Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.12.7  Examination of Flight Controls

The flight control system actuators were examined; there was no indication of a pre-impact fault within the actuator assemblies that would have affected their normal operation. (STI1-67) Based on this examination, the flaps were extended to 15 degrees; however, the slats were not extended as would be expected with flap extension. (STI1-68) Electrical power is not required for flap extension; however, it is needed for slat operation. The failure of the slats to extend was likely the result of an interruption in electrical power to the slat control valves owing to the effects of the in-flight fire.

With a flap extension of 15 degrees, the outboard ailerons would have become active. The spoilers (speed brakes) (STI1-69) were retracted at the time of impact; however, it is unknown whether they were deployed at any time during the descent below 10 000 feet after the loss of the FDR. Impact markings on the elevator, (STI1-70) rudder, (STI1-71) and aileron actuators, (STI1-72) along with the as-recovered positions of the horizontal stabilizer jack screws indicate the following possible aircraft flight control configuration at the time of impact: 2 to 3 degrees up-elevator; 3 degrees left rudder; and ailerons and horizontal stabilizer in a neutral position. (STI1-73)

The FDR recording, just prior to the loss of the FDR, showed no anomalies with the flight control systems. The last valid recordings indicated that the autopilot had disengaged and the upper and lower yaw damper A control was lost (the upper and lower yaw damper B control was still available). When the FDR recording stopped, the aircraft was in a "clean" configuration, with the flaps, slats, and landing gear retracted.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

1.12.7  Examen des gouvernes

On a examiné les actionneurs des gouvernes, et rien ne permet de croire qu'il y aurait eu une défaillance des actionneurs avant l'impact qui aurait pu compromettre leur fonctionnement normal (DIT1-67). L'examen des actionneurs laisse croire que les volets étaient sortis à 15°; toutefois, les becs de bord d'attaque n'étaient pas sortis, contrairement à ce que l'on s'attendrait normalement lorsque les volets sont sortis (DIT1-68). La sortie des volets ne nécessite pas d'énergie électrique, alors qu'il en faut pour actionner les becs de bord d'attaque. Le fait que les becs de bord d'attaque soient demeurés rentrés est sans doute attribuable à une panne d'alimentation électrique des robinets de commande des becs de bord d'attaque, attribuable aux effets de l'incendie en vol.

Pour une sortie des volets de 15°, les ailerons extérieurs auraient dû se braquer. Les déporteurs (aérofreins) (DIT1-69) étaient rentrés au moment de l'impact; toutefois, on ignore s'ils avaient été utilisés à un moment donné pendant la descente sous les 10 000 pi après la perte du FDR. Les marques d'impact relevées sur la gouverne de profondeur (DIT1-70), le gouvernail de direction (DIT1-71) et les vérins des ailerons (DIT1-72), de même que les positions dans lesquelles on a retrouvé les vérins à vis du stabilisateur laissent croire que les gouvernes de l'avion pouvaient être dans la configuration suivante au moment de l'impact : profondeur braquée de 2 à 3° vers le haut; gouvernail de direction de 3° à gauche; ailerons et stabilisateur en position neutre (DIT1-73).

Les enregistrements du FDR, juste avant qu'il cesse de fonctionner, ne montraient aucune anomalie au niveau des gouvernes. Les derniers enregistrements valides indiquaient que le pilote automatique s'était débrayé et qu'on ne pouvait plus commander l'amortisseur de lacet supérieur et inférieur A (la commande de l'amortisseur de lacet supérieur et inférieur B était encore disponible). Lorsque le FDR a cessé d'enregistrer, l'avion était en configuration lisse, c'est-à-dire que les volets, les becs de bord d'attaque et le train d'atterrissage étaient rentrés.

Précédent | Suivant