Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.17.2  Swiss Federal Office for Civil Aviation

The regulatory agency responsible for aviation oversight[85] in Switzerland is the FOCA, an office of the Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy, and Communication. Switzerland is a member state of the JAA. The CAAs of certain European countries have agreed to common, comprehensive and detailed aviation requirements (referred to as JARs). JAR-OPS, Part 1, prescribes requirements applicable to the operation of any civil aircraft for the purpose of commercial air transportation by any operator whose principal place of business is in a JAA member state. The requirements in JAR-OPS, Part 1, became applicable for Swissair on 1 April 1998. No information was found to indicate that Swissair was not in compliance with the JARs at the time of the occurrence.

After 1 April 1998, the FOCA adopted the JAA philosophy that because of "increasing complexity and scale of both aircraft and commercial operations, the traditional spot checks undertaken by authorities no longer provide an intelligible or complete picture of any but the smallest operations."[86] Under the provisions of the JARs, the airline has a share of the responsibility for monitoring the quality of a safe service to the public. Important to the effectiveness of the policy is the JAR-OPS requirement for the establishment, by the operator, of a Quality System. This involves a designated Quality Manager and a nominated Accountable Manager; Swissair established such an organization.

Prior to the occurrence, the FOCA informally monitored Swissair operations, but did not conduct formal operational audits. The inspector responsible for monitoring Swissair was a former Airbus A310 captain. At the time of the occurrence, there were four operations inspectors within the Flight Operations Section of the FOCA, and all four had some dealings with Swissair.

Swissair flight operations were monitored by the FOCA through semi-annual coordination meetings, and by reviewing the daily flight operations report, flight safety reports, and crew reports of unusual incidents. The results of the Swissair Flight Operations QA program and ADAS analysis were also forwarded to the FOCA.

The responsibility for check rides was delegated to designated check pilots at Swissair; these rides were performed in accordance with the Quality System. Therefore, FOCA inspectors did not perform check rides on Swissair pilots, although they did periodically ride in the cockpit on scheduled Swissair flights to monitor in-flight operations. On the basis of their monitoring, the FOCA indicated no concerns about Swissair's flight operations.


[85]    Oversight is used in the context of watchful or responsible care as illustrated by the regulatory supervision exercised by Transport Canada's Office of Air Navigation Services and Airspace Safety Oversight and the FAA's Air Transportation Oversight System. The term is not meant to convey an inadvertent error or omission.

[86]    JAR-OPS Regulation entitled Procedures for Assessing the Continued Competence of an AOC Holder.


Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

1.17.2  Office fédéral de l'aviation civile de la Suisse

En Suisse, l'organisme de réglementation chargé de surveiller l'aviation civile est l'OFAC, office du ministère fédéral de l'Environnement, des Transports, de l'Énergie et des Communications. La Suisse est un État membre des JAA. Les autorités de l'aviation civile de certains pays d'Europe ont adopté des codes communs de l'aviation extrêmement détaillés (appelés JAR). La partie 1 de l'OPS des JAR contient les exigences qui s'appliquent à l'exploitation de tout aéronef civil affecté à l'aviation commerciale par un exploitant dont le siège principal d'exploitation se trouve dans un État membre des JAA. Les exigences de la partie 1 de l'OPS des JAR sont entrées en vigueur pour Swissair le 1er avril 1998. On n'a trouvé aucune donnée indiquant que Swissair ne respectait pas les JAR au moment de l'accident.

Après le 1er avril 1998, l'OFAC a adopté la philosophie des JAA qui prévoyait qu'en raison « de la complexité croissante et de l'échelle à la fois des aéronefs et de leur exploitation commerciale, les contrôles aléatoires traditionnels effectués par les autorités n'offrent plus un tableau intelligible ou complet des opérations aériennes, sauf les plus restreintes »[84]. Selon les dispositions des JAR, une compagnie aérienne doit assumer sa part des responsabilités dans la surveillance de la qualité d'un service sans danger offert au public. Au cœur de l'efficacité de la politique, l'OPS des JAR prescrit l'établissement par l'exploitant d'un système de qualité. Cela présuppose la nomination d'un gestionnaire désigné de la qualité et d'un gestionnaire responsable; Swissair avait établi une telle structure.

Avant l'accident, l'OFAC surveillait officieusement les opérations de Swissair, sans pour autant avoir procédé au moindre audit opérationnel officiel. L'inspecteur chargé de surveiller Swissair était un ancien commandant de bord d'Airbus A310. Au moment de l'accident, on comptait quatre inspecteurs de l'exploitation au sein de la Section des opérations aériennes de l'OFAC, qui entretenaient tous des rapports avec Swissair.

L'exploitation de Swissair était surveillée par l'OFAC dans le cadre de réunions de coordination semestrielles et par l'examen du rapport quotidien d'exploitation, des rapports de sécurité aérienne et des déclarations des incidents inhabituels par les équipages. Les résultats du programme d'assurance qualité des opérations aériennes de Swissair et de l'analyse de l'ADAS étaient également transmis à l'OFAC.

La responsabilité des vols de vérification compétence était confiée aux pilotes inspecteurs désignés de Swissair; ces vols se déroulaient conformément au système qualité. C'est ainsi que les inspecteurs de l'OFAC n'effectuaient pas de vols de vérification compétence des pilotes de Swissair, même s'il leur arrivait régulièrement de voler dans le poste de pilotage de vols réguliers de Swissair afin de surveiller les opérations en vol. D'après sa surveillance, l'OFAC a déclaré n'avoir jamais eu de préoccupations sur les opérations aériennes de Swissair.


[84]    Le règlement JAR-OPS intitulé Procedures for Assessing the Continued Competency of an AOC Holder (procédures visant à évaluer le maintien de la compétence du titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitant aérien).

Précédent | Suivant