Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.18.5  Circuit Protection Devices

  1. 1.18.5.1 - General
  2. 1.18.5.2 - Circuit Breaker Design
  3. 1.18.5.3 - Circuit Breaker Reset Philosophy
  4. 1.18.5.4 - Circuit Breakers Used as Switches
  5. 1.18.5.5 - Circuit Breaker Maintenance

1.18.5.1  General

A regulatory requirement exists that electrical wires and cables be protected from an over-current condition.[93] Typically, a circuit protection device (CPD) is used to provide this defence. CPDs are designed to protect the wire or cable; that is, they are not designed to protect the associated electrical components, such as line replaceable units (LRU), which may require their own internal CPDs.

1.18.5.2  Circuit Breaker Design

The majority of CPDs used in aerospace applications are the resettable thermal CB type developed as a replacement for fuses. These conventional CBs typically contain a circuit consisting of a bimetallic element and two electrical contacts, one of which is spring-loaded. When an over-current condition occurs, the circuit heats as a function of current flow and time. (STI1-104) When the heat exceeds a preset amount, the bimetallic element bends causing the spring-loaded contact to trip and open the circuit. The design is known as a "trip-free" CB in that it cannot be reset in the presence of an over-current condition. After a predetermined interval for cooling, the CB is capable of being manually reset.

This type of CB has proven to be effective in accomplishing its primary role, which is to protect wire and cable from damage owing to an over-current condition. Specifically, this type of CB successfully protects the circuit when the temperature and time duration characteristics of the over-current condition are within the CB's design limits.

However, some types of wire and cable failures involve arc faults. Arc faults can create circumstances that do not fall within the design limits of the over-current/time protection curve of conventional CBs. One such phenomenon is an intermittent metal-to-metal event (conductor-to-conductor or conductor-to-frame) known as a "ticking fault." Such events can generate extremely high temperatures at the location of the insulation failure; however, the current draw may not be sufficient to heat the bimetal element to the temperature necessary to cause the CB to trip. In some cases, a breakdown of wire insulation can lead to other types of arc fault failures, such as arc tracking. The arc-tracking phenomenon involves carbonization of the wire insulation material that can result in intermittent arc faults between conductors, the aircraft frame, or other grounded conducting material.

Although the hazards created by ticking faults and electrical arc tracking are widely known, existing technology is such that there are no CPDs available for use in aircraft that can accurately and reliably detect faults associated with wire insulation breakdown. The USN, the FAA, and aircraft manufacturers are sponsoring initiatives to address this shortfall in CPD technology. The goal is to develop an arc fault circuit breaker device appropriate for aircraft use.

1.18.5.3  Circuit Breaker Reset Philosophy

Inconsistencies exist within the aviation industry regarding CB reset philosophies, which have resulted in the evolution of inappropriate CB reset practices. For example, there is a widely held view among flight crew and maintenance personnel that one reset of any tripped CB is acceptable. Consequently, often the first step in troubleshooting a tripped CB was a reset attempt. There is also a view that the reset of a low ampere CB is less dangerous than the reset of a higher ampere CB. However, while the consequences of resetting a low ampere CB may be less pronounced, under the correct conditions an arcing event involving a low ampere circuit could readily ignite a fire. Since it is impossible to know whether these conditions exist in any given situation, a tripped CB should not be reset before any associated fault is located and eliminated.

The adverse consequences of a CB reset may not be universally well understood within the aviation industry. An inappropriate reset can exacerbate the consequences of the initial fault and lead to an arc or arc-tracking event; however, there is no clear regulatory direction to the industry on the issue of CB resets. In AC 25.16, the FAA recommends that all AFMs should contain guidance that states the following:

The crew should make only one attempt to restore an automatically-disconnected power source or reset or replace an automatically-disconnected CPD that affects flight operations or safety.

Precisely what action is expected from this statement is open to interpretation. In addition, there is no regulatory requirement that the AFMs are to inform flight crews of the adverse consequences of CB resets, or to state categorically that no resets are allowed except for a single reset of those systems deemed by the pilot-in-command to be flight essential.

Likewise, the FAA guidance material for maintenance personnel does not address the issue of resetting of tripped CBs. The FAA AC 43.13-1B does refer to the SAE Aerospace Recommended Practice (ARP) 1199, which deals with over-current protective devices. This ARP does not specifically discuss the immediate consequences of resetting CBs; however, it does advise that CBs should not be allowed to develop a "history of tripping."

In 1999, the major aircraft manufacturers summarized their existing CB reset policies by issuing statements to all operators that give clear and unambiguous direction concerning CB resets. However, operators are under no obligation to act on manufacturer recommendations; they are only required to act on requirements imposed by regulators.

Subsequently, on 21 August 2000, the FAA issued a Joint Flight Standards Information Bulletin entitled Resetting Tripped Circuit Breakers in an effort to standardize the industry's approach to this issue. The goal of the bulletin was to ensure that air carriers had training programs and manuals in place for flight crews, maintenance personnel, and aircraft ground servicing personnel, and that these programs and manuals contained company policies and procedures for resetting tripped CBs that reflected the FAA's position on this issue. This bulletin was only applicable to air carriers in scheduled operation, with aircraft having a passenger-seat configuration of 10 or more seats, or a payload capacity of more than 7 500 lb. This bulletin's expiration date was 31 October 2001.

1.18.5.4  Circuit Breakers Used as Switches

The use of CBs as switches, either by design, or as a consequence of the system's in-service performance, is not recommended. The FAA guidance on this issue is contained in AC 43.13-1B and states "Circuit breakers...are not recommended for use as switches. Use of the circuit breaker as a switch will decrease the life of the circuit breaker."

SAE ARP 1199 expands on the guidance:

  • CBs are designed for a different purpose and have a life of 1/10th or less of the life of a switch;
  • CBs are not to be considered substitutes for switches;
  • Excessive manual operation of a CB can cause dynamic wear of the breaker latching areas and pivotal points; and
  • Using a CB as a switch can cause its contacts to arc, thereby pitting the contacts and generating EMI.

As there are no regulatory restrictions preventing the use of CBs as switches, it appears that this guidance is provided as a means to enhance system reliability as opposed to establishing the minimum requirements for system safety.

As certified, and installed on the occurrence aircraft, the original IFEN system design did not incorporate an ON/OFF master switch. The ON/OFF capability was achieved by the installation of the 28 V DC Interactive Flight Technologies (IFT)/video entertainment system 28 V CB. Although it was determined that this configuration was not related to the initiation of the fire, it did have the potential to be problematic, as suggested in the guidance material in the SAE ARP 1199. As modern aircraft use more software-based equipment, it is not uncommon for systems to be designed in this manner. CBs are being used more frequently as switches, as they are viewed as a convenient method of "rebooting" the system when the software gets "hung up."

Although no particular unsafe conditions were validated during the investigation regarding the use of CBs as switches, questions remain concerning the practice, including the potential for frequent "switching" to induce a change in the physical properties of the CB so as to alter its reaction time in the face of an over-current condition. The routine use of a CB as a switch also has the potential to influence an individual's perception about the actual use and function of a CB.

1.18.5.5  Circuit Breaker Maintenance

The CB is known in the aviation community to be a simple, long lasting, and reliable component that is designed to provide protection for the aircraft's wires and cables throughout the life of the aircraft. Due in part to its dependability, CB maintenance is usually confined to the replacement of a failed CB.

Typical CB failure modes include welding, erosion of electrical contacts, and contamination.

In addition, the mechanical characteristics of the CB will change when a CB trip mechanism has been inactive for long periods. Such changes could lead to inappropriate performance during an over-current condition, resulting in inadequate protection of the circuit. Routine inspections, including the unpowered cycling of the CB mechanism, can be useful in ensuring the reliability of a CB. Such cycling serves to enhance CB performance by "exercising" the CB trip mechanism and cleaning contaminants from the contact surfaces. Both the FAA and SAE recommend this practice to enhance CB reliability.[94]


[93]    Society of Automotive Engineers Aerospace Recommended Practice (ARP) 1199 defines an over-current as any current exceeding the rated current of the protective device. This includes both overload and short-circuit currents.

[94]    FAA's AC 43.13-1B and SAE ARP 1199 Rev B.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

1.18.5  Dispositifs de protection des circuits

1.18.5.1  Généralités

Une prescription réglementaire exige que les fils et les câbles électriques soient protégés contre les surintensités[91]. En général, cette protection est assurée par un dispositif de protection de circuit (CPD). Les CPD sont conçus pour protéger le fil ou le câble; ils ne sont pas conçus pour protéger les composants électriques connexes, comme les ensembles remplaçables en première ligne (LRU), qui pourraient nécessiter leurs propres CPD.

1.18.5.2  Conception des disjoncteurs

La majorité des CPD utilisés dans les avions sont des disjoncteurs thermiques à réenclenchement, mis au point pour remplacer les fusibles. Ces disjoncteurs classiques comportent en général un circuit constitué d'un bilame et de deux contacts électriques, dont l'un est à ressort. En cas de surintensité, la température du circuit s'élève en fonction de l'intensité du courant et du temps (DIT1-104). Lorsque la température de déclenchement est atteinte, le bilame se déforme pour provoquer le déclenchement du contact et l'ouverture du circuit. Ce disjoncteur est dit à déclenchement libre du fait qu'il ne peut être réarmé en présence d'une surintensité. Après un intervalle de refroidissement prédéterminé, le disjoncteur peut être réenclenché manuellement.

Ce type de disjoncteur s'est révélé capable de remplir efficacement sa fonction principale, qui consiste à protéger les fils et les câbles contre les dommages liés aux surintensités. Plus précisément, ce type de disjoncteur protège efficacement le circuit à l'intérieur de ses limites nominales de température et de durée d'exposition aux surintensités.

Cependant, certains types de défaillance des fils et des câbles sont associés à la formation d'arcs électriques. La formation de ces arcs crée des conditions qui s'écartent des conditions nominales de déclenchement du disjoncteur classique. Elle peut entre autres donner lieu à un contact métal sur métal (fil conducteur sur fil conducteur ou fil conducteur sur masse) intermittent appelé « crépitement ». Ces événements peuvent générer des températures extrêmement élevées au point du défaut d'isolement; cependant, il se peut que l'appel de courant ne soit pas suffisant pour porter la température du bilame à la valeur de déclenchement du disjoncteur. Dans certains cas, un défaut d'isolement d'un fil peut entraîner d'autres défaillances d'arc électrique, comme le cheminement d'arc. Le cheminement d'arc se caractérise par une carbonisation du matériau isolant pouvant donner lieu à des amorçages d'arc intermittents entre les fils conducteurs, le châssis de l'avion ou un autre matériau conducteur mis à la masse.

Bien que l'on soit bien au fait des dangers associés au crépitement et au cheminent d'arc, il n'existe, dans l'état actuel de la technologie, aucun CPD d'avion permettant d'assurer une détection fiable et précise des anomalies associées aux défauts d'isolement des fils. La Marine américaine (USN), la FAA et les avionneurs parrainent des initiatives visant à combler cette lacune et à mettre au point des disjoncteurs d'arc électrique, conçus spécialement pour les avions.

1.18.5.3  Philosophie en matière de réenclenchement des disjoncteurs

Les philosophies ayant cours au sein de l'industrie de l'aviation en matière de réenclenchement des disjoncteurs sont entachées d'incohérences qui ont donné lieu à la mise en place de pratiques inappropriées. Ainsi, la majorité des membres des équipages de conduite et du personnel de maintenance ont l'impression qu'il est toujours acceptable de réenclencher un disjoncteur déclenché. Par conséquent, il est fréquent que la première étape du dépannage en cas de déclenchement d'un disjoncteur soit une tentative de réenclenchement. On considère aussi qu'il est moins dangereux de réenclencher un disjoncteur de faible courant nominal qu'un disjoncteur de courant nominal plus élevé. Or, bien que le réenclenchement d'un disjoncteur de faible courant nominal puisse avoir des conséquences moins graves, dans des conditions propices, un amorçage d'arc touchant un circuit de faible intensité pourrait facilement allumer un incendie. Comme il est en pratique impossible de savoir si de telles conditions existent dans une situation donnée, il faut éviter de réenclencher un disjoncteur déclenché avant d'avoir repéré et corrigé le défaut à l'origine du déclenchement.

Il est possible que les divers intervenants au sein de l'industrie de l'aviation ne comprennent pas toutes les conséquences défavorables que peut avoir le réenclenchement d'un disjoncteur. Un réenclenchement inapproprié peut aggraver les conséquences de l'anomalie initiale et entraîner un amorçage d'arc ou un cheminement d'arc; cependant, aucun règlement ne prescrit clairement à l'industrie la marche à suivre en la matière. Dans l'AC 25.16, la FAA recommande d'inclure dans tous les manuels de vol les directives suivantes :

[traduction] L'équipage ne doit faire qu'une seule tentative pour rétablir une source d'alimentation automatiquement interrompue ou pour réenclencher ou remplacer un CPD dont le déclenchement a une incidence sur la conduite ou la sécurité du vol.

Cet énoncé n'indique pas clairement quelle mesure il convient de prendre. De plus, aucun règlement ne stipule que les manuels de vol doivent informer les équipages de conduite des conséquences défavorables du réenclenchement des disjoncteurs ou énoncer de façon catégorique que n'est autorisé aucun réenclenchement autre que celui des systèmes que le pilote commandant de bord estime essentiels à la poursuite du vol.

De même, les documents d'orientation élaborés par la FAA à l'intention du personnel de maintenance ne traitent pas du réenclenchement des disjoncteurs déclenchés. L'AC 43.13-1B de la FAA renvoie toutefois à l'Aerospace Recommended Practice (ARP) 1199 de la Society of Automotive Engineering, qui porte sur les dispositifs de protection contre les surintensités. Bien que cette ARP ne traite pas nommément des conséquences immédiates du réenclenchement des disjoncteurs, elle recommande toutefois de ne pas laisser le déclenchement des disjoncteurs devenir une habitude.

En 1999, les principaux avionneurs ont fait la synthèse de leur politique existante en matière de réenclenchement des disjoncteurs pour transmettre à tous les exploitants des directives claires et limpides à ce sujet. Or, les exploitants ne sont pas tenus de se conformer aux recommandations des avionneurs; ils sont uniquement tenus de satisfaire aux exigences des organismes de réglementation.

Le 21 août 2000, afin de tenter de normaliser l'approche adoptée dans l'industrie, la FAA publiait un Joint Flight Standards Information Bulletin intitulé Resetting Tripped Circuit Breakers (réenclenchement des disjoncteurs). Ce bulletin avait pour objet de veiller à ce que tous les transporteurs aériens mettent à la disposition des équipages de conduite, du personnel de maintenance et du personnel chargé de l'entretien au sol des aéronefs des programmes de formation et des manuels faisant état d'une politique et de procédures d'entreprise concernant le réenclenchement des disjoncteurs qui reflètent la position de la FAA. Le bulletin s'adressait uniquement aux compagnies de transport aérien régulier, dont les aéronefs comptent au moins 10 sièges passagers ou ont une charge utile de plus de 7 500 livres. La date limite pour se conformer aux normes énoncées dans ce bulletin était le 31 octobre 2001.

1.18.5.4  Utilisation des disjoncteurs comme interrupteurs

Il n'est pas recommandé d'utiliser les disjoncteurs comme interrupteurs, que ce soit à dessein ou en raison de la performance en service d'un système. Les directives de la FAA à ce sujet sont énoncées dans l'AC 43.13-1B, qui stipule : [traduction]« Il n'est pas recommandé d'utiliser les disjoncteurs comme ... interrupteurs. L'utilisation d'un disjoncteur comme interrupteur aura pour effet de réduire sa vie utile. »

L'ARP 1199 de la Society of Automotive Engineering précise en outre que :

  • les disjoncteurs sont conçus pour une autre fin et leur durée de vie est au moins dix fois inférieure à celle des interrupteurs;
  • il faut éviter de considérer les disjoncteurs comme des substituts aux interrupteurs;
  • l'actionnement manuel trop fréquent d'un disjoncteur peut entraîner l'usure dynamique de ses zones de verrouillage et de ses points d'articulation;
  • l'utilisation d'un disjoncteur comme interrupteur peut provoquer un amorçage d'arc entre les contacts, et donc la corrosion par piqûres des contacts et du brouillage électromagnétique.

Étant donné qu'aucun règlement n'interdit l'utilisation des disjoncteurs comme interrupteurs, il semble que cette directive ait pour objet d'améliorer la fiabilité du système plutôt que d'établir les exigences minimales à satisfaire pour assurer un fonctionnement sûr du système.

Tel qu'il a été certifié et installé à bord de l'avion en question, le RDB d'origine ne comportait pas d'interrupteur général de marche-arrêt. Le disjoncteur du système de divertissement vidéo (VES) / Interactive Flight Technologies de 28V a été installé pour assurer cette fonction marche-arrêt. Bien qu'on ait déterminé que cette configuration n'avait aucunement été liée au déclenchement de l'incendie, elle constituait une source possible de problèmes, comme le suggère l'ARP 1199 de la Society of Automotive Engineering. Comme l'avion moderne utilise davantage d'équipement informatisé, il n'est pas rare que des systèmes soient conçus de cette manière. Les disjoncteurs sont utilisés plus souvent comme interrupteurs, étant donné que l'on considère que leur actionnement représente une méthode commode de « réinitialisation » en cas d'arrêt imprévu du logiciel.

Bien que l'enquête n'ait pas permis de confirmer la présence de conditions dangereuses associées à l'utilisation des disjoncteurs comme interrupteurs, la pratique n'en soulève pas moins des questions, notamment sur la possibilité qu'une « commutation » fréquente modifie les propriétés physiques d'un disjoncteur et ait une incidence sur son temps de réaction en cas de surintensité. L'utilisation systématique d'un disjoncteur comme interrupteur risque en outre d'influer sur la perception qu'a une personne de la fonction réelle d'un disjoncteur.

Précédent | Suivant