Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

4.1.5  In-Flight Firefighting

  1. 4.1.5.1 - Transportation Safety Board of Canada
  2. 4.1.5.2 - United States Federal Aviation Administration/Transport Canada
  3. 4.1.5.3 - The Boeing Company
  4. 4.1.5.4 - Swissair
  5. 4.1.5.5 - United States National Transportation Safety Board

4.1.5.1  Transportation Safety Board of Canada

The SR 111 investigation identified safety deficiencies associated with in-flight firefighting measures. Subsequently, the TSB issued five ASRs (A00-16 through A00-20) (STI4-14) (STI4-15) (STI4-16)  (STI4-17) (STI4-18) that identified safety deficiencies with respect to in-flight firefighting. The identified safety deficiencies increase the time required to assess and gain control of what could be a rapidly deteriorating situation and reflect a weakness in the efforts of governments and industry to recognize the need for dealing with in-flight fire in a systematic and effective way.

The TSB believes that the risk to the flying public can be reduced by re-examining fire-zone designations in order to identify additional areas of the aircraft that should be equipped with enhanced smoke/fire detection and suppression systems. Therefore, the TSB made the following recommendation:

Appropriate regulatory authorities, together with the aviation community, review the methodology for establishing designated fire zones within the pressurized portion of the aircraft, with a view to providing improved detection and suppression capability. A00-17 (issued 4 December 2000) (STI4-19)

Along with initiating the other elements of a comprehensive firefighting plan, it is essential that flight crews give attention, without delay, to preparing the aircraft for a possible landing at the nearest suitable airport. Therefore, the TSB made the following recommendation:

Appropriate regulatory authorities take action to ensure that industry standards reflect a philosophy that when odour/smoke from an unknown source appears in an aircraft, the most appropriate course of action is to prepare to land the aircraft expeditiously. A00-18 (issued 4 December 2000) (STI4-20)

Aircraft accident data indicate that a self-propagating fire can develop quickly. Therefore, odour/smoke checklists must be designed to ensure that the appropriate troubleshooting procedures are completed quickly and effectively. The TSB is concerned that this is not the case, and made the following recommendation:

Appropriate regulatory authorities ensure that emergency checklist procedures for the condition of odour/smoke of unknown origin be designed so as to be completed in a time frame that will minimize the possibility of an in-flight fire being ignited or sustained. A00-19 (issued 4 December 2000) (STI4-21)

An uncontrollable in-flight fire constitutes a serious and complicated emergency. A fire may originate from a variety of sources, and can propagate rapidly. Time is critical. Aircraft crews must be knowledgeable about the aircraft and its systems, and be trained to combat any fire quickly and effectively in all areas, including those that may not be readily accessible. The TSB believes that the lack of comprehensive in-flight firefighting procedures, and coordinated aircraft crew training to use such procedures, constitutes a safety deficiency. Therefore, the TSB made the following recommendation:

Appropriate regulatory authorities review current in-flight firefighting standards including procedures, training, equipment, and accessibility to spaces such as attic areas to ensure that aircraft crews are prepared to respond immediately, effectively and in a coordinated manner to any in-flight fire. A00-20 (issued 4 December 2000) (STI4-22)

In-flight firefighting "systems" should include all procedures and equipment necessary to prevent, detect, control, and eliminate fires in aircraft. This systems approach would include material flammability standards, accessibility, smoke/fire detection and suppression equipment, emergency procedures and training. All of these components should be examined together and the inter-relationships between individual firefighting measures should be reassessed with a view to developing improved, comprehensive firefighting measures. The TSB believes that an in-flight firefighting system, developed according to a systematic approach and consisting of complementary elements, would result in the most effective in-flight firefighting system; therefore, the TSB made the following recommendation:

Appropriate regulatory authorities, in conjunction with the aviation community, review the adequacy of in-flight firefighting as a whole, to ensure that aircraft crews are provided with a system whose elements are complementary and optimized to provide the maximum probability of detecting and suppressing any in-flight fire. A00-16 (issued 4 December 2000) (STI4-23)

4.1.5.2  United States Federal Aviation Administration/Transport Canada

Both the FAA and TC concurred with the TSB's position with respect to in-flight firefighting, and have advised that a review of existing programs is underway. Upon completion of the review, both regulators, in conjunction with the JAA, will take a harmonized approach to improving the in-flight firefighting system. As of March 2002, the program review involved the following activities:

  • Developing fire tests for materials in inaccessible areas;
  • Developing the most effective means to gain access to hidden areas for the firefighting purposes;
  • Determining the feasibility of fire detection and suppression systems in inaccessible areas;
  • Exploring the feasibility of water spray and nitrogen suppression systems;
  • Developing improved fire/smoke detection systems;
  • Developing ultra fire-resistant interior materials;
  • Enhancing tools to allow for accurate risk assessment of aircraft wiring system threats;
  • Developing new CB technology to prevent the harmful effects of arcing and arc tracking; and
  • Developing certification criteria for new fire detector sensor technology.

4.1.5.3  The Boeing Company

Boeing issued a Flight Operations Bulletin (MD-11-99-04) to all MD-11 operators that discussed various options for dealing with smoke in the cockpit. Boeing also established a Boeing Smoke/Fire Committee to study the operational impact of smoke and fire events on each Boeing-manufactured aircraft.

4.1.5.4  Swissair

4.1.5.4.1  MD-11 Checklists

Swissair issued an Aircraft Operations Manual (AOM) Bulletin (90/99) advising its MD-11 flight crews of a revision to the Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist (see Appendix C – Swissair Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist). Swissair decided to change the checklist to ensure that the EMER LT switch is selected before the CABIN BUS switch is selected. This change was based on an incident on a flight from Singapore to Zurich, during which the cabin crew had to deal with a "dark cabin" after the CABIN BUS switch had been selected. By design, the emergency lights in the cabin do not come on by selecting the CABIN BUS switch to the OFF position, even if the emergency lights are armed.

To save time when following this checklist, Swissair also instructed its MD-11 flight crews to proceed directly to the SMOKE ELEC/AIR selector checklist item, thereby eliminating the requirement to evaluate the results of de-powering the cabin bus and the need to restore power to the cabin bus.

In March 1999, after intensive discussion with the aircraft manufacturer on the new revision, Swissair conducted a test flight in aircraft HB-IWR to validate the new checklist procedure.

Swissair issued an AOM Bulletin (94/99) to advise its MD-11 flight crews about supplemental information on in-flight smoke/fire. The AOM Bulletin describes the Boeing Flight Operations Bulletin MD-11-99-04, "Supplemental Information to MD-11 Flight Crews on Inflight Smoke/Fire Procedures."

In 1993, the MD-11 manufacturer had decided to eliminate the Air Conditioning Smoke Checklist (see Appendix B – Swissair Air Conditioning Smoke Checklist) because all items covered in this checklist were included in the Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist. However, at this time, Swissair decided to keep the Air Conditioning Smoke Checklist because that checklist would provide a faster method of isolating the specific source of smoke/fumes when they were known to be coming from the air conditioning system. Swissair considered the use of this Air Conditioning Smoke Checklist to be less disruptive to aircraft systems, such as flight displays, communications and navigation systems, than the use of the Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist, which requires the generator buses to be turned off sequentially.

In AOM Bulletin (94/99), Swissair also advised its MD-11 flight crews about a revision to its emergency procedures with respect to dealing with smoke and fumes. Swissair indicated that "under certain circumstances the identification of a smoke source could be very difficult and that in some scenarios, where the air conditioning system acts as transportation media but does not represent the smoke source itself, this could lead to misinterpretation of the smoke origin." To standardize with the manufacturer, as well as to clarify and expedite the smoke source identification process, Swissair decided to use the Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist in any given smoke/fumes situation. Swissair cautioned its flight crews that the Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist "will lead to a shutdown of essential aircraft systems."[121] In addition, Swissair amended the Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist to advise flight crews—at the beginning of the checklist rather than at the end—to consider emergency landing, ditching, and fuel dumping.

Swissair issued an AOM Bulletin (111/00) to advise its MD-11 flight crews about a revision to its Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist. OXYGEN MASKS was added as the first item in the Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist. This addition did not represent a change to Swissair practices, as donning an oxygen mask had always been the first memory item when dealing with smoke situations in simulator training. Subsequently, in AOM Bulletin (122/01) Swissair explained the reasons behind the dramatic changes in the presentation of the Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist procedure. This same bulletin informed the MD-11 flight crews that Airbus has combined three "smoke" procedures into one checklist procedure similar to the MD-11 Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist.

4.1.5.4.2  Training

Swissair continued to educate its MD-11 flight crews through AOM Bulletins and Info Flashes (an internal newsletter) on its CB reset policies, checklist revisions, and incidents that involve smoke or odours. Flight crews were informed about increased inspections of map lights owing to heat damage discovered during maintenance.

In recent years, Swissair has revised its ground school refresher training to include briefings based, in part, on the SR 111 experience. The briefings were meant to emphasize the need for effective communications and timely decision making when dealing with smoke of unknown origin.

Swissair revised the part of its cockpit (or crew) resource management training program dealing with smoke emergencies. The program, attended by both pilots and cabin crew, consists of a day of lectures and reaffirmed the company's policies with regard to the new policies and procedures.

4.1.5.4.3  MD-11 Modification Plus Program

In the post-accident environment, Swissair and its maintenance provider, SR Technics, undertook a joint study to analyze all potential factors that may have contributed to the accident. The study focused on exploiting opportunities to minimize the vulnerability of the MD-11 aircraft to an in-flight fire by developing an early warning smoke detection system. The stated intention was to enhance the firefighting and emergency response capability of the MD-11 and not to call into question the type certification of the aircraft. The study resulted in the adoption of the "MD-11 Modification Plus" program.

The program consists of the following enhancements:

  • Miscellaneous Smoke Detector System: This modification installs smoke detectors in the avionics compartment, the cockpit overhead area, and the first-class galley overhead zone of the MD-11. The system consists of a dual-loop smoke detector system, which illuminates an amber MISC SMOKE warning light on the glareshield control panel, together with an aural warning. An emergency checklist entitled MISC SMOKE was created and introduced to the MD-11 crews via AOM Bulletin (123/01).
  • Video Camera Monitoring System: This system installs cameras in the avionics compartment, the cockpit overhead area, and the first-class galley overhead zone to provide a visual confirmation of the presence of smoke. The camera installation includes a dedicated display screen, located on the centre pedestal, to allow the pilots to view the area of interest.
  • Halon Distribution System: This system consists of three fixed Halon bottles connected to a distribution system. The HDS can direct a fire-suppressing agent to the cockpit overhead area, and the first-class galley overhead zone. As these areas are not readily accessible, this modification optimizes the aircraft crew's fire-suppression capabilities.
  • Wire Routing: This part of the program includes a wiring modification designed to enhance separation and increase survivability of flight-critical systems. The modification physically separates the left and right power wires to opposite sides of the cockpit.
  • Oxygen System/Air Conditioning System Improvements: As a fire-hardening measure for its crew oxygen system, Swissair incorporated Boeing's SB MD11-35-021, which replaces aluminium components with steel. Additionally, Swissair has replaced the end caps used in the air conditioning system ducting with a more fire-resistant version.
  • Standby Flight Instruments: This unit is a "mini" primary flight display. It combines all necessary flight-relevant information including standby horizon, speed, altitude, and heading indications. This unit also includes an automatic back-up battery power supply.

To reduce aircraft downtime the "MD-11 Modification Plus" program is being coordinated with the MPET-covered insulation blanket replacement program as required in accordance with FAA AD 2000-11-02.

All modifications have been approved by the appropriate airworthiness authorities and as of January 2003, nine MD-11s previously owned by Swissair, have been modified in accordance with the "MD-11 Modification Plus" program.

4.1.5.5  United States National Transportation Safety Board

On 4 January 2002, the NTSB released five recommendations (A01-83 through A01-87) dealing with recent in-flight fires. Although not directly related to the circumstances of the SR 111 accident, NTSB's efforts reflect a common concern with the provisions currently in place for in-flight firefighting. That is, the TSB recommendations took a systems approach in identifying deficiencies in such areas as detection and suppression, crew coordination, checklist procedures, equipment, and accessibility. The NTSB recommendations focused primarily on deficiencies associated with the actions of aircraft crews in dealing with in-flight fires. The NTSB recommendations complement those of the TSB by highlighting inadequacies in aircraft crew awareness and training that limit their ability to execute effective in-flight firefighting.


[121]    The Boeing Company describes those systems affected by the use the Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist as aircraft subsystems rather than "essential" systems.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

4.1.5  Lutte contre les incendies en vol

4.1.5.1  Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

L'enquête sur l'accident du vol SR 111 a permis de cerner des manquements à la sécurité associés aux mesures de lutte contre les incendies en vol. Par la suite, le BST a publié cinq recommandations relatives à la sécurité aérienne (A00-16 à A00-20) (DIT4-14) (DIT4-15) (DIT4-16) (DIT4-17) (DIT4-18) qui cernaient les manquements à la sécurité liés à la lutte contre les incendies en vol. Les manquements à la sécurité qui avaient été identifiés augmentent le temps qui est nécessaire à l'évaluation et à la maîtrise de ce qui pourrait s'avérer une situation se dégradant rapidement et soulignent que les efforts des gouvernements et de l'industrie à reconnaître la nécessité de traiter un incendie en vol d'une façon systématique et efficace demeurent insuffisants.

Le BST est d'avis que le risque pour le public voyageur peut être réduit grâce à un réexamen de la désignation des zones désignées zones de feu afin de cerner les autres zones dans les avions qui devraient être équipées de moyens de détection et de suppression de fumée et d'incendie améliorés. Par conséquent, le BST a recommandé que :

les organismes de réglementation pertinents, de concert avec la communauté aéronautique, examinent la méthodologie régissant la détermination des zones désignées comme des zones de feu à l'intérieur des parties pressurisées des avions en vue de fournir de meilleurs moyens de détection et d'extinction des incendies. A00-17 (publiée le 4 décembre 2000) (DIT4-19)

En plus de mettre en œuvre les autres éléments d'un plan de lutte contre les incendies complet, il est essentiel que les équipages de conduite se penchent, sans délai, sur la préparation de l'avion en vue d'un atterrissage possible à l'aéroport convenable le plus proche. Par conséquent, le BST a recommandé que :

les organismes de réglementation pertinents prennent des mesures pour assurer que les normes de l'industrie indiquent bien que lorsque des odeurs ou de la fumée de source inconnue sont décelées dans un avion, le plan d'action le plus approprié consiste à se préparer à atterrir le plus rapidement possible. A00-18 (publiée le 4 décembre 2000) (DIT4-20)

Les données sur les accidents d'aviation révèlent qu'un incendie qui se propage de lui-même peut gagner en intensité en peu de temps. Par conséquent, les listes de vérifications relatives aux odeurs et à la fumée doivent être conçues de sorte que les procédures d'évaluation appropriées puissent être exécutées rapidement et de façon efficace. Le BST s'inquiète de ce que ce ne soit pas le cas à l'heure actuelle et il a recommandé que :

les organismes de réglementation pertinents s'assurent que les procédures des listes de vérifications d'urgence relatives à la présence d'odeur ou de fumée d'origine inconnue soient conçues pour être exécutées dans un délai permettant de minimiser les risques qu'un incendie se déclare en vol et se propage. A00-19 (publiée le 4 décembre 2000) (DIT4-21)

Un incendie en vol qui n'est pas maîtrisé est une situation d'urgence complexe et grave. L'incendie peut provenir de diverses sources et peut se propager rapidement. Chaque seconde compte. Les équipages doivent bien connaître l'avion et ses systèmes, et ils doivent être entraînés à combattre n'importe quel type d'incendie rapidement et efficacement dans toutes les parties de l'avion, y compris celles qui ne sont pas faciles d'accès. Le Bureau croit que le manque de procédures détaillées de lutte contre les incendies en vol et le manque de coordination dans l'entraînement des équipages pouvant leur permettre d'utiliser ces procédures constituent un manquement à la sécurité. En conséquence, le BST a recommandé que :

les organismes de réglementation pertinents examinent les normes de lutte contre les incendies en vol, notamment les procédures, l'entraînement, l'équipement et l'accessibilité aux endroits comme les espaces inoccupés, pour assurer que les équipages sont en mesure d'intervenir rapidement et d'une manière efficace et coordonnée, et de lutter contre tout incendie en vol. A00-20 (publiée le 4 décembre 2000) (DIT4-22)

Les « systèmes » de lutte contre les incendies en vol devraient comprendre toutes les procédures et tout l'équipement nécessaires à la prévention, à la détection, à la maîtrise et à l'extinction des incendies d'aéronef. Cette approche systémique comprendrait les normes sur l'inflammabilité des matériaux, l'accessibilité, le matériel de détection et d'extinction de la fumée et des incendies, les procédures d'urgence et l'entraînement. Tous ces éléments devront être examinés ensemble, et il faudra réévaluer les relations entre chaque mesure individuelle de lutte contre les incendies en ayant à l'esprit l'élaboration de moyens détaillés et efficaces pour lutter contre les incendies. Le BST est d'avis que l'on pourra lutter plus efficacement contre les incendies en vol lorsqu'on disposera de systèmes de lutte contre les incendies comprenant des éléments complémentaires. En conséquence, le BST a recommandé que :

les organismes de réglementation pertinents, de concert avec la communauté aéronautique, examinent la question de la lutte contre les incendies en vol dans son ensemble pour assurer que les équipages d'aéronef disposent d'un système dont les éléments sont complémentaires et optimisés en vue d'offrir le plus de chances possible de détecter et d'éteindre tout incendie en vol. A00-16 (publiée le 4 décembre 2000) (DIT4-23)

4.1.5.2  Federal Aviation Administration des États-Unis / Transports Canada

La FAA et Transports Canada sont d'accord avec la position du BST en ce qui a trait à la lutte contre les incendies en vol, et ils ont indiqué qu'un examen des programmes existants est en cours. À la fin de cet examen, les deux organismes de réglementation, de concert avec les JAA, adopteront une approche harmonisée pour améliorer le système de lutte contre les incendies en vol. En date du mois de mars 2002, l'examen de programme contenait les activités suivantes :

  • élaboration d'essais de tenue au feu pour les matériaux se trouvant dans les endroits inaccessibles;
  • détermination des moyens les plus efficaces pour accéder aux zones dissimulées à des fins de lutte contre les incendies;
  • détermination de la faisabilité de l'installation de systèmes de détection et d'extinction incendie dans les endroits inaccessibles;
  • exploration de la faisabilité de l'installation de systèmes d'extinction par vaporisation d'eau ou d'azote;
  • mise au point de systèmes de détection de fumée et d'incendie améliorés;
  • mise au point de matériaux ultra résistants au feu pour l'aménagement intérieur;
  • amélioration des outils permettant d'évaluer précisément le risque que présente le câblage d'un aéronef;
  • mise au point d'une nouvelle technologie relative aux disjoncteurs pour éviter les effets dangereux des amorçages d'arc et des cheminements d'arc;
  • élaboration de critères de certification pour des nouveaux capteurs de détection d'incendie.

4.1.5.3  La société Boeing

Boeing a publié à l'intention de tous les exploitants de MD-11 un bulletin d'opérations aériennes (MD-11-99-04) qui traitait des divers moyens de faire face à la fumée dans le poste de pilotage. Boeing a aussi créé un comité sur la fumée et les incendies pour étudier l'impact opérationnel de la fumée et d'un incendie sur chaque avion construit par Boeing.

4.1.5.4  Swissair

4.1.5.4.1  Listes de vérifications du MD-11

Swissair a publié le bulletin du manuel d'exploitation (AOM) 90/99 avisant ses équipages de conduite de MD-11 d'une révision de la liste de vérifications en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue (voir l'Annexe C – Liste de vérifications de Swissair en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue). Swissair a décidé de modifier la liste des vérifications pour s'assurer que l'interrupteur EMER LT est sélectionné avant que ne soit sélectionné le commutateur CABIN BUS. Cette modification tirait sa source d'un incident survenu lors d'un vol de Singapour à Zurich au cours duquel l'équipage de cabine a dû faire face à « une obsécuritéé complète dans la cabine » après que le commutateur CABIN BUS eut été utilisé. De par sa conception, l'éclairage d'urgence dans la cabine ne s'allume pas lorsque le commutateur CABIN BUS est réglé sur la position OFF, même si l'éclairage d'urgence est armé.

Pour permettre à ses équipages de gagner du temps lorsqu'ils suivent cette liste de vérifications, Swissair a aussi indiqué à ses équipages de conduite de MD-11 de passer directement à l'élément de la liste de vérifications relatif au sélecteur SMOKE ELEC/AIR, ce qui élimine par le fait même la nécessité d'évaluer les résultats d'une coupure de l'alimentation du bus cabine et la nécessité de rétablir l'alimentation de ce bus.

En mars 1999, après d'intenses pourparlers avec le constructeur de l'avion au sujet de la nouvelle révision, Swissair a effectué un vol d'essai à bord de l'avion immatriculé HB-IWR pour valider la nouvelle procédure de la liste de vérifications.

Swissair a publié le bulletin AOM 94/99 pour aviser ses équipages de conduite de MD-11 des renseignements supplémentaires relatifs à la présence de fumée ou d'un incendie en vol. Le bulletin reproduit le bulletin des opérations aériennes de Boeing MD-11-99-04, « Supplemental Information to MD-11 Flight Crews on Inflight Smoke/Fire Procedures » (Renseignements supplémentaires à l'intention des équipages de conduite de MD-11 relativement aux procédures en cas de fumée ou d'incendie en vol).

En 1993, le constructeur du MD-11 avait décidé d'éliminer la liste de vérifications en cas de fumée dans le système de conditionnement d'air (voir l'Annexe B – Liste de vérifications de Swissair en cas de fumée dans le système de conditionnement d'air) parce que tous les éléments de cette liste de vérifications figuraient dans la liste de vérifications en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue. Toutefois, à cette époque, Swissair avait décidé de conserver la liste de vérifications en cas de fumée dans le système de conditionnement d'air parce que cette liste constituait un moyen plus rapide d'isoler une source donnée de fumée ou d'émanations lorsqu'on savait qu'elle provenait du système de conditionnement d'air. Swissair considérait l'utilisation de cette liste de vérifications en cas de fumée dans le système de conditionnement d'air comme étant moins perturbante pour les systèmes de bord, comme les affichages de vol, les systèmes de communications et de navigation, que le recours à la liste de vérifications en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue, laquelle exige que les bus d'alternateur soient mis hors tension à tour de rôle.

Dans le bulletin AOM 94/99, Swissair informait aussi ses équipages de conduite de MD-11 d'une révision de ses procédures d'urgence ayant trait à la fumée et aux émanations. Swissair indiquait que « dans certaines circonstances, l'identification de la source de fumée pourrait être très difficile et que dans certains scénarios, dans lesquels le système de conditionnement d'air agit comme moyen de transport mais ne constitue pas la source de la fumée elle-même, cette situation pourrait mener à une interprétation erronée de l'origine de la fumée. » Pour être sur la même longueur d'ondes que le constructeur, ainsi que pour clarifier et accélérer le processus d'identification de la source de fumée, Swissair a décidé d'utiliser la liste de vérifications en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue dans toute situation où de la fumée ou des émanations sont présentes. Swissair a averti ses équipages de conduite que la liste de vérifications en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue « va mener à l'arrêt de systèmes de bord essentiels »[119]. De plus, Swissair a modifié la liste de vérifications en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue pour indiquer aux équipages de conduite — au début de la liste de vérifications plutôt qu'à la fin — d'envisager un atterrissage ou un amerrissage d'urgence et le largage de carburant.

Swissair a publié le bulletin AOM 111/00 pour aviser ses équipages de conduite de MD-11 d'une révision de sa liste de vérifications en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue. Le point OXYGEN MASKS (masques à oxygène) a été ajouté comme premier élément de cette liste de vérifications. Cet ajout ne représentait pas une modification des pratiques en vigueur chez Swissair, puisque l'enfilement du masque d'oxygène avait toujours été le premier élément mémorisé lorsqu'on faisait face à des situations dans lesquelles se produisait de la fumée lors de l'entraînement en simulateur. Par la suite, dans le bulletin AOM 122/01, Swissair a expliqué les raisons derrière les modifications importantes de la présentation de la procédure relative à la liste de vérifications en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue. Ce même bulletin informait les équipages de conduite de MD-11 que Airbus avait combiné trois procédures « relatives à la fumée » en une seule procédure par liste de vérifications semblable à la liste de vérifications en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue du MD-11.

4.1.5.4.2  Formation

Swissair a continué à informer ses équipages de conduite de MD-11 par l'intermédiaire des bulletins AOM et des Info Flashes (bulletin interne) de ses politiques en matière de réenclenchement de disjoncteurs, de révisions de listes de vérifications et d'incidents mettant en cause de la fumée ou des odeurs. Les équipages de conduite étaient informés de l'augmentation des inspections des liseuses de carte attribuable aux dommages causés par la chaleur découverts au cours de l'entretien.

Au cours des dernières années, Swissair a révisé sa formation de recyclage au sol pour y inclure des exposés fondés, en partie, sur les enseignements qui se sont dégagés de l'accident du vol SR 111. Les exposés avaient pour objet de mettre l'accent sur la nécessité de communiquer efficacement et de prendre des décisions en temps opportun en présence de fumée d'origine inconnue.

Swissair a révisé la partie de son programme de formation en gestion des ressources dans le poste de pilotage (ou de l'équipage) (CRM) portant sur les situations d'urgence relatives à de la fumée. Le programme, que suivaient les pilotes et l'équipage de cabine, comprenait une journée d'exposés et il réaffirmait les politiques de la compagnie aérienne en ce qui avait trait aux nouvelles politiques et procédures.

4.1.5.4.3  Programme Modification Plus du MD-11

Après l'accident, Swissair et son fournisseur de maintenance SR Technics ont entrepris une étude conjointe visant à analyser tous les facteurs potentiels qui auraient pu contribuer à l'accident. L'étude visait à tirer parti d'occasions de réduire au minimum la vulnérabilité de l'avion MD-11 par rapport à un incendie en vol grâce à la mise au point d'un système de détection rapide de la fumée. L'objectif avoué consistait à améliorer la capacité de lutte contre les incendies et la capacité de réaction à une situation d'urgence à bord du MD-11, et non pas à remettre en question la certification de type de l'avion. L'étude a abouti à l'adoption du programme « Modification Plus du MD-11 ».

Le programme comprend les améliorations suivantes :

  • Système de détection de fumée à divers endroits : Cette modification prévoit l'installation de détecteurs de fumée dans le compartiment avionique, dans la partie supérieure du poste de pilotage et dans la partie située au-dessus de l'office de première classe des MD-11. Le système comprend un système de détection de fumée à deux boucles qui fait s'allumer un voyant d'avertissement jaune MISC SMOKE sur le tableau de commande de l'auvent, et provoque un avertissement sonore. Une liste de vérifications d'urgence intitulée MISC SMOKE a été créée et présentée aux équipages de MD-11 par l'intermédiaire du bulletin AOM 123/01.
  • Système de surveillance par caméra vidéo : Ce système prévoit d'installer des caméras dans le compartiment avionique, la zone située au-dessus du poste de pilotage et la zone au-dessus de l'office de première classe pour confirmer visuellement la présence de fumée. L'installation de la caméra comprend un écran d'affichage réservé, situé sur le pylône central, pour permettre au pilote de visualiser la zone à surveiller.
  • Système de distribution de halon : Ce système comprend trois bouteilles fixes de halon reliées à un circuit de distribution. Le système peut diriger un agent extincteur dans la partie supérieure du poste de pilotage et dans la zone située au-dessus de l'office de la première classe. Comme ces endroits ne sont pas facilement accessibles, cette modification optimise les capacités d'extinction pour l'équipage de l'avion.
  • Acheminement des fils : Cette partie du programme comprend une modification du câblage visant à améliorer l'espacement et à augmenter la résistance des systèmes essentiels au vol. La modification permet de séparer les fils d'alimentation de gauche et de droite en des côtés opposés du poste de pilotage.
  • Amélioration du circuit d'oxygène et du système de conditionnement d'air : Comme mesure de résistance au feu pour le circuit d'oxygène de l'équipage, Swissair a incorporé le bulletin de service MD11-35-021 de Boeing, lequel remplace les composants en aluminium par des composants en acier. En outre, Swissair a remplacé les embouts utilisés dans les gaines du système de conditionnement d'air par une version plus résistante au feu.
  • Instruments de secours : Il s'agit de l'installation d'un mini-écran d'affichage principal de vol. Il combine tous les renseignements nécessaires pertinents au vol, y compris les indications de cap, d'altitude, de vitesse ainsi qu'un horizon de secours. Cet écran est aussi équipé d'une alimentation automatique par batterie de secours.

Pour réduire la durée d'immobilisation des avions, le programme « Modification Plus du MD-11 » est coordonné avec le programme de remplacement des matelas isolants recouverts de PET métallisé, comme le demande l'AD 2000-11-02 de la FAA.

Toutes les modifications ont été approuvées par les autorités de la navigabilité aérienne appropriées et, en date de janvier 2003, 9 MD-11 appartenant auparavant à Swissair ont été modifiés conformément au programme « Modification Plus du MD-11 ».

4.1.5.5  National Transportation Safety Board des États-Unis

Le 4 janvier 2002, le NTSB a publié cinq recommandations (A01-83 à A01-87) portant sur de récents incendies en vol. Bien que le NTSB ne soit pas directement lié aux circonstances entourant l'accident de SR 111, les efforts qu'il déploie reflètent une préoccupation commune relativement aux dispositions actuellement en place en matière de lutte contre les incendies en vol. Les recommandations du BST faisaient appel à une approche systémique pour détecter des lacunes dans des secteurs comme la détection et l'extinction, la coordination des membres d'équipage, les procédures de la liste de vérifications, l'équipement et l'accessibilité. Les recommandations du NTSB, quant à elles, portaient principalement sur des lacunes associées aux mesures prises par les équipages dans la lutte contre les incendies en vol. Les recommandations du NTSB complètent celles du BST en mettant en évidence des insuffisances dans la sensibilisation des équipages et dans leur formation, ce qui limite leur capacité à lutter efficacement contre un incendie en vol.


[119]    La société Boeing identifie les systèmes touchés par l'utilisation de la liste de vérifications en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue comme étant des sous-systèmes de bord plutôt que des systèmes « essentiels ».

Précédent | Suivant