Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.12.5  Examination of Cabin Overhead Aisle and Emergency Light Assemblies (STI1-66)

The passenger cabin was equipped with overhead aisle and emergency light assemblies manufactured by Luminator Aircraft Products (PN 0200486-001). These light assemblies were installed in the bridge/gap assemblies that support the ceiling panels used throughout the passenger cabin above the left and right aisles. Each light assembly includes both an aisle light and an emergency light; however, only the aisle light is illuminated during normal operations. A few recovered bridge/gap assemblies exhibited a single black circular mark and some brown discolouration adjacent to the area where the aisle and emergency light assemblies are mounted.

During subsequent examinations of other MD-11 aircraft, the same discolouration pattern was found on the bridge/gap assemblies. In addition, some aisle light lens covers were found to be deformed. Testing was conducted using temperature measurement strips to determine the temperatures reached within the lens cover adjacent to the lamp and also adjacent to the outside of the aisle light assemblies during normal aircraft operations. Peak internal temperatures of approximately 200°C (392°F) were noted, with average temperatures between 143°C and 160°C (289°F and 320°F). Temperatures between 110°C and 138°C (230°F and 280°F) were measured on the outside of the light assemblies. Discolouration on the bridge/gap assemblies was a result of the heating effects of the aisle light lamp. It was noted that the amount, and frequency, of heat damage increased the longer the light assemblies were in service.

Some of the cabin overhead aisle and emergency light assemblies examined were found contaminated with a heavy build-up of dust and lint. Some contamination was also noted on light ballasts, wire harnesses, and electrical terminal strips and connectors, as well as in some areas above the forward cabin drop-ceiling and elsewhere in the aircraft. In some forms, dust and lint can be highly combustible and may be ignited from a small ignition source.[58] Concentrations of dust and lint could provide a path for fire propagation. Microscopic examination and analysis of dust and lint collected from filters removed from Swissair aircraft indicated that the deposits consisted of a mixture of different materials, such as textile and paper fibre fragments. The deposits were determined to be flammable[59] and easily ignitable from a small ignition source.


[58]    An ignition source, such as a small diffusion flame produced by a burning paper match, or a short-duration electrical arc.

[59]    For the purpose of this report, a flammable material is defined as a combustible material that is easily ignited and readily sustains a self-propagating flame front.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

1.12.5  Examen des plafonniers d'allée et des lumières d'urgence de la cabine (DIT1-66)

La cabine était équipée de plafonniers d'allée et de lumières d'urgence fabriqués par Luminator Aircraft Products (numéro de pièce 0200486-001). Ces appareils d'éclairage étaient installés dans les ensembles de raccordement qui supportaient les panneaux de plafond utilisés tout le long de la cabine au-dessus des allées gauche et droite. Chaque appareil d'éclairage comprenait un plafonnier d'allée et une lumière d'urgence; cependant, seul le plafonnier d'allée était allumé pendant les opérations normales. Certains des ensembles de raccordement repêchés montraient une marque circulaire noire unique et un certain ternissement brunâtre près de la zone de montage des plafonniers d'allée et des lumières d'urgence.

À l'occasion d'examens subséquents d'autres appareils MD-11, on a constaté le même type de ternissement causé par la chaleur sur les ensembles de raccordement. De plus, on a découvert que certains couvercles de lentille de plafonnier d'allée étaient déformés. On a effectué des essais à l'aide de bandes de mesure de la température afin de déterminer les températures atteintes à l'intérieur des couvercles de lentille près de la lumière et également près de la partie extérieure des plafonniers d'allée au cours des opérations normales de l'avion. On a mesuré des températures internes de pointe d'environ 200 °C (392 °F), et des températures moyennes comprises entre 143 et 160 °C (289 et 320 °F). On a également mesuré des températures comprises entre 110 et 138 °C (230 et 280 °F) sur la partie extérieure des plafonniers. Le ternissement des ensembles de raccordement au plafond avait été causé par la chaleur des appareils d'éclairage des allées. On a aussi remarqué que la quantité et la fréquence des dommages causés par la chaleur augmentaient en fonction du temps de service accumulé par les appareils d'éclairage.

On a constaté que certains ensembles plafonnier et lumière d'urgence de cabine examinés étaient contaminés par une épaisse couche de poussière et de peluche. On a aussi remarqué une certaine contamination sur les ballasts, les faisceaux de fils, les borniers et les connecteurs électriques, de même que dans certaines zones au-dessus du plafond suspendu de la partie avant de la cabine et ailleurs dans l'avion. Sous certaines formes, la poussière et la peluche peuvent être très combustibles, c'est-à-dire qu'elles peuvent s'enflammer en présence d'une petite source d'inflammation[57]. Les accumulations de poussière et de peluche pourraient propager un incendie. L'analyse et l'examen au microscope de la poussière et de la peluche prélevées sur les filtres déposés des avions de Swissair ont révélé que les dépôts étaient constitués d'un mélange de différents matériaux, comme des fragments de fibres de textile et de papier. On a déterminé que ces dépôts étaient inflammables[58] et qu'il suffisait d'une petite source d'inflammation pour les enflammer.


[57]    Une source d'inflammation, comme une flamme à faible diffusion produite par une allumette en papier ou un arc électrique de courte durée.

[58]    Aux fins du présent rapport, un matériau inflammable est défini comme étant un matériau combustible qui s'enflamme facilement et qui alimente promptement un front de flamme autopropagé.

Précédent | Suivant