Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.7.6  Weather Conditions on Departure from JFK

At the time SR 111 departed from JFK airport, there was lightning associated with cumulonimbus clouds in the area, northwest and south of the airport. Within two minutes after take-off, the flight crew requested a heading deviation from the cleared track routing to avoid the isolated thunderstorms in that area. Cloud-to-ground lightning strike data indicated that the aircraft was more than 23 nm away from the closest ground strike and much farther away from the major ground lightning activity. Therefore, it is unlikely that the aircraft sustained a direct lightning strike from the cloud-to-ground lightning. (STI1-49)

The weather report at JFK airport included occasional lightning in cloud at the time of SR 111's departure, with isolated thunderstorms and cumulonimbus clouds in the vicinity. There was no reported lightning from cloud-to-cloud, only within the cloud. The thunderstorms were miles apart; therefore, it is unlikely that the aircraft intercepted a cloud-to-cloud lightning strike. (STI1-50)

The FDR showed no anomalies that might have indicated any unusual electrical disturbance within the aircraft during this period of time, and there was no recorded ATS communication to indicate that any lightning strike phenomena affected the aircraft. The available information indicates that the aircraft was not struck by lightning.

Previous | Next

Date de modification :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

1.7.6  Conditions météorologiques au départ de JFK

Au moment du départ de SR 111 de l'aéroport JFK, il y avait de la foudre et des cumulonimbus dans la région, au nord-ouest et au sud de l'aéroport. Dans les deux minutes qui ont suivi le décollage, l'équipage de conduite a demandé un changement de cap de la trajectoire autorisée pour éviter des orages isolés dans cette région. Les données de coups de foudre entre les nuages et le sol indiquaient que l'avion se trouvait à plus de 23 nm du point de coup de foudre le plus proche et bien plus loin encore de l'endroit où les coups de foudre étaient les plus nombreux. Par conséquent, il est peu probable que l'avion ait été frappé directement par un coup de foudre nuage-sol (DIT1-49).

Le rapport météorologique à l'aéroport JFK comprenait des coups de foudre occasionnels dans les nuages au moment du départ de SR 111, des orages isolés et des cumulonimbus dans le voisinage. On n'a signalé aucun coup de foudre entre les nuages, seulement à l'intérieur d'un nuage. Les orages étaient distants de plusieurs milles; par conséquent, il est peu probable que l'avion ait intercepté un coup de foudre entre des nuages (DIT1-50).

Le FDR n'a montré aucune anomalie qui aurait pu indiquer une perturbation électrique inhabituelle à l'intérieur de l'avion pendant cette période, et il n'y avait aucun enregistrement de communications ATS indiquant que des coups de foudre avaient frappé l'avion. Les renseignements disponibles indiquent que l'avion n'avait pas été frappé par la foudre.

Précédent | Suivant