Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.18.4  Wire-Related Issues

  1. 1.18.4.1 - Wire Separation Issues

1.18.4.1  Wire Separation Issues

1.18.4.1.1  General

In the MD-11, the overhead CB panel contains six electrical buses that supply power to many of the aircraft's systems: four emergency buses, the battery bus, and the battery direct bus. The battery direct and the battery bus feeds are routed together, making five separate cable runs into the cockpit overhead panel from the avionics compartment. The five cable runs are spatially separated from each other until they reach an area approximately 31 to 46 cm (12 to 18 inches) aft of the housing that is located behind the overhead CB panel. They are then bundled together and enter the overhead CB panel through an oval opening on the right aft side of the housing.

One of the emergency bus feed power cables found in the wreckage, identified as a section of the left emergency AC bus feed, exhibited an area of melted copper consistent with an arcing event in a location between 10 and 15 cm (3.9 and 5.9 inches) outside the housing. This particular cable was insulated with BXS7008, a XL-ETFE type insulation, whereas the remaining cables were constructed from BXS7007, a polyimide-wrapped film and a meta-aramid fibre paper outer cover. This general area above the cockpit had experienced heat damage from the in-flight fire. Other wires from the same general location, but in a different wire bundle, were also found to have arced. As indicated in Section 1.18.8 of this report, the known sequence of events does not support the hypothesis that the arcing of the wires in this area was related to the initiating event. That is, the arcing in this area took place later in the failure sequence and was the result of fire-related heat damage to the wires.

The left emergency AC bus lost power shortly before the flight recorders stopped recording. It is unknown whether any or all of the remaining emergency or battery buses were eventually affected, but it is known that none of them were affected at the same time as the left emergency AC bus. However, because the cables were brought into such close proximity in the overhead panel housing area, they would all have been exposed to the same threat, such as heat, fire or arcing event.

1.18.4.1.2  Consequences of a Total Loss of Electrical Power to the Overhead Panel

It could not be determined whether power sources other than the left emergency AC bus were lost to the overhead panel; however, an assessment was completed to determine the effect on aircraft systems if a total loss of electrical power occurred. Because it was known that primary electrical power was still available until the time of impact, the assessment focused on determining what functions would remain available from primary power sources to provide basic information, such as attitude, altitude, airspeed, and heading. The primary flight controls do not require any electrical power to operate and so were not part of this assessment.

DU 2 would remain powered from primary power and would be reconfigured to a PFD with DEU 3 providing the inputs. The PFD would provide attitude and heading information. Altitude and airspeed would be available from the standby instrument. Engine control would be available, but no engine and alert status information would be available. All radio communication would be lost. Numerous other warning lights, such as the master warning and caution lights, would not be functional.

1.18.4.1.3  Regulatory Requirements

The MD-11 wire installation design was assessed as part of the investigation to determine whether it met the regulatory requirements for wire separation, and whether there were any associated safety deficiencies.

The following FARs relate to wire separation and routing:

  1. FAR 25.1309(b) states that failure analysis must consider that "no single failure shall prevent safe flight and landing";
  2. FAR 25.903(d) states that turbine engine installation design must minimize hazards to wires in case of rotor failure;
  3. FAR 25.631 requires that wiring, necessary for continued safe flight and landing, must be protected against a bird strike hazard; and
  4. FAR 25.1353(b) deals with the separation of essential system wiring and heavy current-carrying cables.

Specifically, this assessment focused on the area where the power cables are bundled together just before they enter into the overhead switch panel housing. This bundle was in close proximity to hundreds of other circuit wires that were also bundled together as they entered or exited the housing. When assessing the MD-11 overhead panel housing area, the most relevant regulation is FAR 25.1353(b), which states "Cables must be grouped, routed and spaced so that damage to essential circuits will be minimized if there are faults in heavy current-carrying cables." This requirement calls for the spatial separation of cables to avoid damage to essential circuits. Essential loads, as defined by the MD-11 manufacturer, are those that are essential to maintain controlled flight in zero visibility.[91] The regulation requires that a potential threat be minimized; it does not require that a potential threat be eliminated. The term "minimized" is not defined; however, according to the FAA, the term has an element of reasonableness associated with it.

To meet the requirement of FAR 25.1353(b), the electrical cables in the MD-11 that run to the overhead panel are spatially separated from each other until they enter the overhead panel housing. Once the cables were positioned together, spatial separation no longer existed. To minimize the risk of wire insulation chafing, the manufacturer fitted the edge of the oval opening in the housing with a nylon grommet. For added mechanical protection, the cables that are between 8 AWG and 00 AWG in size are protected by an extra (third) wrap of polyimide insulation, plus an outer jacket (meta-aramid fibre paper). The wires between 24 AWG and 10 AWG have two wraps of polyimide insulation. The three right emergency AC bus cables were also wrapped in a silicone elastomer-coated glass fibre braided electrical sleeving to provide additional protection. The additional mechanical protection provided on the cables in the bundled area met the FAA's interpretation of minimization and reasonableness. Because of the lack of specific quantitative information in the guidance material, it could not be determined what criteria was used to determine the level of mechanical protection needed to satisfy the requirements of FAR 25.1353(b) for situations where adequate spatial separation is impracticable.

The design of the MD-11 wire routing into the overhead switch panel housing was based on the design used in the DC-10. The service histories of both aircraft were reviewed to determine whether any problems, such as chafing, were reported; none were found.

1.18.4.1.4  Mixing of Wire Insulations

The predominant general wire insulation used on the occurrence aircraft was the MIL-W-81381, polyimide-film-type wire insulation. However, other types of insulations were also used depending upon requirements. Wires with these different insulation types were sometimes routed in the same wire bundles. While there are no regulations pertaining to the mixing of wire insulations with dissimilar properties, FAA ACs 25-16 and 43.13-1B provide guidance. These guidelines rely on the aircraft manufacturer or subsequent modifier to establish the compatibility of various wire insulation materials through satisfactory in-service performance history, additional tests, or both.

When the DC-10 entered revenue service over 25 years ago, some problems were encountered with the premature failure of clamps and wires at clamping points in areas of high vibration (pylons, wing, and tail engine). The MD-11 manufacturer developed a wire compatibility test procedure to represent the most severe vibration environment on the aircraft that replicated the failures experienced on in-service aircraft. Testing allowed the MD-11 manufacturer to assess the compatibility of various wire insulations, to evaluate new wire insulation types, and to develop containment parts (clamps, nylon tie-wraps, etc.) and materials including protective sleeving and tubing. The MD-11 manufacturer advises that high vibration and wire-to-wire abrasion testing has shown that, when properly installed, the mixing of different approved insulation types has not been a problem.[92] Typically, it was found that the wear patterns are similar regardless of whether there is a mix of insulations. The wire compatibility test developed by the MD-11 manufacturer has become their standard for evaluating and developing new wire insulation types, containment parts and materials, and protective sleeving and tubing. In addition, the FAA has indicated that there is no systemic problem associated with the use of mixed wire types that are properly installed and maintained.


[91]    As defined in McDonnell Douglas drawing number WXS7050 entitled Swissair Electrical Load Analysis – AC released 28 May 1991.

[92]    Information provided by Boeing Materials & Producibility Engineering.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

1.18.4  Questions relatives au câblage

1.18.4.1 Questions relatives à l'espacement des câbles


1.18.4.1  Questions relatives à l'espacement des câbles

1.18.4.1.1  Généralités

Dans l'avion MD-11, le tableau de distribution supérieur renferme six bus qui assurent l'alimentation de nombreux systèmes : quatre bus d'urgence, le bus batterie et le bus permanent de batterie. Les câbles d'alimentation du bus batterie et du bus permanent de batterie sont acheminés ensemble dans cinq chemins de câbles distincts allant du compartiment avionique au tableau de distribution supérieur du poste de pilotage. Les cinq chemins de câbles sont maintenus espacés les uns des autres jusqu'à un endroit situé à environ 31 à 46 cm (12 à 18 po) à l'arrière du boîtier situé derrière le tableau de distribution supérieur. Ils sont alors mis en faisceau et pénètrent dans le tableau de distribution supérieur par une ouverture ovale pratiquée du côté droit, à l'arrière du boîtier.

On a trouvé dans les débris un des câbles d'alimentation d'un bus d'urgence, dont on a déterminé qu'il s'agissait d'un segment du câble d'alimentation du bus c.a. d'urgence de gauche, dont le cuivre avait fondu comme à la suite d'un amorçage d'arc électrique à un endroit situé de 10 à 15 cm (3,9 à 5,9 po) à l'extérieur du logement. Le câble en question était gainé d'un isolant de type BXS7008, un isolant au XL-ETFE, tandis que les autres câbles étaient revêtus d'un isolant BSX7007, un guipage de polyimide et d'une gaine extérieure en fibre méta-aramide. On a constaté dans cette zone générale au-dessus de la cabine de pilotage des dommages causés par la chaleur dégagée par l'incendie en vol. D'autres câbles provenant de la même zone, mais appartenant à un faisceau différent, avaient aussi été endommagés par des arcs électriques. Comme l'indique la rubrique 1.18.8 du présent rapport, la séquence connue d'événements ne vient pas étayer l'hypothèse selon laquelle ce serait l'amorçage d'arcs électriques dans cette zone qui aurait été à l'origine de l'événement initial. En d'autres termes, la production d'arcs électriques dans cette zone était survenue à un stade ultérieur de la séquence de défaillance et elle avait été occasionnée par les dommages causés aux câbles du fait de la chaleur dégagée par l'incendie.

L'alimentation du bus c.a. d'urgence de gauche a été interrompue peu de temps avant que les enregistreurs de bord ne cessent de fonctionner. On ignore si l'un ou l'ensemble des autres bus d'urgence ou le bus batterie ont été touchés ultérieurement, mais on sait qu'aucun d'entre eux ne l'a été en même temps que le bus c.a. d'urgence de gauche. Cependant, étant donné que les câbles se trouvaient tout près les uns des autres à l'intérieur du panneau supérieur, ils auraient tous été exposés au même danger, à savoir chaleur, incendie ou amorçage d'arcs électriques.

1.18.4.1.2  Conséquences d'une perte totale d'alimentation du panneau supérieur

Il a été impossible de déterminer si le bus d'urgence c.a. de gauche avait été le seul bus du panneau supérieur dont l'alimentation avait été interrompue; une évaluation a toutefois été faite afin qu'on puisse déterminer quel effet aurait sur les systèmes de bord une perte totale d'alimentation. Comme on savait que l'alimentation primaire avait été maintenue jusqu'au moment de l'impact, l'évaluation a visé à déterminer quelles fonctions le maintien de cette alimentation avait permis de garder actives et capables de transmettre des renseignements de base, comme l'assiette, l'altitude, la vitesse indiquée et le cap. Étant donné que les gouvernes principales n'ont pas besoin d'être alimentées pour fonctionner, elles n'ont pas été soumises à la présente évaluation.

L'écran d'affichage 2 continuerait d'être alimenté par l'alimentation primaire et serait reconfiguré en tant qu'écran principal de vol dont les signaux d'entrée seraient fournis par le module électronique d'affichage 3. Le PFD indiquerait l'assiette et le cap, tandis que l'altitude et la vitesse indiquée seraient données par l'instrument de secours. Les commandes moteur seraient fonctionnelles, mais on ne disposerait pas de renseignements sur le fonctionnement des moteurs ni de données d'alerte. Toutes les communications radio seraient interrompues. Nombre d'autres voyants d'alarme, tels que le voyant d'alarme principal et les voyants d'avertissement, ne seraient pas fonctionnels.

1.18.4.1.3  Exigences réglementaires

On a procédé dans le cadre de l'enquête à une évaluation visant à déterminer si le câblage de l'avion MD-11 respectait les exigences réglementaires relatives à l'espacement des fils et s'il y avait eu des manquements à la sécurité connexes.

Les FAR suivantes ont trait à l'espacement et à l'acheminement des câbles :

  1. la FAR 25.1309(b) stipule que l'analyse de défaillance doit tenir pour acquis qu'aucune défaillance simple ne doit compromettre la sûreté du vol et de l'atterrissage;
  2. la FAR 25.903(d) stipule que les moteurs à turbine doivent être installés et conçus de façon à réduire au minimum le risque d'endommagement des câbles en cas de défaillance du rotor;
  3. la FAR 25.631 stipule que le câblage nécessaire à la poursuite du vol et à un atterrissage en toute sécurité doit être protégé contre les risques aviaires;
  4. la FAR 25.1353(b) porte sur l'espacement du câblage des systèmes essentiels et des câbles d'alimentation haute tension.

Cette évaluation a porté plus particulièrement sur la zone où les câbles d'alimentation sont mis en faisceau juste avant leur entrée dans le boîtier du tableau de commutation supérieur. Ce faisceau se trouvait à proximité immédiate de centaines d'autres fils eux aussi groupés en faisceau à leur entrée ou à leur sortie du boîtier. Pour ce qui concerne l'évaluation de la zone du panneau supérieur du MD-11, la FAR 25.1353(b) est la plus pertinente, qui stipule que « Les câbles doivent être groupés, acheminés et espacés de façon à réduire au minimum les dommages subis par les circuits essentiels en cas de défectuosité des câbles d'alimentation haute tension. » Cette prescription oblige donc à assurer l'espacement des câbles pour éviter d'endommager les circuits essentiels. Selon le constructeur du MD-11, les charges essentielles sont celles qui sont nécessaires au maintien d'un vol contrôlé à visibilité nulle[89]. Le règlement exige qu'une menace possible soit réduite au minimum et non pas qu'elle soit éliminée. Bien que l'expression « réduire au minimum »ne soit pas définie, elle sous-entend selon la FAA dans des limites raisonnables.

Pour satisfaire aux exigences de la FAR 25.1353(b), un espacement est maintenu entre les câbles électriques du MD-11 qui sont acheminés vers le panneau supérieur jusqu'à leur entrée dans le panneau. Une fois les câbles mis en faisceau, l'espacement est supprimé. Afin de réduire au minimum le risque d'usure par frottement de l'isolant des câbles, le constructeur a installé un passe-câble en nylon dans l'ouverture ovale du logement. Pour assurer une meilleure protection mécanique, les câbles de calibre 8 AWG à 00 AWG sont revêtus d'un autre (troisième) guipage de polyimide et d'une gaine extérieure (fibre méta-aramide). Les fils de calibre 24 AWG à 10 AWG sont revêtus de deux guipages de polyimide. Les trois câbles du bus c.a. d'urgence de droite étaient aussi revêtus d'un tube en fibre de verre tressé gainé d'élastomère de silicone pour plus de protection. La protection mécanique supplémentaire dont étaient dotés les câbles dans la zone de mise en faisceau était conforme aux exigences de réduction au minimum dans des limites raisonnables comme l'interprétait la FAA. Faute de données quantitatives spécifiques dans les documents d'orientation, il a été impossible d'établir les critères utilisés pour déterminer le degré de protection mécanique nécessaire pour satisfaire aux exigences de la FAR 25.1353(b) dans les situations où il est impossible d'assurer un espacement approprié.

L'acheminement des fils du MD-11 dans le boîtier du tableau de commutation supérieur était basé sur celui qui était utilisé pour le DC-10. On a examiné les antécédents en service des deux avions afin de déterminer si d'autres problèmes, comme de l'usure par frottement, avaient été signalés. Aucun n'a été découvert.

1.18.4.1.4  Utilisation de divers types d'isolant électrique

Le principal isolant électrique utilisé dans l'avion en question était le MIL-W-81381, pellicule polyimide isolante. Cependant, d'autres types d'isolant étaient aussi utilisés selon les exigences. Des fils gainés d'un isolant distinct étaient parfois acheminés dans le même faisceau de fils. Bien qu'aucun règlement ne porte sur l'utilisation d'isolants aux propriétés distinctes, les AC 25-16 et 43.13-1B de la FAA énoncent certains principes directeurs. Selon ces principes, il revient à l'avionneur ou à la personne ayant subséquemment modifié l'avion d'établir la compatibilité des divers matériaux isolants à la lumière des antécédents en service, de tests additionnels, ou des deux.

Lorsque le DC-10 a effectué son premier vol commercial il y a plus de 25 ans, il avait fallu faire face à certains problèmes liés à la défaillance prématurée des colliers et des fils aux points de fixation situés dans des zones de fortes vibrations (mâts, aile et moteur d'empennage). Le constructeur du MD-11 avait alors mis au point une méthode d'essai de compatibilité des fils permettant de simuler le milieu vibratoire le plus intense de l'avion et de reproduire les défaillances survenues dans des avions en service. Des essais ont permis au constructeur du MD-11 d'évaluer la compatibilité de divers matériaux isolants, d'évaluer de nouveaux types d'isolant et de mettre au point des pièces de retenue (colliers, attaches autobloquantes en nylon, etc.), des matériaux ainsi que des tubes et des manchons de protection. Le constructeur du MD-11 indique que les essais de vibration et d'usure par frottement des fils entre eux ont démontré que, pour autant que les fils soient installés correctement, l'utilisation des différents isolants approuvés n'avait pas posé de problèmes[90]. En règle générale, les profils d'usure s'étaient révélés similaires peu importe si on utilisait un seul isolant ou plusieurs. L'essai de compatibilité des fils mis au point par le constructeur du MD-11 lui sert maintenant d'essai standard pour évaluer et mettre au point de nouveaux types d'isolant électrique, de nouveaux éléments et matériaux de retenue, ainsi que de nouveaux tubes et manchons de protection. De plus, la FAA a indiqué qu'aucun problème systémique n'est associé à l'utilisation de types de fil différents, pour autant que ceux-ci fassent l'objet d'une installation et d'un entretien appropriés.


[89]    Définition donnée dans le plan numéro WXS7050 de McDonnell Douglas intitulé « Swissair Electrical Load Analysis – AC » diffusé le 28 mai 1991.

[90]    Information fournie par Boeing Materials & Producibility Engineering.

Précédent | Suivant