Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

4.2.2  Interpretation of Material Flammability Test Requirements

As a result of the investigation, the TSB previously issued three recommendations on the subject of Material Flammability Standards. Reaction to the content of these recommendations has been positive. Regulatory authorities have largely embraced the need for regulatory changes that would result in no materials being certified that would sustain or propagate a fire, as recommended in A01-02. The FAA is leading a research and development effort as part of the International Aircraft Materials Fire Test Working Group that is developing new flammability tests for materials, including wires and cables, found in "hidden areas." The Board believes that imposing more realistic and thus more severe flammability test requirements will serve to decrease the likelihood of flammable materials being approved for use in the manufacture or repair of aircraft. However, variations still remain in the interpretation and application of the regulations and guidance material.

Throughout this investigation, in an effort to determine the ignition and propagation scenario for the in-flight fire, various materials used in the manufacture of the MD-11 were tested in accordance with the applicable regulatory requirements. In some cases, materials such as silicone elastomeric end caps and hook-and-loop fasteners, demonstrated inappropriate flammability characteristics. Neither the aircraft manufacturer nor the regulatory authority were able to effectively explain whether these or other such materials had been required to be tested and, if so, could not produce a record of the resultant certification test data. It appears that varying interpretations of the same regulations may explain why some materials that were certified for use in aircraft met the flammability standards while others did not. As explained in the TSB's Material Flammability Standards recommendation package (issued August 2001), except for the most obvious and common materials, it was difficult to determine with certainty which flammability test(s) applied to which material. The applicable FARs could be misinterpreted so as to minimize the amount and level of testing required for certification of any particular material.

The certification of a newly manufactured aircraft is a complex endeavour, which includes the certification of many types of materials. The Board expected that as a result of its previous recommendations, regulatory authorities would not only develop improved testing but also simplify the interpretation of the regulations and guidance material so as to prevent the approval of flammable materials. Without such a concerted and focused effort, manufacturers and those responsible for the certification of aircraft materials will continue to operate in an environment where it is possible to misinterpret the regulatory requirements. In such circumstances, materials that exhibit inappropriate flammability characteristics can continue to be approved for use in aircraft. Therefore, the Board recommends that

Regulatory authorities take action to ensure the accurate and consistent interpretation of the regulations governing material flammability requirements for aircraft materials so as to prevent the use of any material with inappropriate flammability characteristics.
A03-03

Assessment/Reassessment Rating: Fully Satisfactory

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

4.2.2  Interprétation des exigences d'essai d'inflammabilité des matériaux

À la suite de la présente enquête, le BST a publié antérieurement trois recommandations sur les normes d'inflammabilité des matériaux. Les réactions au contenu de ces recommandations ont été favorables. Les autorités réglementaires ont très bien accueilli la nécessité de modifier la réglementation pour qu'aucun matériau susceptible d'alimenter ou de propager un incendie ne soit certifié, comme le précisait la recommandation A01-02. La FAA dirige actuellement la recherche et le développement du groupe de travail international sur les essais de tenue au feu des matériaux d'aéronef, lequel est en train d'élaborer de nouveaux essais d'inflammabilité pour les matériaux, dont les fils et les câbles, situés dans les « zones dissimulées ». Le Bureau est d'avis que l'imposition d'exigences d'essai d'inflammabilité plus réalistes, donc plus rigoureuses, permettra de réduire la probabilité que des matériaux inflammables soient approuvés pour la construction et la réparation des aéronefs. Cependant, il existe toujours des différences d'interprétation et d'application pour ces règlements et les documents d'information.

Pendant toute la durée de la présente enquête, afin de déterminer le scénario d'inflammation et de propagation de l'incendie en vol, on a testé divers matériaux utilisés dans la construction du MD-11 conformément aux exigences réglementaires pertinentes. Dans certains cas, des matériaux comme des embouts en élastomère de silicone et des attaches à bouclettes de nylon ont présenté des caractéristiques d'inflammabilité inappropriées. Ni l'avionneur ni l'autorité réglementaire n'ont été en mesure d'expliquer clairement s'il avait été exigé que ces matériaux ou d'autres semblables soient testés et, si c'est le cas, ils n'ont pu produire un document renfermant les résultats d'essai de certification. Il semble que diverses interprétations des mêmes règlements pourraient expliquer pourquoi certains matériaux qui avaient été certifiés pour utilisation dans des aéronefs aient été conformes aux normes d'inflammabilité, et d'autres pas. Comme l'a expliqué le BST dans les documents accompagnant les recommandations sur les normes d'inflammabilité des matériaux (publiés en août 2001), sauf pour ce qui est des matériaux les plus évidents et les plus courants, il a été difficile de déterminer avec certitude quel(s) essai(s) d'inflammabilité s'appliquai(en)t à quel matériau. Les FAR pertinentes pouvaient être interprétées à tort comme réduisant au minimum la quantité et l'ampleur des essais exigés pour la certification d'un matériau donné.

La certification d'un aéronef nouvellement construit est une entreprise complexe qui comprend la certification de nombreux types de matériau. Le Bureau s'attendait qu'à la suite de ses recommandations antérieures les autorités réglementaires non seulement mettraient au point des essais améliorés, mais qu'elles simplifieraient aussi l'interprétation des règlements et des documents d'information pour éviter que des matériaux inflammables soient approuvés. Sans un effort ciblé et concerté à ce sujet, les constructeurs et ceux qui sont responsables de la certification des matériaux d'aéronef continueront à travailler dans un environnement où l'on risque de mal interpréter les exigences réglementaires. Dans de telles circonstances, des matériaux qui présentent des caractéristiques d'inflammabilité inappropriées pourraient continuer à être approuvés pour utilisation dans des aéronefs. Par conséquent, le Bureau recommande que :

les autorités réglementaires prennent des mesures pour assurer une interprétation précise et uniforme de la réglementation régissant les exigences d'inflammabilité des matériaux d'aéronef afin d'éviter l'utilisation de tout matériau présentant des caractéristiques d'inflammabilité inappropriées.
A03-03

Évaluation/Réévaluation Catégorie : Attention entièrement satisfaisante

Précédent | Suivant