Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

2.12  Flight Crew Reading Light (Map Light) Installation

The design deficiencies of the Hella map light resulted in the potential for electrical arcing in typical in-service conditions. Normal rotation of the lens housing allowed contact between the insulating protective cap and the carrier frame; over time, usage would result in damage to the protective cap exposing the positive terminal metal contact spring. This situation provided an opportunity for the exposed metal contact spring to arc to the carrier frame. The design also created at least three additional opportunities for electrical arcing, including during bulb replacement maintenance activity.

Also, the map light installations at the pilot and co-pilot positions in the MD-11, were located in confined areas near, or in direct contact with, combustible materials that could exacerbate the consequences of any potential arcing. The overheat damage observed on several MPET-covered insulation blankets examined in other MD-11s, reflected the heat build-up behind the map lights. The combination of radiant heat and close proximity would increase the probability of igniting the MPET-covered insulation blankets during an arcing event.

The map lights were not involved with the origin of the SR 111 fire; however, the deficiencies found in both the map light design and its MD-11 installation presented unacceptable risk. These safety deficiencies are being eliminated by the follow-up actions underway (see Section 4.1.4).

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

2.12  Montage des lampes de lecture (liseuses de carte) de l'équipage de conduite

Les défauts de conception de la liseuse de carte Hella présentaient des risques d'amorçage d'arc électrique en conditions de service normales. La rotation normale du boîtier de la lentille permettait un contact entre le capuchon protecteur isolant et le support; avec le temps, l'usage finirait par endommager le capuchon protecteur et ainsi exposer le contact ressort métallique servant de borne positive. Cette situation risquait de causer un amorçage d'arc électrique entre le contact ressort métallique exposé et le support. La conception de la liseuse créait aussi au moins trois autres occasions d'amorçage d'arc électrique, notamment pendant le remplacement de l'ampoule lors de l'entretien.

Aussi, les liseuses de carte du pilote et du copilote dans le MD-11 étaient situées dans des endroits exigus, près de matières combustibles ou en contact direct avec celles-ci, ce qui risquait d'aggraver les conséquences de tout amorçage d'arc éventuel. Les dommages causés par une surchauffe qui ont été relevés sur plusieurs matelas isolants recouverts de PET métallisé dans d'autres avions MD-11 donnaient une idée de l'accumulation de chaleur qui existait derrière les liseuses de carte. Une chaleur rayonnante combinée à une proximité immédiate augmenterait la probabilité que les matelas isolants recouverts de PET métallisé s'enflamment au cours d'un amorçage d'arc.

Les liseuses de carte n'ont rien à voir avec l'origine de l'incendie à bord de SR 111; toutefois, les lacunes relevées dans la conception des liseuses de carte et leur montage à bord du MD-11 présentaient un risque inacceptable. Ces manquements à la sécurité sont en train d'être réglés par les mesures de suivi qui sont en cours (voir la rubrique 4.1.4).

Précédent | Suivant