Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.11.2  Recorder Installation Power Requirements

The CVR was powered by the 115 V right emergency AC bus and the FDR was powered by the 115 V AC Bus 3. Both buses are part of the 115 V AC Generator Bus 3 distribution system.

FAR 25.1457 (CVR), FAR 25.1459 (FDR), and the equivalent JARs, require that recorders be installed so that they receive power from the electrical bus that provides the maximum reliability for operation without jeopardizing service to essential services or emergency loads. Transport Canada's Canadian Aviation Regulations Standards Part V – Airworthiness Manual, Chapter 551, Articles 551.100 and 551.101 state that the FDRs and the CVRs shall be installed in accordance with the European Organisation for Civil Aviation Equipment (EUROCAE) documents ED-55 and ED-56A respectively. Additionally, the EUROCAE[49] references suggest that the FDR and the CVR be powered by separate sources.

Initially on the DC-10, the FDR was electrically powered by the 115 V AC Bus 3, and the CVR from 115 V AC Bus 1. However, for JAA certification, the CVR had to be powered by the 115 V right emergency AC bus, which is in turn powered by Generator Bus 3. As a result, both recorders were powered by the same source: Generator Bus 3. The MD-11 emergency checklist dealing with smoke/fumes of unknown origin requires the use of the SMOKE ELEC/AIR selector. This selector is used to cut power to each of the three electrical buses, in turn, to isolate the source of the smoke/fumes. The nature of this troubleshooting procedure requires that the selector remain in each position for an indeterminate amount of time, typically at least a few minutes. When the SMOKE ELEC/AIR selector is placed in the first (3/1 OFF) position, AC Generator Bus 3 is turned off, thereby simultaneously disabling the FDR and the CVR. With both the CVR and the FDR on the same generator bus, a failure of that bus, or the intentional disabling of the bus (e.g., as a result of checklist actions in a smoke situation), will result in both recorders losing power simultaneously.


[49]    The European Organisation for Civil Aviation Equipment prepares minimum performance specifications for airborne electronic equipment; however, these specifications remain as guidelines for consideration until mandated by regulatory authorities.

Previous | Next

Date de modification :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

1.11.2  Alimentation électrique des enregistreurs

Le CVR était alimenté par le bus d'urgence droit de 115 V c.a., et le FDR était alimenté par le bus 3 de 115 V c.a. Les deux bus faisaient partie du circuit de distribution du bus 3 de l'alternateur de 115 V c.a.

La FAR 25.1457 (CVR), la FAR 25.1459 (FDR) et les JAR équivalentes exigent que les enregistreurs soient installés de manière à recevoir du courant dubus électrique qui offre une fiabilité maximale pour leur fonctionnement sans pour autant compromettre l'alimentation des services essentiels ou des charges utilisées en cas d'urgence. Les articles 551.100 et 551.101 du chapitre 551 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, Partie V – Manuel de navigabilité aérienne de Transports Canada stipulent que les FDR et les CVR doivent être installés conformément aux documents ED-55 et ED-56A respectivement de l'Organisation européenne pour l'équipement électronique de l'aviation civile (EUROCAE). De plus, les documents EUROCAE[48] suggèrent que le FDR et le CVR soient alimentés par des sources distinctes.

À l'origine sur le DC-10, le FDR recevait son alimentation électrique du bus 3 de 115 V c.a., et le CVR, du bus 1 de 115 V c.a. Toutefois, pour l'homologation par les JAA, le CVR devait être alimenté par le bus d'urgence droit de 115 V c.a., lequel était à son tour alimenté par le bus 3 d'alternateur. Par conséquent, les deux enregistreurs étaient alimentés par la même source : le bus 3 d'alternateur. La liste des vérifications en cas d'urgence du MD-11 traitant de la fumée ou des émanations d'origine inconnue prévoit l'utilisation du sélecteur SMOKE ELEC/AIR. Ce sélecteur sert à couper à tour de rôle l'alimentation de chacun des trois bus électriques en vue d'isoler la source de la fumée ou des émanations. La nature de cette procédure de dépannage exige que le sélecteur demeure dans chaque position pendant une durée indéterminée, habituellement au moins quelques minutes. Lorsque le sélecteur SMOKE ELEC/AIR est placé dans la première position (3/1 OFF), le bus 3 de l'alternateur est coupé, ce qui coupe simultanément l'alimentation au FDR et au CVR. Le CVR et le FDR étant alimentés par le même bus d'alternateur, une défaillance de ce bus ou la mise hors service intentionnelle de celui-ci (p. ex., à la suite de mesures imposées par la liste de vérifications en cas de fumée) coupera simultanément l'alimentation électrique aux deux enregistreurs.


[48]    L'Organisation européenne pour l'équipement électronique de l'aviation civile (EUROCAE) rédige des spécifications de performances opérationnelles minimales pour l'équipement électronique de bord; cependant, ces spécifications demeurent des lignes directrices pour étude jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient rendues obligatoires par des autorités réglementaires.

Précédent | Suivant