known deficiencies before the flight. The weight and centre of gravity were within the prescribed limits.

The pilot received a full weather briefing from Dorval Flight Service Station (FSS) at 2000, eastern daylight time (EDT),(1) on the evening before the flight. The next morning, snow began to fall about two and a half hours before the start of the flight and accumulated at a rate of approximately four centimetres per hour. The Environment Canada report for the Saint-Hubert area at 0800 indicated a sky obscured at 300 feet, visibility three quarters of a mile in light snow, temperature 0 degrees Celsius, and dew point minus 1 degree Celsius. The winds were from 350 degrees magnetic at 3 knots.

The aircraft was stored in an unheated hangar when not in use. On the morning of the flight, the pilot checked the aircraft and fuel before moving the aircraft out. He reported that wet snow was falling. The pilot indicated that despite the snow accumulation on the runway he had no particular problem taxiing into position for take-off.

About 20 to 25 minutes elapsed between the time the aircraft was moved out of the hangar and the take-off from runway 15. Part of the delay was the 11 minutes it took to receive IFR clearance from the Saint-Hubert control tower. During that time, the pilot noticed that snow had accumulated on the wings. However, the pilot stated that it dissipated as he increased and decreased power while taxiing. When he received IFR clearance, the pilot initiated the take-off run with 10 degrees of flap. At 60 knots, the pilot noticed that the snow had blown off the wings. He used three quarters of the runway length, as he normally did.

The aircraft lifted off only a few feet, and the pilot heard engine misfires and dull thuds and felt the whole aircraft shaking. The engine was not producing enough power to take off, and the aircraft struck the ground with the main gear, bounced a few feet, then struck the ground again, causing the main gear to separate. The aircraft continued its course and came to rest in a cornfield, 450 feet from the end of the runway. The passenger reported feeling severe vibrations two or three seconds after take-off. He said he also heard an audible warning and saw a warning light at the same time.

The aircraft sustained substantial damage in the crash sequence. The wings remained attached to the fuselage. The flaps were extended 10 degrees. The landing gear was down but the wheels had separated from the oleo shock struts and the main gear doors were torn off. The fuel tanks were full and undamaged. Flight control continuity was established, including the engine and propeller controls.

Various static checks were done on the systems and engine components. Dynamic engine testing was done at 800 to 2,500 rpm with an intake pressure of 25 inches of mercury (Hg). The checks performed on the engine and accessories revealed no technical deficiencies that could have affected take-off performance. However, the engine air filter was saturated with water to over three quarters of the thickness. Atmospheric conditions were conducive to the accumulation of water in the air filter but, based on discussions with pilots experienced on this type of aircraft and with Piper representatives, it was concluded that water accumulation in the air filter is not a common problem on this type.

For operating requirements, the engine breathes in air via either the primary system or the alternate system. The pilot selects one of the two systems using a control on the centre console just below the engine controls. The primary system filters the air before directing it into the engine; the alternate system does not filter the air. The Pilot's Operating Handbook for the Malibu states that "alternate air should never be used during ground operations, except for checking its operation," because the engine could ingest debris and be damaged.

The TSB Engineering Branch was asked to do a theoretical analysis to estimate the minimum runway length required to take off in the weather conditions at the time of the accident, since that information is not provided in the Pilot's Operating Handbook. For the purposes of the analysis, the Engineering Branch assumed that taking off on a runway covered with two inches of wet snow is as unfavourable as taking off on a runway covered with long grass. The analysis showed that just to reach take-off speed the aircraft would need 1,900 feet on a short-grass runway and 2,500 feet on a long-grass runway. The runway at St-Mathieu-de-Beloeil is 2,200 feet long.

Airworthiness Notice No. B017, Edition 1 issued by Transport Canada regarding the clean aircraft concept, states that "test data indicate that frost, ice or snow formations having a thickness or roughness similar to medium or coarse sandpaper, on the leading edge and upper surface of a wing, can reduce wing lift by as much as 30% and increase drag by 40%. The changes in lift and drag significantly increase stall speed, decrease controllability and alter aircraft flight characteristics. Thicker or rougher frozen contaminants can have increasing effects." In addition, subsection 602.11(4) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations states:

  • Where conditions are such that frost, ice or snow may reasonably be expected to adhere to the aircraft, no person shall conduct or attempt to conduct a take-off in an aircraft unless (a) the aircraft has been inspected immediately prior to take-off to determine whether any frost, ice or snow is adhering to any of its critical surfaces.

The Transport Canada study and reference guides for instrument flight qualification list several subjects which pilots must be taught during theoretical courses. These subjects include icing, surface contamination, the clean aircraft concept, cold-soaked aircraft phenomena, pre-take-off inspection, aircraft operations in winter, and the effects of snow, ice and frost on the take-off run and landing.

Analysis

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. The aircraft was airworthy and had no known deficiencies before the flight, and the engine was capable of producing maximum power.

The pilot stated that the engine misfired as the aircraft left the ground. The actual causes of the engine misfires could not be determined, but the atmospheric conditions at the time of the accident were conducive to the formation of frost or ice. The filter in the engine air intake system was found to be saturated with water to over three quarters of its thickness, it is possible that the filter froze during the take-off run and blocked the supply of air to the engine. The pilot did not select the alternate air intake system when the engine misfired because the Malibu Pilot's Operating Handbook does not suggest that this be done while operating on the ground.

On the day of the flight, snow had begun to fall two hours before the aircraft took off. The runway was contaminated with wet snow. Although the pilot did not notice any impediment on the manoeuvring areas and he said he executed the rotation at the usual location, a contaminated runway will in all cases extend the take-off run.

Between 20 and 25 minutes elapsed from the time the pilot moved the aircraft out of the hangar to the take-off. When initiating the take-off, the pilot did not inspect the critical surfaces of the aircraft as prescribed in the Canadian Aviation Regulations. He supposed that if the snow dissipated from part of the wings when he accelerated on the ground the same thing would happen on all other critical surfaces.

Immediately after leaving the ground, the entire aircraft shook severely and an audible alarm and warning light activated. These indications show that the aircraft had not attained the speed necessary to sustain flight, even in the ground effect, and it stalled. The pilot was in a situation where the outcome was unavoidable due to the runway length available.

Findings

  1. The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight.
  2. Examination of the aircraft log books indicated that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.
  3. The weight and centre of gravity were within the prescribed limits.
  4. The air intake filter was contaminated by water to three quarters of its thickness.
  5. The runway was contaminated by a two-hour accumulation of wet snow.
  6. The pilot initiated the take-off without checking if the critical surfaces were contaminated by wet snow.
  7. The aircraft stalled on take-off just after the rotation.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The aircraft was not producing sufficient lift to sustain flight and it stalled immediately after the rotation for take-off. The following factors may have contributed to the accident: a runway contaminated by wet snow; an aircraft contaminated by precipitation; and engine misfires, which may have been caused by a filter saturated with water.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 18 May 1999.


1. All times are EDT (coordinated universal time (UTC) minus four hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A97Q0222

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Écrasement après le décollage
Piper Malibu PA-46-350P C-FLER
Aéroport de St-Mathieu-de-Beloeil (Québec)
22 octobre 1997

Résumé

Le Piper Malibu Mirage immatriculé C-FLER, numéro de série 46-36090, avec deux personnes à bord, s'apprêtait à effectuer un vol d'affaires privé selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) entre l'aéroport de St-Mathieu-de-Beloeil (Québec) et Burlington, Vermont, aux États-Unis. Le pilote propriétaire et son passager ont sorti l'appareil du hangar et ont procédé aux préparatifs et vérifications d'usage. Après avoir effectué le point fixe, le pilote a écouté le message automatique d'information terminale (ATIS) de Saint-Hubert (Québec) et a demandé l'autorisation IFR. Après avoir été informé par la tour d'un délai potentiel d'une dizaine de minutes, le pilote a remonté la piste afin de positionner l'avion sur le seuil de la piste 15. Une neige lourde tombait déjà depuis plus de deux heures. Après 11 minutes d'attente, le pilote a reçu l'autorisation IFR et a amorcé le décollage. L'appareil s'est élevé de quelques pieds dans les airs avant de rebondir et de s'immobiliser dans un champ de maïs à quelques centaines de pieds du bout de la piste. Le pilote a coupé l'alimentation électrique, le carburant et les magnétos, et les deux occupants ont évacué l'appareil. Il n'y a pas eu d'incendie après l'impact. Les occupants ont subi des blessures légères; l'appareil a subi des dommages importants.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Il était propriétaire de l'appareil et totalisait environ 1 600 heures de vol au moment de l'événement, dont environ 850 heures sur ce type d'aéronef. Il était titulaire d'une licence de pilote privé depuis 1994 et possédait l'annotation sur multimoteurs, l'annotation pour le vol de nuit, ainsi que la qualification de vol aux instruments groupe 3 (monomoteur) depuis novembre 1996. Il totalisait 300 heures de vol aux instruments au moment de l'événement.

L'examen des carnets de l'appareil indique que l'aéronef était équipé, certifié, et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. L'aéronef totalisait environ 200 heures de vol depuis sa construction en mars 1997 et satisfaisait aux exigences spécifiées dans les consignes de navigabilité applicables. L'appareil avait effectué environ cinq heures de vol depuis la dernière inspection des 100 heures et ne présentait aucune anomalie connue avant le vol. La masse et le centrage de l'appareil étaient à l'intérieur des limites prescrites.

Le pilote avait reçu un exposé météorologique complet de la station d'information de vol (FSS) de Dorval à 20 h, heure avancée de l'Est (HAE)(1), la veille du vol. Le lendemain matin, la neige a commencé à tomber environ deux heures et demie avant le début du vol et s'accumulait d'environ quatre centimètres à l'heure. Environnement Canada signalait, pour la région de Saint-Hubert à 8 h, un plafond obscurci à 300 pieds, une visibilité de trois quarts de mille dans la neige légère, une température de 0 degré Celsius et un point de rosée de moins 1 degré Celsius. Les vents soufflaient du 350 degrés magnétique à 3 noeuds.

L'appareil était remisé dans un hangar non chauffé lorsqu'il n'était pas utilisé. Le matin du vol, le pilote a procédé à la vérification de l'appareil et du carburant avant de sortir l'appareil à l'extérieur. Il a mentionné qu'à l'extérieur il tombait une neige mouillée. Le pilote a mentionné que, malgré l'accumulation de neige sur la piste, il n'avait pas noté de difficulté particulière lorsqu'il a circulé au sol afin de positionner l'avion pour le décollage.

Il s'est écoulé de 20 à 25 minutes entre la sortie de l'appareil du hangar et le décollage de la piste 15. Une partie de ce retard est attribuable à un délai de 11 minutes pour obtenir l'autorisation IFR de la tour de contrôle de Saint-Hubert. Pendant ce temps, le pilote a noté que de la neige s'était accumulée sur les ailes. Le pilote a toutefois mentionné que la neige se dissipait lors de variations de puissance pour circuler au sol. Après avoir obtenu l'autorisation IFR, le pilote a amorcé la course au décollage en utilisant 10 degrés de volets. À 60 noeuds, le pilote a noté que la neige avait été balayée des ailes. Il a utilisé les trois quarts de la piste comme il le faisait normalement.

L'appareil s'est élevé de quelques pieds seulement, et le pilote a constaté que le moteur avait des ratés accompagnés de bruits sourds et de vibrations de tout l'appareil. Le moteur ne produisait pas la puissance nécessaire au décollage, et le train d'atterrissage principal de l'avion a heurté le sol. L'avion a rebondi de quelques pieds avant de retomber, arrachant le train principal. L'appareil a poursuivi sa course et s'est immobilisé dans un champ de maïs situé à 450 pieds du bout de la piste. Le passager a lui aussi déclaré avoir ressenti de fortes vibrations deux ou trois secondes après le décollage. Il aurait entendu, au même moment, un avertisseur sonore et aurait vu un voyant lumineux s'allumer.

L'avion a subi des dommages importants lors de l'écrasement. Les ailes sont demeurées attachées au fuselage. Les volets étaient braqués à 10 degrés. Le train d'atterrissage était sorti mais les roues s'étaient séparées des amortisseurs. Les portes du train principal étaient arrachées. Les réservoirs de carburant étaient pleins de carburant et n'ont pas été endommagés. La continuité de toutes les commandes de vol a été établie, y compris les commandes du moteur et de l'hélice.

Diverses vérifications statiques des systèmes et des composantes du moteur ont été effectuées. Un essai dynamique du moteur a été effectué à des vitesses de rotation se situant entre 800 et 2 500 tours par minute avec une pression d'admission de 25 pouces de mercure (Hg). Tous ces examens du moteur et des accessoires n'ont pas permis de déceler d'anomalie technique pouvant affecter les performances au décollage. Par contre, le filtre à air du moteur était saturé d'eau à plus des trois quarts de son épaisseur. Les conditions atmosphériques étaient propices à l'accumulation d'eau dans le filtre à air, mais des discussions avec des pilotes expérimentés sur ce type d'appareil et des représentants de Piper ont permis de conclure que cette accumulation d'eau dans le filtre n'est pas un problème courant sur ce type d'appareil.

Le moteur reçoit, pour ses besoins opérationnels, de l'air de l'une des sources suivantes : le système primaire ou le système alternatif. Le pilote actionne l'un ou l'autre des systèmes par une commande située sur le pylône de commande central immédiatement au-dessous des commandes moteur. Le système primaire filtre l'air avant de le diriger vers le moteur tandis que le système alternatif n'assure aucune filtration. Le Pilot's Operating Handbook (manuel d'utilisation de l'appareil) du Malibu stipule que le système alternatif ne devrait jamais être utilisé pour les opérations au sol autres que pour fins de vérification du système parce que le moteur pourrait être endommagé par suite de l'ingestion de particules.

Une analyse théorique a été demandée au Laboratoire technique du BST afin d'estimer la longueur minimale de piste requise pour décoller dans les conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient lors de l'accident puisque cette information n'est pas disponible dans le Pilot's Operating Handbook. Pour fins d'analyse, le Laboratoire technique a supposé que décoller sur une piste couverte de deux pouces de neige mouillée est aussi défavorable que de décoller sur une piste d'herbe longue. L'analyse a démontré que, pour simplement atteindre la vitesse de décollage, l'appareil aurait besoin de 1 900 pieds sur une piste d'herbe courte et de 2 500 pieds sur une piste d'herbe longue. La piste de St-Mathieu-de-Beloeil mesure 2 200 pieds de long.

L'avis de navigabilité no B017, édition no 1, émis par Transports Canada sur le concept de l'aéronef propre, mentionne que des données expérimentales indiquent que la formation de givre, de glace, ou de neige d'une épaisseur et d'une rugosité semblables à celle d'un papier de verre moyen ou gros, sur le bord d'attaque et l'extrados, peuvent réduire la portance de l'aile d'au plus 30 % et accroître la traînée de 40 %. Les changements de portance et de traînée augmentent considérablement la vitesse de décrochage, réduisent la manoeuvrabilité, et modifient les caractéristiques de vol de l'aéronef. Une accumulation plus épaisse et rugueuse a des effets encore plus néfastes. De plus, le paragraphe 602.11(4) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) stipule que :

  • Il est interdit d'effectuer ou tenter d'effectuer le décollage d'un aéronef lorsque les conditions sont telles qu'il est raisonnable de prévoir que du givre, de la glace ou de la neige pourraient adhérer à l'aéronef, à moins que : (...) a) l'aéronef (ait) été inspecté immédiatement avant le décollage pour déterminer si du givre, de la glace ou de la neige adhèrent à toutes surfaces critiques.

Les guides d'études et de références de Transports Canada, pour la qualification de vol aux instruments, citent certains sujets qui doivent être enseignés aux pilotes lors des cours théoriques. Ces sujets sont entre autres le givrage, la contamination de surface, le concept de l'avion propre, les phénomènes liés à un appareil froid, l'inspection avant le décollage, l'exploitation d'un aéronef en hiver, ainsi que les effets de la neige, de la glace et du givre sur la course au décollage, ainsi que les effets lors de l'atterrissage.

Analyse

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. L'aéronef était en état de navigabilité, il ne présentait aucune anomalie connue avant le vol, et le moteur était apte à produire la puissance maximale.

Le pilote a déclaré que le moteur a eu des ratés au moment où l'appareil quittait le sol. Il a été impossible de déterminer les causes exactes des ratés, mais les conditions atmosphériques qui prévalaient au moment de l'accident étaient propices à la formation de givre ou de glace. Le filtre du système d'admission d'air au moteur ayant été retrouvé saturé d'eau à plus des trois quarts de son épaisseur, il est possible que le filtre ait gelé durant la course au décollage et ait bloqué l'alimentation d'air au moteur. Le pilote n'a pas sélectionné le système alternatif d'admission d'air lors des ratés puisque le Pilot's Operating Handbook du Malibu ne suggère pas son utilisation lors des opérations au sol.

Le jour du vol, la neige avait commencé à tomber deux heures avant le décollage de l'appareil. La piste était contaminée de neige mouillée. Bien que le pilote n'ait pas noté de restriction sur les aires de circulation et qu'il ait déclaré qu'il avait effectué la rotation au même endroit que d'habitude, une piste contaminée ne peut qu'allonger la course au sol pour le décollage.

Il s'est écoulé de 20 à 25 minutes entre le temps où le pilote a sorti l'appareil du hangar et le décollage. Au moment d'effectuer le décollage, le pilote n'a pas inspecté les surfaces critiques de l'appareil comme le stipule le RAC. Il a supposé que si la neige se dissipait sur une partie des ailes lors de l'accélération au sol, il devait en être de même sur toutes les autres surfaces critiques.

Immédiatement après avoir quitté le sol, de fortes vibrations de tout l'appareil ont été ressenties, accompagnées d'un avertisseur sonore et d'un voyant lumineux. Ces indications démontrent que l'aéronef n'avait pas atteint la vitesse nécessaire pour assurer la sustention de l'appareil et poursuivre le vol, même dans l'effet de sol, et a décroché. Le pilote s'est retrouvé dans une situation dont l'issue était inévitable compte tenu de la longueur de piste dont il disposait.

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol prévu.
  2. L'examen des carnets de l'appareil indique que l'aéronef était équipé, certifié et entretenu selon la réglementation en vigueur et les procédures approuvées.
  3. La masse et le centrage étaient à l'intérieur des limites prescrites.
  4. Le filtre du système d'admission d'air était contaminé par l'eau jusqu'aux trois quarts de son épaisseur.
  5. La piste était contaminée par de la neige mouillée après deux heures de précipitations de neige mouillée.
  6. Le pilote a entrepris le décollage sans vérifier si les surfaces critiques de l'avion étaient contaminées par de la neige mouillée.
  7. L'appareil a décroché au décollage peu après la rotation.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'appareil ne produisait pas la portance nécessaire pour assurer la sustentation de l'appareil et poursuivre le vol et a décroché immédiatement après la rotation en vue du décollage. Les facteurs suivants peuvent avoir contribué à l'accident : la piste était contaminée par de la neige mouillée, l'appareil était contaminé par des précipitations de neige, et le moteur a eu des ratés qui peuvent avoir été causés par un filtre saturé d'eau.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet incident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 18 mai 1999 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles H. Simpson et W.A. Tadros.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins quatre heures), sauf indication contraire.