Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.6.15  Hydraulic System

Hydraulic power for the MD-11 is derived from three parallel, continuously pressurized systems. Each system is powered by two engine-driven hydraulic pumps. Different combinations of two of the three systems provide parallel power to each of the primary flight control actuators. Two back-up electrically driven hydraulic pumps are also available. If necessary, one of these pumps can be driven by electrical power from the ADG.

In the event of an in-flight engine shutdown, if the aircraft is in a take-off or land configuration (the flaps, slats, or landing gear are extended), hydraulic power is transferred automatically from an operating system to a non-operating system by reversible-motor pumps. In the cruise configuration, hydraulic power is not transferred.

During the investigation, various components of the hydraulic system were examined to determine whether any anomalies in the hydraulic system could have had an adverse effect on aircraft controllability. The shut-off valves associated with the reversible-motor pumps were found to have been closed at the time of impact when it would be expected that, given the configuration of the aircraft, at least one set of valves would have been open, allowing one of the reversible-motor pumps to operate. (STI1-28) Although the reason for the valves being in the closed position could not be determined, it could be attributed to several scenarios associated with fire-related electrical anomalies. (STI1-29)

Engine 2 was shut down by the pilots approximately one minute prior to the time of impact (see Section 1.12.9). The shutdown of Engine 2 and the loss of automatic hydraulic power transfer through a reversible-motor pump would have resulted in an eventual loss of, or reduction in, Hydraulic System 2 operating pressure. However, the functions of the primary flight controls operated by Hydraulic System 2 would have been picked up through a parallel operating system. Therefore, the anomaly would have had little or no adverse effect on aircraft controllability. (STI1-30)

Previous | Next

Date de modification :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

1.6.15  Système hydraulique

L'énergie hydraulique du MD-11 provient de trois circuits parallèles continuellement sous pression. Chaque circuit est alimenté par deux pompes hydrauliques entraînées par moteur. Différentes combinaisons de deux des trois circuits offrent une redondance à chacun des actionneurs de gouverne principale. Deux pompes hydrauliques à commande électrique de relève sont également disponibles. Au besoin, une de ces pompes peut être entraînée par l'alimentation électrique de l'alternateur éolien.

En cas d'arrêt de moteur en vol, si l'avion se trouve en configuration de décollage ou d'atterrissage, les volets, les becs de bord d'attaque ou le train d'atterrissage sont sortis, l'énergie hydraulique est transférée automatiquement d'un circuit qui fonctionne à un circuit qui ne fonctionne pas au moyen des motopompes réversibles. En configuration de croisière, l'énergie hydraulique n'est pas transférée.

Au cours de l'enquête, divers composants du système hydraulique ont été examinés afin qu'on puisse déterminer si des anomalies de ce système auraient pu compromettre la pilotabilité de l'avion. Les robinets d'arrêt associés aux motopompes réversibles ont été retrouvés fermés au moment de l'impact alors qu'on s'attendait, compte tenu de la configuration de l'avion, à ce qu'au moins un ensemble de robinets soit ouvert pour permettre à une des motopompes réversibles de fonctionner (DIT1-28). Bien que l'on n'ait pu déterminer la raison pour laquelle les robinets se trouvaient en position fermée, cette constatation peut être attribuée à plusieurs scénarios associés à des anomalies électriques liées à l'incendie (DIT1-29).

Le moteur 2 avait été arrêté par les pilotes une minute environ avant le moment de l'impact (voir la rubrique 1.12.9). L'arrêt du moteur 2 et la perte du transfert automatique d'énergie hydraulique par l'intermédiaire d'une motopompe réversible se seraient traduits par une perte éventuelle ou la réduction de la pression de service du circuit hydraulique 2. Toutefois, les fonctions des gouvernes principales actionnées par le circuit hydraulique 2 auraient été prises en charge par un autre circuit hydraulique en bon état de service. Par conséquent, cette anomalie aurait eu peu ou pas d'effet sur la pilotabilité de l'avion (DIT1-30).

Précédent | Suivant