Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.12.9  Examination of the Engines

  1. 1.12.9.1 - General
  2. 1.12.9.2 - Engine 1
  3. 1.12.9.3 - Engine 2
  4. 1.12.9.4 - Engine 3

1.12.9.1  General

The three engines were examined to determine their operational status just prior to impact. Each engine is capable of producing a maximum thrust of 62 000 lb at sea level. No engine mechanical failures were discovered that could have prevented any of the three engines from operating normally.

The electronic circuit boards from the Engine 1 FADEC were recovered; however, the electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM) chip containing the NVM had been stripped from the circuit board. As a result, no recorded FADEC information for Engine 1 was retrieved.

The FADECs from engines 2 and 3 were recovered, and information was extracted from the NVM in each of the units. These FADECs recorded 10 identical faults for the occurrence flight. Engine 2 FADEC recorded an additional 10 faults, 7 of which were duplicates of the previous 10 faults (see Section 1.12.9.3). All of the faults recorded on the FADEC NVM occurred after the aircraft had descended to approximately 10 000 feet. All of these faults were related to the loss of inputs from both of the aircraft's FCCs and ADCs, and the loss of 115 V AC and 28 V DC electrical power to the FADECs.

The disruption of 115 V AC electrical power resulted in the loss of inlet probe heat to the associated engine. Inlet probe heat is required to allow the FADEC to control engine speed in the primary EPR mode; therefore, with the loss of inlet probe heat, the engine control mode would have reverted from the primary EPR mode to the soft reversionary N1 mode. The FADEC then establishes a down-trimmed N1 schedule to maintain the same thrust level as prior to the reversion. A SELECT switch is provided on the FADEC control panel, which is part of the overhead panel, to allow pilots to remove the downtrim from the N1 schedule; the engines then operate in the hard reversionary N1 mode. The engine will respond to throttle inputs in either reversionary N1 mode.

Faults are recorded within the FADEC in 20-minute accumulated increments and are not synchronized with aircraft FDR time. This makes it difficult to correlate any fault written to the FADEC memory with aircraft UTC time. Therefore, it was not possible to precisely correlate the FADEC faults with FDR recorded information.

1.12.9.2  Engine 1 (STI1-74)

Impact damage to Engine 1 was consistent with an engine operating at a high rotational speed and producing high power at the time of impact. Impact marks were left on the throttle shaft and throttle quadrant when the throttle fractured free of the pivot shaft. When the impact marks were aligned, the position of the throttle lever was determined to be consistent with a thrust level of approximately 45 960 lb in the EPR mode of control, or 54 195 lb in the hard reversionary N1 mode of engine control. It is unknown whether the pilots had selected the hard reversionary N1 schedule mode of engine control.

The metering valve in the fuel metering unit (FMU) was at or near the maximum fuel-flow position, equating to a fuel flow of between 26 900 and 28 400 lb per hour. This is consistent with a high-power setting.

1.12.9.3  Engine 2 (STI1-75)

The impact damage to Engine 2 was consistent with an engine that was rotating at a windmill speed and not producing power at the time of impact. Impact marks were left on the throttle shaft and throttle quadrant when the throttle fractured free of its pivot shaft. There were two impact marks on the throttle quadrant. When the impact mark on the throttle shaft was aligned with one of the marks on the throttle quadrant, the throttle was in a position similar to that of Engine 1. When the second mark on the quadrant was aligned, the throttle was in approximately the idle position. The damage associated with this second mark on the throttle quadrant was assessed to be the result of post-crash movement. Therefore, it is concluded that the throttle lever was in the forward position at the time of impact, even though the engine was not producing power.

Of the 10 additional fault entries recorded on the Engine 2 FADEC, 3 were related to the loss of TRA inputs to the FADEC. The TRA wiring for Engine 2 is routed from the centre pedestal, above the cockpit ceiling, and then aft through an area of known fire damage in the forward cabin drop-ceiling. The loss of TRA inputs would cause Engine 2 to revert to a fixed thrust mode, and to maintain power at the last validated throttle angle. As the FDR had stopped recording, the EPR values were not available. The last recorded thrust settings obtained from the FADEC before the engine was shut down were approximately 72 per cent N2, or approach idle.

FADEC information indicates that Engine 2 was shut down at an altitude of about 1 800 feet[60]  and airspeed of 227 knots TAS. The rewriting of existing faults in the FADEC NVM can normally only occur if the engine is shut down by the selection of the FUEL switch. In the case of SR 111, the possibility of the electrical circuitry to the switch being compromised by fire damage was also considered. The wiring in the aircraft is such that selection of the FUEL switch causes two electrical circuits to become grounded, and one electrical circuit to become powered. As two of the three associated wires were in wire runs completely outside of the fire-damaged area, it is considered improbable that fire damage to the wires could have occurred coincidentally to produce this precise electrical configuration. Therefore, it was determined that the pilots purposely shut the engine down by activating the FUEL switch.

1.12.9.4  Engine 3 (STI1-76)

Impact damage to Engine 3 was consistent with an engine that was producing power above flight idle, but not at full power. Because the engine had lost the pitot heat input signal to the FADEC, the engine would have reverted to the down-trimmed N1 mode. Impact marks were left on the throttle shaft and throttle quadrant when the throttle fractured free of its pivot shaft. When the impact marks were aligned, the position of the throttle lever was determined to be consistent with a thrust level of approximately 40 315 lb in the EPR mode. Because the engine had lost the pitot heat input signal to the FADEC, the engine would have reverted to the soft reversionary N1 mode. Therefore, based on only the throttle position indications, the engine thrust levels would have appeared to be at a relatively high power setting.

However, the FMU provides different information. The metering valve in the FMU was determined to be at an intermediate position equating to a fuel flow of between 3 180 and 3 420 lb per hour. This fuel flow is consistent with a power setting just above flight idle. The information derived from examining the FMU provided a more accurate representation of engine status than was provided by the throttle position impact marks. Also, the physical damage to the engine is consistent with a low-to-medium power setting as indicated by the FMU setting; the analysis of the associated engine components further indicates that the engine was operating at or slightly above flight idle at the time of impact.


[60]    According to the engine manufacturer, the accuracy tolerance of the altitude readings provided by the full-authority digital electronic control (FADEC) is ± 470 feet.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

1.12.9  Examen des moteurs

1.12.9.1  Généralités

On a examiné les trois moteurs afin de déterminer leur état de fonctionnement tout juste avant l'impact. Chaque moteur peut délivrer une poussée maximale de 62 000 livres (lb) au niveau de la mer. On n'a découvert aucune anomalie mécanique qui aurait pu compromettre le fonctionnement normal des trois moteurs.

On a repêché les cartes éélectroniques du régulateur automatique à pleine autorité redondante (FADEC) du moteur 1; toutefois, la puce de mémoire morte programmable effaçable électriquement (EEPROM) qui contenait la mémoire permanente avait été arrachée. Par conséquent, il a été impossible de récupérer quelque renseignement que ce soit du FADEC concernant le moteur 1.

On a repêché les FADEC des moteurs 2 et 3 et extrait les données de la mémoire permanente de chaque régulateur. Les FADEC avaient enregistré 10 anomalies identiques pour le vol en question. Le FADEC du moteur 2 avait enregistré 10 anomalies supplémentaires, dont 7 étaient de même nature que les 10 anomalies précédentes (voir la rubrique 1.12.9.3). Toutes les anomalies enregistrées sur la mémoire permanente du FADEC sont survenues après que l'avion eut descendu à environ 10 000 pi. Toutes ces anomalies étaient reliées à la perte des données en provenance des FCC et des ADC, ainsi qu'à la perte des sources d'alimentation électrique de 115 V c.a. et de 28 V c.c. des FADEC.

L'interruption de l'alimentation électrique de 115 V c.a. a entraîné la perte du réchauffeur de la sonde de prise d'air du moteur associé. Ce réchauffeur est nécessaire pour permettre au FADEC de réguler le régime du moteur dans le mode d'échantillonnage d'EPR primaire; par conséquent, après la perte du réchauffeur de la sonde de prise d'air, le mode de régulation du moteur serait passé du mode EPR primaire au mode de repli automatique N1. Le FADEC adopte alors un plafonnement de N1 afin de maintenir le même niveau de poussée qu'avant le changement de mode. Un commutateur marqué SELECT qui se trouve sur le tableau de commande FADEC, situé sur le panneau supérieur, permet aux pilotes de supprimer le plafonnement de la régulation N1; les moteurs fonctionnent alors en mode de repli manuel N1. Les moteurs continuent de réagir aux sollicitations sur les manettes des gaz dans les deux modes de repli N1.

Le FADEC enregistre les anomalies par périodes de 20 minutes, et ces enregistrements ne sont pas synchronisés avec les enregistrements du FDR. Il est par conséquent difficile de corréler l'heure d'entrée en mémoire des anomalies dans le FADEC avec l'heure UTC enregistrée par l'avion, c'est pourquoi il a été impossible de corréler avec précision les anomalies enregistrées par le FADEC avec les données enregistrées par le FDR.

1.12.9.2  Moteur 1 (DIT1-74)

Les dommages relevés sur le moteur 1 sont typiques d'un moteur qui tourne à régime élevé et qui développe une puissance élevée au moment de l'impact. Des marques d'impact se sont produites sur l'axe de la manette des gaz et sur son secteur lorsque la manette s'est libérée de son axe de débattement en se fracturant. Après avoir aligné les marques d'impact, on a déterminé que la position de la manette des gaz correspondait à un réglage de poussée d'environ 45 960 livres dans le mode de régulation EPR, ou de 54 195 livres dans le mode de régulation de repli manuel N1. On ignore lequel des deux modes de régulation de repli N1 avait été sélectionné par l'équipage.

Le doseur du dispositif de dosage de carburant (FMU) était à sa position de débit maximal ou proche de celle-ci, soit un débit carburant compris entre 26 900 et 28 400 livres par heure. Un tel débit correspond à une puissance élevée.

1.12.9.3  Moteur 2 (DIT1-75)

Les dommages d'impact subis par le moteur 2 présentaient les signes caractéristiques d'un moteur qui tournait en moulinet et qui ne développait pas une puissance élevée au moment de l'impact. Des marques d'impact se sont produites sur l'axe de la manette des gaz et sur son secteur lorsque la manette s'est libérée de son axe de débattement en se fracturant. Il y avait deux marques d'impact sur le secteur de la manette. Après qu'on eut aligné la marque d'impact sur l'arbre de la manette avec l'une des marques sur le secteur de la manette, cette dernière se trouvait dans une position semblable à celle du moteur 1. Après qu'on eut aligné la deuxième marque d'impact présente sur le secteur avec celle de la manette, cette dernière se trouvait dans une position proche du réglage de ralenti. Le dommage correspondant à cette deuxième marque sur le secteur de la manette a été attribué à un déplacement survenu après l'écrasement. Par conséquent, on peut conclure que la manette des gaz était poussée vers l'avant au moment de l'impact, même si le moteur ne produisait pas de puissance.

Sur les 10 anomalies supplémentaires enregistrées par le FADEC du moteur 2, 3 étaient reliées à une perte des signaux d'entrée TRA vers le FADEC. Le câblage du TRA pour le moteur 2 part du pylône central, il passe au-dessus du plafond du poste de pilotage, et il se dirige ensuite vers l'arrière en passant par une zone où l'on sait qu'il y a eu des dommages causés par l'incendie dans le plafond suspendu de la partie avant de la cabine. La perte des signaux d'entrée TRA aurait forcé le moteur 2 à passer en mode de poussée fixe et à maintenir la puissance à la dernière valeur d'angle des manettes. Comme le FDR avait cessé d'enregistrer, les valeurs EPR n'étaient pas disponibles. Les derniers réglages de poussée enregistrés obtenus du FADEC avant l'arrêt du moteur correspondaient à environ 72 % N2, soit un régime de ralenti de prise de terrain.

Les renseignements tirés du FADEC laissent croire que le moteur 2 avait été coupé à une altitude de quelque 1 800 pi[59] et à une vitesse vraie d'environ 227 noeuds. Pour que le FADEC puisse transférer les anomalies existantes dans sa mémoire permanente, il faut normalement que le moteur ait été coupé à l'aide de l'interrupteur FUEL. Dans le cas de SR 111, on a également examiné la possibilité que le circuit électrique menant au sélecteur ait pu être compromis par les dommages causés par l'incendie. Cependant, la configuration du câblage de l'avion fait en sorte que le réglage de l'interrupteur FUEL met deux circuits électriques à la masse et un circuit électrique sous tension. Comme deux des trois fils associés passaient à l'intérieur de chemins de câbles qui se trouvaient complètement à l'extérieur de la zone d'incendie, on considère qu'il est peu probable que l'incendie ait pu endommager les fils de manière à produire par coïncidence exactement cette configuration électrique. Ainsi, tout laisse croire que l'équipage aurait volontairement coupé le moteur 2 à l'aide de l'interrupteur FUEL.

Précédent | Suivant