Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

4.1.6  Overhead Aisle and Emergency Lights

  1. 4.1.6.1 - Transportation Safety Board of Canada
  2. 4.1.6.2 - United States Federal Aviation Administration
  3. 4.1.6.3 - The Boeing Company

4.1.6.1  Transportation Safety Board of Canada

The interest in the MD-11 aisle and emergency light assemblies stems from analysis of heat-damaged ceiling panels recovered from the SR 111 aircraft. This damage was associated with overheating of the light assembly. During subsequent aircraft inspections, conducted as part of the SR 111 investigation, the TSB became aware of additional examples of overheating conditions in the overhead aisle and emergency light fixture used on the MD-11. Subsequently, on 29 December 2000 the TSB issued ASIL (A000062-1 (STI4-24) and A000062-2 (STI4-25)), which detailed this information to both the NTSB and the manufacturer of the fixture.

4.1.6.2   United States Federal Aviation Administration

The FAA reviewed the MD-11 industry in-service data pertaining to the overhead aisle and emergency lights, and determined that there was insufficient information to confirm the existence of an unsafe condition that would warrant safety action.

4.1.6.3   The Boeing Company

In response to the TSB's findings, Boeing requested that the aisle and emergency light assembly manufacturer conduct testing. The results of this testing did not reveal any anomalies and confirmed that the fixture met existing certification standards.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

4.1.6  Plafonniers d'allée et éclairage d'urgence

4.1.6.1  Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

L'intérêt porté aux plafonniers d'allée et à l'éclairage d'urgence du MD-11 provient de l'analyse des panneaux de plafond endommagés par la chaleur qui ont été récupérés de l'avion SR 111. Ces dommages étaient associés à une surchauffe des appareils d'éclairage. Au cours d'inspections subséquentes d'avions menées dans le cadre de l'enquête sur l'accident de SR 111, le BST a pris connaissance d'exemples additionnels de situations de surchauffe dans les plafonniers d'allée et l'éclairage d'urgence utilisés à bord de MD-11. Par la suite, le 29 décembre 2000, le BST a publié les lettres de sécurité aérienne A000062-1 (DIT4-24) et A000062-2 (DIT4-25), qui présentaient en détail cette information au NTSB et au fabricant des appareils d'éclairage.

4.1.6.2   Federal Aviation Administration des États-Unis

La FAA a passé en revue les données en service de l'industrie sur le MD-11 relatives aux plafonniers d'allée et à l'éclairage d'urgence et a déterminé qu'il n'y avait pas suffisamment de renseignements pour confirmer l'existence d'une condition dangereuse qui nécessiterait une mesure de sécurité.

4.1.6.3   La société Boeing

En réponse aux conclusions du BST, Boeing a demandé que le fabricant des plafonniers d'allée et de l'éclairage d'urgence effectue des essais. Les résultats de ces essais n'ont révélé aucune anomalie et ils ont confirmé que les appareils d'éclairage satisfaisaient aux normes de certification en vigueur.

Précédent | Suivant