Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

4.1.1  MD-11 Wiring

  1. 4.1.1.1 - Transportation Safety Board of Canada
  2. 4.1.1.2 - United States National Transportation Safety Board
  3. 4.1.1.3 - United States Federal Aviation Administration
  4. 4.1.1.4 - The Boeing Company
  5. 4.1.1.5 - Swissair
  6. 4.1.1.6 - Swiss Federal Office for Civil Aviation

4.1.1.1  Transportation Safety Board of Canada

Aircraft wiring was of immediate and ongoing interest to the investigation team. The team inspected several MD-11 aircraft in order to identify potential areas of arcing or sources of heat generation. These inspections yielded wiring discrepancies that included chafed, cut, and cracked wires. Inconsistencies in wire and wire bundle routing were also discovered, which raised concern about the overall integrity of the MD-11's wiring system. While the investigation team could not establish a direct relationship between the in-service wiring discrepancies and the wires recovered in the Swissair Flight 111 (SR 111) wreckage, the team felt that the data warranted a wider review to better define the risk to the MD-11 fleet. Therefore, on 22 December 1998, the TSB sent an ASA (980031-1) (STI4-1) to the NTSB concerning the MD-11 wiring issues.

4.1.1.2  United States National Transportation Safety Board

Shortly after receiving the TSB's ASA (980031-1), on 11 January 1999, the NTSB recommended that the FAA require an inspection of all MD-11 aircraft for wiring discrepancies (NTSB Recommendation A-99-3 available at http://www.ntsb.gov). The NTSB recommended that the inspection concentrate in and around the cockpit overhead circuit breaker (CB) panel and the avionics CB panel. The inspection should also include examinations for loose wire connections, inconsistent wire routing, broken bonding wires, small-wire bend radii, and chafed or cracked wire insulation.

4.1.1.3  United States Federal Aviation Administration

In early 1999, the FAA responded to the NTSB's recommendation by issuing an MD-11 Airworthiness Directive (AD) requiring inspections to determine whether wiring discrepancies exist that could cause electrical arcing. Such arcing could cause a fire or smoke or both in the cockpit or cabin. Based on the results of these inspections, the FAA launched a two-phase MD-11 Wiring Corrective Action Plan. The first phase consisted of three ADs that focused on the areas of concern highlighted in the TSB's safety advisory. Subsequently, the FAA, working closely with Boeing, launched the second phase, which consisted of five Corrective Action Packages, each comprising a series of ADs. Each AD was based on a Boeing-generated MD-11 Service Bulletin (SB). As of 10 May 2002, the MD-11 Wiring Corrective Action Plan had yielded 41 related ADs with additional SBs undergoing Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) review.

In a parallel initiative, the FAA used lessons learned from the SR 111 investigation to shape its "Aircraft Wiring Practices" interactive training program for FAA certification engineers, designated engineering representatives, and aviation safety inspectors. In addition, the FAA has produced an Internet-based training aid entitled, "Aircraft Wiring Practices (Job Aid)" (available at http://www.academy.jccbi.gov/airdl/wiringcourse/index.htm).

In August 2001, the FAA launched the Enhanced Airworthiness Program for Airplane Systems (EAPAS), designed to address the realities of an aging transport aeroplane fleet. Presently, EAPAS is focused on aging wiring systems. Short-term objectives are those that raise awareness of aging wiring systems, and that implement basic changes to maintenance and training programs. Long-term objectives will concentrate on institutionalizing the management of aging wiring systems.

During the course of this investigation, the FAA requested that the Air Transport Association introduce a new reporting code (sub-chapter 97) to facilitate more accurate tracking of specific wire-related problems and anomalies.

4.1.1.4  The Boeing Company

In addition to its integral support for the FAA's MD-11 Wiring Corrective Action Plan, Boeing responded to the need for additional technical training with respect to wiring by developing a wiring inspection course for airline and government agencies. Furthermore, these initiatives have resulted in enhancements to Boeing's Standard Wiring Practices Manual.

4.1.1.5  Swissair

The need to enhance technical training with respect to wiring was also recognized by Swissair. Subsequently, SR Technics revised its technician training syllabus to include such topics as wire cleanliness, handling, protection, and grounding. They have also developed a series of engineering orders to comply with all applicable ADs called for in the FAA's MD-11 Wiring Corrective Action Plan, and have mandated several special inspections related to wiring issues.

4.1.1.6  Swiss Federal Office for Civil Aviation

As is the practice of the Swiss Federal Office for Civil Aviation (FOCA), all ADs issued by the FAA in relation to the MD-11 wiring issue have been reviewed and reissued as Swiss ADs.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

4.1.1  Câblage du MD-11

4.1.1.1  Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

Le câblage de l'avion a suscité un intérêt immédiat et continu de la part de l'équipe d'enquêteurs. L'équipe a inspecté plusieurs avions MD-11 afin de cerner les zones potentielles d'amorçage d'arc ou les sources de production de chaleur. Ces inspections ont permis de découvrir des anomalies dans le câblage, lesquelles comprenaient des fils usés par frottement, coupés et fissurés. Des manques d'uniformité dans l'acheminement des fils et des faisceaux de fils ont aussi été découverts, ce qui a soulevé des préoccupations sur l'intégrité générale du câblage des MD-11. Même si l'équipe d'enquêteurs n'a pas été en mesure d'établir une relation directe entre les anomalies découvertes sur les câbles en service et les fils retrouvés dans l'épave du vol 111 de Swissair (SR 111), elle était néanmoins d'avis que les données justifiaient un examen plus poussé pour mieux définir le risque menaçant la flotte de MD-11. Par conséquent, le 22 décembre 1998, le BST a envoyé un avis de sécurité aérienne (980031-1) (DIT4-1) au NTSB relativement aux questions portant sur le câblage du MD-11.

4.1.1.2  National Transportation Safety Board des États-Unis

Peu après avoir reçu l'avis de sécurité aérienne 980031-1 du BST, le 11 janvier 1999, le NTSB a recommandé que la FAA exige une inspection de tous les avions MD-11 à la recherche d'anomalies dans le câblage (recommandation A-99-3 du NTSB accessible à www.ntsb.gov). Le NTSB a recommandé que l'inspection porte sur le tableau de distribution supérieur dans le poste de pilotage et sur le tableau de distribution avionique. L'inspection devait aussi permettre de vérifier si des connexions de fils étaient desserrées, si l'acheminement des fils était uniforme, si des fils de mise à la masse étaient brisés, s'il y avait de petits rayons de courbure pour les fils et si l'isolant des fils était usé par frottement ou fissuré.

4.1.1.3  Federal Aviation Administration des États-Unis

Au début de 1999, la FAA a répondu à la recommandation du NTSB en publiant une consigne de navigabilité sur les MD-11, exigeant que soient tenues des inspections visant à déterminer si des anomalies dans le câblage pouvaient causer un amorçage d'arc électrique. Ces amorçages d'arc pourraient causer un incendie ou de la fumée, ou les deux, dans le poste de pilotage ou la cabine. Compte tenu des résultats de ces inspections, la FAA a lancé un plan de mesures correctives en deux étapes visant le câblage du MD-11. La première étape comportait trois consignes de navigabilité traitant des sujets de préoccupation mis en relief dans l'avis de sécurité aérienne du BST. Par la suite, la FAA, travaillant étroitement avec Boeing, a lancé la deuxième étape, laquelle comprenait cinq lots de mesures correctives, chacun comprenant une série de consignes de navigabilité. Chaque consigne était fondée sur un bulletin de service sur les MD-11 produit par Boeing. Au 10 mai 2002, le plan des mesures correctives du câblage du MD-11 avait donné lieu à 41 consignes de navigabilité connexes et à des bulletins de service additionnels faisant l'objet d'un examen en vue d'un avis de projet de réglementation (NPRM).

Dans une initiative parallèle, la FAA a tiré profit des leçons apprises de l'enquête sur l'accident du vol SR 111 pour façonner son programme de formation interactive intitulé « Aircraft Wiring Practices » destiné aux ingénieurs de certification de la FAA, aux représentants techniques désignés et aux inspecteurs en matière de sécurité aérienne. De plus, la FAA a produit une aide didactique sur Internet intitulée « Aircraft Wiring Practices (Job Aid) » (accessible sur le site www.academy.jccbi.gov/AIRDL/wiringcourse).

En août 2001, la FAA a lancé le Programme amélioré de navigabilité aérienne pour les systèmes de bord (EAPAS), conçu pour traiter des réalités d'une flotte d'avions de transport vieillissante. Présentement, l'EAPAS porte surtout sur les câblages vieillissants. Les objectifs à court terme sont ceux qui sensibilisent au câblage vieillissant et qui mettent en œuvre des changements élémentaires aux programmes de maintenance et de formation. Les objectifs à long terme vont porter sur l'institutionnalisation de la gestion des câblages vieillissants.

Au cours de la présente enquête, la FAA a demandé que l'Air Transport Association (ATA) présente un nouveau sous-chapitre codé (97) pour les comptes rendus afin de faciliter un suivi plus précis des problèmes et anomalies propres au câblage.

4.1.1.4  La société Boeing

En plus d'appuyer intégralement le plan de mesures correctives du câblage du MD-11 de la FAA, Boeing a réagi à la nécessité d'obtenir une formation technique additionnelle relativement au câblage en mettant sur pied un cours d'inspection du câblage pour les organismes gouvernementaux et les lignes aériennes. De plus, ces initiatives se sont traduites par des améliorations du Standard Wiring Practices Manual (manuel des pratiques normalisées relatives au câblage) de Boeing.

4.1.1.5  Swissair

La nécessité d'améliorer la formation technique en ce qui a trait au câblage a aussi été reconnue chez Swissair. Par la suite, SR Technics a révisé son programme de formation des techniciens pour inclure des sujets comme la propreté, la manipulation, la protection et la mise à la masse des fils. Elle a aussi élaboré une série d'instructions techniques visant à respecter toutes les consignes de navigabilité pertinentes figurant dans le plan des mesures correctives du câblage du MD-11 de la FAA et a prescrit plusieurs inspections spéciales relativement au câblage.

4.1.1.6  Office fédéral de l'aviation civile suisse

Comme c'est la norme à l'Office fédéral de l'aviation civile (OFAC) suisse, toutes les consignes de navigabilité publiées par la FAA relativement au câblage du MD-11 ont été revues et publiées de nouveau sous la forme de consignes de navigabilité suisses.

Précédent | Suivant