Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

2.2.2  Cockpit Voice Recorder

  1. 2.2.2.1 - Cockpit Voice Recording Duration
  2. 2.2.2.2 - Recorder Electrical Power Source
  3. 2.2.2.3 - Clarity of CVR Recording

2.2.2.1  Cockpit Voice Recording Duration

The 30-minute cockpit voice recorder (CVR) recording on SR 111 was insufficient to provide the amount of data needed to fully analyze all of the factors that may have played a part in the occurrence or that could have led to the identification of further safety deficiencies. Longer audio recordings can provide additional background information to assist in assessing the relevance and importance of events, isolating the information that has a direct bearing on the occurrence, and resolving investigation issues more quickly. In the absence of audio recordings, such evaluations using other means can consume considerable time and resources. A minimum two-hour CVR recording capability would have enabled a quicker and possibly more in-depth assessment of events that occurred earlier in the flight. For example, the investigation would have benefited considerably if CVR information had been available to help analyze earlier events such as the time period of the 13-minute, very-high frequency (VHF) communications gap.

The JAA has implemented Joint Aviation Requirements (JAR)-OPS 1.700, which require that airline transport category aircraft certified after 1 April 1998 be equipped with a two-hour CVR recording capacity. However, the MD-11 was certified in 1991; therefore, only a 30-minute recording capacity for SR 111 was required and applied under JAR-OPS 1.710. The United States of America and Canada still only require a 30-minute CVR duration for transport category aircraft.

2.2.2.2  Recorder Electrical Power Source

Had the CVR been equipped with an independent power source to allow for continued operation after its aircraft electrical power source was lost, the resulting additional recorded information could have facilitated a more thorough understanding of the circumstances faced by the crew in the final minutes prior to the crash, and permitted an evaluation of the associated potential safety deficiencies.

In aircraft where the CVR and the flight data recorder (FDR) are both powered from the same aircraft generator bus, both recorders would stop recording at the same time if that generator bus went off-line. Although the current requirement to power the recorders from the most reliable bus available seems prudent in principle, it leaves both recorders vulnerable to a single-point electrical failure. Powering the recorders from separate buses, with some separation of the wiring and separation of respective circuit breakers (CB), would provide an opportunity for one recorder to remain powered in the event of the loss of a bus, and therefore, improve the likelihood that additional useful information would be recorded.

2.2.2.3  Clarity of CVR Recording

Some portions of the recording from the cockpit area microphone channel of the CVR that were potentially important to the investigation were difficult to decipher. Experience with numerous other CVR recordings confirms that it is significantly easier to decipher the words when flight crews use their boom microphones. The improved clarity results in significant time saving during investigations, increased transcription accuracy, and higher likelihood of identifying and validating safety deficiencies. Currently, there is no regulatory requirement for the use of boom microphones in all phases of flight, nor is such usage standard practice among airline companies.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

2.2.2  Enregistreur de la parole dans le poste de pilotage

2.2.2.1  Durée de l'enregistrement

Les 30 minutes d'enregistrement offertes par l'enregistreur de la parole dans le poste de pilotage (CVR) à bord de SR 111 n'ont pas suffi à fournir la quantité de données nécessaires à l'analyse de tous les facteurs contributifs de l'accident ou de facteurs qui auraient pu mener à l'identification d'autres manquements à la sécurité. Des enregistrements audio plus longs peuvent fournir les renseignements de base supplémentaires permettant d'évaluer la pertinence et l'importance des événements, d'isoler l'information directement liée à l'événement en cause et de résoudre des questions relatives à l'enquête plus rapidement. En l'absence d'enregistrements audio, le même genre d'évaluation par d'autres moyens peut nécessiter beaucoup de temps et de ressources. Une capacité d'enregistrement du CVR d'au moins deux heures aurait permis d'effectuer une évaluation plus rapide et probablement plus approfondie des événements qui s'étaient produits plus tôt pendant le vol. Par exemple, l'enquête aurait été grandement facilitée si on avait disposé de données CVR pour l'analyse des événements antérieurs, comme la période de 13 minutes d'interruption des communications à très haute fréquence (VHF).

Les JAA ont adopté le règlement JAR-OPS 1.700 qui exige que les avions de la catégorie transport certifiés après le 1er avril 1998 soient dotés d'un CVR offrant une capacité d'enregistrement de deux heures. Cependant, le MD-11 avait été certifié en 1991; par conséquent, en vertu du règlement JAR-OPS 1.710, seule une capacité d'enregistrement de 30 minutes était exigée pour SR 111. La réglementation des États-Unis et le Canada n'exigent toujours qu'une capacité d'enregistrement de 30 minutes pour les CVR des avions de la catégorie transport.

2.2.2.2  Source d'alimentation électrique des enregistreurs

Si le CVR avait été équipé d'une source d'alimentation indépendante lui permettant de fonctionner même après la perte de l'alimentation électrique de l'avion, l'information additionnelle obtenue aurait pu favoriser une compréhension beaucoup plus approfondie des circonstances avec lesquelles l'équipage avait dû composer pendant les dernières minutes du vol, et il aurait été possible d'évaluer beaucoup mieux les manquements à la sécurité.

Dans un avion où le CVR et le FDR sont alimentés par le même bus d'alternateur, les enregistreurs cesseraient de fonctionner en même temps si le bus d'alternateur était mis hors circuit. Même si l'exigence actuelle stipulant que les enregistreurs soient alimentés par le bus disponible le plus fiable semble prudente en principe, elle laisse les deux enregistreurs vulnérables à la panne de leur point d'alimentation commun. L'alimentation des enregistreurs par des bus distincts avec séparation du câblage et des disjoncteurs respectifs assurerait qu'au moins un des enregistreurs continue d'être alimenté en cas de perte d'un bus et, par conséquent, améliorerait les chances que d'autres renseignements utiles puissent être enregistrés.

2.2.2.3  Clarté de l'enregistrement CVR

Certaines parties de l'enregistrement par le microphone d'ambiance du poste de pilotage du CVR, qui auraient pu être importantes pour l'enquête, ont été difficiles à déchiffrer. L'expérience acquise avec de nombreux autres enregistrements CVR indique qu'il est beaucoup plus facile de déchiffrer la bande lorsque l'équipage de conduite utilise les micros-rails. La meilleure qualité de l'enregistrement permet de gagner beaucoup de temps pendant l'enquête, ainsi que d'améliorer la précision de la transcription et la probabilité de cerner et de confirmer les manquements à la sécurité. Actuellement, il n'existe aucune exigence réglementaire relative à l'utilisation des micros-rails pendant toutes les phases du vol; il n'y a pas non plus de pratique normalisée au sein des lignes aériennes.

Précédent | Suivant