Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.19.5  Temperature Reference Coupons (STI1-124)

To permit an evaluation of the temperature reached by the hundreds of heat-damaged aircraft pieces, various heat templates or temperature reference coupons were produced in a controlled laboratory environment. The coupons consisted of representative samples of MD-11 aircraft materials, painted in accordance with the original manufacturer's specifications. Each temperature coupon was heated at a fixed temperature for a specified period of time. Temperature reference coupons were produced at 50°F increments for temperatures ranging from 300°F to 1 100°F (149°C to 593°C), and for exposure times of 10, 20, and 30 minutes. Each coupon was characterized by a discolouration of the painted finish that was indicative of the bake temperature and duration of exposure. The effect of immersion in sea water of the heated samples was also determined; at most temperatures the effect on the discolouration was negligible.

Hundreds of pieces of aircraft structure and air conditioning ducting exhibited indications of heat damage. The recovered pieces were compared to the temperature coupons constructed from identical material to determine the approximate temperature and duration of exposure. This information was used to establish heat pattern and temperature distribution within the fire-damaged attic area of the aircraft.

For comparison purposes, metallurgical analysis of temperature coupons and of the hottest recovered aircraft pieces was performed to more closely assess the temperatures reached based on the effect of the heat on the micro-structure of the various samples.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

1.19.5  Éprouvettes de référence de température (DIT1-124)

Pour permettre d'évaluer la température atteinte par les centaines de pièces endommagées par la chaleur, divers gabarits thermiques ou éprouvettes de référence de température ont été produits dans un laboratoire à atmosphère contrôlée. Ces éprouvettes se composaient d'échantillons représentatifs des matériaux utilisés dans la fabrication du MD-11, peints conformément aux directives originales du constructeur. Chaque éprouvette de température a été chauffée à une température fixe pendant un délai précis. Les éprouvettes de référence de température ont été produites par paliers de 50 °F pour des températures variant de 300 à 1 100 °F (149 à 593 °C), et pour des durées d'exposition de 10, 20 et 30 minutes. Chaque éprouvette a été caractérisée par un ternissement du fini de la peinture indicatrice de la température de cuisson et de la durée d'exposition. On a également déterminé l'effet d'une immersion dans l'eau de mer des échantillons ainsi chauffés; à la plupart des températures, l'effet sur le ternissement était négligeable.

Des centaines de morceaux de la structure de l'avion et des gaines de conditionnement d'air présentaient des signes de dommages causés par la chaleur. Les morceaux récupérés ont été comparés aux éprouvettes de température fabriquées avec des matériaux identiques afin qu'on puisse déterminer la température approximative et la durée d'exposition. Ces données ont servi à établir le profil de chaleur et la répartition de la température dans l'espace inoccupé de l'avion endommagé par l'incendie.

À titre de comparaison, on a procédé à l'analyse métallurgique des éprouvettes de température et des morceaux d'avion récupérés les plus chauds pour évaluer de façon plus précise les températures atteintes d'après l'effet de la chaleur sur la microstructure des divers échantillons.

Précédent | Suivant