Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.6.11  In-Flight Entertainment Network

  1. 1.6.11.1 - Description
  2. 1.6.11.2 - Wiring Installation
  3. 1.6.11.3 - Components

1.6.11.1  Description (STI1-16)

The IFEN system combined computer, video, and audio technologies to allow passengers to select movies, audio, games, news, gambling, and the moving map display through an interactive seat video display. The IFEN was to be configured to give all passengers access to a variety of "on-demand" entertainment and information choices, with touch-screen control. The original design, for the Swissair MD-11, provided full IFEN access to 257 passenger seats, which included all cabin classes; however, only the first two aircraft were configured to have the IFEN available in all 257 seats. For economic reasons, in April 1997, Swissair decided to reduce the IFEN configuration to include only first- and business-class seats.

The IFEN system was installed in the first- and business-class passenger sections of HB-IWF between 21 August and 9 September 1997 (see Figure 14). Although the 49 business-class seats were installed at that time, because of delivery delays, the 12 IFEN-equipped first-class seats were not installed until February 1998. The economy-class passenger section was not configured with the IFEN, even though electrical cabling and equipment rack supports were installed for that section. HB-IWF was the eighth Swissair MD-11 to be equipped with the IFEN system. (STI1-17)

1.6.11.2  Wiring Installation

The IFEN system, as configured in HB-IWF, required 4.4 kilovolt-amperes of 115 V AC three-phase 400 hertz aircraft power according to the Hollingsead International (HI) electrical load analysis (ELA) 20032 revision (Rev) B. The main power supply cable for the IFEN system consisted of three 8 AWG, MIL-DTL-16878/5-BNL wires twisted together. This cable originated at an electrical terminal strip located in the avionics compartment and was terminated at a 15 A three-phase CB located on the lower avionics CB panel (see Figure 14 and Figure 15). This 15 A CB, identified as "RACK1 PS1," provided aircraft power by means of jumper wires[40] to three adjacent 15 A three-phase CBs located on the lower avionics CB panel. Each of these four 15 A CBs provided aircraft power to one of the four IFEN power supply units (PSU). The PSUs used a series of capacitors and internal electronics to convert the 115 V AC aircraft system power to 48 V DC output power, used by the IFEN system components.

Each of the four 15 A IFEN CBs was connected to its respective PSU by one of four PSU cable assemblies, hereinafter referred to as PSU cables; each PSU cable consisted of three 12 AWG, MIL-W-22759/16/12 wires twisted together.

Additionally, a 1 A CB was installed on the lower avionics CB panel. The CB provided 28 V DC power, by means of a 16 AWG wire (hereinafter referred to as 16 AWG control wire), to the IFEN relay assembly located in the ceiling above Galley 8. This 1 A CB, identified as "IFT/VES 28V," received 28 V DC aircraft power by means of a jumper wire from the line side of the adjacent CB, "SLAT CONTROL PWR B," and was used to control the 48 V DC output of the four PSUs through the IFEN relay assembly. Pulling this CB removed the 48 V DC output power from the PSUs; however, pulling the CB would not remove the 115 V AC input power to the PSUs.

The four IFEN PSU cables (PSU 1, 2, 3, 4) and the 16 AWG control wire were routed rearward along the lower avionics CB panel. In this area, they were attached to the main IFEN power supply cable with nylon self-locking cable ties. This IFEN wire bundle was then cable tied to the DC CB ground bus bar at the lower avionics CB panel and, in some installations, held in place near the rear of the panel by a clamp. The wire bundle was then directed upward until it separated in two directions. The main power supply cable looped downward, passing through a conduit along the right side of the fuselage into the avionics compartment. The four PSU cables and the 16 AWG control wire, now in their own bundle, continued upward as a single bundle near the avionics disconnect panel.

Following the SR 111 occurrence, the IFEN installation was examined in 15 Swissair MD-11s. It was noted that the routing of the bundle containing the PSU cables and the 16 AWG control wire varied among aircraft behind the avionics CB panel. None of these variations were considered to affect the immediate safety of flight. There were differences in how frequently this bundle was supported by any of the three horizontally mounted wire support brackets available, and in the methods used for fastening it to the brackets. Also, some installations had protective sleeving installed adjacent to the brackets, while others did not.

Near the avionics disconnect panel, the IFEN wire bundle was routed aft into one of the 102-cm (40-inch) long conduits that were installed above Galley 2 (see Figure 4 and Figure 5). In 11 of the examined Swissair MD-11s, the wire bundle was routed to pass in front of the avionics disconnect panel, and in three of those 11 installations, the bundles were then routed through the outboard conduit. In 4 of the examined aircraft, the bundle was not routed in front of the avionics disconnect panel; instead, it was routed close to the cockpit wall. In 2 of the 4 installations, the bundle was then routed through the outboard conduit. In total, 5 of the aircraft had the IFEN wire bundle routed through the outboard conduit, and 10 had the bundle routed through the middle conduit.

In the occurrence aircraft, it could not be determined from the IFEN installation documentation how the IFEN wire bundle had been routed in the area of the disconnect panel, or which conduit had been used in the area above Galley 2. The IFEN installers preferred to use the middle conduit where possible, but in the five instances noted above, the middle conduit was not available as it had been used for aircraft wiring. In the sequence of IFEN installations, the middle conduit had been used in the three aircraft prior to HB-IWF, and also in the seven aircraft following HB-IWF.

The investigation was not able to establish from the manufacturer's records which conduit might have been left unused in HB-IWF (SN 48448). In the aircraft built immediately before HB-IWF (HB-IWE – SN 48477), the middle conduit was used for the IFEN wire bundle. In the next Swissair aircraft built after HB-IWF (HB-IWG – SN 48452), the outboard conduit was used for the IFEN wire bundle.

The conduit material, based on DMS 2024 Revision B, was Type 1, convoluted, thin wall, fluorinated ethylene-propylene (FEP). The installation of the wire bundle, from where it exited the aft end of the conduit to approximately STA 515, also varied between aircraft. The wire bundle was found to be routed either above or below the upper horizontal angle support bracket for the R1 door ramp deflector, above or below the wire supports, and was clamped to either the top or bottom of these supports or to existing aircraft wiring. Where the IFEN cables were attached to existing wire harnesses, spacers were installed to provide separation between the wire bundles. Additionally, some of the aircraft had protective sleeving installed over the wire bundle in the area near the R1 door ramp deflector upper support.

The wire bundle continued rearward until the PSU 1 and 2 cables were separated from the bundle and terminated at an IFEN electronics rack (E-rack) 1. E-rack 1 was located in first class above the right aisle, with its forward support located at STA 647.

The 16 AWG control wire continued rearward, then crossed over the aircraft crown at approximately STA 750, and was terminated at the relay assembly mounted above Galley 8. This relay assembly received all of the external interfaces to the aircraft system including the following: the decompression signal, which removed power from the IFEN if the aircraft became depressurized; the PA system override signal, which was designed to stop all audio and video on the IFEN system whenever the PA was used; and the 28 V DC power input supplied by the "IFT/VES 28V" 1 A CB. Removal or loss of this 28 V DC power caused an "On/Off" relay, located within the relay assembly, to disable the output of all the PSUs.

The PSU 3 and 4 cables continued rearward until crossing over the aircraft crown at STA 1239. They were then routed rearward along the left side of the fuselage and terminated at E-rack 2. E-rack 2 was located in economy class above the left aisle, with its forward support located at STA 1429.

1.6.11.2.1  Wire Description

The primary wire type selected for the IFEN system installation was MIL-W-22759/16, an extruded ethylene-tetrafluoroethylene (ETFE) copolymer insulation, medium weight, tin-coated copper conductor, rated at 150°C, 600 volts. (See Figure 13.) Additionally, the wires used for the main power supply cable were MIL-DTL-16878, an extruded polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) insulation, copper-coated copper conductor, rated at 200°C, 1 000 volts. The MIL-W-22759/16 wire had a maximum temperature rating of 150°C.

The 28 V DC wire, from the 1 A CB in the lower avionics CB panel to the IFEN system relay assembly, was specified as 16 AWG MIL-W-22759/16.

Each IFEN PSU power cable consisted of three, 12 AWG, MIL-W-22759/16 wires twisted together. For circuit identification purposes, MIL-C-27500 specification required the wires for each cable to be coloured white, blue, and orange. The cable was to be labelled using identification markers as called out in an HI drawing.

The main IFEN power supply cable consisted of three, 8 AWG, MIL-DTL-16878/5-BNL wires twisted together as called out in an HI drawing. This drawing also stated that the wire will not be identified by printed marking on the outside of the wire. MIL-DTL-16878/5-BNL specifies an extruded PTFE, maximum rating of 200°C, 1 000 volts. For circuit identification purposes, MIL-C-27500 specification required the wires for each cable to be coloured white, blue, and orange. However, a red wire was substituted for the blue wire in the installation, which had no affect on the performance of the wire. Samples of each 8 AWG coloured wire were analyzed by Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy and identified as PTFE with a melting point of 323°C; this was determined by differential scanning calorimetry.

1.6.11.3  Components (STI1-18)

E-rack 1 contained the following components (see Figure 14):

  • PSUs 1 and 2 that supplied 48 V DC power to CB Unit 1, which distributed 48 V DC power to the components mounted in E-rack 1;
  • Two electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter boxes, one attached to each PSU. The filters were connected between the power supply input and the PSU, and were designed to filter out conducted EMI from the aircraft power supply;
  • Two 32-channel modulators, which converted the baseband video and audio input signals to broadband RF output signals;
  • A video on demand (VOD), which extracted, selected, and distributed the movie/music data;
  • A disk array unit, which stored the digitally encoded programming;
  • A 13-channel modulator, which performed the same function as the 32-channel modulator, as well as distributed common video/audio information, such as the moving map system, to the entire aircraft;
  • Two head-end distribution units, which combined the separate modulator outputs then split the output four ways; and
  • Six cluster controllers, which coordinated all the computer network administrative tasks.

The VOD was also equipped with a removable disc pack to permit maintenance personnel to upload movies.

E-rack 2 contained the following:

  • PSUs 3 and 4 that supplied 48 V DC power to CB Unit 2, which distributed 48 V DC power to the components mounted in E-rack 2;
  • EMI filters 3 and 4; and
  • A network switching unit, which provided network links for the IFEN administrative network.

Each first- and business-class seat was equipped with an interactive video seat display that included a touch screen and magnetic card reader; a seat electronics box, which processed all information for the passenger interface; and a dual audio/game-port, which controlled the games and audio. In addition, each set of first- and business-class seats was equipped with a seat disconnect unit, which contained the tuner and network repeater.

A cabin file server, located on a rack in Galley 8, controlled the download of movies, stored flight/casino information, and collected the credit card data transmitted from each seat. Galleys 1 and 8 were fitted with a management video display (MVD). The MVD provided an interface for cabin crew and maintenance personnel, and served as a point of control for configuring, maintaining, and monitoring the IFEN. Each MVD was equipped with a management terminal electronic box, the primary functional component interface to the IFEN by the flight crew and maintenance personnel. A printer was also located in Galley 8.


[40]    The jumper wire was a single wire that was installed between common terminals of two circuit breakers.

Previous | Next

Date de modification :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

1.6.11  Réseau de divertissement de bord

1.6.11.1  Description (DIT1-16)

Le RDB combinait des techniques alliant l'informatique, la vidéo et l'audio pour permettre aux passagers de sélectionner des films, des signaux audio, des jeux, des nouvelles, des jeux de hasard et un affichage cartographique dynamique par l'intermédiaire d'un écran d'affichage vidéo de siège interactif. Le RDB était aussi configuré pour donner accès à tous les passagers à une variété de renseignements et de divertissements « sur demande » au moyen d'une commande tactile. La conception d'origine, pour les MD-11 de Swissair, offrait un accès complet au RDB aux 257 passagers, soit à toutes les classes de la cabine. Toutefois, seulement les deux premiers avions avaient été configurés pour que le RDB soit installé sur les 257 sièges. Pour des raisons économiques, en avril 1997, Swissair a décidé de réduire la configuration RDB pour ne l'offrir qu'aux sièges de première classe et de la classe affaires.

Le système RDB avait été installé dans les sections de la cabine réservées à la première classe et à la classe affaires de l'avion HB-IWF entre le 21 août et le 9 septembre 1997 (voir Figure 14). Les 49 sièges de la classe affaires avaient été installés à ce moment, à cause de retards de livraison, les 12 sièges de la première classe équipés du RDB n'avaient pas été installés avant février 1998. Les sièges des passagers de la classe économique n'avaient pas été équipés du RDB, même si le câblage électrique et les supports des baies d'équipement avaient été installés pour cette section. L'avion HB-IWF était le huitième MD-11 de Swissair à être équipé du système RDB (DIT1-17).

1.6.11.2  Installation des câbles

Le système RDB configuré dans l'avion HB-IWF nécessitait une alimentation de bord de 4,4 kilovoltampères, 115 V c.a. triphasée, 400 hertz selon l'analyse des charges électriques 20032, révision (rév.) B de Hollingsead International (HI). Le câble d'alimentation principal pour le système RDB comprenait trois fils MIL-DTL-16878/5-BNL de calibre 8 AWG torsadés ensemble. Ce câble partait d'un bornier situé dans le compartiment avionique et se terminait à un disjoncteur triphasé de 15 A situé sur le tableau de distribution avionique inférieur (voir Figure 14 et Figure 15). Ce disjoncteur de 15 A, identifié « RACK1 PS1 », fournissait, au moyen de fils de raccordement[39], du courant électrique de l'avion à trois disjoncteurs triphasés de 15 A voisins, situés sur le tableau de distribution avionique inférieur. Chacun de ces quatre disjoncteurs de 15 A fournissait le courant de l'avion à un des quatre blocs d'alimentation électrique (PSU) du RDB. Les blocs d'alimentation électrique utilisaient une série de condensateurs et de circuits éélectroniques internes pour convertir l'alimentation de 115 V c.a. de l'avion en une alimentation de sortie de 48 V c.c., utilisée par les composants du système RDB.

Chacun des quatre disjoncteurs de 15 A du RDB était relié à son bloc d'alimentation électrique au moyen d'un des quatre câbles de bloc d'alimentation, ici appelé câble PSU. Chaque câble PSU comprenait trois fils MIL-W-22759/16/12 de calibre 12 AWG torsadés ensemble.

En outre, un disjoncteur de 1 A était installé sur le tableau de distribution avionique inférieur. Ce disjoncteur fournissait une alimentation de 28 V c.c. au moyen d'un fil de calibre de 16 AWG (ci-après appelé fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG) au relais RDB situé dans le plafond, au-dessus de l'office 8. Ce disjoncteur de 1 A, identifié « IFT/VES 28V », recevait du courant de 28 V c.c. de l'avion au moyen d'un fil de raccordement venant du côté secteur du disjoncteur voisin, « SLAT CONTROL PWR B », et il était utilisé pour contrôler la sortie de 48 V c.c. des quatre blocs d'alimentation électrique par l'intermédiaire des relais RDB. Le déclenchement de ce disjoncteur coupait l'alimentation de sortie de 48 V c.c. venant des blocs d'alimentation; cependant, le déclenchement du disjoncteur ne coupait pas l'alimentation d'entrée de 115 V c.a. allant à ces blocs.

Les quatre câbles PSU du RDB (PSU 1, 2, 3 et 4) et le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG étaient acheminés vers l'arrière le long du tableau de distribution avionique inférieur. Dans cette zone, ils étaient fixés au câble d'alimentation principal du RDB au moyen d'attaches de câble autobloquantes en nylon. Ce faisceau de fils RDB était alors attaché à la barre bus de mise à la masse des disjoncteurs c.c., sur le tableau de distribution avionique inférieur et, dans certains cas, maintenu en place près de l'arrière du tableau au moyen d'un collier. Le faisceau de fils était alors dirigé vers le haut jusqu'à ce qu'il se sépare en deux directions. Le câble d'alimentation électrique principal faisait une boucle vers le bas, traversant un guide-fils le long du côté droit du fuselage jusqu'au compartiment avionique. Les quatre câbles PSU et le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG, constituant maintenant leur propre faisceau, continuaient vers le haut en un seul faisceau près du panneau de coupure de l'alimentation de l'avionique.

À la suite de l'accident de SR 111, on a examiné l'installation du RDB dans 15 MD-11 de Swissair. On a remarqué que l'acheminement du faisceau de fils contenant les câbles PSU et le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG variait d'un avion à l'autre derrière le tableau de distribution avionique. Aucune de ces variations n'avait été jugée comme menaçant la sécurité immédiate des vols. Il y avait des différences dans la fréquence avec laquelle le faisceau de fils était supporté par l'un ou l'autre des trois supports de fils montés horizontalement et dans les façons de les fixer à ces supports. Aussi, dans certains cas, on remarquait un manchon protecteur monté près des supports, alors que dans d'autres, il n'y en n'avait pas.

Près du panneau de coupure de l'alimentation de l'avionique, le faisceau de fils RDB était acheminé vers l'arrière dans un des guide-fils d'une longueur de 102 cm (40 po) qui était installé au-dessus de l'office 2 (voir Figure 4 et Figure 5). Dans 11 des avions MD-11 de Swissair qui ont été examinés, le faisceau de fils était acheminé de façon à passer devant le panneau de coupure de l'alimentation de l'avionique, et dans trois de ces 11 avions, les faisceaux de fils étaient alors acheminés par le guide-fils extérieur. Dans quatre des avions examinés, le faisceau de fils n'était pas acheminé devant le panneau de coupure de l'alimentation de l'avionique; il était plutôt acheminé près de la paroi du poste de pilotage. Dans deux des quatre avions, le faisceau de fils était alors acheminé par le guide-fils extérieur. En tout, cinq des avions présentaient un faisceau de fils RDB qui était acheminé par le guide-fils extérieur, et dix présentaient un faisceau de fils acheminé par le guide-fils médian.

Sur l'avion en question, il n'a pas été possible de déterminer, à partir des documents d'installation du RDB, comment le faisceau de fils RDB avait été acheminé dans la zone du panneau de coupure de l'alimentation, ou quel guide-fils avait été utilisé dans la zone située au-dessus de l'office 2. Les installateurs du RDB préféraient utiliser le guide-fils médian lorsque c'était possible, mais dans les cinq cas observés ci-dessus, le guide-fils médian n'était pas disponible puisqu'il avait été utilisé pour le câblage de l'avion. Dans la série des installations de RDB, le guide-fils médian avait été utilisé dans trois avions avant l'avion HB-IWF, et aussi dans sept avions après celui-ci.

L'enquête n'a pas été en mesure d'établir à partir des dossiers du constructeur quel guide-fils avait pu être inutilisé dans l'avion HB-IWF (numéro de série 48448). Dans l'avion construit immédiatement avant HB-IWF (HB-IWE – numéro de série 48477), le guide-fils médian avait été utilisé pour recevoir le faisceau de fils du RDB. Sur l'avion suivant de Swissair construit après HB-IWF (HB-IWG – numéro de série 48452), le guide-fils extérieur avait été utilisé pour recevoir le faisceau de fils du RDB.

Le matériau du guide-fils, selon le document DMS 2024, révision B, était de l'éthylène-propylène fluoré (FEP), à paroi mince, vrillé, de type 1. L'installation du faisceau de fils, à partir de l'endroit où il quittait l'extrémité arrière du guide-fils à peu près à la référence 515, variait également entre les avions. Le faisceau de fils était acheminé soit au-dessus, soit au-dessous du support angulaire horizontal supérieur du déflecteur de rampe de la porte D1, au-dessus ou au-dessous des supports de fils, et il était fixé par un collier soit au dessus, soit au dessous de ces supports ou au câblage existant de l'avion. Dans les cas où les câbles RDB étaient attachés à des faisceaux de fils existants, des entretoises étaient installées pour assurer un espacement entre les faisceaux de fils. De plus, certains avions étaient munis d'un manchon protecteur qui recouvrait le faisceau de fils dans la zone proche du support supérieur du déflecteur de rampe de la porte D1.

Le faisceau de fils continuait vers l'arrière jusqu'à ce que les câbles PSU 1 et 2 se séparent du faisceau et se terminent à un bâti d'équipement électronique (bâti élec) de RDB. Le bâti élec 1 était situé dans la première classe, au-dessus de l'allée droite, et son support avant était situé à la référence 647.

Le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG continuait vers l'arrière, puis traversait le sommet de l'avion à peu près à la référence 750, et il se terminait au relais monté au-dessus de l'office 8. Ce relais recevait toutes les interfaces externes allant au système de bord, y compris les suivantes : le signal de décompression, qui coupait l'alimentation du RDB si l'avion se dépressurisait, le signal de contournement du système de sonorisation cabine, qui était conçu pour couper tous les signaux audio et vidéo du système RDB chaque fois que le système de sonorisation était utilisé, et l'entrée de 28 V c.c. fournie par l'intermédiaire du disjoncteur « IFT/VES 28V » de 1 A.

La coupure ou l'interruption de cette tension de 28 V c.c. amenait un relais tout-ou-rien, situé à l'intérieur de l'ensemble des relais, à invalider la sortie de tous les blocs d'alimentation électrique.

Les câbles PSU 3 et 4 continuaient vers l'arrière et traversaient le sommet de l'avion à la référence 1239. Ils étaient alors acheminés vers l'arrière le long du côté gauche du fuselage et se terminaient au bâti élec 2. Ce bâti était situé dans la classe économique, au-dessus de l'allée gauche, son support avant se trouvant à la référence 1429.

1.6.11.2.1  Description des fils

Le principal type de fil sélectionné lors de l'installation du RDB était le fil MIL-W-22759/16, un conducteur en cuivre étamé, de poids moyen, isolé au moyen d'un copolymère ETFE extrudé, coté à 150 °C, 600 V. (Voir Figure 13.) De plus, les fils du câble d'alimentation principale étaient des conducteurs en cuivre recouverts de cuivre, isolés au PTFE extrudé et conformes à la norme MIL-DTL-16878 qui étaient cotés à 200 °C, 1 000 V. Le fil MIL-W-22759/16 présentait une caractéristique nominale maximale en température de 150 °C.

Le fil de 28 V c.c. partant du disjoncteur de 1 A situé sur le tableau de distribution avionique inférieur pour se rendre à l'ensemble des relais du RDB devait être, selon les spécifications, un fil MIL-W-22759/16 de calibre de 16 AWG.

Chaque câble d'alimentation du bloc d'alimentation RDB consistait en trois fils MIL-W-22759/16 de calibre 12 AWG torsadés ensemble. Aux fins d'identification de circuit, la norme MIL-C-27500 exigeait que les fils de chaque câble soient colorés en blanc, bleu et orange. Le câble devait être étiqueté au moyen des marques d'identification exigées dans un dessin de HI.

Le câble principal d'alimentation électrique du RDB comprenait trois fils MIL-DTL-16878/5-BNL de calibre 8 AWG, torsadés ensemble comme l'exigeait un dessin de HI. Ce dessin précisait aussi que le fil ne devait pas être identifié par une marque imprimée à l'extérieur du fil. La norme MIL-DTL-16878/5-BNL spécifie un revêtement de PTFE extrudé, d'une capacité maximale de 200 °C, 1 000 V. Aux fins d'identification de circuit, la norme MIL-C-27500 exigeait que les fils de chaque câble soient colorés en blanc, bleu et orange. Toutefois, un fil rouge avait été substitué au fil bleu dans l'installation, ce qui n'a eu aucun effet sur le comportement du fil. Des échantillons de chaque fil coloré de calibre 8 AWG avaient été analysés par spectroscopie infrarouge à transformée de Fourier et ils avaient été identifiés comme ayant un isolant au PTFE dont le point de fusion était de 323 °C; ces données avaient été obtenues par analyse calorimétrique à compensation de puissance.

Précédent | Suivant