Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.12.8  Examination of Fuel System Components

All 17 of the 115 V AC motor-driven fuel pumps were recovered, and all but two were specifically identified as to their installed location. Each fuel pump receives electrical power from one of the three AC generator buses, and each pump in each of the fuel tanks is powered from a different electrical power source. All of the pumps were examined at the fuel pump manufacturer's facility to determine whether they were being electrically driven at the time of impact, which would provide information about the status of the electrical buses.

The fuel pump examination focused on identifying distinctive damage that would indicate whether the pumps were operating (turning) at the time of impact. Distinctive damage included gouge marks on the impeller housing, denoting contact between the housing and the rotating or stationary impeller blades, and damage to the pin-and-slot arrangement that holds the impeller to the rotating shaft. The damage showed that six pumps had high rotational energy at the time of impact, indicating that their impellers were being electrically driven.

Fuel Tank 2 left aft boost pump housing displayed distinct imprints that were caused by the impeller while it was stationary; it was determined that this impeller was not being electrically driven at the time of impact.

A determination of the operational status of the remaining pumps could not be made, as there was lack of physical damage, and therefore no definitive marks. Table 14 identifies the six fuel pumps that were determined to have been operating at the time of impact and the source of electrical power associated with each.

Table 14: Fuel Pumps Determined to Be Operating at Impact

Fuel Pump Location Electrical Bus
Tank 1 Forward Boost Pump 115 V AC Generator Bus 1
Tank 3 Transfer Pump 115 V AC Generator Bus 1
Upper Auxiliary Right Transfer Pump 115 V AC Generator Bus 1
Tail Tank Left Transfer Pump 115 V AC Generator Bus 1
Tank 1 Aft Boost Pump 115 V AC Generator Bus 3
Tank 2 Transfer Pump 115 V AC Generator Bus 3

Both fuel dump valves were recovered and examined. The observed damage and gouge marks indicate that both valves were in the CLOSED position at the time of impact.

The auxiliary tank fill/isolation valve, and the tail tank fill/isolation valve, were recovered and examined. Impact forces captured the valve slides in both valves in the CLOSED position at the time of impact. In accordance with the known fuel system configuration and normal FSC operation, the tail tank fill/isolation valve would be expected to be closed. However, the auxiliary tank fill/isolation valve should have been open at the time of impact, unless either electrical power was not available to open it or fuel dumping had been initiated at some point. That is, during fuel dumping, the fuel system is reconfigured to close the auxiliary tank fill/isolation valve.

Only portions of the three cross-feed valves were recovered; the position of their valve slides at the time of impact could not be determined.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

1.12.8  Examen des composants du circuit carburant

On a retrouvé les 17 pompes carburant entraînées par un moteur électrique de 115 V c.a., et on est parvenu à préciser l'emplacement de chacune, sauf deux d'entre elles. Chaque pompe carburant était alimentée à partir de l'un des trois bus c.a. d'alternateur, et chaque pompe à l'intérieur de chacun des réservoirs carburant était alimentée à partir d'une source d'énergie électrique différente. On a examiné chacune des pompes carburant à l'atelier du fabricant afin de déterminer si elles étaient sous tension au moment de l'impact, ce qui fournirait de l'information sur l'état des bus électriques.

L'examen des pompes carburant a donc porté principalement sur l'identification des dommages particuliers indiquant si les pompes fonctionnaient au moment de l'impact. Ces dommages comprenaient des rainures sur le boîtier du rotor caractéristiques d'un contact entre le boîtier et les aubes du rotor en rotation ou stationnaire, et des dommages au dispositif à goupille et fente qui supporte le rotor sur l'arbre en rotation. L'examen de dommages a révélé que six pompes étaient animées d'une grande énergie de rotation au moment de l'impact, ce qui révèle que les rotors étaient entraînés par les moteurs électriques.

Le corps de la pompe d'appoint arrière gauche du réservoir 2 montrait des empreintes caractéristiques causées par le rotor stationnaire; on a déterminé que ce rotor n'était pas entraîné électriquement au moment de l'impact.

Il a été impossible d'établir l'état de fonctionnement des autres pompes, car elles ne présentaient pas de marques caractéristiques suffisantes. Le tableau 14 identifie les six pompes carburant qui, selon l'examen des dommages, fonctionnaient au moment de l'impact ainsi que leur source d'alimentation électrique.

Tableau 14 : Pompes carburant qui fonctionnaient au moment de l'impact
Emplacement de la pompe carburant Bus électrique
Pompe d'appoint avant du réservoir 1 Bus 1 de l'alternateur de 115 V c.a.
Pompe de transfert du réservoir 3 Bus 1 de l'alternateur de 115 V c.a.
Pompe de transfert droite du réservoir auxiliaire supérieur Bus 1 de l'alternateur de 115 V c.a.
Pompe de transfert gauche du réservoir d'empennage Bus 1 de l'alternateur de 115 V c.a.
Pompe d'appoint arrière du réservoir 1 Bus 3 de l'alternateur de 115 V c.a.
Pompe de transfert du réservoir 2 Bus 3 de l'alternateur de 115 V c.a.

On a récupéré et examiné les deux robinets vide-vite. Les dommages et les rainures observés indiquaient que les deux robinets étaient en position CLOSED (fermée) au moment de l'impact.

On a récupéré et examiné le robinet d'isolement/de remplissage du réservoir auxiliaire et le robinet d'isolement/de remplissage du réservoir d'empennage. Sous les forces de l'impact, les guillotines des deux robinets sont demeurées coincées en position CLOSED (fermée) au moment de l'impact. Selon la configuration connue du système carburant et le fonctionnement normal du FSC, le robinet d'isolement/de remplissage du réservoir d'empennage aurait dû être fermé. Toutefois, le robinet d'isolement/de remplissage du réservoir auxiliaire aurait dû être ouvert au moment de l'impact, à moins qu'il n'y ait pas eu d'alimentation électrique disponible pour l'ouvrir, ou que l'on ait amorcé le largage du carburant à un moment donné. En effet, lors d'une opération de largage de carburant, le circuit carburant est reconfiguré pour fermer le robinet d'isolement/de remplissage du réservoir auxiliaire.

On n'a récupéré que des fragments des trois robinets d'intercommunication; il a donc été impossible de déterminer la position de leur guillotine au moment de l'impact.

Précédent | Suivant