Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.9.4  Emergency Communications

When pilots transmit a message to indicate an abnormal situation or condition, the degree of danger or hazard determines the terminology to be used. A situation in which the safety of the aircraft or of a person on board is threatened, but that does not require immediate assistance, is a condition of urgency. The internationally recognized spoken expression for urgency is "Pan Pan," which is spoken three times in succession. A situation in which the safety of the aircraft or a person on board is threatened by grave and imminent danger, and that requires immediate assistance is a condition of distress. The internationally recognized spoken expression for distress is "Mayday," which is also spoken three times in succession. If the pilots already have the ATS controller's attention, it has become common practice for them to declare an "emergency," instead of using the term "Mayday." This practice is accepted within the aviation industry.

Nav Canada requires controllers to comply with the directives about emergency communication contained in the ATC MANOPS, Part 6, "Emergencies." Subpart 601 instructs controllers to provide assistance to the aircraft in distress, to use all available facilities and services, and to coordinate with concerned agencies. As well, the ATC MANOPS advises that controllers should keep flight crews accurately informed and exercise their best judgment in difficult situations.

The pilots of SR 111 and the controllers communicated in normal tones in all of their communications prior to the pilots declaration of an "emergency" situation. When the pilots declared an emergency at 0124:42, there was a slight elevation in their voices that reflected a higher sense of urgency. From the time of the Pan Pan call at 0114:15, the controllers at Moncton ACC treated the situation as they would treat an emergency; that is, they responded in the same way they would have had pilots made a Mayday call. Moncton ACC responded to the diversion situation, and their actions were in accordance with their standard practice.

Previous | Next

Date de modification :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

1.9.4  Communications d'urgence

Lorsque les pilotes envoient un message pour indiquer une situation ou une condition anormale, le niveau de danger ou de risque détermine la terminologie à utiliser. Une situation dans laquelle la sécurité de l'avion ou d'une personne à bord est menacée, mais qui ne nécessite pas une mesure immédiate, est une urgence. L'expression reconnue internationalement en cas d'urgence est « Pan Pan », prononcée trois fois de suite. Une situation dans laquelle la sécurité de l'avion ou d'une personne à bord est menacée par un grave danger imminent et qui nécessite une intervention immédiate est une situation de détresse. L'expression reconnue internationalement en cas de détresse est « Mayday », prononcée trois fois de suite. Si les pilotes ont déjà l'attention du contrôleur, il est devenu pratique courante pour eux de déclarer une « urgence », plutôt que d'utiliser le terme « Mayday ». Cette pratique est acceptée au sein de la communauté aéronautique.

Nav Canada exige que les contrôleurs respectent les directives relatives aux communications d'urgence figurant dans le MANOPS ATC, Partie 6, « Urgences ». La sous-partie 601 indique aux contrôleurs d'aider l'aéronef en détresse, d'utiliser toutes les installations et tous les services disponibles et d'assurer la coordination avec tous les organismes concernés. Aussi, le MANOPS ATC précise que les contrôleurs doivent tenir les équipages de conduite bien informés et faire preuve de jugement dans les situations difficiles.

Les pilotes de SR 111 et les contrôleurs ont communiqué d'une voix normale dans toutes les communications précédant la déclaration de la situation « d'urgence » de la part des pilotes. Lorsque les pilotes ont déclaré une situation d'urgence à 1 h 24 min 42 s, le ton de leur voix a monté quelque peu, ce qui traduisait un sentiment d'urgence. À partir du moment de l'appel Pan Pan, à 1 h 14 min 15 s, les contrôleurs de l'ACC de Moncton ont traité la situation comme s'il s'agissait d'une urgence, c'est-à-dire qu'ils ont réagi de la même façon que si les pilotes avaient lancé un « Mayday ». L'ACC de Moncton a répondu au déroutement, et ses mesures étaient en accord avec ses pratiques normalisées.

Précédent | Suivant