Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.6.21  Landing Performance

Landing distances at various aircraft weights were calculated to determine whether the occurrence aircraft could have stopped safely on Runway 06 at the Halifax International Airport. Calculations were completed for the occurrence aircraft with all systems operating normally, and with certain technical malfunctions.

The horizontal distance necessary to land an aircraft and come to a stop on a level, smooth, dry, hard-surfaced runway is called the landing distance. This distance is based on the aircraft being in the landing configuration on a stabilized landing approach at a height of 50 feet (15 m) above the landing surface (usually the runway threshold). For normal operations at destination and alternate airports, regulations require that this full stop landing be accomplished within 60 per cent of the available runway length,[44] with spoilers, and anti-skid operative, but without use of thrust reversers.

The Swissair MD-11 AOM contains landing graphs that flight crew can use to calculate anticipated landing distances. These graphs provide landing information for 35-degree and 50-degree flap settings, predicated on aircraft landing weight, airport elevation, wind component, and runway surface conditions. For unscheduled landings, the regulations do not require any operational reserve or safety margin as would be included when calculating the runway length for normal operations (1.67 multiplied by the landing distance).

The atmospheric conditions that existed at the time of the occurrence for a landing on Runway 06 at the Halifax International Airport were taken into account. For situations where all aircraft systems are operating normally, the calculated landing distances for various weights are shown in Table 10.

Table 10: Calculated Landing Distance – All Systems Operating Normally

Aircraft Weight Flaps 35 Degrees Landing Flaps 50 Degrees Landing
199 580 kg 4 725 ft. 4 236 ft.
218 400 kg 5 118 ft. 4 725 ft.
230 000 kg 5 316 ft. 4 920 ft.

If certain technical malfunctions occur, additional horizontal stopping distance will be used by the aircraft; therefore, a correction factor would need to be applied to estimate these increased landing distances. The Swissair AOM lists correction factors that must be added to the landing distance for various possible malfunctions. As indicated in Section 1.6.13.3, the wreckage revealed that the slats were retracted; if the pilots were aware of this anomaly, they would be required to land the aircraft with 28 degrees of flap, which is the certified landing configuration with slats retracted. Also, fire damage to the upper avionics CB panel resulted in several systems failures being recorded before the flight recorders stopped. The ground sensing CB is located in the area adjacent to the systems that were recorded as faults. If the ground sensing circuit was compromised because of the fire, the aircraft, once on the runway, would not have auto ground spoilers or the brake anti-skid feature. These additional factors would need to be added to the calculated landing distance. The minimum landing distance the SR 111 aircraft would have required under conditions of no slats, inoperative spoilers, and anti-skid brakes is shown in Table 11.

If the flight crew were unable to select 28 degrees of flap and landed with 15 degrees of flap, the landing distances would increase by approximately 12 per cent, as shown in Table 11. If the flight crew were able to get the flaps to 50 degrees and decided to conduct a landing in this unconventional configuration, then the above landing distances would be reduced by approximately 10 per cent.

Table 11: Estimated Landing Distance – With Technical Malfunctions[45]

Aircraft Weight Flaps 15 Degrees,
Slats Retracted,
Anti-skid System
Inoperative,
Auto Ground Spoilers
Not Available
Flaps 28 Degrees,
Slats Retracted,
Anti-skid System
Inoperative,
Auto Ground Spoilers
Not Available
Flaps 50 Degrees,
Slats Retracted,
Anti-skid System
Inoperative,
Auto Ground Spoilers
Not Available
199 580 kg 10 700 ft. 9 600 ft. 8 700 ft.
218 400 kg 11 800 ft. 10 600 ft. 9 500 ft.
230 000 kg 12 400 ft. 11 100 ft. 10 000 ft.

A caution in the AOM landing graphs states that for every 5 knots above the ideal approach speed, the landing distance will increase by 1 000 feet. The SR 111 flight crew was dealing with smoke and fire in the cockpit and failed aircraft systems and displays, and at some point was flying on standby instruments. Therefore, it is likely that the aircraft would not have been at the ideal position and speed for landing over the threshold, which could further increase the landing stopping distance. Thrust reversers, if available, would reduce this distance slightly.

Considering all of the factors, the SR 111 landing would likely have required more runway than the 8 800 feet available on Runway 06 at the Halifax International Airport.


[44]    The remaining 40 per cent of runway length is known as operational reserve or safety margin.

[45]    The certified procedure for landing if slats are retracted is to land with flaps at 28 degrees. The landing distance graphs do not provide correction factors with slats retracted for flap settings of 15 degrees or 50 degrees; therefore, these calculations are approximations and are provided for illustration only.

Previous | Next

Date de modification :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

1.6.21  Performances d'atterrissage

Les distances d'atterrissage pour diverses masses de l'avion ont été calculées pour qu'on puisse déterminer si celui-ci aurait pu s'immobiliser en toute sécurité sur la piste 06 de l'aéroport international de Halifax. Les calculs ont été exécutés pour l'avion en question, tous les systèmes fonctionnant normalement et avec certaines défectuosités techniques.

La distance horizontale nécessaire à l'atterrissage d'un avion jusqu'à son arrêt complet sur une surface en dur, plane, lisse et sèche est appelée distance d'atterrissage. Cette distance se fonde sur le fait que l'avion se trouve en configuration d'atterrissage en approche stabilisée à une hauteur de 50 pi (15 m) au-dessus de la surface d'atterrissage (habituellement le seuil de la piste). Pour des opérations normales aux aéroports de destination et de dégagement, la réglementation exige que cet atterrissage avec arrêt complet se fasse sur 60 % de la longueur de piste disponible[43], déporteurs déployés et l'antidérapage étant en service, mais sans l'utilisation des inverseurs de poussée.

Le manuel d'exploitation du MD-11 de Swissair renferme des graphiques d'atterrissage que l'équipage de conduite peut utiliser pour calculer les distances d'atterrissage anticipées. Ces graphiques donnent des renseignements pour un réglage des volets à 35 et à 50°, fondé sur la masse à l'atterrissage de l'avion, l'altitude de l'aéroport, la composante vent et les conditions à la surface de la piste. Pour les atterrissages imprévus, la réglementation n'exige aucune réserve opérationnelle ou marge de sécurité qui feraient partie des calculs de la longueur de piste pour les opérations normales (1,67 multiplié par la distance d'atterrissage).

Les conditions atmosphériques qui existaient au moment de l'accident pour un atterrissage sur la piste 06 à l'aéroport international de Halifax ont été prises en compte. Dans les situations où tous les systèmes de bord fonctionnent normalement, les distances d'atterrissage calculées pour diverses masses sont indiquées dans le tableau 10.

Tableau 10 : Distances d'atterrissage calculées – tous les systèmes fonctionnant normalement
Masse de l'avion Atterrissage volets sortis à 35° Atterrissage volets sortis à 50°
199 580 kg 4 725 pi 4 236 pi
218 400 kg 5 118 pi 4 725 pi
230 000 kg 5 316 pi 4 920 pi

S'il se produit certaines défectuosités techniques, une distance d'arrêt additionnelle sera utilisée par l'avion; par conséquent, il faudrait appliquer un facteur de correction pour l'estimation de ces distances d'atterrissage accrues. Le manuel d'exploitation de Swissair donne la liste des facteurs de correction qui doivent être ajoutés à la distance d'atterrissage pour diverses défectuosités possibles. Comme l'indique la rubrique 1.6.13.3, l'épave a révélé que les becs de bord d'attaque étaient rentrés. Si les pilotes étaient au courant de cette anomalie, ils auraient été tenus de poser l'avion volets sortis à 28°, ce qui correspond à la configuration d'atterrissage homologuée becs de bord d'attaque rentrés. Aussi, des dommages causés par l'incendie au tableau de distribution avionique supérieur s'étaient traduits par plusieurs défaillances de système qui ont été enregistrées avant que les enregistreurs de bord ne cessent de fonctionner. Le disjoncteur de référence air-sol est situé dans un endroit voisin des systèmes pour lesquels des défectuosités ont été enregistrées. Si le circuit de référence air-sol avait été compromis à cause de l'incendie, l'avion, une fois sur la piste, n'aurait pu bénéficier du déploiement automatique des déporteurs-sol ni de l'antidérapage des freins. Ces facteurs additionnels devraient alors être ajoutés à la distance d'atterrissage calculée. La distance minimale d'atterrissage dont aurait eu besoin SR 111 si les becs de bord d'attaque n'étaient pas déployés, les déporteurs et l'antidérapage des freins étant inopérants, est indiquée au tableau 11.

Si l'équipage de conduite n'était pas en mesure de sélectionner les volets à 28° et qu'il s'était posé volets sortis à 15°, les distances d'atterrissage augmenteraient d'environ 12 %, comme le montre le tableau 11. Si l'équipage de conduite avait été en mesure de sortir les volets à 50° et qu'il avait décidé d'effectuer un atterrissage dans cette configuration peu classique, alors les distances d'atterrissage ci-dessus seraient réduites d'environ 10 %.

Tableau 11 : Estimation des distances d'atterrissage – avec défectuosités techniques[44]
Masse de l'avion Volets à 15°, becs rentrés, système antidérapage inopérant, déporteurs-sol automatiques inutilisables Volets à 28°, becs rentrés, système antidérapage inopérant, déporteurs-sol automatiques inutilisables Volets à 50°, becs rentrés, système antidérapage inopérant, déporteurs-sol automatiques inutilisables
199 580 kg 10 700 pi 9 600 pi 8 700 pi
218 400 kg 11 800 pi 10 600 pi 9 500 pi
230 000 kg 12 400 pi 11 100 pi 10 000 pi

Une mise en garde dans les graphiques d'atterrissage du manuel d'exploitation indique que pour chaque tranche de 5 nœuds au-dessus de la vitesse d'approche idéale, la distance d'atterrissage augmente de 1 000 pi. L'équipage de conduite de SR 111 devait faire face à de la fumée et à un incendie dans le poste de pilotage ainsi qu'à des défaillances d'affichage et de systèmes de bord, et à un moment donné il volait au moyen des instruments de secours. Par conséquent, il est probable que l'avion ne se serait pas trouvé en position et en vitesse idéales pour l'atterrissage au moment de franchir le seuil, ce qui aurait augmenté encore plus la distance d'arrêt à l'atterrissage. Si les inverseurs de poussée avaient été utilisés, ils auraient permis de réduire légèrement cette distance.

Compte tenu de tous les facteurs, l'atterrissage de SR 111 aurait nécessité plus de piste que les 8 800 pi disponibles sur la piste 06 de l'aéroport international de Halifax.


[43]    Les 40 % de la longueur de piste qui restent s'appellent réserve opérationnelle ou marge de sécurité.

[44]    La procédure homologuée pour l'atterrissage becs de bord d'attaque rentrés consiste à poser l'avion volets sortis à 28°. Les graphiques de distance d'atterrissage ne fournissent pas de facteurs de correction becs rentrés pour les valeurs de braquage des volets de 15 ou de 50°; par conséquent, ces calculs sont des approximations et ils ne sont fournis qu'à titre indicatif seulement.

Précédent | Suivant