Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.18.1  Swissair Training

  1. 1.18.1.1 - Flight Crew
  2. 1.18.1.2 - Flight Attendant Training
  3. 1.18.1.3 - Human Factors Training

1.18.1.1  Flight Crew

1.18.1.1.1  Aircraft Training (STI1-101)

Swissair pilots who transition to the MD-11 from other company aircraft were required to complete Swissair's standard six-week training course. The Swissair syllabus was adopted from the McDonnell Douglas, FAA-approved course. On these courses, captains and first officers were trained together, and there was a focus on the need to operate together as a crew.

As well as being trained to follow specific checklist procedures appropriate to the type of emergency, Swissair flight crews were trained to react to an emergency situation according to the following philosophy: Power, Performance, Analysis, Action. This sequence was designed to ensure the aircraft is configured appropriately, the situation is properly assessed from all perspectives, proper priorities are established, and appropriate outside resources are used as necessary.

1.18.1.1.2  Smoke/Fumes/Fire Training

During the Swissair standard six-week pilot training course for transitioning to the MD-11, procedures for smoke/fumes/fire were covered in classroom discussions and in simulator training. Pilots were instructed to don their full-face oxygen masks at the first sign of smoke because of the danger of inhaling toxic fumes. Donning the oxygen masks was considered a memory item; therefore, it was not included as an item in the written checklist. The decision about whether to commence an emergency descent was considered a flight crew judgment call based on their perception of the threat. Initiating an emergency descent was also considered a memory item and was not included in the written checklist.

The flight crews were taught to evaluate any emergency situation before starting a checklist. For smoke/fumes events, flight crews were taught that unless they were certain that the source of smoke/fumes was the air conditioning system, they were to use the Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin checklist (see Appendix C – Swissair Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist). If flight crews were certain that the source of smoke/fumes was the air conditioning system, they could use the Air Conditioning Smoke checklist (see Appendix B – Swissair Air Conditioning Smoke Checklist).

A decision about whether to initiate a diversion for a precautionary or emergency landing was to be based on best judgment, with consideration given to the nature of the perceived threat. The company General/Basics Flight Crew Manual stated the following:

If a flight cannot be made to the regular destination, a diversion must be made to the most suitable alternate aerodrome providing the best available operational and passenger handling service.

To best meet this stipulation, the first choice would be an airport with a Swissair or contracted handling agent, such as Boston. Halifax was also a suitable, approved en route airport for the diversion of Swissair MD-11s.

The General/Basics manual also stipulated the various conditions that would require the flight crew to land at the nearest emergency aerodrome. These conditions included the following fire- or smoke-related scenarios:

  • Any fire on board an aeroplane, including engine fire, if firefighting is not possible or ineffective; or
  • Persistent smoke of unknown origin.

The General/Basics manual defined an emergency aerodrome in the following way:

Emergency aerodrome in this context means an aerodrome where a safe landing for the respective type of aeroplane in the configuration can be made, disregarding repair facilities, or passenger handling, etc.

At Swissair, and throughout the aviation industry, it was generally accepted that human sensory perception can be used to help differentiate between air conditioning and electrical smoke/fumes. For example, smoke/fumes from an electrical event would be expected to be acrid, and cause irritation to the eyes and respiratory tract. This information might be supplemented by looking for other potential clues about the source of the smoke, such as the colour, intensity, and the location from which the smoke/fumes are emanating, and any associated aircraft system anomalies.

The human sense of smell is the most rudimentary and least understood of all the human senses, and the experience of various smells is a subjective phenomenon. Although the threshold concentrations required to detect many substances through smell are low,[87] humans are generally not good at identifying the specific source of a smell.[88] Although ability to identify odours has been shown to be augmented by other characteristics of the source of the odour (e.g., irritation, acridity, pungence),[89] this is unlikely to assist a crew in distinguishing between different types of smoke that are quite similar in this regard. In addition, an individual's ability to discriminate between odours has been shown to be affected by attentiveness, temporary medical states such as congestion, and temporary physical states such as hunger.[90] The odour and smoke that appeared in the SR 111 cockpit consisted of the by-products of combustion, but the limited cues available were perceived by the pilots as pointing to an air conditioning source.

Training for the use of the Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist was conducted in the simulator. During MD-11 transition training, all three positions of the SMOKE ELEC/AIR selector are exercised. Flight crews were required to examine which aircraft systems were and were not available at each selector position. Flight crews were instructed that it takes about five minutes to exchange 100 per cent of the air in the aircraft. This was intended to provide guidance regarding how long it might take to assess whether the selection of a particular position was leading to the dissipation of the smoke/fumes. The information about the air exchange time was not written in any manuals or checklists, including those supplied by the manufacturer.

One simulator training session involved a scenario in which a "smoke of unknown origin" emergency occurred on take-off. The flight crew was expected to follow the Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist and to use the SMOKE ELEC/AIR selector. To save simulator time, the simulated smoke was terminated when the pilots selected the first position of the selector. As was the industry norm, there was no simulator training for an ongoing fire. Therefore, the pilots were not exposed to the combination of fire-related effects, such as a deteriorating cockpit environment with decreased instrumentation. The same simulator session also included an uncontrolled cargo fire scenario. The flight crews were expected to complete an emergency descent, followed by a landing and evacuation.

No specific training was provided for locating and suppressing fires in the cockpit or avionics compartment. Such training was not required by regulations, nor was it common industry practice to provide it.

No specific training was provided on flying the aircraft using only the standby instruments; there is also no regulatory requirement for such training. Several operators of transport category aircraft were canvassed to determine whether they provided this training to their pilots; none did.

Consistent with industry norms, there was no specific training on the location of potential flammable material in the aircraft, specifically in the hidden areas. The absence of such training reflected the lack of knowledge within the industry about the presence of materials used in the construction of the aircraft that, although certified for use, could be ignited and propagate flame.

1.18.1.1.3  Back-Course Approaches

Although the FMS database in the MD-11 does not store approach guidance information for back-course approaches, this would not have precluded the SR 111 pilots from conducting a back-course instrument approach using autopilot tracking methods, or conducting an NDB approach to Runway 06 for which data is stored in the MD-11 FMS database.

Because Swissair crews flew scheduled flights into airports equipped with back-course approaches, procedures existed, and flight crews were trained, for conducting non-FMS back-course approaches. Swissair MD-11 flight crews are trained, as part of their simulator training program, to conduct back-course approaches into Dorval Airport in Montréal, Quebec. The first officer had received this training within the previous six months; the captain, being a qualified simulator instructor, was also familiar with back-course approaches.

To conduct any approach, the pilots would want to know detailed approach procedure information, which is normally obtained from a hard-copy approach chart. Alternatively, if the situation warranted, sufficient partial information could also be obtained by asking the ATS controller for specific information. When flying a back-course approach in the MD-11, the autopilot can be used to fly the approach in the track mode; however, the pilots use track mode and heading mode constantly in training and in line operations. Therefore, flying a back-course approach would require more flight crew input and constitute a higher crew workload than is involved in conducting FMS-directed instrument approaches for which information is provided in the MD-11 FMC database. Some MD-11 operators have decided not to establish procedures for back-course approaches.

1.18.1.1.4  Fuel Dumping

One simulator training session included an engine fire scenario that involved fuel dumping. As is normal industry practice, Swissair instructs its pilots that fuel dumping can be handled in two ways depending on the urgency: if the aircraft is in an emergency situation, fuel dumping can be initiated immediately and continued until shortly before landing; or if the situation and time permits, the aircraft can be flown to a designated fuel dumping area.

1.18.1.2  Flight Attendant Training (STI1-102)

All of the flight attendants on board SR 111 were trained in accordance with the approved Swissair training requirements that were based on, and in accordance with, the JAR OPS. This training included initial and recurrent training on firefighting. The syllabus for the training included the importance of identifying the source of a fire, location and handling of firefighting equipment, communicating with the cockpit, firefighting responsibilities, and proper techniques for firefighting including use of fire extinguishers.

There was no specific training regarding firefighting in the attic area, nor was there any training specific to accessing other areas within the pressurized portions of the aircraft that are not readily accessible. There was also no specific training provided to the cabin crew about fighting a fire in the cockpit. This was consistent with government regulations and industry standards.

1.18.1.3  Human Factors Training

Swissair provided human factors training, commonly referred to as cockpit (or crew) resource management (CRM), to flight crew and cabin crew. The training for the flight crew consisted of a biennial, two-day course. The cabin crew received a two-day course as part of the initial cabin crew training program; then during the yearly cabin crew recurrent training, one and a half hours were reserved for CRM. Prior to 1997, this course was taught separately to flight crews and cabin crews. In 1997, Swissair began including the M/C in the flight crew training for one of the days. Course topics include the following:

  • Communication;
  • Conflict resolution; and
  • Behaviour in emergencies.

In addition to the formal human factors training flight crews receive, Swissair employs a staff psychologist who is available for both flight and cabin crew to deal with personal matters or for any additional human factors information.


[87]    Guydon, A. C. (1987). Human Physiology and Mechanisms of Disease, 4th Ed. Philadelphia: Saunders and Co.

[88]    Desor, J. A. and Beauchamp, G. K. (1974). The Human Capacity to Transmit Olfactor Information. "Perception and Psychophysics," 16, 551–556. In: Kalat, J. W. (1992). Biological Psychology, 4th Ed. Belmont, California: Wadsworth.

[89]    Pansky, B., Allen, D. J. and Budd, C. G. (1988). Review of Neuroscience, 2nd Ed. New York: Macmillan.

[90]    Ibid.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

1.18.1  Formation chez Swissair

1.18.1.1  Équipage de conduite

1.18.1.1.1  Entraînement au vol (DIT1-101)

Les pilotes de Swissair qui passaient sur MD-11 à partir d'autres avions de la compagnie devaient suivre la formation standard de Swissair d'une durée de six semaines. Le programme de Swissair était adapté du cours de McDonnell Douglas, approuvé par la FAA. Lors de ces cours, commandants de bord et copilotes étaient formés ensemble et sensibilisés à la nécessité de travailler en équipe.

Les équipages de conduite étaient non seulement formés à suivre les procédures figurant sur des listes de vérifications adaptées à chaque cas d'urgence, mais aussi à réagir conformément à la séquence suivante : Alimentation, Performance, Analyse, Action. Cette séquence a pour objet de garantir la configuration appropriée de l'avion, l'évaluation correcte de la situation sous tous ses angles, la mise en place de priorités adéquates et le recours à des ressources extérieures appropriées au besoin.

1.18.1.1.2  Formation en cas de fumée, d'émanations ou d'incendie

Au cours de la formation standard de Swissair d'une durée de six semaines destinée aux pilotes en vue du passage sur MD-11, des procédures en cas de fumée, d'émanations ou d'incendie étaient étudiées dans le cadre de discussions en classe et de l'entraînement sur simulateur. Les pilotes avaient reçu pour consigne de mettre leur masque à oxygène intégral dès les premiers signes de fumée en raison du danger que représente l'inhalation d'émanations toxiques. Cette procédure était considérée comme un élément à mémoriser et elle ne figurait donc pas sur la liste de vérifications écrite. On considérait qu'il revenait aux membres de l'équipage de conduite de décider s'il fallait amorcer une descente d'urgence en se fondant sur leur perception du danger. L'amorce d'une descente d'urgence était également considérée comme un élément à mémoriser et ne figurait donc pas sur la liste de vérifications écrite.

Les équipages de conduite avaient appris à évaluer toute situation d'urgence avant de se reporter à une liste de vérifications. En cas d'émission de fumée ou d'émanations, à moins d'être certains que le système de conditionnement d'air en était bel et bien la source, les équipages de conduite avaient reçu la consigne d'entamer les vérifications de la liste « Fumée ou émanations d'origine inconnue » (voir l'Annexe C – Liste de vérifications de Swissair en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue). S'ils avaient la certitude que le système de conditionnement d'air était la source de la fumée ou des émanations, ils pouvaient utiliser la liste « Fumée dans le système de conditionnement d'air » (voir l'Annexe B – Liste de vérifications de Swissair en cas de fumée dans le système de conditionnement d'air).

La décision relative à un déroutement en vue d'un atterrissage de précaution ou d'urgence devait être prise avec discernement et tenir compte de la nature du danger perçu. Le manuel de l'équipage de conduite de la Compagnie intitulé General/Basics Flight Crew Manual stipulait ce qui suit :

[traduction] Dans le cas où un vol ne peut pas se rendre à destination, il faut entreprendre un déroutement vers l'aérodrome de dégagement le plus approprié offrant les meilleurs services opérationnels et de traitement des passagers.

En accord avec cet énoncé, le premier choix aurait dû se porter sur un aéroport avec une présence de Swissair ou d'un agent de service d'escale contractuel, tel que Boston. Halifax était aussi un aéroport en route approuvé pour le déroutement des MD-11 de Swissair.

Le manuel General/Basics faisait également état des diverses circonstances exigeant un atterrissage à l'aérodrome d'urgence le plus proche. Parmi celles-ci figuraient les scénarios suivants :

  • tout incendie à bord d'un avion, y compris un incendie moteur, contre lequel la lutte est impossible ou inefficace;
  • fumée persistante d'origine inconnue.

Le manuel General/Basics définissait un aérodrome d'urgence de la façon suivante :

[traduction] Dans ce contexte, un aérodrome d'urgence est un aérodrome où un atterrissage sûr peut avoir lieu compte tenu du type d'avion et de sa configuration, abstraction faite des installations de réparation, du traitement des passagers, etc.

Chez Swissair, comme dans toute l'industrie de l'aviation, il était généralement convenu que les sens de l'être humain lui permettent de distinguer la fumée ou les émanations provenant du système de conditionnement d'air de celles provenant du système électrique. Par exemple, on s'attendrait à ce que la fumée ou les émanations dues à une défaillance du système électrique soient âcres et qu'elles irritent les yeux et les voies respiratoires. Ces indications peuvent être complétées par d'autres indices pouvant indiquer l'origine de la fumée, notamment sa couleur, son intensité, son point d'émanation ou toute anomalie du système de bord qui y est associée.

De tous les sens, l'odorat est le plus rudimentaire et le moins bien compris. De plus, la perception de différentes odeurs est un phénomène subjectif. Bien que les seuils de concentration nécessaires à la détection olfactive de nombreuses substances soient peu élevés[85], les êtres humains n'arrivent en général pas très bien à déterminer l'origine exacte des odeurs[86]. Bien que l'on ait pu constater que la perception olfactive peut être renforcée par d'autres caractéristiques liées à la source de l'odeur (p. ex., irritation, âcreté, picotement)[87], il est peu probable qu'un équipage arrive à différencier des fumées aux caractéristiques analogues. De plus, il a été démontré que le degré d'attention, certaines affections temporaires, telle la congestion, et certaines sensations physiques temporaires, telle la faim, affectent la perception olfactive[88]. Même si l'odeur et la fumée qui se sont manifestées dans le poste de pilotage de SR 111 étaient des sous-produits de combustion, les indices limités perçus par les pilotes les ont amenés à croire que le système de conditionnement d'air était en cause.

La formation relative à la Liste de vérifications en cas fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue avait été donnée dans le simulateur de vol. Au cours de la formation en vue du passage sur MD-11, les pilotes s'exerçaient à utiliser les trois positions du sélecteur SMOKE ELEC/AIR. Ils devaient vérifier quels systèmes de bord fonctionnaient et lesquels ne fonctionnaient pas sur chacune des positions. Les équipages de conduite avaient appris qu'il faut environ cinq minutes pour renouveler la totalité de l'air dans l'avion. Ce renseignement était destiné à leur faire prendre conscience du temps nécessaire pour déterminer si la sélection d'une position donnée provoquerait la dissipation de la fumée ou des émanations. La durée de la période nécessaire au renouvellement de l'air n'était indiquée dans aucun manuel ni sur aucune liste de vérifications, y compris les documents fournis par le constructeur.

L'entraînement sur simulateur comprenait une séance au cours de laquelle était simulée une urgence due à de la « fumée d'origine inconnue » au décollage. L'équipage de conduite devait alors suivre la Liste de vérifications en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue et utiliser le sélecteur SMOKE ELEC/AIR. Afin de ne pas passer trop de temps dans le simulateur, on arrêtait la simulation de fumée lorsque les pilotes plaçaient le sélecteur sur la première position. Conformément à la pratique courante dans l'industrie, aucune formation relative à un incendie en cours ne se faisait sur simulateur. Par conséquent, les pilotes n'étaient pas exposés aux effets combinés des incendies, tels qu'une détérioration de l'environnement du poste de pilotage accompagnée d'une déficience des instruments de bord. La même séance sur simulateur mettait également en scène une situation d'incendie de soute non maîtrisé. L'équipage de conduite devait amorcer une descente d'urgence, suivie d'un atterrissage et de l'évacuation de l'appareil.

Aucune formation n'était donnée en matière de localisation et d'extinction des incendies dans le poste de pilotage et dans le compartiment avionique. La réglementation en vigueur n'imposait pas une telle formation, qui n'était d'ailleurs pas pratique courante dans l'industrie.

Aucune formation n'était donnée en ce qui concerne le pilotage de l'avion uniquement avec les instruments de secours, et il n'existe aucun règlement imposant ce type de formation. On a sondé plusieurs exploitants d'avions de la catégorie transport afin de déterminer s'ils offraient ce type de formation à leurs pilotes; aucun ne le faisait.

Conformément aux normes en vigueur dans l'industrie, les pilotes ne recevaient aucune formation relativement à l'emplacement des matières potentiellement inflammables à bord de l'avion, notamment dans les endroits dissimulés. L'absence d'une telle formation traduisait un manque de sensibilisation au sein de l'industrie au fait que certains des matériaux utilisés dans la construction de l'avion, tout en étant dûment homologués, pouvaient s'enflammer et contribuer à la propagation des flammes.

1.18.1.1.3  Approches sur faisceau arrière

Bien que la base de données du système de gestion de vol du MD-11 ne comporte pas de renseignements sur les approches sur faisceau arrière, cette situation n'aurait pas empêché les pilotes de SR 111 d'effectuer une approche aux instruments sur faisceau arrière à l'aide du mode de contrôle automatique de la route du pilote automatique, ou d'effectuer une approche au NDB sur la piste 06 pour laquelle des données sont stockées dans la base de données du système de gestion de vol du MD-11.

Étant donné que certains des vols réguliers de Swissair avaient pour destination des aéroports dotés de l'équipement nécessaire pour permettre les approches sur faisceau arrière, il existait des procédures à cet effet, et les équipages de conduite avaient reçu une formation leur permettant d'exécuter des approches sur faisceau arrière sans l'aide du système de gestion de vol. Dans le cadre de leur programme de formation sur simulateur, les équipages de conduite des MD-11 de Swissair apprennent à exécuter des approches sur faisceau arrière à l'aéroport de Dorval, situé près de Montréal (Québec). Le copilote avait reçu cette formation au cours des six mois précédents, tandis que le commandant de bord, étant un instructeur sur simulateur qualifié, connaissait bien les approches sur faisceau arrière.

Pour effectuer une approche, les pilotes veulent disposer de renseignements détaillés sur la procédure d'approche, renseignements qu'ils trouvent normalement sur la carte d'approche. Par ailleurs, si la situation l'exige, il est possible d'obtenir suffisamment de renseignements en s'adressant au contrôleur des Services de la circulation aérienne. Lorsqu'on effectue une approche sur faisceau arrière aux commandes d'un MD-11, on peut se servir du pilote automatique pour l'effectuer en mode de contrôle automatique de la route; cependant, les pilotes ont constamment recours au mode de contrôle automatique de la route et à l'autonavigation au cours de leur formation et en vol. Par conséquent, la réalisation d'une approche sur faisceau arrière nécessiterait davantage d'interventions de l'équipage de conduite et lui imposerait une charge de travail plus lourde qu'une approche aux instruments dirigée par le système de gestion de vol pour laquelle des renseignements figurent dans la base de données de ce dernier sur MD-11. Certains exploitants de MD-11 ont décidé de ne pas établir de procédures relatives aux approches sur faisceau arrière.

1.18.1.1.4  Largage du carburant

Une des séances de formation sur simulateur avait pour sujet un incendie moteur nécessitant un largage du carburant. Comme il est de mise au sein de l'industrie, Swissair informe ses pilotes que le largage du carburant peut s'effectuer de deux façons distinctes selon l'urgence : si l'avion se trouve en situation d'urgence, le largage du carburant peut être amorcé sur-le-champ et se poursuivre jusqu'aux derniers moments avant l'atterrissage; par ailleurs, si la situation et le temps le permettent, l'avion peut être acheminé jusqu'à une zone désignée comme zone de largage du carburant.

1.18.1.2  Formation des agents de bord (DIT1-102)

Tous les agents de bord de SR 111 avaient reçu une formation conforme aux exigences de Swissair, lesquelles se fondaient sur les OPS des JAR ou y étaient conformes. En matière de lutte contre les incendies, cette formation prévoyait une séance de formation initiale, suivie de séances périodiques. Le plan de cours prévoyait l'étude des sujets suivants : importance de déterminer la source de l'incendie, emplacement et utilisation du matériel d'incendie, communications avec le poste de pilotage, responsabilités en matière de lutte contre les incendies ainsi que techniques appropriées de lutte contre les incendies, notamment utilisation des extincteurs.

Aucune formation spécifique ne portait sur la lutte contre les incendies se déclarant dans l'espace inoccupé, ni sur l'accès aux autres zones difficilement accessibles des parties pressurisées de l'avion. De plus, l'équipage de cabine n'avait reçu aucune formation spécifique sur la lutte contre les incendies se déclarant dans le poste de pilotage. Cet état de fait était conforme aux prescriptions réglementaires et aux normes en vigueur dans l'industrie.

Précédent | Suivant