Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.6.22  Aircraft Maintenance Records and Inspection

  1. 1.6.22.1 - General
  2. 1.6.22.2 - Maintenance Records
  3. 1.6.22.3 - Maintenance Inspections
  4. 1.6.22.4 - MD-11 Service Information
  5. 1.6.22.5 - MD-11 Service Difficulty Reports
  6. 1.6.22.6 - MD-11 Maintenance Management

1.6.22.1  General (STI1-40)

The Maintenance System Approval Statement contained in Swissair's Air Operator Certificate (AOC) 1017 stated that Swissair was approved under Joint Aviation Requirements (JAR)-OPS 1, Subpart M, to manage the maintenance of its MD-11 aircraft. At the time of the occurrence, Swissair had contracted all aircraft maintenance to SR Technics, and Swissair had no in-house maintenance capability. As a JAR/FAR 145–approved repair station, SR Technics was contracted to perform all aircraft maintenance defect rectification, maintenance checks beyond the pre-flight, maintenance engineering activities, maintenance planning, and spare parts handling in support of Swissair's operations.

1.6.22.2  Maintenance Records

During the investigation, a review was conducted of Swissair/SR Technics' maintenance program, record-keeping procedures, and the occurrence aircraft's maintenance records. A small number of discrepancies were discovered regarding engineering orders (EO) and logbook entries. The discrepancies were considered minor, and the overall method of record-keeping was considered to be sound. The maintenance records kept for HB-IWF indicate that it was maintained in a manner commensurate with industry practices.

The review of the aircraft's maintenance records, which included the technical logbook entries from 10 September 1997 until 2 September 1998, the last three "A checks," and the IFEN System Maintenance Activity Review, did not identify any events that were considered relevant to the investigation.

1.6.22.3  Maintenance Inspections (STI1-41)

In addition to the maintenance checks carried out before every departure, Swissair MD-11s underwent a series of scheduled maintenance activities. These were accomplished at various flight hours (FH) as follows: "A check" every 700 FH; "C check" every 6 000 FH; and first "D check" at 30 000 FH or 72 months, whichever occurred first. The last scheduled maintenance activity carried out on the occurrence aircraft was an "A check" completed on 10 August 1998.

A review of HB-IWF's maintenance history verified that all requirements of the approved maintenance program were completed either on time, or within the tolerance granted to Swissair by the Swiss Federal Office for Civil Aviation (FOCA).

1.6.22.4  MD-11 Service Information

1.6.22.4.1  Service Bulletins (STI1-42)

Aircraft manufacturers and product vendors issue to users of their products, documents that are designed to improve the level of flight safety, to provide specific advice or instructions, or both. These documents include, but are not limited to, Service Bulletins (SB), Alert Service Bulletins (ASB), Service Letters, and All Operator Letters (AOL). The type of document issued depends upon the issuer's assessment of the urgency or severity of the information being presented; ASBs have the highest priority. Compliance with these documents is at the owner's or operator's discretion, as compliance is not mandatory unless an associated Airworthiness Directive (AD) is promulgated by the applicable regulatory authority.

At the time of the occurrence, there were 822 MD-11 SBs applicable by fuselage number to HB-IWF of which 51 were ASBs. Of the 51 ASBs, 47 were complied with, 2 were related to AD 94-10-03 for which an exemption was granted (see Section 1.6.22.4.2), 1 was underway, and 1 was specific to a water heater installation that was not installed in the Swissair fleet of MD-11s. The SR Technics engineering department reviewed each SB. If it determined that the SB warranted incorporation, they produced an EO. The determination to accept or reject an applicable SB was made by the cognizant engineer, and reviewed and approved by the cognizant engineer's manager.

A review of the aircraft manufacturer's MD-11 SBs issued up to the time of the accident identified 16 that were considered of interest to the investigation. Included in these were SBs related to events that could cause chafing, arcing, sparking, or smoke in the cabin or cockpit.

1.6.22.4.2   Airworthiness Directives (STI1-43)

An AD, typically based on either a manufacturer's or vendor's SB, is issued when an unsafe condition exists and that condition is likely to exist or develop in other products of the same type design. An AD is a regulatory directive mandating an inspection, repair, modification, or procedure issued either by the state of manufacture or by the CAA of the country in which the aircraft is registered.

The FOCA adopts and reissues each AD published by a state of manufacture pertaining to aircraft registered in Switzerland or with products that might be installed on Swiss-registered aircraft. Within SR Technics, the FOCA AD will only be distributed if it is not covered by an AD issued by the state of manufacture, or if there are deviations in the content. Swissair complied with all ADs issued by the state of manufacture, even if they were not legally binding for Swiss-registered aircraft under Swiss legislation.

At the time of the occurrence, 57 MD-11 ADs were issued by the FAA that were applicable to the occurrence aircraft. The SR Technics "Status List of Engineering Orders" verified that all applicable ADs had been accomplished, with the exception of AD 94-10-03, for which an exemption has been granted to Swissair by the FOCA. AD 94-10-03 addressed a potential software anomaly involving navigation equipment input to the FMC/FCC, and was therefore not deemed to be relevant to the circumstances of this occurrence. A review of the MD-11 ADs issued by the FAA up to the time of the accident identified the following two ADs that were potentially related to either the area of the fire damage in SR 111 (AD 93-04-01) or other smoke events in the cockpit (AD 97-10-12).

The subject of AD 93-04-01 was to "prevent display units from going blank, which could lead to momentary loss of flight critical display information." This AD took effect on 2 April 1993 and referred to ASB MD-11 A24-51, which took effect on 11 September 1992. SR Technics accomplished the AD on 14 January 1993 when the ASB was completed.

The subject of AD 97-10-12 was to "detect and correct chafing of the wire bundles adjacent to the avionics disconnect panel bracket assembly and consequent in-flight arcing behind the avionics CB panel, which could result in a fire in the wire bundles and smoke in the cockpit." This AD took effect on 16 June 1997 and referred to SB MD11-24-111, which took effect on 3 December 1996. SR Technics had accomplished this AD on HB-IWF on 6 March 1997.

1.6.22.5  MD-11 Service Difficulty Reports (STI1-44)

A search of the FAA's Service Difficulty Report (SDR) database for MD-11/11F entries, submitted until September 1998, revealed a total of 970 SDRs.[46] At that time, the MD-11/11F SDRs were reviewed using the keywords fire, smoke, and smell. Additionally, the same data was searched using the Air Transport Association (ATA) codes for communications (2300) system, power distribution (2400), and fire protection (2600) systems. This review revealed some general statistical information referred to in Section 1.18.10, but did not identify specific discrepancies relevant to the circumstances of this investigation. Detailed and specific information regarding wiring discrepancies was not consistently available as it was not required to be captured within the SDR database. There was no dedicated Joint Aircraft Systems/Components Inspection Code (enhanced ATA codes) used to collect, compile, and monitor data regarding wiring discrepancies. However, during the course of this investigation, on the basis of wiring data issues highlighted by National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) investigations such as Trans World Airlines 800[47] and by industry group deliberations, the FAA requested that the ATA introduce a new ATA reporting code subchapter (97) to facilitate more accurate tracking of specific wire-related problems and anomalies.

1.6.22.6  MD-11 Maintenance Management

As with any commercial aircraft, the maintenance management of the MD-11 involved various companies and regulatory agencies. Beyond Swissair's maintenance obligations, as outlined in their AOC, SR Technics, the FOCA, the FAA, and Boeing all had either direct or indirect maintenance management commitments in support of Swissair's MD-11 fleet (see Section 1.17).


[46]    The FAA's Service Difficulty Report (SDR) system is designed to collect, analyze, record, and disseminate data concerning defects and malfunctions that have resulted in, or are likely to result in, a safety hazard to an aircraft or its occupants. Information contained in SDRs is submitted by the aviation community and is, for the most part, unverified.

[47]    See the National Transportation Safety Board report DCA96MA070 concerning the 17 July 1996 accident involving a Trans World Airlines Boeing 747-131 near East Moriches, New York.

Previous | Next

Date de modification :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

1.6.22  Inspection et dossiers de maintenance de l'avion

1.6.22.1  Généralités (DIT1-40)

La déclaration d'agrément du système de maintenance figurant sur le certificat d'exploitant aérien 1017 de Swissair indiquait que Swissair était homologuée en vertu des Joint Aviation Requirements (JAR)-OPS 1, sous-partie M, pour gérer la maintenance de ses avions MD-11. Au moment de l'accident, Swissair avait confié par contrat toute la maintenance de ses avions à SR Technics, et Swissair ne disposait d'aucune capacité de maintenance à l'interne. À titre d'atelier de réparations agréé JAR/FAR 145, SR Technics s'était vu confier par contrat l'exécution de toutes les corrections de défauts, les vérifications de maintenance au-delà des vérifications avant le vol, les activités techniques de maintenance ainsi que la planification de la maintenance et le traitement des pièces de rechange pour appuyer les opérations de Swissair.

1.6.22.2  Dossiers de maintenance

Au cours de l'enquête, on a effectué un examen du programme de maintenance Swissair/SR Technics, des procédures de tenue de livres et des dossiers de maintenance de l'avion en question. Un petit nombre d'écarts ont été découverts en ce qui a trait aux instructions techniques et aux inscriptions dans les livrets techniques. Les écarts ont été jugés mineurs, et la tenue générale des livres a été jugée correcte. Les dossiers de maintenance tenus pour l'avion HB-IWF indiquent que ce dernier était entretenu d'une façon qui était en accord avec les pratiques de l'industrie.

La revue des dossiers de maintenance de l'avion, qui comprenait les inscriptions dans les livrets techniques du 10 septembre 1997 au 2 septembre 1998, les trois dernières visites A et la revue des activités de maintenance du RDB, n'ont pas permis de cerner des événements qui auraient été jugés pertinents pour l'enquête.

1.6.22.3  Inspections de maintenance (DIT1-41)

En plus des vérifications de maintenance effectuées avant chaque départ, les MD-11 de Swissair faisaient l'objet d'une série d'activités de maintenance programmées. Celles-ci étaient exécutées après un certain nombre d'heures de vol de la façon suivante : visite A toutes les 700 heures de vol; visite C toutes les 6 000 heures de vol et première visite D à 30 000 heures de vol ou 72 mois, selon le premier terme atteint. La dernière activité de maintenance programmée effectuée sur l'avion en question était une visite A, exécutée le 10 août 1998.

Un examen des antécédents de maintenance de l'avion HB-IWF a confirmé que toutes les exigences du programme de maintenance agréé avaient été remplies dans les délais, ou selon la tolérance accordée à Swissair par l'Office fédéral de l'aviation civile (OFAC) suisse.

1.6.22.4  Information de service du MD-11

1.6.22.4.1  Bulletins de service (DIT1-42)

Les constructeurs d'avions et les vendeurs de produits publient à l'intention des utilisateurs de leurs produits des documents qui sont conçus pour améliorer la sécurité aérienne, fournir des avis ou des instructions spécifiques, ou les deux. Ces documents comprennent, mais sans s'y limiter, les bulletins de service (SB), les bulletins de service alerte (ASB), les lettres de service (SL) et les lettres aux exploitants (AOL). Le type de document publié dépend de l'évaluation, par l'expéditeur, de l'urgence ou de la gravité de l'information présentée; les bulletins de service alerte ont la plus haute priorité. La conformité à ces documents est à la discrétion du propriétaire ou de l'exploitant, puisqu'elle n'est pas obligatoire à moins qu'une consigne de navigabilité connexe soit promulguée par l'autorité de réglementation pertinente.

Au moment de l'accident, il y avait 822 bulletins de service de MD-11 applicables en fonction du numéro de fuselage à l'avion HB-IWF, et 51 étaient des bulletins de service alerte. De ces 51 bulletins de service alerte, 47 avaient été exécutés, 2 avaient trait à la consigne de navigabilité 94-10-03 pour laquelle une exemption avait été accordée (voir la rubrique 1.6.22.4.2), 1 était en cours et 1 était propre à l'installation d'un chauffe-eau qui n'était pas installé dans la flotte des MD-11 de Swissair. Le service technique de SR Technics passait en revue chaque bulletin de service. S'il déterminait que le bulletin devait être incorporé, il produisait une instruction technique. La décision d'accepter ou de rejeter un bulletin de service applicable était prise par l'ingénieur compétent, puis revue et approuvée par le supérieur de l'ingénieur compétent.

Un examen des bulletins de service sur le MD-11 publiés par le constructeur de l'avion jusqu'au moment de l'accident a permis d'en isoler 16 qui ont été jugés dignes d'intérêt pour l'enquête. Parmi eux, il y avait des bulletins de service relatifs à des événements qui pouvaient causer du frottement, un amorçage d'arc, la production d'étincelles ou de la fumée dans la cabine ou le poste de pilotage.

1.6.22.4.2   Consignes de navigabilité (DIT1-43)

Une consigne de navigabilité, habituellement fondée sur le bulletin de service d'un vendeur ou d'un constructeur, est publiée lorsqu'une situation dangereuse existe et qu'elle pourrait exister ou se développer dans d'autres produits de même définition de type. Il s'agit d'une directive réglementaire exigeant une inspection, une réparation, une modification ou une procédure, et elle est publiée par l'état de construction ou par l'autorité de l'aviation civile du pays dans lequel l'aéronef est immatriculé.

L'OFAC adopte et publie de nouveau chaque consigne publiée par un état de construction qui a trait aux aéronefs immatriculés en Suisse ou aux produits qui pourraient être installés sur des aéronefs immatriculés en Suisse. Au sein de SR Technics, la consigne de l'OFAC n'est distribuée que si elle n'est pas couverte par une consigne publiée par l'état de construction, ou s'il y a des écarts par rapport au contenu. Swissair s'était conformée à toutes les consignes de navigabilité publiées par l'état de construction, même si ces dernières n'étaient pas obligatoires en droit pour les aéronefs immatriculés en Suisse et assujettis à la réglementation suisse.

Au moment de l'accident, 57 consignes de navigabilité (AD) de MD-11 publiées par la FAA s'appliquaient à l'avion en question. La « Liste d'état des instructions techniques » de SR Technics confirmait que toutes les consignes de navigabilité pertinentes avaient été exécutées, à l'exception de l'AD 94-10-03, pour laquelle une exemption avait été accordée à Swissair par l'OFAC. L'AD 94-10-03 portait sur une anomalie potentielle de logiciel ayant trait aux signaux d'entrée de l'équipement de navigation parvenant aux FMC/FCC, et elle a par conséquent été jugée non pertinente pour les circonstances du présent accident. Un examen des consignes de navigabilité sur les MD-11 publiées par la FAA jusqu'au moment de l'accident a permis d'isoler les deux consignes suivantes qui pouvaient être liées à la zone des dommages causés par l'incendie dans SR 111 (AD 93-04-01), ou à d'autres événements relatifs à de la fumée dans le poste de pilotage (AD 97-10-12).

L'objet de l'AD 93-04-01 consistait à « prévenir l'effacement des écrans d'affichage, qui risquait de mener à une perte momentanée de données essentielles au vol sur l'écran d'affichage ». Cette consigne était entrée en vigueur le 2 avril 1993 et elle renvoyait au bulletin de service alerte de MD-11 A24-51, qui était entré en vigueur le 11 septembre 1992. SR Technics avait exécuté la consigne le 14 janvier 1993, une fois que le bulletin de service alerte avait été complété.

L'objet de l'AD 97-10-12 consistait à « déceler et à corriger le frottement de faisceaux de fils situés près du support du panneau de coupure de l'alimentation de l'avionique et tout amorçage d'arc consécutif en vol se produisant derrière le tableau de distribution avionique, ce qui risquait de causer un incendie dans les faisceaux de fils et de la fumée dans le poste de pilotage ». Cette consigne était entrée en vigueur le 16 juin 1997 et elle renvoyait au bulletin de service MD11-24-111, qui était entré en vigueur le 3 décembre 1996. SR Technics avait exécuté cette consigne sur l'avion HB-IWF le 6 mars 1997.

1.6.22.5  Rapports de difficultés en service des MD-11 (DIT1-44)

Une recherche dans la base de données des rapports de difficultés en service (SDR) de la FAA pour les inscriptions relatives au MD-11/11F jusqu'en septembre 1998, a révélé en tout 970 rapports[45]. À ce moment-là, les SDR relatifs au MD-11/11F avaient été passés en revue au moyen de mots clés comme feu, fumée et odeur. De plus, les mêmes données avaient fait l'objet d'une recherche au moyen des codes de la Air Transport Association (ATA) pour les systèmes de télécommunications (2300), de distribution de l'alimentation électrique (2400) et de protection incendie (2600). Cet examen a permis d'obtenir des renseignements statistiques généraux qui se trouvent à la rubrique 1.18.10, mais il n'a pas permis de cerner des écarts spécifiques dignes d'intérêt pour les circonstances de la présente enquête. Des renseignements détaillés et spécifiques relatifs à des écarts relevés au sujet du câblage n'étaient pas systématiquement disponibles puisqu'il n'était pas exigé qu'ils soient notés à l'intérieur de la base de données des SDR. Il n'y avait pas de codes d'inspection de composants ou de systèmes de bord conjoints (codes ATA améliorés) utilisés pour recueillir, compiler et contrôler les données relatives à ces écarts. Toutefois, au cours de la présente enquête, compte tenu des questions relatives aux données sur le câblage mises en relief par des enquêtes du National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) comme celle sur le vol Trans World Airlines 800[46] et selon des délibérations de groupes de l'industrie, la FAA a demandé que l'ATA présente un nouveau code de sous-chapitre pour les comptes rendus (97) afin d'aider à retracer plus précisément les problèmes et les anomalies propres aux fils.

Précédent | Suivant