Aviation Investigation Report A98F0033

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of a Propeller in Flight
Aéro 3000
Piper PA-31P C-GAFG
20 nm north of the VOR
Watertown, New York, U.S.A.
22 July 1998

Summary

The Piper Navajo, registration C-GAFG, serial number 31P-76, with five persons on board, was on a commercial flight under instrument flight rules (IFR) from the Ottawa airport, Ontario, to Syracuse, New York, U.S.A. When the aircraft was cruising at 10 000 feet above sea level, the crew heard an unusual, very loud and very brief noise. The co-pilot saw the right propeller break away from the engine and move up and to the right, without touching the aircraft. A large quantity of oil spread over the right wing. The crew immediately carried out the emergency procedure, and informed the control centre in Boston, Massachusetts, U.S.A. The descent was made visually with only one engine. The aircraft landed without difficulty at Watertown airport, with emergency equipment standing by.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The records indicate that the pilot-in-command was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He was a company employee and had accumulated approximately 690 flying hours at the time of the occurrence, including about 68 hours on type. He held a commercial pilot licence--aeroplane category since 1996.

The aircraft had accumulated 3 468 flying hours since its manufacture in 1972. It had been purchased in British Columbia in February 1998, and as soon as it was received by the operator, it was given a 1 000-hour major inspection in conformity with the approved inspection program. Since that inspection the aircraft had accumulated 69 flying hours.

The engine was installed on this aircraft in August 1986, with 947 hours since an overhaul in March 1979. At the time of the 1 000-hour major inspection in 1998, the engine had accumulated 1 178 hours. The technical records show that the engine had been used for only 231 hours in the past 12 years. At the time of the occurrence, the engine had accumulated 1 247 hours, and the time elapsed since the overhaul in March 1979 was 19 years 3 months. Textron Lycoming Service Instruction 1009AJ recommends a time between overhauls of 1 200 hours or 12 years. In publishing that service instruction, the manufacturer wanted to make clarifications and establish clear procedures for the operation and maintenance requirements for its engines. The service instruction also states that operators may increase the number of hours between overhauls if the engine is in continuous service, that is, not out of service for longer than 30 days. The manufacturer also warns about the possibility of deterioration of materials and parts during out-of-service periods. It states that the 12-year time between overhauls should never be exceeded.

The propeller had been installed on the right engine on 31 July 1997 following a complete overhaul. At the time of the 1 000-hour major inspection, the propeller had been in service for 15 hours since the last overhaul. At the time of the occurrence, the propeller had accumulated 84 hours since the last overhaul.

In Canada, operators must maintain their aircraft according to a maintenance schedule approved by Transport Canada (TC). These maintenance schedules are submitted for approval following an analysis by the operator, and depend on such factors as the type of operation, the type of flights performed by the aircraft, and annual use forecasts calculated in hours and in cycles. It is up to the operators to identify any amendments necessary to reflect changes in conditions, and to obtain TC approval to incorporate those changes. The operator had received its new operating certificate on 17 March 1998. The original maintenance schedule, bearing the number Q-2360, had been approved on 10 November 1997. The first amendment to the maintenance schedule was approved on 22 May 1998. The main purpose of this amendment was to include in the maintenance schedule Airworthiness Notice B041, concerning the engine on-condition program.

The Approved Maintenance Organization's maintenance policy manual was submitted to TC on 15 August 1996 and approved on 28 July 1997. It meets the requirements of an Approved Maintenance Organization (AMO) under Canadian Aviation Regulations (CAR) 573.10. The approval certificate, number 31-97, was issued on 28 July 1997. The AMO maintenance policy manual indicates that, except for the position of maintenance manager, all other duties related to the AMO's operations are delegated to the AMO president. Those duties include those of hangar foreman, quality assurance manager, assistant to the maintenance manager, apprentice, storesman, and records clerk.

According to the AMO maintenance policy manual, the maintenance manager performs the following duties: (a) is in charge of all maintenance activities carried out by the AMO, and must meet the standards of qualifications stated in Airworthiness Manual Chapter 573; (b) is in charge of distributing work to the maintenance personnel; (c) is in charge of initial training, recurrent training, and additional training given to the maintenance personnel; and (d) is in charge of carrying out the quality assurance program and ensuring that the maintenance and the management of maintenance activities comply with the standards stated in Airworthiness Manual Chapter 573.

According to the AMO maintenance policy manual, duties (b) and (c) are delegated to the assistant to the maintenance manager, and duty (d) is delegated to the quality assurance manager. The duties of assistant to the maintenance manager and quality assurance are performed by the AMO president. The maintenance manager is not a full-time employee.

Airworthiness Notice B041 contains the requirements for the engine on-condition maintenance program. Operators may incorporate such programs in their aircraft maintenance schedules as an alternative to the manufacturer's recommended "hard time" programs. Continued compliance with the Pilot Operating Handbook, Aircraft Flight Manual, Engine Operating Manual , and the maintenance practices recommended by the manufacturer may help to extend the time between overhauls. The program consists of repetitive periodic inspections to determine a unit's (component's) condition so that it will be removed from service prior to failure during normal operations.

Before approving this program, the maintenance manager must review all recommendations issued by the aircraft, engine, propeller, and component manufacturers in the form of service publications and other documents, such as service bulletins, directives, letters, etc. The maintenance manager must study the recommendations to determine whether incorporation of a given element is appropriate to the new program. The program provides for repeat inspections at intervals of 25, 50, 100, and 200 hours. The entries for the checks performed and the actions taken must be made and certified in the relevant technical records in accordance with CAR 571.03.

The level of inspection provided for in the program is not comparable to an overhaul by an approved engine shop. The inspection consists in assessing the current condition of the engine, and ensuring that the operating parameters set by the manufacturer are within prescribed limits and that the engine's external and internal condition does not show any form of corrosion, damage, or wear. Oil analysis and removal of the cylinders are the only possible means of determining internal condition. Even when the cylinders are removed for inspection, several important parts are not visible; therefore, they cannot be assessed.

The engine teardown identified some fractured components that needed metallurgical analysis and evaluation. These included a broken valve spring (part number LW-11799), an intake valve (part number LW13087), and the propeller shaft-driven gear (part number 75562). Even though the valve spring breakage did not contribute to the loss of the propeller, there was a fatigue point caused by corrosion. The intake valve head was broken into four segments, but did not exhibit signs of progressive failure; rather, the fractures were consistent with a rapid overstress most likely caused by overspeed due to the loss of the propeller.

On the other hand, the propeller shaft-driven gear exhibited widespread fatigue cracking of the gear teeth, complete separation of the rim from the hub at the web, and ovalization of the rim itself. Although the roots of the gear teeth were covered with a carbonaceous oil residue, there was indication of corrosion pitting. After removal of the bulk of the oil residue by repeated application of an oven cleaner solution, the corrosion pitting became even more noticeable. Detailed examination of the fatigue crack initiation sites established a link between the corrosion pits and the cracks.

Analysis

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. The aircraft was airworthy, and there were no known deficiencies before the flight.

Before submitting an amendment to a maintenance schedule, the maintenance manager must review all recommendations issued by the engine manufacturer, such as service bulletins, directives, letters, etc. The maintenance manager must study the recommendations to determine whether incorporation of a given element to the new program is appropriate. The engine manufacturer had issued Service Instruction 1009AJ, clearly stating the possibility of engine deterioration. The maintenance manager, in his analysis, and TC, in granting its approval, did not take those recommendations into account.

The operator had its own AMO. Except for the position of maintenance manager, all other duties related to AMO operations were delegated to the AMO president. Three of the four duties ordinarily carried out by the maintenance manager had been delegated to the assistant to the maintenance manager, who is the AMO president. This seems to indicate that a single individual directed the operator's operations and maintenance, especially since the maintenance manager was not a full-time employee. This organizational structure had been approved by TC.

The engine manufacturer has established a limit for hours of operation for each engine type it manufactures. The limit varies depending on the type of operation and the quality of the maintenance done on its product. However, the engine manufacturer allows no flexibility as to the number of years of use, and clearly recommends never exceeding the 12-year limit, as specified in Service Instruction 1009AJ.

The TSB Engineering Branch determined that the presence of corrosion pitting in various areas resulted from a lack of proper corrosion prevention measures. Examination of the technical records revealed that no action had been taken to that effect. The presence of corrosion caused an accelerated wear, considering the relatively low number of hours of operation of the engine. The possible increased play and the fatigue from corrosion pitting both contributed to the failure of the propeller shaft-driven gear. This failure in turn led to the destruction of the propeller housing case, and the propeller separated in flight.

The following Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 90/98--Engine components examination.

Findings

  1. Review of the records indicates that the pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. The aircraft was certified and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.
  3. The first amendment to maintenance schedule Q-2360 was approved on 22 May 1998. The main purpose of this amendment was to include in the maintenance schedule Airworthiness Notice B041, which refers to the on-condition engine program.
  4. Textron Lycoming Service Instruction 1009AJ recommends a time between overhauls of 1 200 hours or 12 years.
  5. The engine had accumulated 1 247 hours, and 19 years and 3 months had elapsed since it was overhauled.
  6. The AMO's organizational structure had been approved by TC.
  7. The condition of certain internal engine components could not be assessed due to the level of inspection performed under the on-condition engine inspection program.
  8. The propeller housing case was destroyed, and the propeller separated in flight.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The increased play and fatigue caused by corrosion pitting both caused the propeller shaft- driven gear to fail. This failure in turn led to the destruction of the propeller housing case, and the propeller separated in flight. Contributing to the occurrence was the fact that neither the maintenance manager nor TC took into account the manufacturer's Service Instruction 1009AJ concerning the time between engine overhauls.

Safety Action Taken

Changes to the maintenance schedule (Q-2360) were requested by TC and were made by the operator to discontinue the on-condition engine program.

In December 1998, TC issued a notice of suspension of the operator's operating certificate because the operator no longer had a maintenance agreement. The operator revised its organizational structure and subcontracted its maintenance to another AMO.

TC is assessing the regulations contained in CAR 573 that apply to the reporting structure within an AMO.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Jonathan Seymour, Charles Simpson, W.A. Tadros and Henry Wright, authorized the release of this report on 13 January 2000.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98F0033

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte d'une hélice en vol
Aéro 3000
Piper PA-31P C-GAFG
20 nm au nord du VOR de
Watertown (New York) États-Unis
Le 22 juillet 1998

Résumé

Le Piper Navajo, immatriculé C-GAFG, portant le numéro de série 31P-76, avec cinq personnes à son bord, effectuait un vol commercial selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) entre l'aéroport d'Ottawa (Ontario) et Syracuse (New York) aux États-Unis. Alors que l'avion était en croisière à 10 000 pieds-mer, l'équipage a entendu un bruit anormal très fort et très bref. Le copilote a vu l'hélice du côté droit se détacher du moteur et se déplacer vers le haut et la droite, sans toutefois toucher à l'avion. Une quantité importante d'huile s'est répandue sur l'aile droite. L'équipage a aussitôt effectué la procédure d'urgence tout en informant le centre de contrôle de Boston (Massachusetts) aux États-Unis. La descente a été effectuée à vue sur un seul moteur. L'avion a atterri sans difficulté à l'aéroport de Watertown en présence des véhicules d'urgence.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'examen des dossiers révèle que le commandant de bord possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il travaillait pour le compte de la compagnie et totalisait environ 690 heures de vol au moment de l'événement dont environ 68 heures sur type. Il était titulaire de la licence de pilote professionnel avion depuis 1996.

L'aéronef totalisait 3 468 heures de vol depuis sa construction en 1972. Il avait été acheté en Colombie-Britannique en février 1998. Dès son arrivée chez l'exploitant, une inspection majeure des 1 000 heures avait été effectuée conformément au programme d'inspection approuvé. Depuis cette inspection, l'avion avait effectué 69 heures de vol.

Le moteur avait été installé sur l'avion en août 1986; il totalisait alors 947 heures depuis sa remise à neuf en mars 1979. Au moment de l'inspection majeure des 1 000 heures en 1998, le moteur totalisait 1 178 heures. L'examen des dossiers techniques révèle que le moteur a accumulé seulement 231 heures de fonctionnement dans les 12 dernières années. Au moment de l'événement, le moteur totalisait 1 247 heures de fonctionnement, et il s'était écoulé 19 ans et trois mois depuis sa remise à neuf en mars 1979. L'instruction de service 1009AJ de Textron Lycoming recommande un temps entre révisions de 1 200 heures ou 12 ans. En publiant cette instruction de service, le constructeur voulait apporter des précisions et établir des procédures claires quant aux normes d'utilisation et d'entretien de ses moteurs. L'instruction mentionne également que les exploitants peuvent augmenter le temps entre révisions à la condition d'utiliser le moteur en service continu, c'est-à-dire que le moteur ne doit pas être plus de 30 jours sans fonctionner. De plus, le constructeur fait une mise en garde au niveau de la possibilité de détériorations des matériaux et des pièces lors des périodes de non-fonctionnement. Il précise que les moteurs ne devraient jamais dépasser le temps entre révisions de 12 ans.

L'hélice avait été installée sur le moteur droit le 31 juillet 1997 au terme d'une révision complète. Au moment de l'inspection majeure des 1 000 heures, l'hélice totalisait 15 heures depuis la dernière révision. Au moment de l'événement, l'hélice totalisait 84 heures depuis la dernière révision.

Au Canada, les exploitants doivent entretenir leurs avions selon un calendrier de maintenance approuvé par Transports Canada. Ces calendriers de maintenance sont soumis pour approbation au terme d'une analyse effectuée par l'exploitant et dépendent, entre autres, du type d'exploitation, du type de vol effectué par l'avion et des prévisions d'utilisation annuelles calculées en heures et en cycles. Il incombe aux exploitants d'identifier les modifications nécessaires pour tenir compte des changements de conditions et d'obtenir de Transports Canada l'autorisation d'incorporer ces changements. L'exploitant avait reçu son nouveau certificat d'exploitation le 17 mars 1998. Le calendrier de maintenance d'origine (no Q-2360) avait été approuvé le 10 novembre 1997. Un premier amendement au calendrier de maintenance avait ensuite été approuvé le 22 mai 1998. Cet amendement visait principalement à incorporer au calendrier de maintenance l'avis de navigabilité no B041 qui fait référence au programme des moteurs selon état.

Le manuel de politiques de maintenance de l'organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA) a été présenté à Transports Canada le 15 août 1996 et a été approuvé le 28 juillet 1997. Il répond aux exigences de l'article 573.10 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) en ce qui concerne les organismes de maintenance agréé. Le certificat d'agrément no 31-97 a été délivré à l'OMA le 28 juillet 1997. L'examen du manuel de politiques de maintenance de l'OMA révèle que le président de l'OMA est responsable de toutes les tâches liées aux activités de l'OMA, sauf des fonctions du directeur de la maintenance (responsable de la maintenance). Le président de l'OMA fait fonction de contremaître du hangar, de gérant de l'assurance de la qualité, d'adjoint au directeur de la maintenance, d'apprenti, de magasinier et de commis aux dossiers et est responsable des tâches liées à ces postes.

Selon le manuel de politiques de maintenance de l'OMA, le directeur de la maintenance a les responsabilités suivantes : a) il est responsable de toutes les activités de maintenance que l'OMA entreprend et doit satisfaire aux normes de compétence énoncées au chapitre 573 du Manuel de navigabilité; b) il est responsable de la distribution du travail au personnel de maintenance; c) il est responsable de la formation initiale, de la formation périodique et de la formation supplémentaire données au personnel de maintenance; d) il est responsable du programme d'assurance de la qualité et doit faire en sorte que la maintenance et la gestion de la maintenance répondent aux normes énoncées au chapitre 573 du Manuel de navigabilité.

Or, selon le manuel de politiques de maintenance de l'OMA, les tâches b) et c) sont déléguées à l'adjoint au directeur de la maintenance, et la tâche d) est déléguée au gérant de l'assurance de la qualité. Les tâches d'assistant au directeur de la maintenance et d'assurance de la qualité sont accomplies par le président de l'OMA. Le directeur de la maintenance n'est pas un employé à temps plein.

L'avis de navigabilité no B041 précise les exigences relatives au programme de maintenance selon état pour moteurs. «Tout exploitant peut incorporer ce type de programme à ses calendriers de maintenance en remplacement des programmes à périodicité fixe recommandés par le constructeur. (...) Le fait de respecter scrupuleusement les exigences du manuel d'utilisation [de l'avion], du manuel de vol de l'aéronef, du manuel d'utilisation du moteur et des pratiques de maintenance recommandées par le constructeur peut également contribuer à prolonger les intervalles de révision. (...) Le programme consiste en des inspections périodiques répétitives qui permettent de déterminer l'état d'une unité et de ses composants afin de la retirer du service avant qu'elle ne tombe en panne pendant les opérations normales.»

Avant d'approuver ce programme, le responsable de la maintenance doit passer en revue toutes les recommandations publiées par le constructeur de l'aéronef, le constructeur du moteur, le fabricant de l'hélice et le fabricant des composants, sous la forme de publications de service et autres documents (bulletins de service, consignes, lettres, etc.) Le responsable de la maintenance doit étudier les recommandations pour déterminer s'il est opportun d'inclure un élément donné au nouveau programme. Des inspections répétitives aux 25 heures, 50 heures, 100 heures et 200 heures sont prévues au programme. Les inscriptions concernant les vérifications et les corrections effectuées doivent être faites et certifiées dans les dossiers techniques pertinents conformément à l'article 571.03 du RAC.

Le niveau d'inspection visé par le programme n'est pas comparable à une révision effectuée par un atelier moteur approuvé. En effet, l'inspection consiste à évaluer l'état actuel du moteur en s'assurant que les paramètres d'opération établis par le constructeur sont dans les limites prescrites et que l'état externe et interne du moteur ne présente aucun type de corrosion, de dommages ni d'usure. Seuls l'analyse de l'huile et l'enlèvement des cylindres peuvent permettre d'établir l'état interne. Même lorsque les cylindres sont enlevés pour inspection, plusieurs pièces importantes ne sont pas visibles; c'est pourquoi elles ne peuvent pas être évaluées.

Le démontage du moteur a révélé que quelques pièces présentant des ruptures devaient être évaluées et analysées au niveau métallurgique. Au nombre de ces pièces, on compte un ressort de soupape (réf. LW-11799), une soupape d'admission (réf. LW13087), et l'engrenage de l'arbre porte-hélice (réf. 75562). Même si le bris du ressort de soupape n'a pas contribué à la rupture de l'hélice, il existait un point de fatigue causé par la corrosion. La soupape d'admission, dont la tête était rompue en quatre parties, ne présentait aucun signe de rupture progressive; au contraire, la rupture avait été causée par un effort rapide, vraisemblablement le résultat d'une survitesse attribuable à la rupture de l'hélice.

Par contre, l'engrenage de l'arbre porte-hélice présentait une surface importante de fatigue causée par une fissure des dents d'engrenage, une séparation complète entre le rebord et le moyeu dans la région de l'âme du moyeu et une ovalisation du rebord lui-même. Même si l'emplanture des dents d'engrenage était recouverte de résidus d'huile carbonisée, il y avait des piqûres de corrosion. De multiples nettoyages des résidus d'huile ont été effectués grâce à l'application répétée de produit à nettoyer les fours, et les piqûres de corrosion sont devenues de plus en plus visibles. Un examen détaillé des endroits où se trouvaient les amorces de fissure de fatigue a permis d'établir un lien entre les piqûres de corrosion et les fissures.

Analyse

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation actuelle. L'aéronef était en état de navigabilité et ne présentait aucune anomalie connue avant le vol.

Avant de présenter un amendement à son calendrier de maintenance, le responsable de la maintenance doit passer en revue toutes les recommandations publiées par le constructeur du moteur tels les bulletins de service, les consignes, les lettres, etc. Le responsable de la maintenance doit étudier les recommandations pour déterminer s'il est opportun d'inclure un élément donné au nouveau calendrier. Or, le constructeur du moteur a émis l'instruction de service 1009AJ qui mentionne clairement la possibilité de détérioration des moteurs. Le responsable de la maintenance, dans son analyse, et Transports Canada, lors de l'approbation, n'ont pas tenu compte de ces recommandations.

L'exploitant possédait son propre organisme de maintenance agréé. À l'exclusion des fonctions du poste de directeur de la maintenance, toutes les tâches liées aux activités de l'OMA étaient déléguées au président de l'OMA. De plus, trois des quatre fonctions remplies habituellement par le directeur de la maintenance étaient assignées à l'adjoint au directeur de la maintenance, qui est le président de l'OMA. Donc, il y a tout lieu de croire qu'une seule personne dirigeait les opérations et faisait la maintenance de l'exploitant, d'autant plus que le directeur de la maintenance n'était pas un employé à temps plein. Cette structure organisationnelle avait été approuvée par Transports Canada.

Le constructeur du moteur a établi une limite d'heures de fonctionnement pour chaque type de moteur qu'il fabrique. Cette limite peut varier selon le genre d'opération et la qualité d'entretien dont son produit fait l'objet. Par contre, il ne donne aucune flexibilité quant au nombre d'années d'utilisation et recommande clairement de ne jamais dépasser la limite de 12 ans, comme le spécifie l'instruction de service 1009AJ.

Le Laboratoire technique du BST a établi que la présence de piqûres de corrosion à divers endroits était attribuable à un manque de mesures préventives. L'examen des dossiers techniques révèle qu'aucune mesure n'avait été prise à cet égard. La corrosion a donc causé une usure prématurée, si l'on tient compte du nombre d'heures de fonctionnement peu élevé du moteur. L'augmentation possible de jeu et la fatigue causée par les piqûres de corrosion ont contribué à la rupture de l'engrenage de l'arbre porte-hélice. Cette rupture a occasionné la destruction du boîtier de l'hélice qui a provoqué du même coup la rupture de l'hélice.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant : LP 90/98 - Engine components examination (Examen des composants du moteur).

Faits établis

  1. L'examen des dossiers révèle que le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. L'appareil était certifié et entretenu selon la réglementation en vigueur et les procédures approuvées.
  3. Le premier amendement au calendrier de maintenance no Q-2360 a été approuvé le 22 mai 1998. Cet amendement visait principalement à incorporer au calendrier de maintenance l'avis de navigabilité no B041 qui fait référence au programme des moteurs selon état.
  4. L'instruction de service 1009AJ de Textron Lycoming recommande un temps entre révisions de 1 200 heures ou 12 ans.
  5. Le moteur totalisait 1 247 heures de fonctionnement, et il s'était écoulé 19 ans et trois mois depuis sa dernière révision.
  6. La structure organisationnelle de l'OMA avait été approuvée par Transports Canada.
  7. Le niveau d'inspection, effectué dans le cadre du programme d'inspection des moteurs selon état, ne permettait pas d'évaluer l'état de certaines pièces internes du moteur.
  8. Le boîtier de l'hélice a été détruit, et l'hélice s'est détachée en vol.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'augmentation de jeu et la fatigue attribuable aux piqûres de corrosion ont causé la rupture de l'engrenage de l'arbre porte-hélice. Cette rupture a occasionné la destruction du boîtier de l'hélice, et l'hélice s'est détachée en vol. Facteurs contributifs : ni le responsable de la maintenance, ni Transports Canada n'ont tenu compte de l'instruction de service 1009AJ du constructeur relative au temps entre révisions des moteurs.

Mesures de sécurité

Des changements au calendrier de maintenance (no Q-2360) ont été demandés par Transports Canada et ont été apportés par l'exploitant afin de supprimer le programme des moteurs selon état.

En décembre 1998, Transports Canada a envoyé un avis de suspension du certificat d'exploitation aérienne à l'exploitant parce que ce dernier ne possédait plus d'entente de maintenance. L'exploitant a modifié sa structure organisationnelle et a sous-traité ses travaux de maintenance à un autre organisme de maintenance agréé.

Transports Canada examine les règlements de l'article 573 du RAC applicables à la structure organisationnelle des organismes de maintenance agréés.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 13 janvier 2000 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Jonathan Seymour, Charles Simpson, W.A. Tadros et Henry Wright.