Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

2.21  Fire Initiation

An evaluation of the available information indicates that the fire likely started within the confines of a relatively small area above the right rear cockpit ceiling just forward of the cockpit rear wall near STA 383. Although other potential areas were assessed, no other area was found that so comprehensively explained the initial indications of odour and the subsequent smoke and fire propagation. Support for the fire initiating and spreading from this localized area includes the following:

  • The presence of electrical wires as potential ignition sources and easily ignited MPET-covered insulation blanket material;
  • The known environmental conditions in the cockpit and cabin;
  • The time frame in which the fire propagated from initial detection until the fire-related failures of various aircraft systems occurred;
  • The air-flow patterns; and
  • The fire and heat-damage patterns.

Within the localized area where the fire most likely started, a wire arcing event is the only plausible ignition source. There were several wire bundles containing hundreds of wires, including the four IFEN PSU cables and 16 American Wire Gauge (AWG) control wire, that passed through the localized area (see Section 1.6.1.4). It is most likely that the fire started from a wire arcing event that ignited the nearby MPET-covered insulation blankets. These MPET-covered insulation blankets are easily ignited and were prevalent in the area (see Section 1.16.8).

Of all the wires and cables that were located in the localized area of interest, the only arc-damaged wire that could be positioned in that area with relative accuracy was the 1-3791/1-3793 pair of IFEN PSU cables (see Section 1.14.11.2). Although it is possible that other wires from this localized area that were not recovered might also have arced, the only arcing event that is known to have occurred within that area is the forward arc on Exhibit 1-3791, located just forward of STA 383.

An assessment was completed to determine whether the forward arc on Exhibit 1-3791 could have been the result of fire damage, and therefore, would not have been involved with the lead arcing event. This possibility was considered unlikely. For this forward arc on Exhibit 1-3791 to be the result of fire damage, the fire would have to start from another unrelated arcing event within the localized area, and the fire would need to be sustained in the area for a sufficient time to melt and breach the ETFE wire insulation at the site of the forward arc on Exhibit 1-3791. To result in arcing at this site, the breached wire would have to be in contact with either grounded aircraft structure, or with a second wire of different electrical potential whose insulation was also breached by the fire. It is unlikely that a fire would selectively breach only one wire in Exhibit 1-3791 and breach at least one additional nearby wire to create conditions for an arc event to occur without also breaching the insulation on at least some of the other five wires in the 1-3791/1-3793 pair. It is unlikely that the insulation on these other five wires was breached at that location, as there were no arcs on these five wires at that location.

The forward portions of the 1-3790 and 1-3792 PSU cables, and the 16 AWG control wire, were not identified and may not have been recovered. Therefore, in the area where the forward arcing event occurred on the 1-3791 PSU cable, it is not known whether arcing occurred on either the 1-3790/1-3792 cable pair, or the 16 AWG control wire. However, as both of these PSU cables and the 16 AWG control wire subsequently arced at locations that were at least 50 cm (20 inches) farther aft, any arcing that might have occurred at the forward location did not trip the associated CB.

Given the number of unlikely circumstances and events that would be required, a scenario involving fire-related damage leading to the forward arc on Exhibit 1-3791 at the STA 383 location cannot be supported.

If the forward arc on Exhibit 1-3791 was not the result of fire-related damage, another potential scenario is that the arc occurred during the time of the lead arcing event; that is, it was associated with the lead arcing event, either alone, in combination with arcing on another wire or wires, or as collateral damage from an arcing event on another adjacent wire or wires. In any of these potential scenarios, the arcing was not sufficient to trip the associated CB.

The forward arc on Exhibit 1-3791 was assessed to determine whether it was, by itself, the lead arcing event that started the fire. For this arc to be the single lead arcing event, the wire would first have to be damaged, for example by chafing, at the location of the arc, to expose the conductor. The exposed conductor would then have to contact grounded aircraft structure, resulting in the arcing event. Although it was possible to position the cable segment (Exhibit 1-3791), and therefore the forward arc, relatively accurately, the extent and nature of the damage required interpretation of the damage patterns. This interpretation allowed for a small range of possible locations in the placement of the wires, as described in Section 1.14.11.2. At the forward end of the possible range, the arc was placed where it would be in contact with an aluminum wire support bracket. However, the chafing of any one wire by itself to this bracket would not result in an arc, as the bracket was isolated from the aircraft structure by a nylon stand-off and would not have provided an electrical path to ground.

There was aluminum found in one copper bead adhering to the wire strands slightly removed from the main arc site of the forward arc bead on Exhibit 1-3791. This suggests that the arc might have resulted from contact with aluminum. Arcing to the aluminum bracket would only be possible if there were two exposed conductors in contact with the bracket. This would provide an opportunity for arcing, as aluminum is a good conductor of electricity. Such a scenario would involve, for example, two phases of a PSU cable chafing separately against this same bracket until both of their conductors became exposed. This scenario could not be ruled out; however, there is no corroborating information to support it. The bracket was not identified in the wreckage. Neither were the two remaining PSU cables, the 16 AWG control wire or other aircraft wires from that area, that may have been involved.

Another potential lead arcing event scenario involving the forward arc on Exhibit 1-3791 would be that the arc occurred directly to another wire of a different electrical potential. This could be either an aircraft wire, or another IFEN wire. In either case, both wires would have to be damaged at the location of the arc, allowing their bare conductors to contact each other. Because the IFEN wires in the STA 383 area were routed separately and not along existing wire bundles, it is less likely that the IFEN wires would be in contact with aircraft wires within the localized area where the fire most likely started; therefore, the more likely candidate wires for this type of scenario would be the other wires in the bundle of four IFEN PSU cables and the 16 AWG control wire. It is known that the other wires in the 1-3791/1-3793 pair did not arc at that forward location. However, the wires from the other pair of PSU cables and the 16 AWG control wire from that area were not identified. Therefore, neither aircraft wires nor other IFEN wires can be ruled out as potentially being involved in such a scenario.

Damage to two or more wires in a wire bundle can be caused by chafing contact with the aircraft structure, by inadvertent damage occurring during installation or subsequent maintenance, or by the presence of swarf, such as a metal shaving, that could cut through the insulation on both wires, exposing their conductors. A metal shaving could also act as a conductor. If any of those events occurred, the subsequent arcing that took place on all of the PSU cables and 16 AWG control wire confirms that any arcing on these wires near STA 383 did not trip the associated CB.

An assessment was made to determine whether the forward arcing damage on Exhibit 1-3791 could have resulted from collateral damage; that is, damage from an arcing event involving other wires in the immediate vicinity that was of sufficient magnitude to breach the insulation on at least two other wires, including Exhibit 1-3791. For this to occur, the lead-event wires would have to be in very close proximity to the forward arc on Exhibit 1-3791. An arcing event of sufficient magnitude to damage other wires would likely have tripped the associated CBs. None of the IFEN CBs tripped at the time of the lead arcing event (subsequent arcing occurred on all of the PSU cables and the 16 AWG control wire); therefore, if such an arcing event occurred, it did not involve IFEN wires. Such a lead-arcing event would have to involve aircraft wires, but not result in any electrical anomalies that would be apparent to the pilots and not be recorded on the FDR. Although the possibility of a scenario involving collateral damage to Exhibit 1-3791 could not be ruled out, it appears unlikely that such a scenario occurred.

No determination could be made regarding how the insulation at the forward arc location on Exhibit 1-3791 was initially breached, or what that wire came into contact with, such as structure or another wire, to cause the arc. Although the available information indicates that the forward arcing event on Exhibit 1-3791 occurred during the time of the fire-initiating event, and in the area where the fire most likely originated, it cannot be concluded that the forward arc on Exhibit 1-3791 was the lead arcing event. It appears likely that at least one other wire was involved in the lead arcing event; however, it could not be determined whether this was an IFEN wire or wires, one or more aircraft wires, or some combination of both.

An arcing event or events provided an ignition source for the fire; however, this arcing would not have resulted in a threat to the aircraft had there not been material nearby that could easily be ignited by such an ignition source. The presence of significant amounts of flammable materials allowed the fire to spread and intensify rapidly, which ultimately led to the loss of control of the aircraft.

Previous

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

2.21  Début de l'incendie

Une évaluation des renseignements disponibles indiquent que l'incendie s'est probablement déclaré dans un endroit relativement petit, situé au-dessus du plafond arrière droit du poste de pilotage, tout juste devant la paroi arrière du poste de pilotage, près de la référence 383. Bien que d'autres endroits potentiels aient été évalués, on n'a trouvé aucun autre endroit qui puisse expliquer de façon aussi complète les premiers signes d'odeur, puis la présence de la fumée et enfin la propagation de l'incendie. Les éléments suivants permettent d'étayer le fait que l'incendie s'est déclaré et propagé à partir de cet endroit précis :

  • la présence de fils électriques comme sources potentielles d'inflammation et le matelas isolant recouvert de PET métallisé facilement inflammable;
  • l'environnement connu du poste de pilotage et de la cabine;
  • la durée pendant laquelle l'incendie s'est propagé à partir du moment où il a été décelé jusqu'à ce que se produisent les défaillances de divers systèmes de bord causées par l'incendie;
  • les trajets suivis par la circulation de l'air;
  • les types de dommages causés par la chaleur et l'incendie.

Là où l'incendie s'est probablement déclaré, l'amorçage d'arc d'un fil constitue la seule source d'inflammation plausible. Plusieurs faisceaux contenant des centaines de fils, dont les quatre câbles de bloc d'alimentation du RDB et le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG, traversaient cet endroit (voir la rubrique 1.6.1.4). Selon toute probabilité, l'incendie s'est déclaré à la suite de l'amorçage d'arc d'un fil qui a enflammé des matelas isolants recouverts de PET métallisé situés à proximité. Ces matelas isolants recouverts de PET métallisé s'enflamment facilement et ils étaient largement utilisés à cet endroit (voir la rubrique 1.16.8).

De tous les fils et câbles qui se trouvaient à cet endroit, le seul fil endommagé par un arc électrique qui a pu être positionné à cet endroit avec une certaine précision était la paire de câbles 1-3791/1-3793 du bloc d'alimentation du RDB (voir la rubrique 1.14.11.2). Bien qu'il soit possible que d'autres fils se trouvant à cet endroit et qui n'ont pas été retrouvés aient aussi subi des amorçages d'arc, le seul amorçage d'arc connu à cet endroit est l'amorçage d'arc avant sur la pièce produite 1-3791, située tout juste devant la référence 383.

On a procédé à une évaluation pour déterminer si l'amorçage d'arc avant sur la pièce produite 1-3791 était le résultat de dommages causés par l'incendie, ce qui signifierait qu'il ne serait pas l'événement déclencheur. Cette possibilité a été jugée peu probable. Pour que l'amorçage d'arc avant sur la pièce produite 1-3791 soit considéré comme étant le résultat de dommages causés par l'incendie, ce dernier aurait dû se déclarer à partir d'un autre amorçage d'arc non lié à l'endroit en question, et l'incendie aurait eu besoin d'être entretenu suffisamment longtemps à cet endroit pour faire fondre et entamer l'isolant en ETFE du fil au point d'amorçage d'arc avant sur la pièce produite 1-3791. Pour qu'un amorçage d'arc se produise à cet endroit, il fallait que le fil ébréché soit en contact avec une structure de l'avion mise à la masse ou un fil de potentiel électrique différent dont l'isolant aurait été entamé par le feu. Il est peu probable qu'un incendie ciblerait un seul fil (pièce produite 1-3791) pour entamer son isolant et entamer un autre fil voisin pour créer des conditions susceptibles de produire un arc électrique sans aussi entamer l'isolant d'au moins quelques-uns des cinq fils de la paire de câbles 1-3791/1-3793. Il est peu probable que l'isolant de ces cinq autres fils ait été entamé à cet endroit, puisque ces derniers ne présentaient aucun signe d'amorçage d'arc à ce même endroit.

Les parties avant des câbles de bloc d'alimentation 1-3790/1-3792 et le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG n'ont pas été identifiés et il se peut qu'ils n'aient pas été retrouvés. Par conséquent, à l'endroit où l'amorçage d'arc avant s'est produit sur le câble 1-3790 du bloc d'alimentation, on ne sait si cet arc électrique s'est produit sur la paire de câbles 1-3790/1-3792 ou sur le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG. Toutefois, comme ces deux câbles de bloc d'alimentation et le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG ont par la suite subi des arcs électriques à des endroits situés à au moins 50 cm (20 po) plus loin vers l'arrière, tout amorçage d'arc qui se serait produit à l'avant n'avait pas entraîné le déclenchement du disjoncteur connexe.

Compte tenu du nombre de circonstances et d'événements improbables qui auraient été nécessaires, un scénario mettant en cause des dommages causés par un incendie menant à un amorçage d'arc avant sur la pièce produite 1-3791 à la référence 383 ne peut se justifier.

Si l'amorçage d'arc avant sur la pièce produite 1-3791 n'est pas le résultat de dommages causés par l'incendie, un autre scénario possible est que l'arc électrique se serait produit au même moment que l'amorçage d'arc déclencheur de l'incendie; c'est-à-dire qu'il aurait été associé à l'amorçage d'arc déclencheur de l'incendie, soit seul, en combinaison avec l'amorçage d'arc sur un ou plusieurs autres fils, soit comme dommage indirect lié à un amorçage d'arc sur un ou plusieurs fils voisins. Dans aucun de ces scénarios l'arc électrique n'a été suffisamment intense pour déclencher le disjoncteur connexe.

L'amorçage d'arc avant sur la pièce produite 1-3791 a fait l'objet d'une évaluation visant à déterminer s'il était lui-même l'élément déclencheur de l'incendie. Pour qu'il soit le seul élément déclencheur de l'incendie, il aurait fallu que le fil soit d'abord endommagé, par exemple à la suite d'une usure par frottement, à l'emplacement de l'arc électrique pour exposer le conducteur. Il aurait ensuite fallu que le conducteur exposé soit en contact avec la structure mise à la masse de l'avion pour que se produise un amorçage d'arc électrique. Même s'il avait été possible de positionner le segment de câble (pièce produite 1-3791) et, par conséquent, l'arc électrique avant de façon relativement précise, l'ampleur et la nature des dommages nécessitaient une interprétation. Cette interprétation admettait un petit nombre d'emplacements possibles pour le positionnement des fils, comme l'indique la rubrique 1.14.11.2. À l'extrémité avant de ces emplacements possibles, l'arc électrique était positionné de manière qu'il y ait contact avec le support de fils en aluminium. Toutefois, l'usure par frottement d'un fil en lui-même sur ce support ne produirait pas un arc électrique, puisque le support était isolé de la structure de l'avion par une entretoise en nylon et qu'il n'y aurait eu aucun chemin électrique vers la masse.

On a retrouvé de l'aluminium sur une perle en cuivre adhérant aux torons de fils, un peu à l'écart du point principal d'amorçage d'arc sur la perle d'arc électrique de la pièce produite 1-3791, ce qui porte à croire que l'arc électrique aurait pu avoir été causé par un contact avec de l'aluminium. Un amorçage d'arc avec le support en aluminium ne serait possible que si deux conducteurs exposés avaient été en contact avec le support. Il y aurait alors eu possibilité d'amorçage d'arc car l'aluminium est un bon conducteur d'électricité. Un tel scénario signifierait, par exemple, que deux fils de phase d'un câble de bloc d'alimentation se seraient usés séparément sur ce même support jusqu'à ce que leurs conducteurs soient exposés. Cette hypothèse ne peut être écartée; par contre, aucun autre renseignement ne permet de l'étayer. Le support n'a pas été identifié dans l'épave, ni les deux câbles de bloc d'alimentation qui restaient, le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG ou d'autres fils de l'avion se trouvant à cet endroit qui auraient pu être en cause.

Un autre scénario d'amorçage d'arc ayant déclenché l'incendie mettant en cause l'amorçage d'arc avant de la pièce produite 1-3791 serait que l'arc électrique se serait produit directement à la suite du contact avec un autre fil de potentiel électrique différent. Ce pourrait être un fil de l'avion ou un autre fil du RDB. Dans un cas comme dans l'autre, les deux fils auraient dû être endommagés au point de l'amorçage d'arc pour que leurs conducteurs dénudés se touchent. Comme les fils RDB à la référence 383 étaient acheminés séparément et non dans un faisceau de fils existant, il est moins probable que les fils du RDB puissent avoir été en contact avec des fils de l'avion à l'endroit précis où l'incendie s'est déclaré; par conséquent, les fils les plus probables pour ce scénario seraient les autres fils se trouvant dans le faisceau des quatre câbles de bloc d'alimentation et le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG. On sait que les autres fils de la paire 1-3791/1-3793 n'ont pas subi d'amorçage d'arc à cet endroit situé à l'avant. Toutefois, les fils d'une autre paire de câbles de bloc d'alimentation et le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG à cet endroit n'ont pas été identifiés. Par conséquent, on ne peut écarter l'hypothèse que les fils de l'avion et les autres fils RDB aient pu être en cause.

Des dommages à deux fils ou plus dans un faisceau peuvent être causés par contact frottant avec la structure de l'avion, par des dégâts accidentels au cours de l'installation ou de l'entretien subséquent, ou par la présence de particules comme des rognures de métal qui pourraient couper l'isolant des deux fils et exposer leur conducteur. Une rognure de métal pourrait aussi agir comme conducteur. Dans un cas comme dans l'autre, l'amorçage d'arc qui a été produit sur tous les câbles de bloc d'alimentation et sur le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG confirme que tout amorçage d'arc qui se serait produit près de la référence 383 n'a pas déclenché le disjoncteur connexe.

On a procédé à une évaluation pour déterminer si des dommages causés par l'amorçage d'arc avant sur la pièce produite 1-3791 pourraient avoir été causés par des dommages indirects, soit des dommages dus à un amorçage d'arc sur d'autres fils se trouvant dans le voisinage immédiat selon une intensité suffisante pour entamer l'isolant d'au moins deux autres fils, y compris la pièce produite 1-3791. Pour que cette situation se produise, les fils de l'élément déclencheur auraient dû se trouver très proches de l'arc électrique avant sur la pièce produite 1-3791. Un amorçage d'arc d'une intensité suffisante pour endommager d'autres fils aurait vraisemblablement déclenché les disjoncteurs connexes. Aucun des disjoncteurs du RDB ne s'est déclenché au moment de l'amorçage d'arc déclencheur de l'incendie (un amorçage d'arc subséquent s'est produit sur tous les câbles de bloc d'alimentation et sur le fil de commande de calibre 16 AWG); par conséquent, si un tel amorçage d'arc s'est produit, les fils du RDB n'ont pas été touchés. Un tel amorçage d'arc initial aurait touché des fils de l'avion, mais il n'aurait causé aucun problème électrique observable par les pilotes et il n'aurait pas été enregistré par le FDR. Bien qu'on ne puisse écarter l'hypothèse que la pièce produite 1-3791 ait subi des dommages indirects, elle semble peu probable.

Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer comment l'isolant au point d'amorçage d'arc avant sur la pièce produite 1-3791 a d'abord été entamé, ni avec quoi ce fil est entré en contact, comme la structure ou un autre fil, pour causer l'arc électrique. Même si les renseignements disponibles indiquent que l'amorçage d'arc avant sur la pièce produite 1-3791 s'est produit au moment de l'événement qui a donné naissance à l'incendie, et là où l'incendie s'est le plus probablement déclaré, il n'est pas possible de conclure que l'amorçage d'arc avant sur la pièce produite 1-3791 a été l'amorçage d'arc déclencheur de l'incendie. Selon toute vraisemblance, au moins un autre fil a été mêlé à cet amorçage d'arc initial; toutefois, il n'a pas été possible de déterminer s'il s'agit d'un ou de plusieurs fils du RDB, d'un ou de plusieurs fils de l'avion ou d'une combinaison des deux.

Un ou des amorçages d'arc sont à l'origine de l'incendie; toutefois, cet amorçage d'arc n'aurait pas menacé l'avion s'il ne s'était pas trouvé à proximité d'un matériau facilement inflammable. La présence d'importantes quantités de matières inflammables a permis à l'incendie de se propager et de gagner rapidement en intensité, ce qui a mené à la perte de contrôle de l'avion.

PrécédentIndex