Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.18.10  Reporting of Cabin Anomalies

  1. 1.18.10.1 - Reports of Unusual Odours
  2. 1.18.10.2 - Procedures for Reporting and Recording Abnormal Conditions

1.18.10.1  Reports of Unusual Odours (STI1-121)

On the first flight following a scheduled maintenance inspection, approximately three weeks prior to the SR 111 accident, when HB-IWF was operating as SR 178, an unidentified smell was detected within the aircraft cabin in the vicinity of the L1 door. This location is below an area where some of the heat damage was observed on the SR 111 aircraft wreckage. Various descriptions provided by the aircraft crew included smells similar to an over-heated electrical appliance or an unfamiliar type of gas or chemical. The smell incident was verbally reported to a maintenance engineer immediately following the flight; his inspection of the area did not reveal any discrepancy. Subsequent explanations included a possible residue of an insecticide that had been administered during the maintenance inspection prior to flight or fumes from the cargo compartment. The cargo manifest indicates that some solvents were being carried as dangerous goods in the forward cargo hold during that flight, although no cargo spills or loss claims were reported. The source of this smell on SR 178, which occurred 23 days prior to the accident flight, was not identified. There were no further reports of any recurrence of such a smell condition on the 50 subsequent flights of HB-IWF, and there is no reason to link the events of flight SR 178 to the accident flight.

On two separate occasions, a "burnt" or "burning" odour was detected on another Swissair MD-11 aircraft, HB-IWH. On 11 July 1998, a passenger on board HB-IWH operating as SR 111 detected a burnt odour. The smell was detected in flight after the meal service in the area of passenger seat 14H. On 18 August 1998, a passenger on board SR 264, aircraft HB-IWH, detected an unusual smell described as a burnt odour. The smell was detected prior to take-off in the area of seat 18J, mid-cabin. The M/C investigated, but did not smell anything. He reported this to the flight crew.

Because the same aircraft (HB-IWH) was used for both flights and because on each flight, passengers reported a burnt odour within an area spanning four passenger-seat rows (passenger seat 14H and 18J respectively), investigators assessed the possibility of potential links between the July 1998 and the August 1998 flights of HB-IWH. However, because there are no records or other information indicating the source of the burnt odour on the August 1998 flight and because the passenger from the July 1998 flight only reported the burning smell to the TSB several months after the flight, it was not possible to draw any link between the two events.

1.18.10.2  Procedures for Reporting and Recording Abnormal Conditions (STI1-122)

A search of the Swissair MD-11 Cabin Flight Report database for additional information concerning abnormal smells on board HB-IWF and other MD-11 aircraft since 1997 resulted in only one other report. At the time of the occurrence, the procedures for cabin crew to record abnormal conditions did not clearly state when a written report (Cabin Flight Report) was required. Also, the procedures for flight crew regarding the recording of abnormal conditions reported to them by cabin crew allowed for discretion by the flight crew. Such abnormal conditions would have been recorded, at the captain's discretion, in the aircraft logbook. A logbook entry would have resulted in a subsequent maintenance action. Because no such entry was recorded in the logbook, an opportunity to troubleshoot the source of the unusual odours was lost.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

1.18.10  Signalement d'anomalies dans la cabine

1.18.10.1  Signalement d'odeurs inhabituelles (DIT1-121)

Au cours du premier vol qui avait suivi une inspection de maintenance régulière, soit environ trois semaines avant l'accident de SR 111, on avait signalé une odeur inhabituelle à proximité de la porte G1 dans la cabine de l'avion immatriculé HB-IWF, lequel effectuait alors le vol 178 de Swissair (SR 178). L'endroit d'où provenait l'odeur se situe au-dessous d'une zone où l'on avait détecté des dommages causés par la chaleur dans l'épave de SR 111. Selon les renseignements donnés par des membres de l'équipage, cette odeur ressemblait à celle d'un appareil électrique qui aurait surchauffé ou à celle d'un gaz ou d'un produit chimique inconnu. Cet incident avait été signalé verbalement à un technicien d'entretien aussitôt après le vol; cependant, l'inspection que celui-ci avait effectuée par la suite n'avait révélé aucune anomalie. On a avancé l'hypothèse que des résidus d'insecticide auraient été laissés sur place après les travaux de maintenance régulière qui avaient été exécutés avant le vol ou que des émanations se seraient échappées des soutes pendant le vol. Selon le manifeste du fret, l'avion transportait des solvants considérés comme matières dangereuses dans sa soute avant; toutefois, aucun déversement ni perte de marchandises n'avait été signalé. On n'a pas identifié l'origine de l'odeur qui avait été détectée à bord de SR 178 23 jours avant l'accident de SR 111. On n'avait pas signalé non plus d'autres odeurs au cours des 50 vols effectués par la suite par l'avion immatriculé HB-IWF. Aucun élément ne permet de relier à l'accident de SR 111 l'événement qui avait été signalé précédemment pour SR 178.

À deux occasions bien distinctes, on avait signalé une odeur de brûlé dans un autre avion MD-11 de Swissair, qui était immatriculé HB-IWH. Le 11 juillet 1998, un passager avait décelé une odeur de brûlé dans l'avion HB-IWH assurant le vol 111 de Swissair. L'odeur avait été signalée après le repas, dans la zone du siège passager 14H. Par ailleurs, le 18 août 1998, un passager avait décelé une odeur de brûlé dans l'avion HB-IWH assurant le vol 264 de Swissair. L'odeur avait été signalée avant le décollage dans la zone du siège passager 18J, qui est située dans la partie centrale de la cabine. Le maître de cabine n'avait pas pu déceler l'odeur, mais il avait rapporté l'incident à l'équipage de conduite.

Les enquêteurs ont évoqué un lien possible entre les vols effectués par l'avion HB-IWH en juillet 1998 et en août 1998; pour le même avion (HB-IWH), on avait signalé une odeur de brûlé dans une zone couvrant quatre rangées de passagers (sièges 14H et 18J respectivement). Cependant, ils n'ont pu établir avec certitude un lien entre les deux événements puisque l'on n'a jamais pu déterminer l'origine de l'odeur détectée sur le vol du mois d'août 1998 et parce que le passager qui avait décelé l'odeur sur le vol du mois de juillet 1998 n'avait signalé l'incident au BST que plusieurs mois plus tard.

Précédent | Suivant