Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

4.1.3  Thermal Acoustic Insulation Materials

  1. 4.1.3.1 - Transportation Safety Board of Canada
  2. 4.1.3.2 - United States Federal Aviation Administration
  3. 4.1.3.3 - Transport Canada
  4. 4.1.3.4 - Swissair
  5. 4.1.3.5 - Swiss Federal Office for Civil Aviation

4.1.3.1  Transportation Safety Board of Canada

As of August 1999, the SR 111 investigation had revealed fire damage in the ceiling area forward, and several metres aft, of the cockpit wall. There were clear indications that a significant source of the combustible materials that sustained the fire was thermal acoustic insulation blanket (insulation blanket) materials. Burnt remnants of this material, caused by the in-flight fire, were found in the wreckage; the fire was extinguished upon impact with the water.

Shortcomings related to the in-service fire resistance of some thermal acoustic insulation materials, and weaknesses in the test criteria used to certify those materials, have been identified during this and other recent aircraft occurrence investigations. Subsequently, the TSB issued recommendations (A99-07 and A99-08) dealing with the risks associated with the flammability of metallized polyethylene terephthalate (MPET)–covered insulation blankets and the test criteria that certified this material for aircraft use.

The in-service history; the demonstrated flammability of the MPET cover material; and the discovery, in the SR 111 wreckage, of remnants of insulation blankets with burnt cover material suggest that MPET cover material was a significant source of the combustible materials that propagated the fire. It is the TSB's view that the operation of aircraft outfitted with insulation blankets incorporating MPET cover material constitutes an unnecessary risk. Therefore, the TSB made the following recommendation:

Regulatory authorities confirm that sufficient action is being taken, on an urgent basis, to reduce or eliminate the risk associated with the use of metallized PET-covered insulation blankets in aircraft. A99-07 (issued 11 August 1999) (STI4-10)

A review of incidents involving cover materials other than those involving MPET (e.g., non-metallized polyethylene terephthalate) polyester film revealed that the limitations of Federal Aviation Regulation (FAR) 25.853, Appendix F, test criteria may not be confined to its inability to accurately and reliably identify the flammability characteristics of MPET-type cover material.

On 14 October 1998, the FAA stated that the test criteria used to certify the flammability characteristics of thermal acoustic insulation materials were inadequate, and committed itself to conduct the research necessary to establish a more comprehensive test standard. At the same time, the FAA indicated that because materials containing polyimide film have performed well in preliminary flammability tests, these materials would be considered compliant under the new regulation. Until adequate flammability test criteria are available, it is not possible to determine whether polyimide film, or other materials, provide adequate protection against fire propagation. Thermal acoustic insulation materials are installed in aircraft as a system, including such related components as tape, fasteners, and breathers. The TSB believed that thermal acoustic insulation materials for use in aircraft must be judged against more valid flammability test criteria—not as individual components, but as a system. Therefore, the TSB made the following recommendation:

On an urgent basis, regulatory authorities validate all thermal acoustical insulation materials in use, or intended for use, in applicable aircraft, against test criteria that are more rigorous than those in Appendix F of FAR 25.853, and similar regulations, and that are representative of actual in-service system performance. A99-08 (issued 11 August 1999) (STI4-11)

4.1.3.2  United States Federal Aviation Administration

The FAA responded to TSB recommendation A99-07 by issuing two NPRMs (99-NM-161-AD and 99-NM-162-AD). The NPRMs proposed the removal of MPET-covered insulation blankets from all US-registered aircraft. The final rule regarding these proposals came in May 2000 when the FAA issued two ADs (AD 2000-11-01 and AD 2000-11-02 available at http://www.faa.gov), which required the removal of all MPET-covered insulation blankets. These ADs were based on existing McDonnell Douglas (MD) SBs, which call for the replacement of the MPET-covered insulation blankets.

In response to TSB recommendation A99-08, the FAA accelerated a project to develop an improved certification flammability test for all thermal acoustic insulation materials. An NPRM (Docket FAA-2000-7909; Notice 00-09) was issued in September 2000 and the final rule is on hold pending a plain language review and rewrite. In the interim, the FAA issued Flight Standards Information Bulletin for Airworthiness 00-09 to ensure that 14 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Parts 121 and 125 operators have established procedures for the inspection of thermal acoustic insulation materials for any contamination during heavy maintenance checks.

4.1.3.3  Transport Canada

Although there are currently no aircraft in the Canadian register built with MPET-covered insulation blankets, TC conducted a survey to confirm that no Canadian-registered aircraft had used MPET-covered insulation blankets during a wholesale replacement program. Additionally, they worked with Bombardier Inc. to remove MPET-type tape from their RJ Series 700 specification.

4.1.3.4  Swissair

Prior to issuing the FAA ADs regarding MPET-covered insulation material, Swissair worked with Boeing to identify the high-risk areas of the MD-11 aircraft and by March 2001 had voluntarily replaced selected MPET-covered insulation blankets. Upon receipt of the FAA's AD 2000-11-02, Swissair began a complete MPET-covered insulation blankets replacement program on their MD-11 fleet. As of January 2003, the AD had been accomplished on 11 MD-11s previously owned by Swissair.

4.1.3.5  Swiss Federal Office for Civil Aviation

The Swiss FOCA reviewed and reissued AD 2000-11-02 as a   Swiss AD 2000-414.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

4.1.3  Matériaux d'isolation thermique et acoustique

4.1.3.1  Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

En août 1999, l'enquête sur l'accident du vol SR 111 avait révélé des dommages causés par un incendie dans le plafond, devant et à quelques mètres derrière la paroi du poste de pilotage. Il y avait des signes évidents qu'une source importante des matériaux combustibles qui avaient alimenté l'incendie était les matériaux des matelas d'isolation thermique et acoustique (matelas isolants). Des restes carbonisés de ce matériau, attribuables à l'incendie en vol, ont été retrouvés dans l'épave; l'incendie a été éteint lors de l'impact avec le plan d'eau.

Des lacunes relatives à la résistance au feu en service de certains matériaux d'isolation thermique et acoustique ainsi qu'aux critères d'essai utilisés pour certifier ces matériaux ont été relevées dans le cadre de la présente enquête et d'enquêtes sur d'autres accidents d'aviation récents. Par la suite, le BST a publié des recommandations (A99-07 et A99-08) portant sur les risques associés à l'inflammabilité des matelas isolants recouverts de poly(éthylène téréphtalate) (PET) métallisé et sur les critères d'essai à l'origine de la certification de ce matériau pour utilisation à bord des aéronefs.

Les antécédents en service, l'inflammabilité démontrée du matériau de recouvrement au PET métallisé et la découverte, dans l'épave, de restes de matelas isolants dont le matériau de recouvrement avait brûlé portent à croire que le matériau de recouvrement en PET métallisé a été une source importante de matériaux combustibles qui ont propagé l'incendie. Le BST considère que l'exploitation d'aéronefs équipés de matelas isolants munis d'un matériau de recouvrement en PET métallisé fait courir inutilement des risques. Par conséquent, le BST a recommandé que :

les autorités de réglementation s'assurent, de toute urgence, que des mesures suffisantes sont prises en vue de réduire ou d'éliminer le risque associé à l'utilisation, dans les aéronefs, de matelas d'isolation à enveloppe en PET métallisé. A99-07 (publiée le 11 août 1999) (DIT4-10)

Un examen des incidents mettant en cause des matériaux de recouvrement autres que ceux ayant trait au film polyester à PET métallisé (p. ex., poly(éthylène téréphtalate) non métallisé) a révélé que les limites des critères d'essai de la Federal Aviation Administration (FAR) 25.853, annexe F, pourraient ne pas être restreintes à leur incapacité à identifier de façon précise et fiable les caractéristiques d'inflammabilité du matériau de recouvrement de type PET métallisé.

Le 14 octobre 1998, la FAA a affirmé que les critères d'essai utilisés pour certifier les caractéristiques d'inflammabilité des matériaux d'isolation thermique et acoustique étaient inadéquats, et elle s'est engagée elle-même à mener les recherches nécessaires en vue d'établir une norme d'essai plus complète. Au même moment, la FAA indiquait que du fait que les matériaux renfermant un film polyimide s'étaient bien comportés dans les essais d'inflammabilité préliminaires, ces matériaux seraient considérés conformes en vertu de la nouvelle réglementation. Tant que des critères d'essai d'inflammabilité adéquats ne sont pas disponibles, il n'est pas possible de déterminer si le film polyimide, ou d'autres matériaux, fournissent une protection suffisante contre la propagation d'un incendie. Les matériaux d'isolation thermique et acoustique sont installés dans un aéronef comme un tout, et comprennent des composants connexes comme du ruban adhésif, des attaches et des reniflards. Le BST était d'avis que les matériaux d'isolation thermique et acoustique utilisés dans les aéronefs devaient être évalués en fonction de critères d'essai d'inflammabilité plus pertinents, non à titre de composants individuels, mais plutôt comme partie intégrante d'un tout. Par conséquent, le BST a recommandé que :

les autorités de la réglementation valident, de toute urgence, les matériaux d'isolation thermique et acoustique utilisés à l'heure actuelle ou devant être utilisés dans les aéronefs, en fonction de critères d'essai d'inflammabilité plus rigoureux que ceux de  l'annexe F de la FAR 25.853 et d'autres règlements semblables et plus représentatifs des performances en service actuelles du système. A99-08 (publiée le 11 août 1999) (DIT4-11)

4.1.3.2  Federal Aviation Administration des États-Unis

La FAA a répondu à la recommandation A99-07 du BST en publiant deux NPRM (99-NM-161-AD et 99-NM-162-AD). Ces NPRM proposaient l'enlèvement des matelas d'isolation recouverts de PET métallisé de tous les aéronefs immatriculés aux États-Unis. La règle finale relative à ces propositions est venue en mai 2000 lorsque la FAA a publié deux consignes de navigabilité (AD 2000-11-01 et AD 2000-11-02, accessibles sur le site http://www.faa.gov), qui exigeaient l'enlèvement de tous les matelas isolants recouverts de PET métallisé. Ces consignes se fondaient sur des bulletins de service existants de McDonnell Douglas, lesquels demandaient le remplacement des matelas d'isolation recouverts de PET métallisé.

En réponse à la recommandation A99-08 du BST, la FAA a accéléré un projet visant à élaborer un essai d'inflammabilité amélioré aux fins de certification pour tous les matériaux d'isolation thermique et acoustique. Un NPRM (Dossier FAA-2000-7909; avis 00-09) avait été publié en septembre 2000, et la règle finale est en attente le temps qu'elle soit revue et rédigée à nouveau en langage clair. Dans l'intervalle, la FAA a publié le bulletin d'information 00-09 sur les normes de vol relatives à la navigabilité pour s'assurer que les exploitants couverts par les parties 121 et 125 du titre 14 du Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) ont établi des procédures pour l'inspection des matériaux d'isolation thermique et acoustique afin d'y repérer toute contamination lors des vérifications pendant la révision majeure.

4.1.3.3  Transports Canada

Bien qu'il n'y ait à l'heure actuelle aucun aéronef dans le registre d'immatriculation canadien qui soit construit avec des matelas isolants recouverts de PET métallisé, Transports Canada a mené une enquête pour confirmer qu'aucun aéronef immatriculé au Canada n'avait utilisé de matelas isolants recouverts de PET métallisé lors d'un programme de remplacement global. De plus, Transports Canada a travaillé avec Bombardier Inc., pour retirer les rubans adhésifs en PET métallisé de la spécification sur le Regional Jet série 700.

4.1.3.4  Swissair

Avant de publier les consignes de navigabilité de la FAA relatives aux matériaux d'isolation recouverts de PET métallisé, Swissair a travaillé avec Boeing pour repérer les zones de grands risques sur l'avion MD-11, et en mars 2001, elle avait remplacé volontairement des matelas isolants recouverts de PET métallisé sélectionnés. Dès la réception de l'AD 2000-11-02 de la FAA, Swissair a lancé un programme de remplacement complet des matelas isolants recouverts de PET métallisé sur sa flotte de MD-11. En date de janvier 2003, la consigne de navigabilité avait été exécutée sur 11 avions MD-11 appartenant auparavant à Swissair.

4.1.3.5  Office fédéral de l'aviation civile suisse

L'OFAC suisse a revu et publié de nouveau l'AD 2000-11-02 comme une consigne de navigabilité suisse portant le numéro 2000-414.

Précédent | Suivant