Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.6.6  Flight Management System (STI1-6)

The FMS is used for flight planning, navigation, performance management, aircraft guidance and flight progress monitoring. The FMS provides a means for the flight crew to select various flight control modes via the FCP, and the means to enter flight plans and other flight data via the multifunction control display unit (MCDU) (see Figure 11). Flight progress is monitored through the MCDU and the EIS.

After data entry by the flight crew, the FMCs will generate a flight path profile; for example, from the origin airport to the destination airport. The FMC then guides the aircraft along that profile by providing roll commands, mode requests, speed and altitude targets, and pitch commands (while "on path" during descent) to the FCCs.

The FMC navigation database includes most of the information that is available to pilots from navigation charts and approach charts. The flight plan that was entered into the FMS before departure from JFK airport in New York did not include the Halifax International Airport. Therefore, when the pilots decided to divert and land at the Halifax airport, some reprogramming of the FMS would have been required. Before the pilots could select an instrument approach from the FMC database, the new destination of Halifax would have to be programmed into the FMS.

The MD-11 is not certified to conduct back-course approaches using the FMS. The FMS will prevent the display and selection of back-course approaches from the navigation database.[27] Conventional navigation and approach methods are available to the flight crew.


[27]    Back-course localizer instrument approaches are referred to as backbeam approaches in Swissair manuals and lexicon.

Previous | Next

Date de modification :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

1.6.6  Système de gestion de vol (DIT1-6)

Le FMS sert à la planification du vol, à la navigation, à la gestion des performances, au guidage de l'avion et au suivi de la progression du vol. Il fournit à l'équipage de conduite un moyen de sélectionner divers modes de commande de vol par l'intermédiaire du panneau des commandes de vol, et il permet d'entrer des plans de vol et d'autres données par l'intermédiaire du bloc de commande et d'affichage multifonctions (MCDU) (voir Figure 11). La progression du vol est suivie par l'intermédiaire du MCDU et du système EIS.

Après l'entrée des données par l'équipage de conduite, les FMC génèrent un profil de trajectoire de vol, par exemple, de l'aéroport d'origine à l'aéroport de destination. Le FMC guide alors l'avion le long de ce profil en fournissant des commandes en roulis, des demandes de mode, des vitesses et des altitudes cibles ainsi que des commandes en tangage (pendant que l'avion est « sur la trajectoire » pendant la descente) aux calculateurs de commande de vol.

La base des données de navigation du FMC comprend la plupart des renseignements disponibles aux pilotes à partir des cartes de navigation et des cartes d'approche. Le plan de vol qui avait été entré dans le FMS avant le départ de l'aéroport JFK, à New York, ne comprenait pas l'aéroport international de Halifax. Par conséquent, lorsque les pilotes ont décidé de se dérouter et d'atterrir à l'aéroport de Halifax, il aurait fallu reprogrammer quelque peu le FMS. Avant que les pilotes puissent sélectionner une approche aux instruments à partir de la base de données du FMC, il fallait programmer la nouvelle destination de Halifax dans le FMS.

Le MD-11 n'est pas certifié pour exécuter des approches sur faisceau arrière au moyen du FMS. Le FMS empêche l'affichage et la sélection d'approches sur faisceau arrière à partir de la base des données de navigation. Des moyens de navigation et d'approche sont à la disposition de l'équipage de conduite.

Précédent | Suivant