Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.6.1  General

  1. 1.6.1.1 - MD-11 Design and Configuration
  2. 1.6.1.2 - Weight and Balance
  3. 1.6.1.3 - Aircraft Coordinate System
  4. 1.6.1.4 - Cockpit Attic and Forward Cabin Drop-Ceiling Areas – Description

Table 5: General Information about the Occurrence Aircraft (HB-IWF)

Manufacturer McDonnell Douglas Corporation
Type and Model MD-11
Year of Manufacture 1991
Serial Number (SN) 48448
Certificate of Airworthiness Issued 28 July 1991
Total Airframe Time (hours) 36 041
Engine Type (number of) Pratt & Whitney 4462 (3)
Maximum Take-Off Weight 285 990 kilograms (kg)
Recommended Fuel Types Jet A, Jet A-1, JP-5, JP-8, Jet B
Fuel Type Used Jet A

1.6.1.1  MD-11 Design and Configuration

The McDonnell Douglas MD-11 design project began in 1986. The MD-11 design is structurally based on the McDonnell Douglas DC-10 design (see Figure 1 and Figure 2). The MD-11 was designed for more economical and efficient operation than the DC-10, by incorporating modern, automated systems. The redesign automated most of the functions that were performed by the flight engineer in the DC-10, thereby allowing for a two-crew cockpit. The first MD-11 flight was on 10 January 1990 and delivery of the aircraft to the first customer was on 7 December 1990. The occurrence aircraft was manufactured in 1991 and was put directly into service by Swissair.

As the MD-11 was manufactured and certified in the United States (US) in accordance with applicable Federal Aviation Regulations (FAR), the regulatory focus of this report is directed toward the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). Many civil aviation authorities (CAA) have drafted or harmonized their respective certification and continuing airworthiness regulations based on the FAA model; therefore, the issues in this report may also apply to other regulatory authorities.

The occurrence aircraft was configured with 241 passenger seats: 12 first class, 49 business class, and 180 economy class. The first- and business-class seats were equipped with an in-flight entertainment system,[11] certified and installed in accordance with a US FAA Supplemental Type Certificate (STC).

1.6.1.2  Weight and Balance

Weight and balance calculations completed after the occurrence determined that the actual take-off weight for SR 111 was approximately 241 100 kg. The centre of gravity (C of G) was calculated to be 20 per cent mean aerodynamic chord (MAC). Other than very small differences, the post-occurrence calculations confirmed that the weight and balance calculations used for dispatch were accurate. (STI1-4) The aircraft's weight was within limits, and throughout the flight the C of G was within the normal range (15 to 32 per cent MAC). The maximum allowable landing weight for the aircraft was 199 580 kg; the maximum overweight landing weight, allowable under certain conditions, was 218 400 kg. In an emergency, from an aircraft structural limit perspective, the aircraft can land at any weight; however, operational aspects, such as required stopping distance versus available runway distance, must be considered.

1.6.1.3  Aircraft Coordinate System

The MD-11 fuselage comprises six major sections and two minor sections (see Figure 2). The major sections extend from Section B, the nose/cockpit area of the aircraft, to Section G, the aft fuselage section. The two minor sections, sections 6 and 5, were inserted fore and aft of Section E to extend the length of the original DC-10 fuselage. Each fuselage section consists of the external skin, internal circumferential frames, and longitudinal stiffening members (longerons and intercostals). Figure 2 also shows the locations of numerous manufacturing stations (STA), fuselage sections, the forward doors, lavatories (LAV), and galleys.

An X, Y, Z Cartesian coordinate system is used to identify any point within the aircraft.

  • The X-axis extends laterally across the width of the aircraft. Lateral coordinates are measured in inches left or right of the fuselage longitudinal centre line. From the centre line toward the left wing, locations are positive coordinates (e.g., X= 80); locations toward the right wing are negative coordinates (e.g., X= –80).
  • The Y-axis extends longitudinally from the nose to tail, is expressed in STAs, and is measured in inches aft of a designated point in front of the aircraft. For the MD-11, the tip of the nose of the aircraft is located at STA 239 and the cockpit door is located at STA 383.
  • The Z-axis extends vertically through the aircraft. Vertical coordinates are measured in inches above or below the waterline (Z= 0), which, in the MD-11, is located 18 inches above the cabin floor. The cabin floor is therefore located at Z= –18.

1.6.1.4  Cockpit Attic and Forward Cabin Drop-Ceiling Areas – Description

The following section describes the cockpit attic and forward cabin drop-ceiling areas (see Figure 2, Figure 3, Figure 4, Figure 5, Figure 6, and Figure 7); the fire damage[12] and fire propagation in these areas is discussed in other sections of this report.

The space above the cockpit ceiling liner and the passenger cabin ceiling is referred to as the "attic" (see Figure 2). In Swissair MD-11 aircraft, the attic was divided at the cockpit rear wall. On the right side, the aluminum cockpit wall extended vertically to provide the division. On the left side, a single vertical smoke barrier was installed. (See Figure 3.)

The smoke barrier assembly above the left half of the cockpit rear wall consisted of a curtain made of nylon elastomer-coated cloth that was suspended from a curved aluminum alloy curtain rod. Hook-and-loop fastener[13] was used around most of the outer periphery of the cloth to attach it to the curtain rod, as well as to attach it to the adjacent aircraft structure along the bottom and right side. Thermal acoustic insulation blanket (insulation blanket) splicing tape was installed along the entire top edge of the smoke barrier to close gaps between the rod and the adjacent insulation blankets. The smoke barrier was designed with the following openings: three near the top of the curtain to permit the engine fire shut-off cables to pass through and two near the centre of the curtain to accommodate the installation of the cockpit air ducts.

Regulations require the installation of a smoke barrier between the cockpit and the rear of the aircraft in cargo and combination cargo/passenger configurations. However, there is no regulatory requirement to install smoke barriers in passenger aircraft, nor is there a requirement for the smoke barrier to meet a fire rating or fire blocking standard specific to a passenger aircraft application. Regardless, the barrier was certified to meet general aircraft material requirements and was installed in the aircraft during manufacture.

Examination of other Swissair MD-11 aircraft in the Swissair fleet disclosed that openings existed in the smoke barriers, and in areas adjacent to the barrier. Some of these openings were located at conduit and wire run locations that pass through or above the cockpit rear wall. The top edge of the rear, right cockpit wall near STA 383 has a cut-out in it to permit the passage of wire bundles and conduits. (See Figure 4 and Figure 5.)

Three 102-centimetre (cm) (40-inch) long conduits[14] and five wire bundles pass over the cockpit rear wall at this point, and continue aft over the top of Galley 2 between STA 383 and STA 420. (See Figure 3, Figure 4, Figure 5, and Figure 7.) The ends of the conduits were not required to be sealed and were found unsealed in other MD-11 aircraft that were examined. These conduits and wire bundles are attached by straps to a series of wire support brackets located at STA 383, 392, 401, 410, and 420. The wire bracket positioned at STA 383 is at a slight angle relative to the cockpit wall, which is directly below it. The top edge of this bracket, and attached wire bundles, are in contact with the metallized polyethylene terephthalate (MPET)–covered insulation blanket. Each of the conduits protrude forward of the cockpit wall by varying amounts because of the angle of the wall to the bracket.

Typically, the forward protrusion of the outboard conduit is the shortest of the three and the forward protrusion of the inboard conduit is the longest. These lengths, as measured from the bracket, vary from approximately 2.5 to 8 cm (1 to 3 inches) for the outboard and middle conduits. The inboard conduit was not used for any of the in-flight entertainment network (IFEN) installations. The cut-out extends downward approximately 8 cm (3 inches) from the top of the wall and is approximately 48 cm (19 inches) wide. A piece of closed-cell polyethylene foam containing fire retardant additives (i.e., part number (PN) NBN6718-83; Douglas Material Specification (DMS) 1954, Class 1, Grade 4101) is installed at this location to act as filler material for the cut-out.

Between STA 366 and STA 383 there are a number of wire support brackets installed in the fore-aft direction. These brackets are used to support wire bundles routed from behind the observer's station down into the avionics compartment; this area is commonly referred to as the "ladder area."[15] The aft end of the top bracket in the "ladder" is located near the outboard end of the cut-out in the cockpit wall (see Figure 3 and Figure 5). The brackets, and many of the wire bundles, are pressed up against, and closely follow, the curved contour of the fuselage over-frame MPET-covered insulation blankets.

Just aft of the right side of the cockpit rear wall, above Galley 2, a sound-suppression muff assembly (muff assembly) was installed around a splice junction of the conditioned air riser duct assembly (see Figure 6). The muff assembly uses an MPET-covered insulation blanket secured at both ends by hook-and-loop fasteners.

A second type of closed-cell polyethylene foam (PN ABE7049-41) was used around the windshield defog terminal blocks on the left side of the cockpit. A sample of the second type of foam (PN ABE7049-41) was removed from a Swissair MD-11 aircraft and tested. When the sample specimen was exposed to a small flame, the specimen ignited easily and burned.

Both of these foam materials were specified to DMS 1954, Class 1, Grade 4101, which states that the foam should possess fire-retardant additives and be certified to pass a 12-second vertical burn test as required in FAR 25.853, Appendix F. Literature indicates that both foams met FAR 25.853, Appendix F for commercial aircraft interior compartment components.

The manufacturer's material safety data sheet product code 37076 for the Dow Chemical Ethafoam® 4101, PN NBN6718-83, dated 23 August 1993, and current product information indicate that this polyethylene foam is combustible[16] and should not be exposed to flame or other ignition sources.

No foam was identified from the cockpit area of the occurrence aircraft.

In the Swissair MD-11s, the forward end of the muff assembly comes into close proximity to the lower right edge of the smoke barrier, and to the vent duct assembly for Galley 2. The galley vent duct, which is designed to exhaust odours and hot air from the galley when in operation, was not connected to the top of Galley 2, as Galley 2 was not electrically powered and not in service. A silicone elastomeric end cap was placed over the vent duct to close it off. The cap was located between the aft side of the cockpit rear wall and the forward side of one of the three riser ducts (see Figure 4 and Figure 6).

Five wire bundles and three conduits run aft from the cockpit and over the top of the riser duct assembly. The majority of the wire bundles descend from the wire support bracket at STA 420 to pass under the R1 door, flapper door ramp deflector. This drop in the wire bundles is generally referred to as the "waterfall" area (see Figure 7). Two of the wire runs, namely FDC and FBC, are clamped together and attached to a ceiling support tube located at approximately STA 427. This clamping arrangement is referred to in this report as a "marriage clamp." The ramp deflector is used to minimize the possibility of the forward right passenger door flapper panel from damaging adjacent wire assemblies if the flapper panel torsion spring should fail. The door flapper panel moves with the passenger cabin door when the door is raised or lowered.


[11]    The in-flight entertainment system installed in the occurrence aircraft was referred to as the in-flight entertainment network.

[12]    Fire damage is defined as heat and smoke damage as caused by a fire.

[13]    Velcro® is a commonly known brand of hook-and-loop fastener.

[14]    The conduits were identified by part number ABP7646-39 as 1.0 (inside diameter) x .020 (thick) x 40 inches long. Measurements of similar conduits on other MD-11 aircraft showed they could be as long as 108 centimetres (cm) (42.5 inches).

[15]    The wire brackets and the frames to which they are mounted are similar in appearance to a ladder. This area is commonly referred to as the "ladder area."

[16]    A material that will ignite and burn when sufficient heat is applied to it.

Previous | Next

Date de modification :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

1.6.1  Généralités

Tableau 5 : Renseignements généraux sur l'avion en question (HB-IWF)

Constructeur McDonnell Douglas Corporation
Type et modèle MD-11
Année de construction 1991
Numéro de série 48448
Certificat de navigabilité Délivré le 28 juillet 1991
Total des heures cellules 36 041
Type de moteur (nombre) Pratt & Whitney 4462 (3)
Masse maximale au décollage 285 990 kilogrammes (kg)
Types de carburant recommandé Jet A, Jet A-1, JP-5, JP-8, Jet B
Type de carburant utilisé Jet A

1.6.1.1  Conception et configuration du MD-11

Le projet de conception du MD-11 de McDonnell Douglas a vu le jour en 1986. La conception du MD-11 se fonde structuralement sur la conception du DC-10 de McDonnell Douglas (voir Figure 1 et Figure 2). Le MD-11 a été conçu pour une exploitation plus économique et plus efficiente que celle du DC-10, grâce à l'intégration de systèmes automatisés modernes. La nouvelle conception a automatisé la plupart des fonctions qui étaient exécutées par le mécanicien de bord dans le DC-10, ce qui s'est traduit par un poste de pilotage à deux. Le premier vol du MD-11 a eu lieu le 10 janvier 1990, et l'avion a été livré à son premier client le 7 décembre 1990. L'avion en question avait été construit en 1991 et mis directement en service chez Swissair.

Comme le MD-11 a été construit et certifié aux États-Unis (É.-U.) conformément aux Federal Aviation Regulations (FAR) pertinents, la composante réglementaire du présent rapport vise la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). Bien des autorités de l'aviation civile ont rédigé et harmonisé leurs propres règlements de certification et de maintien de la navigabilité aérienne en fonction du modèle de la FAA; par conséquent, les enjeux du présent rapport pourraient aussi s'appliquer à d'autres autorités réglementaires.

L'avion était configuré pour accueillir 241 passagers : 12 en première classe, 49 en classe affaires et 180 en classe économique. Les sièges de première classe et de la classe affaires étaient équipés d'un système de divertissement de bord[11], certifié et installé conformément au certificat de type supplémentaire (STC) de la FAA des États-Unis.

1.6.1.2  Masse et centrage

Les calculs de masse et centrage après l'accident ont indiqué que la masse réelle au décollage de SR 111 était d'environ 241 100 kg. Le centrage (C de G) avait été calculé comme étant équivalent à 20 % de la corde aérodynamique moyenne (CAM). Outre de très petites différences, les calculs exécutés après l'accident ont confirmé que les calculs de masse et de centrage utilisés pour le départ étaient exacts (DIT1-4). La masse de l'avion s'inscrivait dans les limites, et pendant tout le vol, le centrage s'est situé à l'intérieur de la plage normale (15 à 32 % de la CAM). La masse maximale autorisée à l'atterrissage pour l'avion était de 199 580 kg; la masse maximale en surcharge à l'atterrissage, autorisée à certaines conditions, était de 218 400 kg. Dans une situation d'urgence, du point de vue des limites structurales d'un avion, ce dernier peut se poser à n'importe quelle masse; toutefois, des aspects opérationnels, comme la distance d'arrêt nécessaire par rapport à la distance de piste disponible, doivent être pris en compte.

1.6.1.3  Système des coordonnées de l'avion

Le fuselage du MD-11 comprend six tronçons principaux et deux tronçons secondaires (voir Figure 2). Les tronçons principaux se prolongent à partir de la section B, soit le nez et le poste de pilotage de l'avion, jusqu'à la section G, soit le tronçon du fuselage arrière. Les deux tronçons secondaires, soit les tronçons 6 et 5, étaient insérés dans l'axe de la section E pour prolonger la longueur du fuselage d'origine du DC-10. Chaque tronçon de fuselage comprend le revêtement extérieur, les cadres périphériques intérieurs et les éléments de renfort longitudinaux (longerons et lisses). La figure 2 montre aussi l'emplacement des nombreuses références de construction, les tronçons de fuselage, les portes avant, les toilettes et les offices.

Un système de coordonnées cartésiennes X, Y, Z est utilisé pour localiser tout point à l'intérieur de l'avion.

  • L'axe des X se prolonge latéralement sur toute la largeur de l'avion. Les coordonnées transversales sont mesurées en pouces à gauche ou à droite de l'axe longitudinal du fuselage. À partir de l'axe vers l'aile gauche, les emplacements sont des coordonnées positives (p. ex. X= 80); les emplacements situés vers l'aile droite sont des coordonnées négatives (p. ex. X= –80).
  • L'axe des Y se prolonge longitudinalement du nez jusqu'à la queue, il s'exprime en références, et il se mesure en pouces derrière un point désigné devant l'avion. Pour le MD-11, l'extrémité du nez de l'avion se trouve à la référence 239, et la porte du poste de pilotage se trouve à la référence 383.
  • L'axe des Z se prolonge verticalement à travers l'avion. Les coordonnées verticales sont mesurées en pouces au-dessus ou au-dessous de la référence verticale (Z= 0), qui, dans le MD-11, se trouve à 18 po au-dessus du plancher de la cabine. Le plancher de la cabine est par conséquent situé à Z= –18.

1.6.1.4  Espaces inoccupés du poste de pilotage et plafond suspendu de la partie avant de la cabine – Description

La rubrique suivante décrit les espaces inoccupés du poste de pilotage et le plafond suspendu de la partie avant de la cabine (voir Figure 2, Figure 3, Figure 4, Figure 5, Figure 6 et Figure 7); les dommages causés par l'incendie[12] et la propagation de l'incendie à ces endroits sont abordés dans d'autres sections du présent rapport.

L'espace situé au-dessus du revêtement du plafond du poste de pilotage et du plafond de la cabine est un « espace inoccupé » (voir Figure 2). Dans l'avion MD-11 de Swissair, l'espace inoccupé était divisé au niveau de la paroi arrière du poste de pilotage. Sur le côté droit, la paroi en aluminium du poste de pilotage se prolongeait verticalement pour constituer la division. Sur le côté gauche, un seul rideau anti-fumée vertical était installé (voir Figure 3).

Le rideau anti-fumée situé au-dessus de la moitié gauche de la paroi arrière du poste de pilotage était un rideau fabriqué de tissu enduit d'un élastomère en nylon et qui était suspendu à une tringle de rideau incurvée en alliage d'aluminium. Des fermetures à bouclettes de nylon[13] étaient utilisées sur presque toute la périphérie extérieure du tissu pour le fixer à la tringle du rideau, et pour le fixer à la structure voisine de l'avion le long du côté droit et du bas. Une bande adhésive isolante pour matelas d'isolation thermique et acoustique (matelas isolant) était posée sur tout le bord supérieur du rideau anti-fumée pour masquer les interstices entre la tringle et les matelas isolants voisins. Le rideau anti-fumée était conçu avec les ouvertures suivantes : trois près de l'extrémité supérieure du rideau pour permettre aux câbles des poignées coupe-feu des moteurs de traverser, et deux près du centre du rideau pour faciliter l'installation des gaines d'air dans le poste de pilotage.

La réglementation exige l'installation d'un rideau anti-fumée entre le poste de pilotage et l'arrière de l'avion dans les configurations avion cargo et avion de transport mixte fret-passagers. Toutefois, il n'y a aucune exigence réglementaire sur l'installation de rideaux anti-fumée dans les avions de transport de passagers, et rien n'exige qu'un rideau anti-fumée satisfasse à une norme de classification de feu ou de résistance au feu lorsqu'il est installé dans un avion de transport de passagers. Quoi qu'il en soit, le rideau anti-fumée était certifié comme satisfaisant aux exigences générales des matériaux d'aéronef et il avait été installé pendant la construction de l'avion.

L'examen d'autres avions MD-11 de la flotte de Swissair a permis de découvrir qu'il y avait des ouvertures dans les rideaux anti-fumée et dans les zones voisines de ce rideau. Certaines de ces ouvertures se trouvaient au niveau des guide-fils et des chemins de câbles qui traversent la paroi arrière du poste de pilotage ou passent au-dessus de celle-ci. Le bord supérieur de la paroi arrière droite du poste de pilotage, près de la référence 383, comprend une découpe pour permettre le passage des faisceaux de fils et des guide-fils. (Voir Figure 4 et Figure 5.)

Trois longs guide-fils[14] de 102 centimètres (cm) (40 po) et cinq faisceaux de fils passaient par-dessus la paroi arrière du poste de pilotage à cet endroit et continuaient vers l'arrière par-dessus l'office 2, entre les références 383 et 420 (voir Figure 3, Figure 4, Figure 5 et Figure 7). Il n'était pas nécessaire que les extrémités des guide-fils soient scellées et elles ont été découvertes non scellées dans d'autres avions MD-11 qui ont été examinés. Ces guide-fils et faisceaux de fils sont fixés par des sangles à une série de supports de fils situés aux références 383, 392, 401, 410 et 420. Le support de fils situé à la référence 383 présente un léger angle par rapport à la paroi du poste de pilotage, située directement au-dessous. Le bord supérieur de ce support, et les faisceaux de fils qui y sont fixés, sont en contact avec le matelas isolant recouvert de poly(éthylène téréphtalate) (PET) métallisé. Chacun des guide-fils sort d'une distance différente vers l'avant de la paroi du poste de pilotage à cause de l'angle que fait le support par rapport à la paroi.

Habituellement, la partie en saillie vers l'avant du guide-fils extérieur est la plus courte des trois, tandis que celle du guide-fils intérieur est la plus longue. Ces longueurs, mesurées à partir du support, varient de 2,5 à 8 cm environ (de 1 à 3 po) pour les guide-fils extérieur et médian. Le guide-fils intérieur n'avait été utilisé dans aucune des installations de réseau de divertissement de bord (RDB). La découpe se prolongeait vers le bas sur environ 8 cm (3 po) à partir du dessus de la paroi et elle était d'une largeur d'environ 48 cm (19 po). Un morceau de mousse de polyéthylène alvéolaire renfermant des additifs ignifugeants (c.-à-d., numéro de pièce NBN6718-83, spécification de matériau de Douglas (DMS) 1954, classe 1, qualité 4101) est installé à cet endroit pour agir comme matériau de remplissage de la découpe.

Entre les références 366 et 383, un certain nombre de supports de fils sont installés longitudinalement. Ces supports servent à soutenir des faisceaux de fils qui sont acheminés à partir de l'arrière du poste de l'observateur et qui descendent dans le compartiment avionique; cette zone est couramment désignée « descente de câbles en échelle »[15]. L'arrière du support supérieur de l'« échelle » se trouve près du côté extérieur de la découpe dans la paroi du poste de pilotage (voir Figure 3 et Figure 5). Les supports et bon nombre des faisceaux de fils sont montés tout contre le contour incurvé des matelas isolants recouverts de PET métallisé qui sont posés sur les cadres du fuselage et qui en épousent étroitement le contour.

Tout juste derrière le côté droit de la paroi arrière du poste de pilotage, au-dessus de l'office 2, un atténuateur de bruit avait été installé autour de l'embranchement de la gaine verticale d'air conditionné (voir Figure 6). L'atténuateur de bruit utilise un matelas isolant recouvert de PET métallisé et fixé aux deux extrémités par des attaches à bouclettes de nylon.

Une deuxième type de mousse de polyéthylène alvéolaire (numéro de pièce ABE7049-41) avait été utilisé autour des borniers de désembuage du pare-brise, sur le côté gauche du poste de pilotage. Un échantillon du second type de mousse (numéro de pièce ABE7049-41) avait été retiré d'un avion MD-11 de Swissair et testé. Lorsque l'éprouvette de cet échantillon avait été exposée à une petite flamme, l'éprouvette s'était enflammée facilement et avait brûlé.

Les deux mousses étaient conformes à la spécification DMS 1954, classe 1, qualité 4101, qui stipule que la mousse doit contenir des additifs ignifugeants et être certifiée en fonction d'un essai de combustion verticale d'une durée de 12 secondes exigé par l'annexe F de la FAR 25.853. La documentation indique que les deux types de mousse étaient conformes à l'annexe F de la FAR 25.853 pour les composants de l'aménagement intérieur des avions commerciaux.

Le code de produit 37076 de la fiche signalétique de sécurité de produit du constructeur pour l'EthafoamMD 4101 de Dow Chemical, numéro de pièce NBN6718-83, datée du 23 août 1993, et les renseignements à jour sur le produit, indiquent que cette mousse de polyéthylène est combustible[16] et qu'elle ne devrait pas être exposée à la flamme ni à toute autre source d'inflammation.

Aucun morceau de mousse n'a été récupéré du poste de pilotage de l'avion en question.

Dans les avions MD-11 de Swissair, la partie avant de l'atténuateur se termine tout juste à côté du bord inférieur droit du rideau anti-fumée et de la gaine de ventilation de l'office 2. La gaine de ventilation de l'office, qui est conçue pour évacuer les odeurs et l'air chaud de l'office lorsqu'elle est utilisée, n'était pas raccordée à la partie supérieure de l'office 2, puisque l'office 2 n'était pas alimentée électriquement et qu'elle n'était pas en service. Un embout en élastomère de silicone recouvrait la gaine de ventilation pour la fermer. L'embout se trouvait entre le côté arrière de la paroi arrière du poste de pilotage et le côté avant d'une des trois gaines verticales (voir Figure 4 et Figure 6).

Cinq faisceaux de fils et trois guide-fils courent vers l'arrière à partir du poste de pilotage et passent sur le dessus des gaines verticales. La plupart des faisceaux de fils descendent du support de fils situé à la référence 420 pour passer sous le déflecteur de rampe de la porte à battant D1. Cette descente des faisceaux de fils s'appelle généralement la « descente de câbles en cascade » (voir Figure 7). Deux des chemins de câbles, soit FDC et FBC, sont réunis et fixés ensemble à un tube de soutien du plafond situé à peu près à la référence 427. Dans le présent rapport, on désigne la pièce de fixation de « collier jumelé ». Le déflecteur de rampe sert à réduire au minimum le risque que le battant de la porte des passagers avant droite endommage les fils voisins si son ressort se brisait. Le battant de la porte se déplace avec la porte de la cabine des passagers lorsque la porte est soulevée ou abaissée.


[11]    Le système de divertissement de bord installé dans l'avion en question était appelé réseau de divertissement de bord (RDB).

[12]    Dommages causés par un incendie se définit comme étant des dommages causés par la chaleur et la fumée d'un incendie.

[13]    VelcroMD est une marque connue de fermeture à bouclettes de nylon.

[14]    Les guide-fils ont été identifiés par le numéro de pièce ABP7646-39 comme mesurant 1 po (diamètre intérieur) sur 0,20 po (épaisseur) sur 40 po de longueur. La mesure de guide-fils similaires sur d'autres avions MD-11 a montré que leur longueur pouvait atteindre 108 cm (42,5 po).

[15]    Les supports de fils et les cadres auxquels ils sont montés ressemblent à une échelle. Ils constituent la descente de câbles en échelle.

[16]    Se dit d'un matériau qui s'enflamme et brûle lorsqu'il est exposé à une chaleur suffisante.

Précédent | Suivant