Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.6.19  Emergency Equipment

  1. 1.6.19.1 - Cockpit Emergency Equipment
  2. 1.6.19.2 - Cabin Emergency Equipment
  3. 1.6.19.3 - Flight Crew Oxygen
  4. 1.6.19.4 - Passenger Oxygen

1.6.19.1  Cockpit Emergency Equipment

The Swissair configuration of the MD-11 cockpit has four seats, with an oxygen mask dedicated to each seat position (see Figure 17). A rechargeable flashlight for each pilot is readily available from the seated position. Additional emergency equipment is stored on the cockpit rear wall behind the captain's seat; to retrieve this equipment, pilots have to leave their seats. The additional equipment includes a Halon 1211 fire extinguisher, fire gloves, two sets of portable protective breathing equipment (PBE), two additional flashlights, a crash axe, four life vests, and an emergency VHF radio transceiver. The emergency transceiver, which is normally stowed in the OFF position, is self-contained, battery operated, and pre-set to the international emergency frequency 121.5 MHz.

1.6.19.2  Cabin Emergency Equipment

The following emergency equipment is located in the cabin: seven fire extinguishers (five Halon 1211 and two dry chemical extinguishers) and fire glove sets, eight 310 litre (L) and two 120 L portable first-aid oxygen bottles (STI1-33) with masks, one crash axe, 14 flashlights, 11 sets of PBE, life vests for each passenger and flight attendant, medical kits, a megaphone, along with other miscellaneous items. In the skybunk flight crew rest areas there are two additional 120 L first-aid oxygen bottles, and two flashlights. In the cabin crew rest area there are an additional four 310 L oxygen bottles, one PBE, one Halon 1211 extinguisher, gloves, and a flashlight. (See also Section 1.6.12.2.)

1.6.19.3  Flight Crew Oxygen (STI1-34)

The Swissair MD-11 flight crew oxygen is supplied from one aluminum, high-pressure oxygen cylinder wrapped with a para-aramid fibre. The system delivers regulated oxygen through stainless steel lines to mask-mounted regulators, and supplies the captain, first officer, and the two observers' positions. A "T" fitting is installed in the stainless steel supply line near the crown of the aircraft, between STA 383 and STA 374, to provide an option for an additional crew mask in the freighter configuration. The "T" fitting is capped with an AN929-6 aluminum cap that, when installed, protrudes through the between-frame insulation blankets into the cockpit attic area (see Figure 5).

Each full-face mask assembly is stowed in a quick-access stowage box at each flight crew station, with the oxygen supply lines and microphone connections at the base of each stowage box (see Figure 11). When the oxygen mask stowage box door is opened, the mask microphone is automatically activated and the boom microphone deactivated.

The crew oxygen masks have a six-foot attachment line. Therefore, with the mask on, the captain can reach all of the emergency equipment, the cockpit door, and the overhead CB panels. The first officer would not be able to reach any of the emergency equipment, but can reach the cockpit door and the overhead CB panels. If conditions permitted, an option for the first officer would be to don an observer's oxygen mask; the hose length of either of these two oxygen masks would allow sufficient range of movement to reach the PBE and flashlights. The two portable PBEs each have a 15-minute supply of oxygen.

Each flight crew oxygen mask is fitted with a pneumatic harness, which is inflated by pressurized oxygen by manually actuating a lever on the regulator. When inflated, the harness allows easy donning and doffing of the mask, and fits easily over glasses and headsets. The harness deflates on release of the lever, tightening the mask to the wearer's face. The mask is equipped with a vent valve to purge any smoke from the goggles.

The mask-mounted regulators can function in one of three positions: normal diluter demand, 100 per cent oxygen, or emergency pressure breathing. The default position is normal diluter demand; 100 per cent oxygen or emergency pressure must be selected by the pilots. Such a selection would be made as warranted by the circumstances.

The SR 111 pilots were using oxygen for about 15 minutes. The charge state of the bottle at take-off was not determined; however, with both pilots using 100 per cent oxygen, the duration of the supply with a minimum dispatch pressure of 1 000 pounds per square inch (psi) would be at least 64 minutes. At 1 850 psi, which is a fully charged bottle, the duration would be about 119 minutes.

The crew oxygen cylinder pressure was last checked and the cylinder was refilled, on 9 August 1998, during an "A check." The cylinder was last hydrostatically tested on 17 March 1997. An examination of the crew oxygen cylinder showed that it was pressurized at the time of impact. During the time the CVR was recording, the pilots did not indicate having any problems with the oxygen system.

1.6.19.4  Passenger Oxygen

The MD-11 is fitted with independently mounted oxygen generators throughout the passenger and cabin crew areas. These generators supply oxygen masks that drop from compartments in the overhead panels. The masks are designed to be fitted over the nose and mouth. Once activated, each generator is capable of supplying a flow of oxygen to the masks that it serves for a minimum of 15 minutes.

The passenger cabin masks are stored behind module doors above the seats. The doors are held closed by electrically operated latches. The latches are powered by the 115 V AC buses 1, 2, and 3. If the cabin pressure decreases below a value equivalent to the standard pressure at 14 400 feet, the latches release and the doors fall open, allowing the masks to drop. The doors can also be selected open by the pilots through a switch in the cockpit.

The occurrence aircraft was equipped with 148 oxygen generators. (STI1-35) There were three sizes of oxygen generators installed; each served either two, three, or four masks. A total of 118 oxygen generators were recovered. Of the 83 examined in detail, (STI1-36) 53 were determined to have activated because of the impact. It was determined that none of the oxygen generators that were examined contributed to the fire, and that the passenger oxygen masks were not in use during the flight. (STI1-37)

The Swissair MD-11 Aircraft Operations Manual (AOM) warns that passenger oxygen masks must not be released below a cabin altitude of 14 000 feet when smoke or an abnormal heat source is present, as the oxygen may increase the possibility or severity of a cabin fire. As is typical with passenger oxygen masks in general use in transport category aircraft, the passenger masks in the MD-11 were designed to provide a mix of oxygen and ambient air. Therefore, the use of the masks would not have prevented passengers from inhaling smoke if it were present.

Previous | Next

Date de modification :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

1.6.19  Équipement d'urgence

1.6.19.1  Équipement d'urgence du poste de pilotage

Il y a quatre sièges dans le poste de pilotage des MD-11 de Swissair, et un masque à oxygène est réservé à chaque siège (voir Figure 17). Une lampe de poche rechargeable pour chaque pilote est facilement accessible à partir de la position assise. L'équipement d'urgence additionnel est rangé sur la paroi arrière du poste de pilotage, derrière le siège du commandant de bord; pour récupérer cet équipement, les pilotes doivent quitter leur siège. L'équipement additionnel comprend un extincteur au Halon 1211, des gants à l'épreuve du feu, deux ensembles d'inhalateur protecteur portatif, deux lampes de poche additionnelles, une hache, quatre gilets de sauvetage et un émetteur-récepteur VHF de secours. L'émetteur-récepteur de secours, qui est normalement rangé en position OFF, est autonome, alimenté par batterie et préréglé sur la fréquence d'urgence internationale de 121,5 MHz.

1.6.19.2  Équipement d'urgence de la cabine

L'équipement d'urgence suivant se trouve dans la cabine : sept extincteurs (cinq au Halon 1211 et deux à poudre chimique), ainsi que des jeux de gants à l'épreuve du feu, huit bouteilles d'oxygène portatives de 310 litres (L) (DIT1-33) pour les premiers soins et deux de 120 L avec masques, une hache, 14 lampes de poche, 11 inhalateurs protecteurs, des gilets de sauvetage pour chaque passager et agent de bord, des trousses médicales, un mégaphone ainsi que d'autres articles divers. Dans les couchettes de l'équipage de conduite, il y a deux autres bouteilles d'oxygène de premiers soins de 120 L et deux lampes de poche. Dans l'aire de repos de l'équipage de cabine, il y a quatre autres bouteilles d'oxygène de 310 L, un inhalateur protecteur, un extincteur au Halon 1211, des gants et une lampe de poche. (Voir la rubrique 1.6.12.2.)

1.6.19.3  Oxygène destiné à l'équipage de conduite (DIT1-34)

L'oxygène destiné à l'équipage de conduite des MD-11 de Swissair est fourni à partir d'une bouteille d'oxygène haute pression en aluminium enveloppée d'une fibre para-aramide. Le système fournit de l'oxygène régulé par l'intermédiaire de conduites en acier inoxydable jusqu'aux détendeurs montés sur les masques, et il alimente les postes du commandant de bord, du copilote et des deux observateurs. Un raccord en T est installé dans la conduite d'alimentation en acier inoxydable près du sommet de l'avion, entre les références 383 et 374 pour recevoir un masque de membre d'équipage additionnel dans la configuration avion cargo. Le raccord en T est fermé par un capuchon en aluminium AN929-6 qui, une fois installé, dépasse des matelas isolants situés entre les cadres pour arriver dans l'espace inoccupé du poste de pilotage (voir Figure 5).

Chaque masque intégral est rangé dans une boîte de rangement facilement accessible à chaque poste d'équipage de conduite, les conduites d'alimentation en oxygène et les connexions du microphone se trouvant à la base de chacune des boîtes de rangement (voir Figure 11). Lorsque la porte de la boîte de rangement des masques à oxygène est ouverte, le microphone du masque est automatiquement en circuit, et le micro-rail est désactivé.

Les masques à oxygène de l'équipage sont munis d'un cordon de fixation d'une longueur de six pieds. Par conséquent, lorsqu'il porte son masque, le commandant de bord peut atteindre tout l'équipement d'urgence, la porte du poste de pilotage et les tableaux de distribution supérieurs. Le copilote ne serait pas en mesure d'atteindre l'équipement d'urgence, mais il pourrait atteindre la porte du poste de pilotage et les tableaux de distribution supérieurs. Si les conditions le permettent, le copilote pourrait toujours enfiler le masque à oxygène d'un observateur; la longueur du tuyau de l'un ou l'autre de ces masques à oxygène lui laisserait suffisamment de liberté de mouvement pour atteindre les inhalateurs protecteurs et les lampes de poche. Les deux inhalateurs protecteurs portables ont chacun une alimentation de 15 minutes en oxygène.

Chaque masque à oxygène de l'équipage de conduite est muni d'un harnais pneumatique, qui se gonfle d'oxygène sous pression lorsqu'on actionne un levier sur le détendeur. Lorsqu'il est gonflé, le harnais permet d'enfiler et d'enlever facilement le masque, et ce dernier s'ajuste facilement par-dessus des lunettes et un casque d'écoute. Le harnais se dégonfle lorsqu'on dégage le levier, pour serrer le masque sur la figure de celui qui le porte. Le masque est équipé d'une soupape d'évacuation pour purger toute fumée se trouvant au niveau des lunettes.

Les détendeurs montés sur le masque peuvent fonctionner à l'une des trois positions suivantes : dilution-demande normale, oxygène à 100 % ou alimentation sous pression. La position par défaut est la position dilution-demande normale; les positions oxygène à 100 % ou alimentation sous pression doivent être sélectionnées par les pilotes. Une telle sélection serait faite en fonction des circonstances.

Les pilotes de SR 111 respiraient de l'oxygène depuis environ 15 minutes. L'état de la charge de la bouteille au décollage n'a pas été déterminé; toutefois, si les deux pilotes avaient utilisé de l'oxygène à 100 %, la durée de la réserve pour une pression d'alimentation minimale de 1 000 livres par pouce carré (lb/po2) aurait été d'au moins 64 minutes. À 1 850 lb/po2, qui correspond à une bouteille à pleine charge, la durée serait passée à environ 119 minutes.

La pression de la bouteille d'oxygène de l'équipage avait été vérifiée la dernière fois le 9 août 1998, et la bouteille avait été remplie lors d'une visite A. La bouteille avait subi un essai hydrostatique pour la dernière fois le 17 mars 1997. Un examen de la bouteille d'oxygène de l'équipage a montré qu'elle était sous pression au moment de l'impact. Le CVR révèle que les pilotes n'ont pas indiqué éprouver de problèmes avec le circuit à oxygène.

Précédent | Suivant